Villas Vallarta By Canto Del Sol

Villas Vallarta By Canto Del Sol
3.543.543.543.543.54
3.54 based on 61 reviews
#27 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (29)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Not as good as last time

, Parksville, BC
2020-04-04
Overall we were disappointed this time around. The room had an electrical switch that was a hazard. The patio door was broken which caused us to be locked outside for 1.5 hrs before we could be rescued by maintenance. The food was average, even with the addition of 2 new restaurants. At Surf & Turf I ordered Filet Minon and was served a flank steak. To top it all off I was sexually assaulted down on the beach steps by a man who was panhandling with an iguana. I reported it to Guest Services and was told nothing could be done because it happened on Federal property. Met another woman whom he also assaulted. This is obviously not an isolated incident, and hotel is aware and just does not care about the safety of their guests as this man is still allowed around the property. I will not return to Mexico and give this resort my money ever again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, friendliness of staff
The weak points
Food, towels old and scratchy
Certified

Felt Unsafe

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-14
The first room I was given was at the end of a long corridor, very far from the front desk and the door did not lock properly. I changed rooms and the next room had the same problem. The deadbolt was not installed properly and there was no strike plate for the bolt to go into so when you tried to lock the deadbolt, it would not turn. Basically the deadbolts were entirely useless. I changed rooms again only to find the same problem so I ended up just pushing furniture against the door at night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet. Rooms are spacious and clean
The weak points
Doors can not be locked properly. Front desk is not staffed at night, requiring you to go across to the Canto del Sol.
Certified

Canto Del Sol Hotel

, Winnipeg Beach, MB
2018-01-13
We açtually got upgraded to Canto Del Sol rather than staying in the sister Villa....we stayed in a studio and were very pleased with our room ...the location and the pool view.
The food was delicious probably one of the best for all the different resorts we have stayed at.
The only thing that we did not care for was the buffet having themes each nite...I would think that this way one could not complain for the food being repetitive but for some who don't care for the true Mexican food or seafood or Caribbean this could make it rather challenging ....but we never starved either, we found other alternatives.
The pools were never over crowded and we even chose to sit by the kids pool which was our choice, and getting a lounger was never a problem not matter what time of day you went by the pool. But some reviews state that there is only one pool and it turns out there is 2 pools and the kid still one has a very cute water park area which is great for families.
The waiters were fantastic and made us feel right at home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Amazing food...very relaxing resort which is just what we were looking for but in walking distance to the Melacon or the Marina
Certified

Enjoyed Villas Vallarta

, Lethbridge, AB
2017-01-29
The stay was very nice. some of the rooms could use a face lift but we do not spend alot of time in the room. The new breakfast room is a good location and a pleasant surrounding. Staff are friendly and bartenders are accomodating! Pool if way to cold!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff friendliness,pool area is nice
The weak points
could use more elevators as long long hallways, especially for seniors. freezing pool
Certified

Back to Canto again!

, Chestermere, AB
2016-03-21
We have been coming back to Villa and Canto for the past five years. We come back because of the staff team members that we interact with each day. It is not the fanciest resort, it does not have the greatest food in our opinion..but it does have a team of people working there that work extremely hard each and everyday to make their customers staff as great of an experience as they can. They are each valued treasures of Puerto Vallarta! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff members such as Christine at the front desk. Salvador, Angel, Albierto as Bellman. Victoria at Guest Relations. And then the team of guys that work so hard, and treat us so very well: Jorge, Roman, Jesus, Raphael, Miguel, Nathan, Trinidad & more
The weak points
The food in the surf and turf has improved. Buffet, snack foods are not hot. Buffet assortment on grill drastic decline in offerings. we would like more than pasta or stir fry. Cold food = upset stomachs. Not good!
Certified

Villas Vallarta by Canto del Sol

, Stony Mountain, MB
2016-03-09
Second time at this resort and enjoyed our stay even more. Check in and out was really quick with friendly service and assistance to our room. The all inclusive that includes Canto del Sol makes it an even more attractive choice for the price paid. Glad we didn't change to another hotel for this vacation. You also have the option of a quieter area at Villas for breakfast which is nice. The pool is also nice and quiet with no problem getting a chair. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super value with all the perks - quiet - close to bus to go out and see PV, the al a carte at Canto is the best part and greatbreakfast - also able to order from snack menu at Canto in the day - the grounds are kept super clean
The weak points
To exit building u have to walk back through the central area making extra walking if wanting to go on bus. The servers for the al a carte seem a bit rushed - other bar attendants and main restaurant at Canto are super
Certified

