Melia Puerto Vallarta

Melia Puerto Vallarta
3.793.793.793.793.79
3.79 based on 84 reviews
#9 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (9)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Amazing weather and awesome resort staff!

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2020-02-24
Beach is not at all as advertised but still sufficient - very few loungers and the ones by the pool were usually reserved prior to 7 am- so hard to get a seat if you want to sleep until a normal hour. The palapas say no reserving allowed but everyone does it anyways! The food was amazing! Drinks and drink service was very good! Hotel is a bit dated but clean as were the rooms. Will definitely be back! Well worth the value! Internet was spotty unless you were in the lobby. Pool wifi never worked! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and drinks, clean hotel and rooms
The weak points
Beach, wifi
Certified

Melina Puerto Vallarta

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-02-07
Our stay at your hotel was wonderful...your staff goes over and above the best. The view from our room was beautiful and all our cares were taken care of. Being handicapped you were all so kind to me. See you next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Beach

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-03
Hotel is great for families, lots of kids. We were a couple with no kids
Nice pool with great service from the staff for drinks.
Beach is also great. Lots of palapas and beach chairs.
Great evening entertainment and it was nice to have a DJ in the lobby bar in the evening.
Front desk was either really good or not so great depending on who was working.
Nice and close to marina and golf course.
Food was our biggest complaint. We ate at the marina due to this issue. Often buffet items were cold. No variety from day to day for breakfast.
Italian was the best for food but poor service.
You have to line up every morning at 10 am and 12 noon to make dinner reservations for that night. Often by 11 am there were no reservations left. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool and beach area Great service from all staff Good activities, evening entertainment Tub was huge - nice to soak after a day of golf.
The weak points
Snack bar at pool is horrible. Same food for 7 days. Rooms could do with some updating Food

All right but not great

, Nanaimo, BC
2019-03-01
Great staff but the shows weren't all that great and the seats were very uncomfortable. Food was not very good, not kept warm properly and not much variety. Annoying having to go to the restaurant for a coffee. The drinks were made with very cheap mixes and didn't taste very good. I probably would not go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, everyone was very friendly. Beautiful gardens.
The weak points
Poor food selection, quality and excessability. No lifeguards. Needs a small cafe for coffee and snacks.
Certified

Come for the beach, not the food.

, Port Moody, BC
2019-02-19
The Melia is in a wonderful location - on a gorgeous stretch of beach close to the airport, marina and downtown. It is showing its age - small improvements like better bedding and clean cushions in public areas would be a good start. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The beach and pool areas are great. Fantastic kids program, good entertainment at night.
The weak points
The food was disgusting - breakfast buffet not bad but lunch and dinner the food was cold, reused and lacking in fresh fruit and veggies. I got food poisoning on my second day - was violently ill.
Certified

Awesome. Family friendly

, La Crete, AB
2018-05-03
It was a great experience. Live performances every evening, got parents and kids involved which was fun to watch. Big pool area and yummy food throughout the day! Great service, friendly faces everywhere, and lots to do. The boardwalk is literally across the street if you want to go check it out. Although I'd suggest going with a couple of people just to be safe. All in all I'd definitely recommend it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Melia Vallarta

, White Rock, HA
2018-01-30
My stay at the Melia Puerto Vallarta was beyond my expectations. Entering the lobby clusters of comfortable, cozy seating groups dotted throughout, with lush plants cascading from ledges into water features below, creating an exotic welcome. The reception desk is manned by friendly, efficient people, as is the concierge staff. The well appointed rooms were kept fresh and well stocked. The restaurants staffs were excellent as was the food. All of the facilities were clean, well staffed and beautifully laid out. The activities programs were great and the children's programs seemed exceptional. I hope to return to the Melia Puerto Vallarta and would never hesitate to recommend it highly and without reservation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great stay at Melia Puerto Vallarta

, Edmonton, AB
2017-02-10
Once again our stay at Melia in Puerto Vallarta was wonderful. This was our second time to stay here and the facility and its close proximity to other attractions made our decision to stay here easy. The special treatment that we received from all the staff at the resort made our stay extra special. We were treated royally. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Always treated royally and staff very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Sometimes we experienced odd sewage smells from the corridors.
Certified

Not that bad, not that great

, Port Coquitlam, Br
2016-01-04
We stayed at this location the first two weeks of December. We are a family of four with a 4 year old and a 6 year old and travel every year for the past ten years around this time.

