Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
3.663.663.663.663.66
3.66 based on 29 reviews
#10 of 42 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Puerto Vallarta
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (31)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort

, Langley, BC
2020-03-12
The service here is outstanding. Every staff member is ready and willing to help. There are many English speaking staff members and hopefully others are skilled in different languages. No Hotel is absolutely perfect, the Hilton will readily help if there I an issue. The food works. The room are nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and the ability to use the resort next door. Hilton Hacienda which is adults only.
The weak points
Could be 'shinier'
Certified

Mexico Vacation

, Otter Lake, QC
2020-03-09
Our group had a wonderful time in the hotel. Enjoyed the pool and the ocean. We had fun at the mexicain fiesta. We were able to go out to town to the market to buy souvenirs. Took a great tour on the ocean and were able to see the humpback whales. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff in the restaurant and serving at the pools, beach were great, very friendly and fast. Specifically Cesar and Patricia (beach pool server). We also had great service during our check out and waiting for our transportation to airport.
The weak points
We had issues with our check-in. Arrived at 5:00pm and did not receive a room until 9:00pm as they did not have a room ready. We had issue with our room card and safe deactivating.
Certified

1st stay in the Hilton

, Vanouver, BC
2020-02-11
I was very disappointed in a few things. This does not come close to the Hiltons in Canada.
1) it took forever to check in...I was told the room would be ready by 3pm, we arrived back by the city at 230pm..I waited 1 hour at reception before I got to my room, around 330pm. No reasons given, not even an apology.
When we checked out no freedom of time knocking on my door at 1130 to tell me to vacate!!
2) They say all-inclusive includes 5 restaurants, I tried several times to get a reservation for the other restaurants onsite and, they always had an excuse, first they were sorry one needs to book day before, second sorry no space try again tomorrow, then sorry you can not book more then 2 days in advance. Finally I had to eat dinner at 930pm on two occasions. The restaurant situation is very misleading.. I had to eat every day at seafire grill by the pool.
But its very safe and secure. Rooms are big.. Most staff are very friendly and kind.

I will never go back to this hotel again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People in general very friendly. Some exceptionally friendly. Ignacio, Cesar at the pool. Arianna at the sefire restaurant.
The weak points
Terrible reception help. I waited 1 hour or more to check in... Concierge guy very unhelpful for reservations for the other 4 restaurants, so difficult to eat at any other restaurant. They always have excuses for no room for reservations.
Certified

Hilton Puerto Vallarta

, Burnaby, BC
2020-01-27
Great all inclusive holiday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

December getaway

, Mission, BC
2019-12-23
overall, good experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good selection of pools Clean and spacious room Great view from oceanfront 8th floor Friendly helpful staff
The weak points
Mildew on canvas roof - gross to look at and smells bad throughout building walkways and 2nd floor coffee shop.
Certified

It was a great retreat!

, Strathmore, AB
2019-09-07
I stayed for 2 weeks by myself. This was my first solo vacation and I would definitely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds very well maintained and had very friendly staff. The rooms were great and spacious: very comfortable beds. I loved the fact that I had access to all the amenities on the Adults Only side as it provided me with a quieter places to go.
The weak points
Slightly disappointing: evening entertainment wasn't much if you are wanting that. Also lacked evening snacks. You'd have to go to a restaurant and ignore the sign that said not to leave with food. Needs an evening snack bar open.
Certified