Canto Del Sol

, Kelowna, BC
2015-01-15
We enjoyed our stay here. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is older but the room we stayed in was quite large and very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Well laid out and easy to get around.
The weak points
Some aggressive sales people pushing time shares.
Certified

Villa Vallarta canto del sol

, Calgary, AB
2014-11-18
I stayed at the sister hotel across the street "Canto del Sol"
Beautiful!! Service, food, room, pool were all fabulous!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness of this hotel was second to none. The mattress was so comfortable that now I am shopping for a new mattress for my bedroom. Staff was very friendly, courteous and available.
The weak points
The beach. It was nice enough to swim in but more rocks than sand as you entered the water. Although it is a family resort, there is not options for keeping kids busy if they need to be doing different things regularly.
Certified

Great location and friendly staff

, Claresholm, AB
2014-06-12
We stayed at Canto Del Sol from June 3-10 and it was an absolutely incredible experience. We were originally set up to stay in Villas Vallarta which is across a small turn about in the courtyard (so not beach front but very close), but when we arrived we were upgraded to stay in suites in Canto Del Sol as Villas was not open (it appears as though it is not open during the low season). Canto is a little older than some resorts near it but it is clean and has the charming older architecture that represents the city it resides in.
The resort staff were very friendly and helpful from the get go. The rooms were cleaned daily and we were pleased with the quality. The buffet had a good selection of food and the specialty stations open during the various meals were always quite good.
The resort has daily activities for everyone - crafts, poker tournaments by the pool, daily aqua-cise, and the evening show. The entertainment staff were incredible - always was around the pool pumping people up for activities, whether for the afternoon or at night. The resort is an excellent distance to downtown and the front of house staff are very helpful for places to go and how to get there, bus or taxi.
There were all ages at this resort while we were there. Lots of younger and older couples, as well as some families and a few large groups of friends.The weekend was really busy with lots of Mexican families vacationing there but it was a lot of fun to have the kids in and around the pool and the increase in people really added an excitement to the air. Since it was off season it still wasn't very busy.
Overall a wonderful week - I highly recommend Canto del Sol! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing location if you want to go downtown Pto. Vallarta. Good a la carte. Friendly staff and good quality entertainment.
The weak points
We had a few small maintenance issues with the suite but they were fixed promptly.
Certified

The Viking

, Delta , BC
2014-04-22
The service at the bar was great the pool ok a bit out dated.I spent most of the time at the sister hotel across the street.Lots of good energy at del sol,the pool there was great swim up bar and very clean.The food at del sol was very good.The staff always friendly nice.Belly flop contests volleyball etc.The beach was easy access with lots to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service good people.
The weak points
The safe inside the room was not bolted down.I used the one at the reception.
Certified

Great Place

, Moose Jaw, SK
2014-03-23
Staff were wonderful. 32 years of doing Mexico this place has the best people and best service period..We will be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were incredible..They seemed to appreciate our business and always happy and smiling..awesome
The weak points
Rooms could be up-dated, but not really a big issue..
Certified

Friendly staff

, West Vancouver, BC
2014-03-11
this is our third stay atCanto/Villas.We like the location and tennis facilities. there have been many positive improvements since our last stay.weak points are water aerobics/shows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location. close proximity to downtown and lots of shops/services.breakfast at Villas is mediocre but the rest of the meals and a la carte available at Canto del Sol have improved from our stay 3 years ago.Cleanliness and maid service was excellent
The weak points
lobby furniture/tv's/weak internet/beds and furnishings in room dsted/pool deck needs replacing
Certified

Great Location & Friendly Staff

, Victoria, BC
2014-02-09
Spent 2 weeks at The Villas in a huge 1 bedroom suite. The resort was clean and all of the staff (except 1 bartender) were very friendly. Food was good,drinks were good. Nothing bad to say!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We met some fantastic staff who made our trip more enjoyable.If you need anything you can find it within walking distance and the bus is right in front of the Resort to go anywhere you want.
The weak points
We have nothing bad to say about the Resort but I do have to comment on the very rude Italian couples that were there for 3 months and made the other guests and the Staff miserable.
Certified