Overall we had a good time, but our experience was marred by numerous unpleasant experiences that gave a negative feel to the whole trip. Normally when we travel to an all inclusive, they have gotten our large chunk of money and then work to make us feel like kings and queens hoping we will return. But at the Melia, getting us there is just the first step at separating us from our money. Many services cost additional money and they seem to be trying to save money everywhere.

Check in was quick and hassle free. However the first person who then greeted us was a time share person. All of the people at the 'concierge' desk are time share people. That was the first play for more of our money and it took 5 minutes after arriving. Fortunately we were advised by our friendly westjet rep and were able to steer clear. The hotel was only about a third full for our stay .. on several instances in the past other resorts have upgraded us to a room with bunk beds .. not bigger .. just bunk beds for the kids. But not here despite them being available.

Unfortunately, to make reservations for the a la carte restaurants, you need to go to the time share desk every morning. Making these reservations was a challenge almost every single time. They are grumpy, don't smile and flat out say no often. We are all booked up for tomorrow night at 9.30am when the desk opens at 9.00am .. oh, we opened the reservation yesterday for no particular reason. We went to the restaurant anyway that night and it was empty and they seated us without reservation. Between 1 and 3 restaurants were open, and normally they were mostly empty, yet getting a reservation is like pulling teeth. This would be where the cost savings seem to come into play. If you just go and tip a bit, they will seat you every time.

You may be thinking, we are buffet people anyways .. not at the Melia. The buffet is the second worst we have ever seen. We are not very fancy eaters. Literally 12 hot trays of food plus some salad, bread and deserts. The food quality is mediocre, the buffet decor is sad. Compared to say a Riu that would have 40 hot trays, it is pathetic. At breakfast the bacon was hidden under the counter at the egg station and felt like it was cooked in a deep fat fryer . hard as bacon bits and dry. We ate a la carte every night because there was little other choice. The food at the a la carte restaurants was very good, though often only about 5 choices of meal so it can get repetitive. Service at the a la cartes is very good especially Adrian.

Do you like to have some drinks in the evening? Do you like to see the show? Can't say yes to both for the Melia. The only bar open after 6pm is the lobby bar. It is far from the show. We thought they would open the very nearby pool bar for the show but found it dark. With the kids show and adult show .. you are there for a while .. one drink is insufficient for most. Your kid wants some water or juice.. get walking. We suggested to the lobby staff the next morning that they should open the pool bar or bring out a simple cart .. they looked at us like we were crazy. But they were typically unhelpful with anything you asked of them. We ended up stealing hard plastic signs from the time share desk to use as trays to bring out some drinks. Oh and there is no bathroom at the show and it is quite a walk to the nearest one .. especially if it is pouring rain which happens on occasion. Have never had either of these problems ever before and you would be amazed at how annoying it is every night. We were told by the westjet guy that it is the entertainment staffs job to separate you from the food and drink to save money. Wow.

That said, the shows were pretty entertaining. All of them were local shows put on by the local entertainment staff which is unusual, but they did a good job of it relying on creativity. Both us and the kids liked them. One night we saw a great example about how the Melia feels about its guests vs itself. The whole front row was reserved at the show. Sitting in the second row and on were many families with little kids. We thought maybe some families or the kids show kids were going to sit there or maybe they were needed for the show. Then right before it started, a bunch of big mexican men were ushered in wearing Melia dress shirts and sat down a wall in front of the families. Management was here to see the show and they were more important than the guests .. very typical feeling here.

