Vamar Vallarta

Vamar Vallarta
2.882.882.882.882.88
2.88 based on 17 reviews
#29 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Vamar Vallarta

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-02-09
This is our fourth time at this resort and probably the worst. We booked a single occupancy superior balcony room and a double occupancy superior balcony room, they put all three of us in one room ( a supposed upgrade). The first upgrade offer was in one of their villas furthest away from restaurant and no balcony view. The food selection is getting worse and more importantly was consistently COLD!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are very friendly, particularly Manuel (bellboy) and Delicia (restaurant), they have been there a long time and made us feel very welcome.
The weak points
You do not get the rooms you bought and paid for and the food was not good (cold).
Certified

Good Vacation Overall

, Regina, SK
2013-12-30
I took my daughters 16 & 14 to get away at Christmas. It was not exactly what I had expected as there weren't many English speaking people there and the entertainment was all in Spanish. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Liked the view from the room. Staff were nice.
The weak points
The bathroom in room was terrible. Way too small and the counter was just about on top of the toilet. If you were a bigger person you would never have been able to use toilet. The wifi was terrible also.
Certified

...a little shocked

, Calgary, AB
2012-12-11
I'm not sure if it was because it was a slow time for travel but this was not one of our best trips to PV. In past trips we usually would stay at 3 - 3 1/2 star resorts and this was the worst. We are not picky travellers/eaters & don't expect any more than the * rating, especially when the price matches.
That being said, as usual the service was wonderful - above & beyond and with sincerity!! Cheers to the staff!
The upgraded rooms are still in need of repairs, but everything you "need" functioned, accept for the waste of space the kitchen took up - not functioning but they don't advertise the kitchen (because they shouldn't).
There really is noooo beach, water comes right to the retaining wall. But we had the pool pretty much to ourselves on both sides for the whole week.
The Italian restaurant was closed for most of the week - "painting & cleaning" of which we did not witness but I think the hotel was trying it's best to handle the lack of clientelle, so even the buffets were reduced to picking meals from plates they displayed. No bacon...bummer but the food was OK. The tours people from the company I can't mention (desk to the right when entering lobby)are hit & miss on pestering, but I highly recommend Juan!!!
Would I go back...no, but only because I've stayed at better places closer to Old town, with the more to offer, for the same price. Not a great review but I was dissapointed at all the rave reviews the "trip" was showing and the rate of 26 out of 116 hotels in PV - wow, so not accurate! Did we have a good trip, of course, we're in PV, it's always great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were great
The weak points
Needs a lot of work done every where
Certified

It's a 3 star.

, Tillsonburg, ON
2012-01-25
The hotel is in the midst of a rebranding/renovation and it shows-still along way to go. The location is great and the views from the upper floors are amazing. With a little TLC on the part of the owners it could be so much more. Overall food was mediocre with the exception of the a la carte I will return to PV, just not this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location right on the Marina. Easy access to downtown PV
The weak points
Older property that still needs a lot of upgrading. No activities or entertainment as advertised. Buffet for lunch and dinner so-so
Certified

EMBARCADERA PACIFICO

, Thompson, MB
2010-03-09
Very freindly staff, good food, great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools are great, 2 down by ocean
The weak points
beach is small
Certified

Bang for Buck

, Alix, AB
2010-02-22
Nice little place for the amount of money spent. If I wasn t a poor student looking to save cash, I would check somewhere else out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were great. Great location.
The weak points
Buffets weren t the greatest. No hot tubs. The least soundproof hotel I ve even been in.
Certified

Honestly?

, North Battleford, SK
2010-01-31
very nice clean and quiet great place to relax and enjoy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent location very quiet good service friendly well priced on all amenities that are not all inclusive
The weak points
limited menu no coffee pot in room ( a must for me lol )
Certified