Clean and quiet

, Saskatoon, SK
2013-12-04
5th time at villas/or canto. always good value for $ paid. number of improvements in hotel since last spring--nice to see as some hotels in area and similar price are maybe not improving . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean,friendly, food adequate, bars good,staff all seem to try hard.
The weak points
no canadian tv channels.. would like to see a PC dedicated for english, A la carte meals are somewhat of joke re food quality
Certified

Good, Clean, Quaiet non smoking hotel

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-10-06
It was good....................................................................................................................................................................................................... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was excellent, food was good, clean and tidy
The weak points
There should be more smoking areas , specialy at the end of the snack bar, it will not bother anyone and improve service for smoking gests.
Certified

Villas vallarta

, Chilliwack, BC
2013-03-25
everything was great....hotel room was big...service was great, staff are awesome....loved it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
evertything was great...nice to be a part of both hotels.....
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Relaxing and fun

, Flin Flon, MB
2013-02-12
Hotel was very clean, staff friendly and accommodating , all inclusive, food was good...entertainment nightly at Cantos Del Sol which is a sister to Villas Vallarta [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Entertainment was mediocre
Certified

VILLAS

, Red Deer, AB
2012-02-10
If you want quiet you got it, much much busier at Canto del Sol However must go over to Canto del Sol for meals except breakfast and bar in Villas only open from 10-6 at pool. Canto is less than 100 yds away so not an issue can walk farther at large resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet lots of seniors
The weak points
golds gym when fires up music at 8 am can be heard in some rooms
Certified

Villas Vallarta

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-02-05
We moved to Canto Del Sol as our room at Villas Vallarta was at back of villas with long walk to pool and across to facilities at the all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Access to Canto De Sol - one week inclusive.
The weak points
On arriving our room was at the very end of villas.
Certified

Good for the money!

, Saskatoon, SK
2012-02-04
For the price we paid, great hotel! If there was no access to the Canto Del Sol across the street, I probably would not stay here, since there is only a small pool, no beach and only one restaurant; but the Canto Sel Sol made up for all of that and it was right across the street which made access quick and easy for us! The rooms were always clean and the staff were friendly. We actually used the small pool at the hotel more than the bigger one at Canto Del Sol because ours was nice and quiet, with a bar and bartender who was always free and willing to serve us our drinks in a quick and friendly manner. The location is not too far from the Malecon, and there was local restaurants and shops right near the hotel which was good for browsing around in the evenings. Overall, I think it was a great experience, especially since it was cheaper than the Canto Sel Sol, yet we had full access and the same ammenities as those guests did! Great sister hotel for much cheaper! :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
For the price I paid, this was a great hotel! The room was always clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful when needed, and the access to the Canto Del Sol Hotel across the street was the best part!
The weak points
Food options aren't great at this hotel, but having access to Canto Del Sol rsort across the street made up for this.
Certified

Great Budget Deal

, Edmonton, AB
2012-01-30
This hotel is older , clean and very nice I'm not sure about the 3 star rating, but more like 2 or 2.5 stars. The Canto del Sol hotel make the Villas Vallarta makes this hotel worth staying at . The Canto del Sol food and drinks, service was great. Overall the it was a good holiday and it was a very good deal. P.s. the beach is not very good and they should look at building the beach area up better. it's small and at times the ocean waves made it impossible to sit or play in the sand. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall the hotel is a bit older, but nice and clean. The Canto del Sol food and service was great, pool was good as well.
The weak points
Canto del Sol really needs to build up the beach area, it's small and at times there was no beach. Flight time home was horrible, I suppose this is the reason why we got the great deal. I would have paid a bit more to get little better flight time
Certified

January 2012

, Victoria, BC
2012-01-29
We have been to this hotel 3 times and we will continue to go back! Staff are great, hotel is nice and quiet, and if you want entertainment it's there if you want it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, close to downtown, all entertainment and amenities there if you chose, and food selection is good.
The weak points
We usually get booked in a lousy room for the first night, then move to a pool side/view room the next morning.
Certified

