Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel And Mexican Charm

Hacienda Buenaventura Hotel And Mexican Charm
3.413.413.413.413.41
3.41 based on 99 reviews
#19 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (18)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Last minute get away

, Calgary, AB
2020-03-19
The staff at Hacienda Buenaventura were what made this stay the most enjoyable. They work tirelessly in the restaurant and bar areas to deliver the best service. Each staff member going non stop with a smile on their face. Friendly front desk and concierge staff and a fantastic location as well. Very easy to access public transit, the beach, the marina and shopping for essentials at the super market or Walmart. Only down side was being unable to decrease the room temperature and the food options at the snack bars was a little underwhelming. I would consider staying again for location and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, location, ease of stay.
The weak points
Food lack luster. Room temp
Certified

Hacienda

, Melville, SK
2020-03-14
I've stayed at this resort a number of times the service is very good a special thanks to house keeping Andrea did an excellent job of looking after me and my needs, also Ivan at the pool bar. I look forward to returning next year. Thanks Angelica Hernadez [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Still sick

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-13
This was our 15th time to PV and area. We were in Cancun in December and that we would go for another trip in March . Arrived March 12th for 7 days. Second dinner we both had Chicken in brown sauce.After I ate half of the first piece I noticed it was raw in the center. Both of us spent 3rd and 4th days in bed sick. Next time we went to pool area heard about a few others that were sick, never found out why they were sick. Went to another dinner and they were serving ribs so I tried them found they were okay so i went up for a second helping and the server was putting raw pork chops on the grill he then turn to me and tried to put ribs on my plate with the same tongs so I pulled plate away and explained cross contamination, he just smiled and kept putting raw pork chops on the grill. I noticed over the next couple of days a lot of workers have little or no experience handling food. Other then that it is an old complex in need of lots of work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Told there was a shuttle to beach area but never saw one. No elevators.

Amazed

, Oshawa, ON
2018-06-22
11 friends of mine from different areas of Ontario went to this resort past Feb 11/2016. 3 couples were 1st timers to Mexico...they fell in love with Puerto Vallarta and the resort Hacienda Buenaventura. Two of these 1st time couples will be honeymooning here...wow. The ambience is absolutely amazing. Great food, great staff, excellent (superior room), always hot water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, professional, entire staff were always available to assist in any way and for one week the eateries were better then average. Nightly live entertainment and twice a week. BBQ on the whole, had an excellent time here
The weak points
maybe the 10 minute walk to the resorts beach club. although there is a free shuttle all day...so really nothing negative here

Authentic Mexican

, Abbotsford, BC
2018-04-16
I had a great time. I travelled solo so it was quiet to begin with but later as I met people it was quite enjoyable.
Basic food, clean room. Any problems I saw or heard of were dealt with promptly.
Not strong on the entertainment however Mexican night had the best dancers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great last minute deal for me as a solo.
The weak points
Pool can get crowded on weekends.
Certified

Awesome

, Winkler, MB
2017-02-03
Our experience at this resort was fantastic. All the staff made you feel like family. A true Mexico experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is very polite, kind and a pleasure to be associated with.
The weak points
Could use stronger and faster wifi.
Certified

True Mexico feeling!

, Airdrie, AB
2016-04-23
We love the Hacienda! This is our second time there. The staff is the best! Food is great! Rooms are always clean! You can't go wrong for the price. Would go back again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff makes it all worth while going there. They go the extra mile to make sure you are always taken care of
Certified

HACIENDA BUENAVENTURA HOTEL SPA AND BEACH CLUB

, Oakbank, MB
2016-03-25
As we walked into the Hacienda, we were greeted with a big smile front desk lady who got us settled in quickly and assured us we'd like our room[130]and we did.The hotel is older but looked after well.Staff is very pleasant.Food was excellent. Fresh fruit everyday.Meats were full of flavor,and lots of vegys everyday.This is still a 3 star hotel,don't expect a 5 star.Staff kept grounds and pool very clean all the time .We thought the location way great.Centrally located for hopping a bus to go north or south.This was our 4th time to PV and and first time to the Hacienda.We have traveled Mexico frequently. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were great.Room location suited us well.Location was great.
The weak points
Wi-fi . Red wine.
Certified

