Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta

Canto Del Sol Puerto Vallarta
3.863.863.863.863.86
3.86 based on 347 reviews
#6 of 43 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (77)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great!

, Picture Butte , AB
2023-01-30
Great! Only complaint was the lack of meat sauce for spaghetti topping! Guys want a meat sauce and the pot was empty 15 minutes after the door opened! Only complaint except for the too short palapases! Have to crawl under and theres not enough of them…..alway occupied! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service and cleanliness
The weak points
None except for the meat sauce and palapases!
Certified

Fun in the Sun - January 2023

, Edmonton, AB
2023-01-14
This is the 4th time I have stayed at this resort the last being Feb 2022. The buffet restaurant food was the best it has ever been. The three a-la-carte restaurant dinners were great as well. Entertainment at night was varied and enjoyable. This is the first time I stayed in there villa hotel and turns out I like it. Its quiet and less people. Also I played tennis every day on clay courts in the hot sun. I was hoping the workout would cancel out some of the calories from over eating plus all the great deserts. The staff were friendly and work hard. I'll go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Location, nice rooms, good food, good service, good entertainment, some international brand liquor, plus tennis courts.
The weak points
Foreign exchange at front counter was humiliating for me. It became obvious that she didn't want Canadian Dollars. I was wanting to tip staff but she kept brushing me off saying come back at 1 pm, then 4 pm and so on. Other resorts never had problem.
Certified

Great for Families

, Edmonton, AB
2023-01-02
We booked this hotel as we were travelling with our two teenagers and a toddler and require a large room. We were not disappointed by the two bedroom suite. One bedroom had two double beds for the teenagers and the other bedroom had a large king bed and more that enough space for a Pack and Play (provided by the hotel on request) for the little one to sleep in. There was also a spacious kitchen, living area so everyone had space to be comfortable.
The beach was small and rocky. At high tide it was largely non existent. There were two pool areas. The main pool was close to the snack bar and drink bar. Unfortunately getting seating around this pool requires getting up by 7 am most days. The other pool area with the children's waterpark was a better option as the loungers were better quality and usually not all taken until about 11am. No bar close to this pool but a waiter came around every day starting at noon to serve food and drinks. The rushing water from the waterpark made this pool area quite loud.
The food was okay. More mexican foods are available in the buffet than other resorts I've been to and the buffet is smaller that other resorts. And salty. Very salty! The Italian and Surf and Turf a la carte restaurants were very good. The Japanese was just so-so. One thing I found challenging as there was not a lot of area for large groups to sit and meet for drinks and chat. We were travelling with another family of 5 and the only group meeting area was the lobby bar which was a fairly small area. We pulled 3 tables together when we could but we felt like we were taking up half the bar.
It was also very clean. Maybe a bit dated and run down but clean.
Overall I would return if I was travelling with my family. For a couples trip I would probably choose a quieter resort with more amenities. I certainly feel I got great value for the money! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Rooms were amazing, large and comfortable. Resort was very clean. Staff were very friendly.
The weak points
Food was very salty. Buffet was small Hard to get a sunbed at the main pool
Certified

We won't be back

, Cambridge, ON
2022-11-16
We booked a beach resort but ended up in the "Mountain resort". Old and run down and far from the beach. First room was terrible and switched the next day. We found the resort clean and most of the staff were friendly. 1 bar tender served local tourists first.
At least 95% of the guests were local tourists so there was very little "North American" food available. Breakfast, lunch and dinner was pretty much the same and often cold. I was hungry often. The only juice was orange which was watered down as it was cooled with ice. The Italian and Mexican restaurants were good.
Small beach with numerous vendors. No chairs or loungers on the beach. Hard to find a place by the pool as people reserve them for the day. Pool water temperature was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Safe place, close walk to local shops and grocery store. Not far from the airport or downtown. Filtered water and ice.
The weak points
Poor food selection left us hungry. Limited variety. Watered down drinks, old rundown sections of the resort. Hard to find a lounge chair near a pool or at the beach.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
None in effect
Certified