For those of you traveling with kids, the kids club was pretty entertaining for ours, however please make special note .. IT IS NOT SECURE. The first morning there, we left our kids inside with the ladies for a test .. came back a few minutes later and they were playing outside on the equipment. We poked our heads into the room and asked if they knew they still had custody of our kids .. they were like .. who? It is not a giant resort, we found we could trust both the 4 year old and 6 year old to find us nearby at the pool when they got bored and checked every half hour on them, but that might not work for everyone. The activities were fun, they brought them to lunch if they wanted to go at the nearby pool buffet, organized balloon fights, played mini put (which was nice cause mini put costs about 16$ for a family on their crappy little course ..incredible) But if you want to do some activities like paint a t-shirt, 10$ more .. always extra fees here and there.

The pool was nice, good water temp, large, shallow areas for the kids, deeper areas for adults. There were not a lot of activities around the pool. Really just a couple a day .. like paper airplane tossing, soccer kicks, bingo .. nothing too engaging. Really kinda quieter than our normal trips .. verging on boring. You want to try that inflatable ball you see in the pics .. more money, the trampoline, more money .. you get the idea.

The beach is ok but small, the waves often strong enough that kids need constant help. It is not really sandcastle sand. You can borrow a sea kayak, but they gave us a hard time telling us kids had to be 7 though that was not written anywhere. It is a big plastic boat and our kids had their own life jackets .. why? When we finally got one they had no problem. Just another little hassle.

The climbing wall was a lot of fun, especially for our 6 year old whom they let try it despite needing to be 7 years old. Very safe, had harnesses for kids and .. get this .. no extra charge.

Some of you may go on holidays to get away from things .. but we like to be able to keep in touch with home, friends and family. The lobby wifi was down more than it was up .. and I don't mean for hours .. one time it was down for 3 days straight. If you ask at the front counter, they are working on it. They will provide no additional details and are generally as unhelpful as they can be .. though they smile nicely at you.

The lobby bar was a nice place to sit at night. Dj music most night, a live band sometimes on the weekend. Music goes down at 1130 at the latest and it get pretty sedate .. bring a speaker. Again, the bathroom manages to be hundreds of meters from the lobby bar .. weird layout.

We would recommend the atv tour with Wild treks .. up a mountain with nice views. Good enbough ATVs Ziplining with them was good as well, but the lines are old and have too much slack making them slow .. the kids could not go alone because there weight was insufficient to get them across, never had that problem. The lines are long though and beautiful views. We were by ourselves for that which was nice.

We had a decent time, the resort if far from brand new but not falling apart. We would have rated it higher if they hadn't found a way to annoy us almost every day rather than working hard to make our stay great. With the facilities they have, they could do a much better job but it really seems like they just don't want to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Melia Vacation Club Marina area PV

, Delta , BC
2015-12-15
Nice clean room, recommend asking to sty in tower one, nice beach for PV, beautiful gardens. Lot of room very big place, central location near airport, just far enough away from the bustle of downtown. About $10 Canadian to old town. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ask to stay in Tower One. The hotel has three towers and is very spread out. Tower one is closest to all amenities and beach-pool.
The weak points
Wi Fi
Certified

Melia Puerto Vallarta

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-04-07
Nice place, very poor food. Ate outside resort every evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely location, clean.
The weak points
Pool requires some maintenance, food id very disappointing, recycled from lunch to supper.
Certified

The Melia Puerto Vallarta

, Red Deer, AB
2014-07-17
The Melia Puerto Vallarta rooms were air conditioned and clean. The maid service and all the hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
The pool area was clean. The towel service was great and the bar service was prompt. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, Good location for access to the city and shopping.
The weak points
Limited selection for food at restaurants, extra cost for food and coffee bar silly when paying for all inclusive.
Certified