Hacienda Buenaventura

, Langley, BC
2016-01-30
we loved the hotel....beautiful setting, beautiful people and fairly wheelchair accessible
more vegetarian options at the buffet would have been nice but the food was adequate [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
extremely friendly and helpful staff...great proximity to downtown
The weak points
lack of vegetarian options......partway thru our trip they opened half the dining room to smokers which was a disappointment
Certified

Puerto Vallarta HACIENDA BUENAVENTURA HOTEL SPA AN

, Chatham, ON
2015-12-16
Well the Hotel was very small which we knew this but was very nice ,the people are wonderful , and they decorated our room beautifully for out 40th wedding Anniversary :)

How ever the food wasn't good , we did manage to get into the A laCarte 5 times which 3 out of 5 was good it was mainly the only food we ate except some breakfast.
The beach club was a huge let down for us . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People
The weak points
Food and beach club .
Certified

Honeymoon Heaven!

, Calgary, Al
2015-03-16
My husband and I spent a week at the Hacienda Buenaventura and had a fabulous time! The staff are wonderful, the food is authentic and tasty, and the location can't be beat. The beach is about a 5 minute walk (there's a shuttle but honestly, it's a really quick walk), and there's a great grocery store close by to pick up snacks and water for your room. The bus stop is right in front of the grocery store, and buses are safe and arrive frequently. We really enjoyed the opportunity to spend time at the pool and beach, and then hop on a bus and head downtown for a walk by the ocean, and margaritas while watching the sunset. Terrific trip, we couldn't be happier and will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of locals, which made it feel more authentic. Good food, great service and nice clean rooms. A bit older (you have an actual key to get into your room rather than a card) but well maintained and safe.
The weak points
You have to buy your own bottles of water. Unlike most resorts, you don't get one at every meal so plan on purchasing bottles for your room from the store in the resort, or the nearby grocery store. Not a big deal for us, but an FYI.
Certified

Not a three star

, Regina, SK
2015-01-08
We received no information regarding the hotel and dining when we checked in. When I asked the information was in Spanish. Staff were very friendly courteous but a lot had very limited English. This resort is older and caters to the Mexican tourist. I wouldn't stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Older resort
Certified

Satisfying

, Calgary, Al
2014-12-22
Very good for the price [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location,service,
The weak points
Food
Certified

Good Budget Hotel

, Mission, BC
2014-12-18
The location is convenient on the main hotel zone. There is a Soriana Supermarket a few metres North on the same side of the Avenue, a Walmart walking distance, a luxury mall next to Walmart and a pharmacy right across from the hotel. One can take a bus to downtown P.V. for $7.50 pesos or a Taxi outside of the hotel for $50-60 pesos. This is not a beach front. I hear there are shuttle services to it but while we were there we never heard of them. We walked to the beach and it was a 3-5 minutes walk. No bad at all.
This is a very old hotel, a local said around 50 years or older. Do not expect luxury because you will be disappointed. This hotel has old doors, hardware, no card-key but a regular metal key on a shoe lace, old roof ceramic tiles, old tiles in an old fashion unnecessary tub, a low shower head that would force a real tall person on his/her knees to be able to wash the hair. When it was new it must have been tops. There have been obviously upgrades over the years but it does show its age.
We almost had it for ourselves when we arrived on a Tuesday; hardly anyone else. On the first Friday a lot of National Tourists came. Many of them families and University students, they had a wonderful time, that is when the pool activities kicked on. On Saturday night they decorated for a Mexican Party and tables and beautifully dressed chairs were placed along the pool. There was a show with contests for children and silly jokes with tequila for guys and girls and at the end folklore dancers. Very nice.
Gardens are well kept, the pool as well, water is warm and pleasant, rooms are cleaned daily. Only one water bottle as you arrive, later if you want you can take water from the bar to your room in a glass.
Food is very important. It was good. The deserts were fantastic. You have the omelette in the morning if you like, fruit, yogurts of different flavours, granola, pancakes, French toast, scrambled eggs, chilaquiles, beans, salsas, and many times chicken or beef stews in the morning. Coffee and decaf coffee, herbal teas, sometimes “empanadas” freshly made ( round-corn dough-wrap filled in with cheese or chorizo and freshly cooked in the grill or deep fried). They had delicious oat “atole” ( thick hot beverage with delicious Mexican cinnamon) or champurrado ( another thick hot beverage chocolate flavour). Lunch and supper were as good, many times with freshly grilled meats, chicken, fish, fajitas.
The “a la carta” dinner was interesting. We expected more. Not enough food but the desert made up the difference.
The “orange juice” was fake, so avoid it. And the margaritas, piña coladas, etc are made with fake syrups with no real juices. We stayed with beer and wine. Nice clear and dark beers. Kahlua based drinks are also nice.
Again, on Sunday most of the local tourists were gone and the place became more quiet. During the weeks we saw a few foreign tourists arriving and next Friday more local tourists.
The spa looks great but the prices are twice as high as other places. We went twice for 1 hour massage for couples ending with a chiropractor adjustment in another location for half the price. “Magestic” ask for Teo the chiropractor-owner: Cell # 322-118-17-36
We had a small dental issue and I highly recommend Dr. Victor Hernandez Padilla; Josef Ortiz de Dominguez # 223. Tel 322-223-23-60. Composite filling with dental cleaning CAN $65.00
It is important to make sure you do not overpay if you decide to stay at the Hacienda. Look for a good deal. We like to try different hotels each time we visit. For a budget hotel it is good. We were late in booking our trip so for the same price, booking in September or early October, we could have stayed in a 5 stars. But no regrets, our mistake, we rested, ate well and re-charged. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff! All of them extremely friendly & attentive. Offering beberages while you eat. Bartenders always friendly.LCD TV with MANY English channels.Very clean overall
The weak points
No fan in the bathroom, ugly tiled tub. Shower head too low for avarage guy. No real orange juice and mixes made with fake juices as well.
Certified