As Expected

, Edmonton, AB
2010-01-04
Everything was as i expected for Mexico. In the airport the easily identifiable travel company had a cab take us directly from the airport to the hotel which was included in our all inclusive package. Upon arrival the cab driver took our bags straight to the bell boy who took them into the lobby. For this a simple 10 peso tip got a great reaction from the driver, although tips are not expected. Upon check in they offered to upgrade to a junior suite for 140 dollars canadian, although the only reason one would want to do that is for the balcony because the kitchen came without a refridgerator, which they "Desperately" need. There was no ice machine, so i had to buy a cooler and ice from the local store then walk back which is only two blocks away, but needless to say un-necessary for a hotel such as this. The bars were fine and served on a 1st come 1st served basis, even with a tip. As part of the all inclusive, they serve only Sol draft beer, which i didnt like and i dont drink anything else other than beer. The beds were hard, but they are like that everywhere you go in PV even at the 5 stars we've stayed at. Some will give a foam topper for the beds but we didnt ask because i slept just fine; it might have been the alcohol-lol. The room was clean and believe me i looked. They clean the rooms fine and there were absolutely no bugs that we could find; which is unusual for Mexico. The food was good, but it was the same everyday. Breakfast i really liked and could definitely handle everyday. Cereal, very fresh cut fruit, scambled eggs, shredded potatoes, they made your omelette right in front of you with whatever fresh ingredients(the cook could crack eggs with one hand like professional chefs on TV and fast)hard boiled eggs, yoplait yogurt, danishes, fresh squeezed orange juice with pulp-great. But lunch and dinner was pretty much the same and after 4 days into our vacation we started to eat at restraunts for those meals. The Marina waterfront boardwalk was right there starting beside the hotel which has lots of great restraunts. Internet cafe for the price of a coffee. The staff very courtious, they needed to fix our toilet and did so when we asked, they spoke english for my girlfriend-i myself have learned the bare minimums. Beach was good, minimal amount of Barcaloungers(full length recliners) if you dont get one by early day you will not find one. They "Definitely" need more of them, they have quite a bit of space for them. The Marina bus was good and come by within almost 5-10 mins everytime & take you all over Walmart, downtown & the Malecon for 5.50 peso's. The yellow cabs were fine 60 - 80 peso's (we only had to pay 80 peso's on new yrs eve. which under 8 dollars canadian for a 15min ride) but the drivers speak minimal english so beware. Bring a Spanish dictionary and learn-get into the spirit of Mexico. I would stay there again because of the price is good for what you get. You wont get much more for the inflated price of the 5 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location on the Marina and the beach. Quality vs Price-good.
The weak points
no fridge, ice machine, or scarcity of full length recliners by the beach side pool.
Certified

Embarcadero Pacifico Feb 13-27, 2009

, Oshawa, ON
2009-06-17
Had a good time, the hotel was nice, but the beach was a bit of a walk from the hotel rooms. Also, not nearly enough beach chairs, loungers almost non-existent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Marina area was really nice and very close to restaurants/stores.
The weak points
Beach was tiny, not enough chairs or loungers, toilets near beach/pool routinely overflowed.
Certified

Inexpensive, but needs work

, Edmonton, AB
2009-06-17
We stayed at the Embarcadero for one week. The staff and waiters were very friendly and tthe food was ok. Unfortunately the grounds were in disrepair (eg. lifting tiles; paint peeling off of buildings)and the hotel seemed to be operating on a shoe-string budget (are they in financial difficulty?). For example, we arrived at 1:00AM and were told where to find our room. The walkway and our hallway were completely black (no lights on) and we had to go back to the front desk to ask them to turn on the lights so we could get to our room. After a bit of a delay they turned on the lights and we were able to get to our room.

It is a quiet hotel and the Marina frontage is quite nice. It is a very short walk to the sister property (Villa Pacifico)however it too was in disrepair and needed some routine maintenance.

Overall it was an inexpensive, fun trip notwithstanding the above issues. It is a good example of getting what you pay for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Resort in in a state of disrepair
Certified

Less Than Satisfying!

, Scarborough, ON
2009-06-11
I stayed here mid March and was very disappointed. Let's start off by saying that I am not a picky person. In fact, most people are surprised at what I will settle for when it comes to food and accomodations. But, I was not at all impressed by this resort. I booked on-line and the travel company I booked through listed this resort as a 3.5 star. Mexico has it listed as a 4 star!! The U.S., on the other hand, has it right when thy list it as a 2.5 star hotel. I have been to 3 stars in Cuba that were much better than this place. The food is HORRIBLE. You have a choice between about 5 hot dishes at dinner (ie: (1) mashed patatoes (2) fish (3) carrots, etc.... I ate better in a struggling family of 6 growing up!! The only meal I enjoyed here was the chicken faijitas at lunch. Food selection is VERY minimul and VERY cheap! Most nights there is No entertainment. Nothing to eat from 9pm to 7am. Entertainment team is non-existent. Beach is washed away. I didn't have a problem with the room (very outdated) but clean and spacious. Lots of pools and they seemed clean. Bars open at 11am and close at 12 midnight with the tiny lobby bar being the only bar open between 6pm-12. This was my 5th trip down south (having stayed at mostly 3 stars)and I can honestly say that this resort does not even compare to the quality I have received anywhere else (including 3 stars in Cuba.) In my opinion, this resort needs ALOT of work to pull itself out of the diplorable state that it's in!! People who go here are making a mistake if they think it's a 3.5 star especially if they've been to other 3-4 stars in the Carribean. If people are happy with a 2 star, they will be fine here!
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is beautiful, rooms are spacious, pools are clean
The weak points
FOOD, Service, entertainment, lack of fridge in most rooms, beach is washed away, limited bars and only one very small bar open from 6-12 and it's right across from the front desk in the lobby, very run-down....... I could probably go on...
Certified

As expected

, Edmonton, AB
2009-06-11
Hotel was OK as expected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff at restaurants are very helpful and professional
The weak points
Hygiene @ the resort was OK. However city and buses are unacceptable dirty
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021