Las Palmas By The Sea

Las Palmas By The Sea
3.423.423.423.423.42
3.42 based on 232 reviews
#17 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (56)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Las Palmas by the Sea

, Calgary, AB
2020-03-16
Love Las Palmas, amazing staff, great location and good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Al la carte amazing staff in all areas
The weak points
Variety of evening entertainment. I saw virtually the same circus act this year I saw 3 years ago .More information on up coming special events. There was a wedding which shut down the al la cart.would have arrived earlier to book the other al la cart
Certified

Great place to stay but too many smokers

, Drayton Valley, AB
2020-02-22
The hotel staff was amazing. They catered to your every need.
They need to have a smoking section for all the smokers. You couldn't even sit by the sea wall in the morning to enjoy your coffee and look at the ocean without someone smoking right beside you. It was also that way at the pool or in the lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing Staff
The weak points
Smokers
Certified

Las Palmas

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-11
Smoking smoking smoking. Not a smoker and the place just wreaked of cigarette smoke. Disgusting,not like the other resorts I've been to in PV. Open our balcony door and all you smell is cigarette smoke.
The room was quaint but the roof leaked when it rained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic and the staff was absolutely fabulous. Helpful and very accommodating.
The weak points
CIGARETTE SMOKING.
Certified

Great place

, Edmonton, HA
2020-01-01
Great family place in front of the beach. Great salad bar. Enjoyed every day there. They also have 2 friendly parrots as the mascot at the entrance. Nicely located near all local amenities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Daily entertainment. great hotel location.
The weak points
Repeated food option. Not many chicken options. Limited drinks varieties. Rooms are in poor condition.bathrooms are small.
Certified

Puerto Vallarta Holiday

, Mission, BC
2019-12-05
This was the most friendly resort I've ever stayed at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort staff were attentive, cheerful and polite. Our room was clean, shower was spacious. The a la carte restaurant was good.
The weak points
Music played by the pool was too loud. Perhaps they could provide extra heavy drapes on windows for sound. There was only one plug in for our room. Bedside lights were not working.Need handrails to access pool so people don't slip.
Certified

They did it again.

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-25
This was our second visit to this resort and again we were not disappointed. It is a small and personable resort. We spent two weeks here so we got to know a lot of the staff and fellow guests. Many of the guests are return guests, one fellow was back for his sixteenth visit. A good testimonial for the resort.

The food at the buffet is traditional and a bit repetitive but you can always find something to eat. Don't try everything at once, mix it up a bit or you will get tired of the same old. The al la carte have specialty dishes that are pretty good for the most part.

The staff are great. They are happy, cheerful and eager to please.

The pools, there is one family pool and one adult pool which is great for both parties.

The ocean, not so great. Most of the time the waves come in hard and knock you around which for some it looks like fun but after a few slams they usually leave. Some days are calmer where you can enjoy the ocean however the water is a bit murky and scummy, enough said.

Like I said, this was our second visit and likely there will be another. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly staff.
The weak points
The not so friendly ocean.
Certified

Not the best deal for the solo traveller.

, Surrey, BC
2019-01-05
I don't plan on booking here again. I will find my own accommodations and flights. It's just not worth the price to book all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super friendly staff. I liked the adult only pool and some of the entertainment. Food and drink was always available although monotonous after a few days. Nice to have a coffee station set up all day and the afternoon snack bar was also a good idea.
The weak points
Bellboy sent my luggage to airport without me. I had to hunt my bags down at the airport before I caught my flight home.Very upsetting. I had to leave for the airport super early to deal with this. No offer by bellboy to pay for my taxi to compensate
Certified

Las Palmas by the Sea

, Vancouver, BC
2018-10-08
I had an amazing time while here on my one week's stay. The staff were very courteous and always willing to help. I had a great clean and comfortable room. The food was excellent and considering that I am a vegan/vegetarian, there was much to choose from. The grounds, restaurant, bar and pool areas were very well taken care of. I wish I would have researched the tipping procedures/expectations beforehand as I didn't tip appropriately at first which I feel badly about. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food. Well taken care of grounds. Polite and helpful staff.
The weak points
The restaurant was only open during certain times. It would be nice to have an area where snacks Were available when I missed the meal times but this not a great deal. You can go out and get something from a convenience store.
Certified