Meh...

, Calgary, AB
2014-10-02
The hotel is what it is. Not a four star but you are in Mexico. 80% of guests are Mexican and the 20% would be Canadian, American or elsewhere. Small hotel which wasnice and quiet, not a party place and great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location, price and rest of staff were all very nice!
The weak points
The guy who checked us in spoke little to no English. While i dont expect everyone to have great English, the reception guy should be the excpetion.
Certified

Peurto Vallarta Holiday

, Burnaby, BC
2014-05-02
My stay at the Hacienda turned out better than expected. too bad it is not a beachfront hotel; a shuttle will take you to the beach or it is about a 5min. walk. The staff are very friendly and polite and speak English; although I did try to speak some Spanish. food service was adequate to good; lots of fresh fruit and juices; I enjoyed my made to order omlette.
My room was fine,as was the maid service, L.E.D. T.V. Screens on the patio window. The gardens were maintained daily; there is even a resident Iguana, that is keeps to himself. The pool is open daily usually until dusk and there are activities for all ages; prizes too; T-Shirts, sometimes alcohol. All in all my 2 week stay was good with no problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly courteous staff. All inclusive; sight seeing arrangements can be made on sight.
The weak points
Some sprucing up would make the hotel more appealing' A better ladder to assist the less mobile clients in and out of the pool. Maybe less quantity food. a little higher quality.
Certified

On par for an authentic vacation

, Burnaby, BC
2014-04-15
I read so many reviews on this hotel prior to booking and with many negative ones it had me feeling doubtful. I was seeking a break from hustle and bustle for 7 years of no vacation, also i am young single and a father so to say the least, i enjoyed the relaxation, authenticity & 15 minute ride to all the hottest clubs. Thank you to all the staff who made my solo trip more enjoyable including the front desk ladies, Ivan, Panchito, and my day & night bartenders who had my drink ready before i sat down to order.

Best time of my life. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A la carte best cooked steak ive ever had, authentic semi-secluded areas (restaurant/spa/hammocks/pool/wifiarea)
The weak points
Really for me was that i couldnt see the ocean from my room and that everything shut down so early but with all of the options available to do outside of the resort i was never bored.
Certified