Amazing Time

, Airdrie, AB
2022-05-11
We enjoyed our trip! We will return. Great atmosphere and location.The buffet was delicious during breakfast. Lunch and supper was the same each day so we skipped most days to venture out.Staff was excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The cleanliness of the building and room
The weak points
The building could use a touch of TLC in some places. More umbrellas are needed around the poolside
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The staff are always cleaning
Certified

Good for the price

, Vancouver, BC
2022-04-27
Overall our stay was good enough. The one downside is that it's slightly disorganized. We were not given any info brochure at check in, as a result we had to do additional steps to find out meals schedule, restaurant booking system, map and so on.
Although the property is quite aged it's well kept and very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, location
The weak points
Organization
Certified

Upbeat and clean

, Airdrie, AB
2022-04-23
My husband and I spent 1 week at Canto del Sol. The weather was beautiful and the staff were amazing. The beach unfortunately wasn't great as the water was quite rough. There were also quite a few vendors by the stairs to the beach but they easily took no thank you as an answer. Overall it was a good experience and we felt very safe at all times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff were very friendly and helpful. The resort was very clean, housekeeping did an amazing job with the cleanliness of our room. We were even left beautiful flowers each day which was a nice little touch. We received great service. Very kid friendly.
The weak points
The food was quite repetitive as was the nightly entertainment. The pool activities from noon to 4 were quite loud but those who participated quite enjoyed them
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
We were required to wear a mask during all interactions with staff and had to sanitize our hands at all buffets meals. I didn't notice if they wiped down pool side chairs and tables.
Certified

Travel again!

, Collingwood, ON
2022-03-12
Had a relaxing time and experience was what we were expecting. Hotel is short staffed. Once up and running full it should be ok. We had an obstructed ocean view with a tiny balcony. Friends were by the pool at Villas Vallarta with a huge room with kitchen - for less cost. Not worth upgrading. Resort geared to families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Rooms were clean. Entertainment outdoors ended at appropriate time. A la carte restaurants were good. Entertainment was good.
The weak points
Cold food, limited buffet selections and repeated choices. Room was freezing and could not get the thermostat to change. Had to get extra blankets. Small beach.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Protocols in place but odd. Had to have a mask to order at the bar but then could sit and drink.
Certified

Fun times at Canto Del Sol

, Victoria, BC
2021-12-21
I visited Canto Del Sol on a last minute vacation with my sister and had a lot of fun! The best part about Canto Del Sol was the food and the staff members. The food was largely authentic Mexican food and the restaurant's that were on the resort were great (especially the Japanese one). We ended up being put in 'Villa Vallarta' which is an attached hotel directly across from the front entrance of Canto Del Sol. It should be noted that this is not a 'Party' resort and that the majority of the other visitors were children under the age of 10 with their families. It was nice that there were 3 separate pool areas and the Cevicheria was a bonus as well! We ended up in an odd type of room so I would definitely request to be in the main 'Canto Del Sol' area rather than over in Villa Vallarta. Overall great experience and relaxing trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
- Staff members are amazing and friendly - Bar and Restaurant excellent - Food is great - Room Service offered 24/7 for after hours - Nice beach with great walks to the right - Close to downtown boardwalk (30 min walk) and airport (10 min drive
The weak points
- Room was not as pictured - Wifi only available in some areas by pool/lobby - Too many children in all the pool areas (should have one pool as 'adult only')
Certified

Canto Del Sol - march 18 to 25, 2020

, Vancouver, BC
2020-03-27
The location of the hotel is perfect - an easy walk to downtown, but not too close, making for a very tranquil stay. This is a smaller hotel, but with HEART. They are dedicated to ensuring that each guest feels at home. And they DO it ! I have been going back to Canto del Sol for more than five years, and in Puerto Vallarta would not consider staying anywhere else. I stayed in a studio, which I would recommend because it has a kitchenette with fridge. Despite the current coronavirus crisis, I felt safe and secure at Canto del Sol. They took many precautions to ensure everyone's safety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness & helpfulness of all staff - EXQUISITE FOOD !!! - Lovely and beautifully maintained grounds - Divine meals at the specialty restaurants - Helpfulness of Guest Services to deal with any concerns, with the hotel or otherwise.
The weak points
There are no weak points - Canto del Sol covers all bases, and does it really, really well...!
Certified