Not a 41/2 Star Resort

, Moose Jaw, SK
2014-03-19
We are regular vacationers to PV and have stayed in many different resorts. This is the first time we have ever written a negative review so we'll start with the positive comments.
The staff are very friendly, the layout of the grounds are nice. There are lots of activities for both the kids and adults and there is the usual nightly entertainment. The Italian restaurant is excellent.
Besides being dated the rooms and grounds are not adequately cleaned and maintained. The employees appeared busy so they may have been under staffed or possibly there is a low hotel standard.
The food was mediocre and we were always shooing birds from the table.
Many of the lounge chairs are needing to be replaced. The staff rake the beach daily but use the back side of the rake so there is no point as there are still cigarette butts, straws and other debris sticking out of the sand.
There was no beach security visible which was a concern especially if you had a ground floor beachfront room.
We would rate this hotel as a 3 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are friendly, nice layout of the grounds, lots of activities for the kids and adults.
The weak points
Low standard of cleanliness and property maintenance. No visible beach security.
Certified

Great family resort

, Sherwood Park , AB
2014-03-17
We spent ten days here with our 4 year old daughter. This resort is geared towards families, they provide activities and child care for kids of all ages. We only ate at the buffet because we knew there would always be something there that my daughter would want to eat. The food was better than I had expected with plenty to choose from. We stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the ocean, it was very clean and spacious enough for the three of us. The bathroom was great, plenty of counter space, tub/shower combo with rain shower head with detachable wand and a clothes drying line. We spent a lot of time in the pool, the water was the perfect temperature and my daughter loved the two beach style entrances. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, food was tasty with plenty to choose from, beach was clean with very few vendors, kids club staff was fantastic providing activities for kids of all ages, most of the bar and restaurant staff are very friendly and speak English.
The weak points
Beds are hard with lumpy pillows, front desk staff were not very helpful, hotel is older and in need of minor repairs.
Certified

Very good hotel for families

, Markham, ON
2014-03-03
Had a very good time. Stayed in the Kids and Co. rooms. If you have kids and can get one, it's well worth it. Bunk beds for the kids let everyone sleep better. The food was great, the pool was great. No issues there.

Take a trip into town ($10US by taxi) and take a walk on the boardwalk. Stray a little off the beaten path and find a nice hole in the wall restaurant for lunch. That was one of the high points of the trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was great. Food was good... a little more Mexican than standard hotel fare (which is a good thing for us!). A very good resort with little to complain about... but if you force me to find some criticism...
The weak points
Only two things stick out. First, the time share pitch never stops. EVERY TIME you go to the lobby, they're worse than mosquitos and won't take no for an answer. Also the nickel and dime stuff. Minor things cost extra. Small extra, but still...
Certified

Rip Off

, Vaughan, ON
2014-02-20
Not even close to 41/2 star. At best 3 star. Stay away. I was out for 36 hrs as were many other guests with a virus going around. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small property.
The weak points
Everything. Dated. needs maintenance. Poor food selection. A la carte always closed. rooms smell from mould.
Certified

Melia

, Westlock, AB
2014-01-14
Are experience at the resort was fantastic. The staff were very nice and accomodating. Food and drinks were wonderful. Overall, a great experience and would go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service was fantastic. Nightly entertainment was great along with the daily activities. I felt that I never had to leave the resort.
The weak points
Everything was great except for the beds and pillows. Beds were very hard and the pillows were very lumpy. :(
Certified

We enjoyed Melia Hotel

, North Vancouver, BC
2014-01-13
I think over all it was a very good hotel to stay and enjoy a relaxing holiday. It is nice for families as well as couples. Sure there were many kids there, but we enjoyed the hotel as much.

The food was very good at the buffet, we went to Italian restaurant one night and it was not as satisfying as the open buffet. So we stayed with buffet the other nights as well.

We enjoyed the open bar and waiters were very attentive. The beer, cocktails, wine always available. Only thing that took my attention was that they use a sweetener syrup in some of the drinks that tasted like Aspartame to me. But fortunately one of the waitresses investigated that for me and made my drink without it (I don't like the after taste of aspartame).