Hilton Puerto Vallarta NOT up to par

, Campbell River, BC
2016-03-07
Trip.....Feb 22/16 – Mar 3/16. Ok, so here it goes. Arrived early, so not expecting our room to be ready. Reception gave us our bracelets a couple towel cards and we put our swim-suits on and started our trip. We were told to come back at 3 pm. Which we did. Room still not ready, come back in 15 mins. While we are waiting people are arriving and being shown to their rooms. We sit and wait and wait and finally the front desk after once again checking with maid... our room is finally ready. Off we head to our room and open the door and I just about threw up. The awful sewage smell coming from the room was disgusting. Back down to front desk. With some funny looks at us, (making us feel very uncomfortable) they found us a different room "but you can't have a king bed". So off we head to this room. Well, this smell is but not as bad. Down fall, we are over the service entrance. Lot's of noise and trucks coming and going. We suck it up for the night and head to dinner. The resort is dirty (My husband noticed this, so it must have been bad.) Not at all impressed with this supposed 4.5-5 Star resort, we decided to get out. Well we couldn't. Apparently no other hotels available in the area. They moved us to a different room. This one was somewhat better. It would have been nice to have more than a 2 door dresser to put my things in. I don't like to stay somewhere for 10 days and have my stuff on top of the table. The shower leaked all over the floor and you just prayed that when you were washing your hair the water didn't stop. Yup, that's right, the shower would at any random time stop and then take up to 2-3 minutes to start working again. Also it took several minutes for it to start in the first place. The toilet at times sounded as if it was going to explode. The drainage in the sink was horrible. So watching your toothpaste spit for awhile was entertaining. The bed was comfy, so that was a plus. The maid did awesome towel creations. So that was something to look forward to.
Now for the food....I guess if that's want you want to call it. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day. How do you screw up eggs?? Although we were confused as to why the bacon and sausage were kept behind the counter. Also when they ran out, they sure weren't making any more. Lunch for me was fine. I generally eat salad with veggies. My husband on the other hand had a horrible time trying to find something. As it said in reviews it had a big buffet. Not really. Maybe the food would have tasted better if they didn't cook everything so early and then place it in buffet steamers. Yes, steamers. So a nice crunchy French fry was now a wilted noodle. A pizza crust was a soggy mess and the chicken nuggets were soft. Twice we ate hamburgers at the outside beach restaurant. They were awesome. Then something happened and the burgers changed and tasted like garbage and looked beige. Half the time the stuff was cold. So we were fearful to eat the stuff. I mean how long has it been sitting cold....can you say FOOD POISIONING!! We ate at the Mexican a la carte for dinner and that would have been our best meal. We never once saw any type of roast (chicken, beef or pork) everything is in some sort of sauce. Please remember not everyone can eat sauce. We left the resort quite a few times and ate out.
You have some very exceptional staff and you have some young fellows who like to stand around and talk with each other. I have never been to a resort where I have sat down for breakfast and right away someone is not there with coffee and water. Not here, when you can grab someone's attention you have to ask for a drink. Like it's unusual for a person to want a coffee in the morning. Same thing at lunch. It's warm out people bring some water. We actually complained about that when we were there. Like I said some staff was great. The 2 older gentlemen in the lobby bar. One does morning shift and one does the night. Both great men. The older gentleman who waits in the lobby bar in the evening. These are top notch men. Also the men who serve around the pool and beach. All great guys who truly work very hard. The maid in our room and the poor maid who rides up and down in the elevator cleaning it. Too bad not a lot of cleaning is done in the hallways and main entrance.
My husband and I are not complainers. We have gone away for the last 15 years. Sometimes staying in 3.5 star hotels. We enjoy good service and will get our own drinks for breakfast, lunch and dinner if that is an option at the resort. We usually stay in Nuevo but decided to stay closer to town this year. This property was a bit more money but we thought “It's a Hilton, it should be pretty darn good”. Not so, very disappointing. We made the best of your resort because we enjoy our annual trip and enjoy being together. Will I tell people about the pitfalls...YES. This definitely is not rated properly. We had talked to several couples at the resort who felt the same and they had more complaints than this. Time to step it up Hilton and get the job done right.

Tammy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hilton Puerto Vallarta

, Toronto, ON
2015-08-31
This is a relatively small resort which turned out to be negative because there was a convention going on that eliminated a number of food and drink services due to their presence [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the service staff
The weak points
the quality of the food was very poor at the specialty restaurants
Certified

Nice, small resort

, Lloydminster, AB
2015-04-10
The Hilton is a small, hotel style resort. Rooms are sparse, view is great, location is perfect! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Service beach cleanliness
The weak points
Rooms
Certified

PV Vacation

2014-12-18
Great experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, safe, fun and restful
The weak points
didn't get our wake up calls is the only complaint
Certified