Canto Del Sol 14th stay

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-06
I've been going to the Canto for many years and have stayed a month and many times 3 weeks plus many two week stays. It's my second home. I continue to enjoy my stays there. It is become quite expensive with very few changes that benefit the guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is decent and the staff is wonderful. Staff is always willing to help out. Staff is truly why I continue to stay.
The weak points
Buffet food hasn't really change in over a decade. I can usually find something to eat most nights but sometimes it is substandard. Lunch time, they use have have the hot sandwiches made at the grill, many of us miss the sandwiches.
Certified

One week family getaway with 13 ....a bakers dozen

, Kamloops, BC
2020-01-26
8 adults and 5 kids .... and one was 2 1/2 years old. We all had a great time and hope to go back soon. Kids just loved the pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. We all had a great time. Surf & Turf was a favorite. Lucked out with the weather...warm & sunny every day.
The weak points
I'm old but some of the music was VERY old. Could pick it up a notch. Please upgrade the loungers in the main pool area similar to the ones in the back pool area. Some more comfortable seating in the bar area would also be nice.
Certified

Canto del sol

, Lacombe, AB
2020-01-09
The hotel was listed as a 4.5-5 star however a lot of maintenance needed to be done and the food was plain and repetitive. Staff were good but in short supply. Makes me question who gives the rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were friendly and the a la carte meals were very good
The weak points
The shower in our room was broken, the balcony light didn't work, the resort seemed understaffed, the buffet and snack bar were quite plain and repetitive. Key cards seemed worn out. Had to replace them a couple of times
Certified

Our experience at Canto del Sol

, La Crete, AB
2019-03-30
Overall we had a good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strongest point is the location. Very friendly staff and the size of the resort. Very clean!
The weak points
The pressure to listen to the time share presentation is too much!! You can't relax. Almost every time we head for the pool they ask if we've changed our mind already. The food was very much the same every day. The same with the entertainment.
Certified

Winter holiday

, Sundridge, ON
2019-01-24
great stay all the staff were very good would stay here again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

What is this

, Lake Country, BC
2018-12-12
Good. What do you want here [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Employees
Certified

Disapointed

, Vernon, BC
2018-12-11
This is my fourth time at this hotel in four years. I will not be going again. I have seen the prices steadily rise and service go down. This is definately not a 4 1/2 star hotel. More like a 3 1/2. I have been to plenty of 4 1/2 star resorts.
I booked an ocean view room and got a ground floor room looking at some bushes and the pool. The room had a king size bed, only one night stand and no clock in the room. They provide bottled water but there are no fridges in the rooms. The bath has a shower only.
The buffet is very small with limited selection and the food is only OK. The three restaurants, however, are fantastic but you can only go three times in total. The snack bar has one of the best menus I have seen. They used to do an excellent ala carte breakfast there, which I was really looking forward to. However, they have stopped doing that.
The resort was quiet all week and then on Friday afternoon became packed with local families. Both Friday and Saturday you could not get near the pool bar because of children in the area. There is a separate pool for kids but not many use it because it is out of the way with no amenities for adults supervising them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Specialty restaurants are as good as any five star. Snack bar is great.
The weak points
Small buffet with limited choices. No beach to speak of and the sea is very deep just a few feet from shore.
Certified

Canto Del Sol

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-25
This hotel was a very pleasant surprise! The staff are for sure the greatest asset, the food was awesome, the pool is a huge pool with seating around the entire edge of the pool. The entire place is very clean and well looked after. A friendly, safe, and comfortable resort. a real genuine down to earth resort that makes you feel at home! I will be going back, and would highly suggest to try this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff are all awesome, friendly, attentive, and very caring!
The weak points
The balconies are very tiny, but can seat 2 people.
Certified

Great resort for family of 6

, Orleans, ON
2018-03-22
We travelled with our 3 grand-children age 7,8 and 10 as well as our daughter. This was a first for the kids. The resort size and amenities were perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carte restaurants were great and staff were very pleasant and helpful.
The weak points
Buffet food could have been more varied.
Certified