Charming but would NOT return its not for me

, Calgary, AB
2018-07-30
The bell boys were great & as well were the hostesses... The bedrooms were clean but the beds were too firm & the walls were too thin you could hear everything... this resort seemed like a resort for the locals not for tourists at all!.. The pools were too full of people & one of them was for adults which is ridiculous because its a family resort clearly as there were more kids than adults there.. & the pools opened @ 9am? thats too late! & no music throughout the day? thats boring not fun! it didnt feel like a vacation there compared to other resorts... The beach is dirty & very small & its not beautiful at all.. The food is not amazing its just ok... the waiters service is very fast though... & David the bartender was a hard worker but he needs help with the workload its too much for him no matter how fast he works its hard to keep up with the demand especially with the locals hanging at the bar constantly they wouldnt leave & make room for other people how rude..
Look, if you just need a place to sleep since you will be out & about mostly then here is good enough.. but to spend time here not worth the money my kids didnt like it here, spend a little more money somewhere else to enjoy more.
This resort needs improvement & dont ruin your honeymoon by coming here go somewhere else trust me.. this is a seniors & locals resort you wont feel like you are on vacation here
HERES SOME TIPS FOR THE RESORT TO MAKE IT BETTER;
1) open the pool @ 7am not 9am
2) make both pools for everyone
3) play music from 8am to 1am like a normal resort.. its not a museum
4) get more bartenders
5) dont be rude to tourists by just serving the locals first... priority was given to the locals.. Resort was full of locals
6) nightly entertainment was a joke needs major improvement shuts down too early & they need better ideas
7) dont put hotdogs in your recipes! tourists come to try real mexican food... many dishes had hotdogs! OMG
8) mabey anti social people would like it here & same with retirees just saying
9) internet not the greatest only in reception area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly hostesses & bellboys & pretty parrot
The weak points
boring!!, no music!! too quiet!! & full of locals!!, beach is dirty & adult pool should be a family pool as well.. or at least try to make pool bigger renovate it, too many hotdogs in many different recipes gross! why?!
Certified

Great Vacation

, Calgary, HA
2018-04-19
We vacationed there in March 2018.Our room was an ocean view on the second floor. We were looking for a resort for a quiet relaxing vacation. We definitely got it here. The staff were TREMENDOUS. Rosa at the buffet makes the best omelettes ever. We met many quests that were on return visits and we can hardly wait to go back next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and staff at the Restaurant Guacamajass
The weak points
The bed were very firm not to our liking. Also a lack of fresh salsa and guacamole.
Certified

Clean but wouldn't recommend

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-30
Place was clean but would rather spend my money elsewhere. There were too many locals and rules didn't seem to apply to them. Pool was full and little kids were allowed in pool without swimmers or diapers and of course this resulted in having the pool closed due to human feces in the pool. Spend a few more dollars and go elsewhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Leftovers-by-the-sea...

, Edmonton, AB
2018-03-19
For a budget resort, this one ranks pretty low. I have never seen such an over use of leftovers than here. In 4 days, I saw fresh meat (pork chops and chicken) grilled once. Everything else was once, twice, thrice reheated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendly.
The weak points
Shower heads and drains need a thorough cleaning. Well drinks were poor quality.
Certified

Great place!