Enjoyable

, Kingston, ON
2011-12-29
This property is across a small road (no through traffic) to the main property Canto de Sol where all of your services are. Clean, good food and a very pleasant stay. Only 25-minute walk to the Malecon. Small shops, massage and bus service very close. A good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, safe, good activities, relaxing
The weak points
The rooms are not decorated, so they appear stark. They are large, though.
Certified

Very average

, Kenmore, NY
2011-12-25
Hotel was ok.. just ok, nothing special, beach is ok for Vallarta, but beware of the beach vendors, they are like flies at a picnic...this hotel is noisy, if you want sleep bring ear plugs, and some drugs you,ll need it.. the staff is good, the food and drinks are so so, so all and all you get what you pay for, if you want a week away for a sell off price its passable. but the Mayan Riviera is still way better on all counts.. go there and you,ll be happier. saludos [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
not many... its a cheap hotel with average as the key word,, as is vallarta in general.
The weak points
get what you pay for.. but if you want any sleep, bring ear plugs and drugs..
Certified

Puerto Vallarta

, Victoria, BC
2011-05-02
For the price, this hotel is great. If your expecting 5* don't book here, you should expect the food and rooms to be good not great which they were! I was very happy there, it was small and cosy, clean and friendly and the location is fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, friendly, great location, rooms out to the pool are great, still have all the ameneties of the big hotel next door!
The weak points
The staff try to sell you time shares!
Certified

Villas Vallarta

, Edmonton, AB
2011-03-15
We went for a week and it was wonderful and relaxing. The restaurant and bar staff are terrific. The reception people aren't very helpful and don't seem very happy with their jobs. The worst part is the time share people - we basically missed 2/3 of a day in the sun because what was supposed to be a "pick up your towel card at 7:30 a.m." turned into a lunch with a time share guy. Avoid that by either bringing your own towels, use the towels in your room, or just say no (although we did and they still pursued us). I was disappointed that by 9:30 p.m., there is absolutely nothing to do there except sit in the lounge or go to the bar; or leave the resort for the PV nightlife which I had no interest in. We loved our bartender on the Villas side - Alexander. He was very friendly and nice. We were in the Villas and all activities were across the street. By Day 2, my knees were killing me from climbing all the stairs. I ended up using the wheelchair ramps for the rest of the week. The resort is close to almost everything and a ride downtown or to the airport is only 5 pesos. The beach is small but nice. Although I have set out a few negative things, they were minor compared to what a good time we had. We do recommend this resort to others. It was a cheaper deal and you get what you pay for. Don't expect luxury. We will definitely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The restaurant and bar staff
The weak points
time share vultures, no nite life at resort
Certified

Another Great Time

, Brentwood Bay, BC
2011-03-12
This was the 2nd time to Villas and we were not disappointed. The people are so friendly and happy and ready to help if you need it. Loads of activities are offered. The beach in front of the hotel itself isn't spectacular but you can walk for miles up or down the beach. Food was good, service great. Having the choice of two pools was awesome as we could have peaceful enjoyment or music and activities. We recommend Villas Vallarta if you are looking for a mid-range, non-pretentious holiday stay. oh yeah, great drinks!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location to old towne great coffee shops nearby low-key and friendly
The weak points
a tad noisy because of diesel and cobblestones but not terrible
Certified

Villas Vallarta Hotel Review

, Saskatoon, SK
2011-02-25
We were disappointed with the room we received (We heard others were better). The chairs were uncomfortable, the balcony poor (the one lounge chair there old & uncomfortable), and the plumbing was bad (noisy, and often no hot water). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food good, staff friendly
The weak points
noted above
Certified

Villas Vallarta

, Edmonton, AB
2011-02-09
Had a nice time,thanks to the wonderful staff. Had a good room,#517, but some plumbing maintenance could have been done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel staff is friendly, knowledgable and helpful.
The weak points
Some renovations and more maintenance of rooms would be appreciated.
Certified

Fun in the Sun

, Ottawa, ON
2011-02-06
Very nice hotel. Old but very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean. Friendly staff. Good food.
The weak points
Some rooms are very noisy due to a large gym under them that opens at 6:00am
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021