Canto Del Sol Plaza

, Melita, MB
2018-03-07
We have stayed here several times with a reasonable satisfaction but this time it was a disaster experience, on arrival we didn't get anything which we asked for with our booking. We had quite a run around , they said they didn't have anything else, but for another $900 US we could upgrade. We had to stay in the room they originally gave us, in back of hotel, no view, air cond was not working and very stuffy. The front desk were not cooperative or friendly We got another room the next day which was what we orginally booked, but we had to buy a membership for several thousand dollars, otherwise our vacation was ruined by the room they give us originally [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
resort is clean, staff other than front desk were frie ndy food was ok nice pool and bars were ok nice lounge
The weak points
definety not 5 star which they have over front desk, maybe 3.5 ,standard rooms not in best cond, some rooms had no hot water
Certified

I miss it already

, Oliver, BC
2018-02-27
A small and friendly resort, with staff that works very hard to make everyone happy. Upgrading to an ocean-view room is definitely worth it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super friendly and accommodating staff
The weak points
Food - it was alright, with enough variety to find something you like, but not outstanding
Certified

Excellent service

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-18
This is our second time at Canto del Sol. First time it was because of covered tennis courts. This time was because we liked our stay first time. Yes, rooms and bathrooms are a little bit dated. And the beach is not that great. But food and hospitality are 5 star. Great effort by the staff everywhere. And arrangement and food for the Valentines day were simply outstanding. Thank you all we hope to see you soon again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is great. I liked the white fish prepared every day in a different way a lot. Also omlet in the morning, Pico de Gallo, guacamole and white cheese. We liked the choice of drinks like vine (rose) and of course mohitos. Clean rooms, pool and grounds.
The weak points
Dated bathrooms. Small beach. Sometimes dirty (foam) sea water surface
Certified

Great holiday

, Lethbridge, AB
2017-02-16
We would recommend this resort for a fun but quiet time.
This is not a party place.
Great food and service. The restaurant and bar service was exceptional
The activities staff make the days fun
The smaller resort made it easy to meet other vacationers
Location was excellent to major attractions
Would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff - very friendly and helpful restaurants and food in general was excellent Bar service was great Large rooms very clean with good quality linen and towels Pools area recently updated and very good Would definitely return and recommend
The weak points
Older resort but exceptionally well kept. Rooms and buildings could use some updating.
Certified

Great Stay

, Cambridge, ON
2017-01-09
My family and I (wife and 3 kids under age 8) had a wonderful time!! Hotel is very kid friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Incredible service!!
The weak points
Beach (not for little kids, but okay for adults), front desk disorganised.
Certified

Thank you for a lovely stay.

, Vancouver, BC
2017-01-02
I thought all of the staff were very friendly and kind to me. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The beds were not the most comfortable but I find that is the case wherever I travel, not just at Canto del Sol. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I thought the friendliness of the staff was lovely. Also the variety of foods and drinks was lovely.
The weak points
I would have liked a bathtub as well as a shower in my room. I found the beds a bid hard and the bedding a litle scratchy.
Certified

Great Resort, Wish they served liquor later.

, Surrey, Br
2016-05-03
Great place overall. Not my first time there and I really enjoy it every time. Great place to spend time relaxing, not a great place to party. Had a relaxing vacation, was waited on well and the staff don't beg for tips on every drink like at some resorts. Overall great place for a vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, staff was awesome, great value for the money.
The weak points
Snack bar and all bars close at midnight.
Certified

Canto Del Sol

, Ardrossan, AB
2016-03-08
Have stayed here lots of times, great place to stay. The food is real good and lots of it,rooms are nice and very clean as is the grounds. The pool is quite big and not cold. The staff are what makes this hotel,they will do anything to make your stay good. You are welcomed with "welcome home" [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Hotel

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-23
The hotel was wonderfull, food was amazing and staff were very friendly and helpfull with everything. Great service all around! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

We love Canto Del Sol

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-17
A great resort for families. We have two year old twins and a seven year old. The different pool depths are great for all ages. Warm water. A great time was had by all! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Kids Club is great for my seven year old. The pool is great. The grounds are well kept. Great staff. And the weather in Puerto Vallarta is always Amazing!
The weak points
Wifi is terrible.
Certified

Amazing

, Airdrie, AB
2016-02-15
You will not find a resort with more attentive staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, and service.
The weak points
Beds were very hard.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023