, Calgary, AB
2018-03-17
Rooms were clean, the people that work here are awesome! We loved David in the lobby bar. He was awesome and so very friendly. Martin greeted us every time we came and went from the hotel. He was so very helpful in getting us to and from any place we needed to go. Francisco was also another one that was so very friendly and always had a smile and kind words to see how our day was going! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was great for the most part!,
Certified

Las Palmas by the Sea

, Okotoks, AB
2018-01-06
My family and I enjoyed our stay at Las Palmas. The food was tasty, and there was lots of selection. The drinks were good and the service was great! The resort was nice and clean. For an older resort it is very quaint. We really enjoyed our stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great atmosphere, friendly staff, good food and entertainment.
The weak points
The beds are small in the family rooms, (queen size would have been good)they're a little hard and the pillows are really lumpy. The fixtures in our room needed some updating. Shower head sprayed all over the bathroom. Tv picture was fuzzy. Poor wifi
Certified

PV Mexico relaxing fun time

, Mississauga, ON
2017-04-19
What a lovely warm welcome at this hotel from ALL staff and guests. Everyone has a smile and really go out of their way to help or ask if you need anything. I cannot say enough about the amazing staff, I read the reviews but we experienced it for ourselves! Yes a smaller hotel specifically booked- so much nicer socially than the big ones, everyone in such a friendly vacay mode! Easter is big Mexican holiday and busy time and we all- mostly Canadian Mexican guests had a blast. Make sure to catch the bus to the Malecon and Romantic(old)town, and a visit to Sayulita.
Staff paint, upgrade and clean areas very discreetly and are always so friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location-lovely beach walks either way, STAFF,
Certified

Great value for the money

, White Rock, BC
2017-04-17
Ernesto and Monica at the front desk do a marvellous job of keeping everyone happy. Adult Pool waiter first class,evening shows well done for low budget.buffet ok,al la carte resturant very good,location right on the beach and easy access to buses for downtown .overall excellent value for money,although more umbrellas around the pool would be nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Front desk staff,whole hotel very friendly,good location
The weak points
Lack of umbrellas around pool area,larger bar needed
Certified

Amazing Staff

, Westbank, BC
2017-02-10
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Good value for your money. We will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, location and beaches
The weak points
hard beds, older hotel
Certified

Still a great resort for a holiday

, Caledonia, ON
2017-01-28
We were excited to return to Las Palmas after 7 years and it did not disappoint! This was our 7th stay at this resort since 2004. The staff at the restaurants and bar are extremely friendly and efficient at their jobs. Housekeeping staff keep the rooms very clean and will bring towels later if they aren't available when they do the rooms. The food has good variety. Lunches were excellent. It is a wonderful location on the beach and only steps from a bus stop if you wish to go downtown or to the marina. Rides are about $.50C. We found time share sellers easy to ignore. Entertainment in the evenings is very good but get there early to get a chair. "Tea-time" at 5 p.m. has Spanish coffee and several light lunches, with bothCanadian and Mexican dishes, are available in the common area just outside the buffet. The view of sunsets is truly amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location in hotel zone, staff, beach, pools
The weak points
Sometimes need to look around for some extras going on. We missed outside pasta night because the sign was too far from the entrance to the bufffet.
Certified

INADEQUATE

, East Qualicum Beach, BC
2017-01-10
Hotel needs more then tlc. in rough shape.food is very repetive and unappealing in the buffet restaurant but snack bar is good enough. bar and restaurant staff are amazing. pushy on time share bull. housekeeping is very inconsistent. beautiful pool area, bar area and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
a lot food, condition, beds, hoousekeeping
Certified

Awesome location.

, Calgary, AB
2016-04-12
I had a great room with ocean view on the adult pool side. Was very impressed with the overall cleanliness and prompt attention to any defecincies. One thing I was a little disappointed with is that there is no food or beverages allowed in the pool area. I inquired and was told I could have lunch at the pool but only if I purchased it separate from my all inclusive package. So not so all inclusive. The breakfasts were great with an omelet/egg grill for special orders. The lunches and dinners were ok but everyday pretty much the same so would include some extra money in the budget for 3 dinners in town. Loved the location with bus stop to downtown steps from hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location. Great beach.
The weak points
No pool or room service.
Certified

Totally going back!

, Calgary, Al
2016-04-10
The resort was fantastic! The staff is amazing. The food was good. The reservation dinner was awesome! My boyfriend had the calamari for an appetizer and he said it was the best calamari he has ever had! They have some form of entertainment every evening and daily activities as well. With the amazing wait and bar staff this resort has ever thing you could possibly need to have a fantastic holiday. From talking to many other guests their opinion was the same. A couple from a resort down the way stopped by for a drink. From their brief experience, they wish they had booked at our resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location and beach
The weak points
Would have liked a mini fridge in the room.
Certified

Getaway for great price!