We liked the pool very much, interestingly designed and nice and clean water. The music played, beach chairs and other facilities all were pleasant.

Other than hotel, I personally really enjoyed the city and Mexican people. They are so friendly, laid back and funny. I felt very safe and welcomed over the course of our stay in the hotel and in the city.

We had a very nice vacation!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Open bar, buffet, pool, night shows, beach, environment, helpful people, it was pretty good all together!
The weak points
Nothing really that I can think of. the only thing I didn't like was the Caesar drink, it wasn't bloody enough! Also they could have had a better night music for dancing.
Certified

Good vacation

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-10
We had been there before and been impressed, however, since then the hotel is very run down and broken items were not fixed. However, I do believe they are renovating this hotel to keep up with the Melia standard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff for activities and service in restaurants. Food in buffet is better than most.
The weak points
Front desk staff is good but it is constantly understaffed and most cannot communicate in any other language besides Spanish. Al a Carte Restaurants need improvement and must be open every night as before.
Certified

Not a good trip

, Pickardville, AB
2014-01-05
This was our 5th time at this resort and we were severely disappointed with our vacation this time. We asked for 3 rooms on the same floor, next to each other. This was confirmed through our Travel agent as well as on our travel documents. When we arrived (10 of us; 6 adults and 4 children) our rooms were on different floors and in different areas. They WOULD NOT change our rooms. I spent every night running from room to room checking on the children while their parents were enjoying their holiday. (That is why we booked our rooms on the same floor). The food was terrible ...... breakfast was the only meal that a person could enjoy. The rooms and the resort itself ....... is falling apart. The pool has many tiles missing and the bottom of the pool is sharp in spots. The rooms are also showing great signs of deteriorating. We will not be going back to this resort again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotle staff go above and beyond to make your family vacation enjoyable
The weak points
Food, Hotle and pool falling apart, unfriendly and rude reception staff
Certified

Great place to relax

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2013-12-29
Hotel was really nice, quiet at night. Staff very friendly. This hotel is awesome for families. Every night there was entertainment, very close to all shopping and the marina. Overall it is a very nice place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly. Entertainment nightly
The weak points
Unable to connect to wi fi in room. Too much pushing to buy time shares.
Certified

Melia Puerto Vallarta

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-28
The hotel was generally good. Rooms are small. Food is great, as are the activities. The staff in the restaurants were great - the other staff- front desk, housekeeping were not as good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Children's activities were excellent. As well as the nightly show. The pool area was great, lots of chairs and palapas. The food was good - breakfast was excellent. The buffet for dinner was better than the a la carte restaurants.
The weak points
The room was mediocre. Very small and not enough room to put away clothes for 4 people.
Certified

Melia Resort

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-09
The food was above average and the staff was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff was great, very serviceable.
The weak points
The hotel is over 20 years old and needs renovations, not new or modern.
Certified

Definitely not to our standard ... not a 4 star!

, Calgary, AB
2013-07-01
Very old, timeshare for the Melia Club are awful, and food was poor compared to other Mexican resorts ( and others in Cuba, Jamaica and Dominican Republic ). Shows were very low quality ... Maybe a 3 year old would be entertained. Food around pool was poor ... Three days in a row I found a black hair. We were ready to come home on day 3. Mela has some considerable work to do before this resort hits a4 star level. We won't be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Free lobby Internet and nice / hard working staff.
The weak points
Timeshare scam that the resort obviously supports. They are very aggressive and promise the world. Read the fine print! We had to sit through 8 people before I had enough. DoNOT give them your credit card or drivers licence unless you want bad credit.
Certified