Will return

, Callander, ON
2014-03-11
I stayed here March 1-8 2014 and loved it. I have stayed in many places in PV over the years - 3-5 stars. I love the Hacienda. It is quaint and personable. It was quiet and clean. The beach is approx. a 5 min walk but it well worth it! There are lots of chaise lounges, chairs, palapas, and a bar, snack bar, and washrooms. There are outdoor showers to cool off with if you do not want to go into the ocean. The restaurants are not huge but how much food do you need to choose from? All the food was good. The wine is good! Usually a 3 star has very sweet horrible wine, but this wine was just fine! All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to please you. They all speak pretty good English. I love a very soft bed, and was expecting something rock hard, but I was surprised. I did take a camping mattress just in case. They do have foam pads at the hotel also. I took my own hair dryer because they have limited ones at the front desk to give out. Only the "superior" [renovated] rooms have safes, but there are safe deposit boxes at the main desk and there is always someone to let you into it. The wifi worked off my balcony [and just inside the balcony doors] and in the lobby, and there is a little business center [with one computer] in the lobby that is free to use. There were little activities around the pool each day like bean bag toss, bingo, crafts, darts, cards, etc. There are activities for kids like movies, crafts, etc. At night, twice, there were singers/bands. There was a mime [clown] entertaining one night. There was always music at the pool/bar at night and people would get up and dance. The pool is nice and warm [which I like]. There is a hot tub too. The spa is very tranquil. I had a 1 hr massage for $30 [one of the daily specials]. The location is great - 5 min walk to Walmart/mall if that is what you like lol. Marina Vallarta [full of stores, restaurants, nightlife, etc] is approx. a 25 min walk or 5 min bus ride. Bus fare is 7.5 pesos [approx. 60 cents Canadian] and will take you anywhere - but you cannot get a transfer in Mexico. Buses to Marina Vallarta run until 10pm and the rest until 11pm. They go by about every 5 seconds...taxis are 5 or 6 dollars to downtown...Buses are safe though.. Remember to barter with vendors...you can also trade things if you bring them from home, like clothing, toys, etc. TV in room was good..approx. 48 inch flat screen..lots of English channels...if that interests you...I enjoy sitting on the balcony breathing in air that is not -30c....If you are looking for the Royal York with glitz and glamour, then don't come here...go somewhere else and pay an extra $1500..but if you want a relaxing vacation, authentic Mexican ambiance, and a personable touch, this is the place for you. I would definitely come back here, and I will recommend it to my friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quiet, quaint, clean, good location, beach nice, friendly staff, good wine, economical, and always..great weather!
The weak points
no elevators may be an issue for some people
Certified

Great 2 Week Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-20
Close to airport and shopping. Good bus service to downtown etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very frendly and helpfull staff.
The weak points
A number of little repairs needed - nothing major.
Certified

Hacienda

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-08
we keep going back because we have met a lot of nice people that also keep going back and the staff treat you as family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
maintenance
Certified

Fabulous

, Millet, AB
2014-01-27
We loved this place, it's very Mexican a bit older but very we'll looked after. The food is well presented and there is always a variety. The staff, there are no words to how fabulous they are. The beds in the room are the most comfortable I have ever slept in while on vacation. I am going back there for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the best! The atmosphere
The weak points
Not beach front
Certified

Good Budget Hotel

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2014-01-26
When money is tight and you just have to get away from the brutal Canadian winter, a hotel like the Hacienda is a good choice. Do not choose the Hacienda if you are looking for luxury, but if you want to experience an authentic Mexican hotel, food, and service, this hotel fits well.

BEACH CLUB:
The description states that this hotel is not on the beach but it is a short walk (3 min approx) to the beach club (or take their shuttle) where there are plenty of chairs and a nice stretch of beach to enjoy.

LOCATION:
The location is at the north end of the hotel zone; an easy bus ride to the Marina or to the Malecon (boardwalk). There are plenty of shopping options including a Wal-Mart, Sam's Club, luxury indoor mall as well as a good flea market with souvenirs a couple of blocks away. You can exchange small amounts of cash at the hotel for a decent rate, or choose to walk a couple of blocks if you need more. There is also a reasonably priced massage business (great foot massage for tired feet!), supermarket, bus stop - and other conveniences including at least 2 casinos within a 3 block walk.

GENERAL CONDITION OF HOTEL:
There are some small issues with this hotel that are described in other reviews but unless you are seriously picky, they are minimal. Some tiles missing in the pool. Hard beds - but ask for extra pillows and they are quite accommodating. 4 floors but no elevators.

ACTIVITIES:
Some advertised activities did not exist with no explanation(aqua aerobics, kayak lessons, cooking lessons & beach volleyball for example). During the mornings relaxing music was played at low volume but by afternoon the activities director would crank it loud and be speaking loudly enough to distort the P.A. This was unpleasant at times but short-lived. I could do without the daily assault but some visitors enjoy and expect loud and lively activities. Not me. The Beach Club was much quieter for those who prefer to relax - but expect vendors to disturb your reading/relaxing with offers of all sorts - most "nearly free today".