, Saskatoon, SK
2016-03-29
Hotel staff where very friendly excellent service. Hotel was very clean. One down fall was the bed was awful yes we informed the bed was uncomfortable they put a sponge but really didn't help. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Verify friendly staff
The weak points
The bed
Certified

Comfortable & Great Value

, Kelowna, BC
2016-03-01
I have always enjoyed Puerto Vallarta, great weather, lovely beaches, fun shopping experience and lots to do. I play pickleball and managed to play 5 times a week at another resort. I have stayed at Las Palmas by the Sea about 6 times and find the rooms large and clean, good wholesome food & drinks and fun filled evening entertainment plus very friendly staff (always smiling). I have recommended this resort to many of my friends who have gone and told me it was a good fit for them. Thank you and keep up the good work. I plan to return next year again for maybe the month of February or March. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, good food, happy smiling staff and good facility.
The weak points
Internet connection poor to bad, everything else great.
Certified

Overall good

, Okotoks, AB
2016-01-30
Overall the hotel is what you pay for, if your looking for a nice expensive hotel for the price you pay here then look somewhere else, it's a nice price and the hotel is exactly what you would expect. Yea the beds are hard but I wasnt laying around in bed all day, its a good distance away from the "downtown" area, its only about an hour walk on the sidewalk so that was nice. Food is what you would expect as well for a buffet although I thought the breakfast menu was pretty great, and if the pasta bar is available during dinner I highly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Superb service!

, Coquitlam, BC
2015-12-07
Staff at this resort go beyond the call
of duty when it comes to quality and
service. Great food and nice amenities. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are top notch
The weak points
Noise coming from bar and pool area late at night is excessive
Certified

Great!

, Surrey, Br
2015-02-02
i had a great time at Las Palmas by the Sea.OLL staff was friendly.The food was fresh and tasty.Service-wonderful .Rooms were clean.The hotel also provides so much information on tours and activities.Looking forward to going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
More activities
The weak points
24 hour drinks
Certified

As Expected, Nothing Special

, Saskatoon, SK
2015-01-27
An okay resort with good staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff
The weak points
Food, Internet
Certified

Wonderful experience

, Delta , BC
2015-01-24
We found everything we needed at Las Palmas by the sea. good food, drinks entertainment first class. the activities presented in a humorous environment. beach vendors can be bothersome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
best quality for the price
The weak points
bothersome beach vendors. difficulty with wifi
Certified

Better than expected

, Maple Ridge, BC
2014-12-06
We booked last minute at a bargain price and did not expect much, to our delight room was spotless, beds hard but comfortable, slept like logs. We did not upgrade to ocean view, room on 4th floor great view of the mountains and because we were in back much quieter than ocean view. Food OK, plentiful and fresh. Given one night to order from menu and it was excellent, very surprised, there were 4 of us and we all loved our meals. Staff were friendly, always smiling, Gill activities director was very helpful and busy putting up Xmas decorations and asking our advise, he was a hoot. Entertainment every night and the dancers were as good as we have seen at any resort, top quality. Location was great we could walk to just about anywhere or hop bus at end of the driveway for 75 pesos. Would definitely go back one of the best vacations we have had in a long time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent value for the money
The weak points
Could change the buffet grill selection more often every night was pasta.
Certified

A real tonic

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-04-17
We came to escape the bitter prairie winter. Las Palmas turned out far better than expected. Reception always helpful, the staff were more than friendly and our room was kept neat and tidy. The hotel's central location is a distinct bonus and the view from the beach is great. We would return again tomorrow if it were possible!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, friendly, relaxing and multicultural. Always helpful and restaurant servers affable and attentive. The buffet restaurant is beautifully designed.
The weak points
No bar fridge in bedroom. Some of the shows were below par and disorganized while some of the performers were superb.
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021