Hotel Melia

, Burnaby, BC
2013-04-29
Overall, our experience was okay, the hotel was old but clean enough. don't know if i would go back there. The wait and bar staff were good, especially Rossy (Rosy) she was one of the best. the restaurant staff were very good also. The variety of the Al a carte restaurants was poor and the selection limited unless you paid. Our check out person was not very good, cannot remember his name. The entertainment was okay, the pool was nice but a little loud at times.The beach was not that great either, sand was rough and pebbly The location of the hotel was great as we were walking distance to the Marina and it was really good for going into town as it was only 10 mins away. The Marina restaurants were great and prices were good, we realy enjoyed that. I have to commend the crew that we had on the Rythms of the night boat number 5 from Vallarta vacations they were truly entertaining and awesome. the whole experience on the island with the show and the setting was great. The Pegaso tour with Kimi and crew was also outstanding, food on board was excellent. Carlos our concierge was really good and helpful with all of our concerns. Overall the staff at the hotel were very good, some of them could not speak English so that was a little difficult. we still enjoyed our stay and we had a ocean front room in the end as we had to ask for this, the first room we had was not so nice so we moved to room 1031 and that was awesome. The hotel could do with some upgrading as it is very old now. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The tours were amazing, we went on the Rythms of the night by Vallarta tours, and the Pegaso sailboat ride was awesome the crews on both were excellent and we were well looked after.The Italian restaurant was really good
The weak points
The buffet food by far, the drinks were watered down quite a bit
Certified

Not a non smoking resort

, New Westminster, BC
2013-04-17
Overall we enjoyed our holiday but we thought it was a non smoking resort. It is advertised as a completely non smoking resort but it is not. There were people smoking around the pool, in the pool, outside the buildings and at the pool bar. We mentioned it to the staff a few times but they are not prepared to do anything about it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mexican restaurant, Lobby bar, Kids Club, Enchiladas Verde, Poblano cream soup. Margaritas on the rocks, beach, lots of activities, cooking demos, special dinners on beach and outdoors
The weak points
desserts, drinks at pool bar use lower quality brands, Seafood and Italian restaurant
Certified

Excellent

, Surrey, Br
2013-04-17
our family - grandma, daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren 2 and 5 all had a great time. I would recommend this resort to families wholeheartedly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent programs
The weak points
not able to walk along beach any distance
Certified

Great Holiday

, Nanaimo, BC
2013-03-25
Great hotel, would definitely come back! Food was great, available at all times. 3 a la carte restaurants that provided 5 star, 4 course meals. Good options for drinks. They had upcharges for some food items like steak and lobster, and also for out-of-region wines. But everthing else was all-inclusive. Beach was much larger than pictures shown; with some areas to snorkel. Lobby staff were a litle pushy the first 2 days with selling tours or vacation add-ons. There were daily activities for families. The evening shows were fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort with friendly staff. Food was excellent. Good options for on-site activities.
The weak points
Housekeeping were not consistent restocking towels everyday; but tidied bed linens and cleaned room daily.
Certified

Our Melia Experience

, Aurora, ON
2013-03-10
We have stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed it again. Food is delicious, staff is fantastic and hotel is very clean. We also had an incident viewers may be delighted to hear. After a day out of our room we came back to the room and discovered we forgot to lock our safe. Thankfully absolutely nothing was touched, not passports, money or jewelry. We were extremely happy and got the name of our housekeeper and told management we were very pleased with her. We would go back there in a heart beat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Helpful and friendly staff and the honesty of our housekeeper.
The weak points
During spring break could hear music from next door hotel
Certified

Good for families

, Calgary, AB
2013-02-13
This is a very kid friendly resort. We had a room with two beds plus a bunk bed. The Flintstones Land area is good for kids. The pool has lots of kids and noise is expected.

The food was good. Not a huge selection at the buffet, but acceptable.

Busy on the weekend, but quieter during the week and getting pool chairs was not an issue.

Nice walking distance to the marina area in PV.

Very short trip from the airport to the hotel.

Parasailing is available right at the beach. Saw whales one day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family friendly. Bunk beds in room. Nice pool with pool bar.
The weak points
Wanted us to sign up for a breakfast sales pitch for Melia timeshare right when we got to the hotel.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021