HOTEL AND GROUNDS:
The hotel is decorated with Mexican art; paintings, statues, fountain. Some are quite beautiful. The grounds are well maintained and I enjoyed the hammocks which were in a cool, well-treed area of the garden.

For a small hotel, there were quite a few amenities which I did not expect including a gift shop and a lovely spa ($) which while reasonable, was out of my budget on this trip.

It's important to get a good price if you stay at the Hacienda because while it's a clean hotel with friendly service, there are multiple small issues that, if you paid too much, would impact your impression of the place. Look for last minute or seasonal price deals on this one.

FOOD:
The all-inclusive food is probably the most often-cited complaint. As someone who has been visiting PV for 20 years and has stayed at a lot of resorts, this one would rate about average for me. The food was limited with only a few choices per meal, but most was tasty and fresh. We found the choices a bit tedious after just a couple of days. I would rather have limited choices of tasty food than to be given a wide variety of bland, low quality foods. I've experienced both and trust me, this is better. If you book this hotel at a good price, a couple of meals out should be no problem. I recommend Brasil in the Marina area, La Dolce Vita on the Malecon and Pepe's tacos near the Malecon (towards the hotel zone).

BEVERAGES:
Expect local brands of alcohol. Tecate beer only. The margarita's were nice with real lime juice rather than that horrid bar mix we usually get at home.

CONCLUSION:
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. If we were looking for a budget option in Puerto Vallarta again we would certainly return to the Hacienda. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice grounds, reasonable location, good service. Clean rooms. Made to order eggs in the morning, hammocks to escape the heat.
The weak points
Uncomfortable beds, 4 story building without elevator, showers (no tub) in basic rooms, limited food choices, too-loud activities. Security could be tighter. Loud guests partying at 4 a.m. Sat night were unchallenged by staff.
Certified

Reasonable place

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-23
The site grows on you even though at first it may look a bit different. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A clean and easily accessible place.
The weak points
A bit outdated.
Certified

Service over the top!

, Calgary, AB
2013-12-17
If you're into Glitz and Glam, read no more. I've been going down to Puerto Vallarta for over twenty years and this was my first visit to the "Hacienda". This place encompasses all that I love about PV!!: the tropical foliage, Mexican architecture, color, history and truly beautiful people who make you feel like family. The buffet has a moderate selection but is delicious and fresh each day. The whole establishment is clean! The location is excellent: on the bus line which brings you anywhere, really close to a major food store, convenience store, the marina for your ocean tours, banks etc. The beach is wonderful with beach club and a shuttle bus away or a mere 10 minute walk (I walk slow). The service is unbeatable!! The service staff go beyond the call of duty. This team is the template of excellent service and they certainly could teach us what true hospitality is!! Big bang for your buck!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service!
The weak points
a few more choices in buffet are needed
Certified

The Hacienda Experience.

, Edmonton, AB
2013-06-26
Stayed from June 15-22, 2013. Great weather all week, with an amazing thunder and lightning storm the last night. In the 30's all week and very humid. A lot of hanging out in the shade at the beach/pool as too sweltering to do much strolling about (the sand was so hot you had to wear sandals or you could burn your feet).

The hotel is older and if you are a budget type/not fussy traveller, this place will be a fantastic stay. Many local/Mexicans come and stay here, and make the stay all the more enjoyable when interacting with them.

The hotel is located on the main street, but once inside the hotel and in the rooms, you could not hear the traffic. The hotel has one entrance/exit, and a staff member was at the door...this made it feel more secure. The hotel is shaped like a rectangle with ground floor rooms and second floor rooms. All faced inward to the pool or courtyard. Ground floor rooms had fenced off patios and all second floor rooms had a small balcony.

Rooms were simple and basic, but clean. Our room (we stayed on the second floor) had 2 double beds, next door had a double bed and a single. The room we had had AC or fan switch. There are TV's in the room (CNN and FOX news were the only all english channels, other channels played some shows/movies in english). Some bathrooms had hairdryers, others did not. I did not see any rooms with fridges or coffee makers.

This hotel is not on the beach, but it is a short easy about 5 min walk to the beach, or the hotel has a small shuttle truck. At the beach the hotel has a "beach club" area (open 10-6)...a grass courtyard walled off area with toilets and a snack area where you can get drinks and a grilled snacks (hamburgers, hotdogs, taco chips...and all the trimmings).
leading from this area is a beach area just for hotel guests, with 15 palapas and lounging chairs ( the kind with the blue mesh).
The people selling their goods wander into the beach chair area (but not into the snack area), but a shake of the head or a "no" or two, they move on. The beach is nice and clean and great for strolling about. At this time of year the water was warm and swimable, the waves can be a little rough for smaller kids, but up and down the beach there were families and kids playing at the water's edge.
If you want to parasail (when I would ask I would be told a price anywhere between 400-500 pesos for a ride)or go for a banana boat ride, there were 2 or 3 people in this area offering these services.

The pool at the hotel was good size and there is a hottub.
There is a bar area by the pool. At this time of year...low season (might be different at other times of the year), there were no activities and no nightly shows/activities (except Fri night when they had for about an hour Mexican dancers in the lobby area put on a wonderful show of Mexican dances).

Regarding the food, once again, if you are not fussy, was good. The Buffets at each meal (am 7-11, lunch 1-4, supper 7-11) consisted of about 8 hot items, 'cold' items (ie salad type), and dessert about 3 items. There was always amazingly yummy fruit...pinapple, watermelon, cantaloupe...
In our group, everyone had at least something of everything to eat/drink (including at the beach club), and no one had any stomach upsets.
We all bought a travel mug or two and used these for our drinks.
As usual, no one drank/brushed teeth from the tap, although we were told it is okay. We did however drink, fill our mugs/bottles with water and ice from the bars/eating area with no problems.

Oh, and right next to the hotel (out the door and to the left) is a large supermarket (Soriana).
In front of the supermarket is a bus stop. If you want to go downtown/to old town catch any blue and white bus that says "Centro" for 6 1/2 pesos and it takes you to these areas (the bus driver gives change, but use small currency). Ask any staff member, on taking the bus (or taxi), they are all helpful and tell you how and where to go.

Overall, we had an awesome time and would definitely go back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff (in all areas) at the hotel were amazing; friendly, courteous, helpful. Enhanced our stay greatly.
The weak points
For us...nothing.
Certified

Vacation Experience

, Weyburn, SK
2013-04-28
Actualy i didn:t spend much time at the hotel because the location,never sleep there,i recomend this place for families, but not for couples, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
i realy like the service they are very professional
The weak points
food not so good and so many kids
Certified

They changed my hotel

, Taber, AB
2013-04-23
did not stay @ hacienda.did not find out that my stay was changed until i arrived in p.v. i would like to know about changes before leaving & should be entitled to a full refund when not getting what i booked [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
was a good location. but not the location that i booked
The weak points
not the hotel i wanted
Certified

Hacienda Hotel

, Tiverton, ON
2013-03-27
Priced about right for what you get. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and helpful staff.
The weak points
Shower nob pulled right out of faucet. Patio door didn't close or lock properly.
Certified

Awesome Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2013-03-18
Absolutely loved our trip and we were blown away by the staff, resort and friendly people we met on our trip. We spent a week at the resort and are already planning our trip back next year. The staff - I can't say enough about the staff and how much they contributed to our experience. Always willing to help, they always made us feel like they truly cared about our vacation and happiness.
Resort grounds- beautiful, authentic feel and clean.
Entertainment - different/fun things happening around the pool and lots of laughs.
Location - close enough to everything that you can walk, bus or cab without a concern.
We would highly recommend Hacienda for all types of vacationers!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, location, beautiful grounds..
The weak points
The pool table and hot tub could use some TLC..
Certified

We love it!!!!

, Calgary, AB
2013-02-26
This was our second year at the Hacienda and it was even better than last year! The staff are absolutely amazing and because its a small resort they always remember what you like to drink and get it to you fast! The food was always delish and we had no problem finding more than enough to fill up on! Love the omelettes at breakfast and the burgers at the beach! The mango margaritas were to die for!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Love everything about it!! It's a traditional Mexican hotel and Mexican families also stay there which we like. The staff made our stay!!
The weak points
Honestly can't think of anything!
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021