Not what i expected

, Vancouver, BC
2014-11-06
Great location, and helpful staff (when asked several times) ... Housekeeping was not up to our standards in terms of service, our room was not made up for 2 days until we brought it to their attention ... we requested towels and they never came ... my wife had to go to housekeeping's cart and ask for them ... the internet did not work in our 1st room after receiving a charge in an all-inclusive hotel, we had to move rooms after unpacking and getting settled .... other than a clogged sink, and the drapes coming away from the ceiling, we loved our stay ... the staff was courteous and helpful ... the pool was terrific ... our bartender/ wait staff/ and concierge were fantastic! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff
The weak points
management
Certified

2 weeks o heaven

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2014-04-14
nice hotel, friendly staff, good food, good location.
overall great experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very attentive. Leader for entertainment was fantastic. Got everyone involved in a fun way.
The weak points
Bathroom too small. Privacy could be an issue
Certified

Would go back

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-03
I don't have any real bad things to say about the hotel, except
the service in the all you can eat buffet....
everyday, we would sit at a table asked for coffee/tea, would get hot water no tea, would get coffee no spoons, no sugar, would always have to wait for drinks, anything we would ask for had to wait a long time so we had to ask again or go try to get it ourselves
and in the rooms, had to ask for towels and hair shampoo and stuff not left on a daily basis, two people in the room two showers per day not enough supplies. but do have to say when I asked for them I got it within minutes.
One more thing......was not able to relax at the beach because of all the sellers.....perhaps they should set up a table and umbrella on beach and tourists will go when want to buy something.

Would still go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Clean
The weak points
Buffet restaurant service...lousy !
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Scarborough, ON
2014-01-30
The hotel was very beautiful overall. It was very relaxing and peaceful. It was not overly crowded and had a mature crowd as well as young families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I liked the fact that the resort was close to downtown Puerto Vallarta and that the infinity pool was only for adults. The resort was overall very well kept and the staff were friendly. Relaxing and peaceful
The weak points
-allowed smoking everywhere - no night entertainment except for karoke - beach had really huge waves
Certified

Very Disappointed!!

, Sudbury, ON
2014-01-25
We would not recommend anyone to this restort. They say that they are a 4-1/2 to 5 star resort, we would maybe give them a 3. Upon a late arrival there was no greeting and everything from the restaurants to the bar were closed so after a long journey we had to wait till morning to have anything to eat. Beaches are horrible, my husband cut his foot walking on the beach! The staff were not very friendly at all! The food was average with a poor seletion. Two of the ala carte restaurants were a combination of buffet and ala carte. Very cold, stark Resort, really lacks the Mexican feel and decor! We are seasoned travelers and this is by far one of the worst resorts we have been to. Disappointed to pay that kind of money and get there have to upgrade our room and still not be pleased. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Weather!
The weak points
1) Exztremly Poor Service at all bars and restaurants 2)Very Stark and Cold Resort Lacks Mexican/Tropical Feel 3) Even after grading room still was not nice 4) Very Poor reception upon arrival.
Certified

Hilton Puerto Vallarta

, Ottawa, ON
2014-01-19
I truly enjoyed my stay at the Hilton, I loved the heated pool and the comfortable bed the most. The food was fine I certainly did not go hungry I am glad I did not listen to the reviews on trip adviser. I would definitely go back and I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool and bed
The weak points
menu was limited, should have a beverage stand together with a coffee and tea stand, staff had to go to the back restaurant to get hot water.
Certified

Hilton

, Stoney Creek, ON
2014-01-18
Wait staff was very good. This hotel is only 2 years but hr up keep on lounge chairs is the only thing that I found negative everything in the hotel is clean but the chairs [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wait staff and pool bar great in service
The weak points
Maid stole my bottle of baileys
Certified

Not my first choice

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-14
We had very high expectations of the Hilton. I have stayed many times in PV at different resorts. But with the Hilton name and their five star rating, we believed that we were in for a special treat. Disappointment started at the moment we checked in. Checking in was an hour long process. The desk clerk seemed very scattered. As it was prior to 3:00 pm, we were informed that our room wasn't ready. We were fine with that thinking that we would have the room by 3:00pm. We checked back at 3:00 pm the room was not ready. 3:45 pm the room still wasn't ready, told it would be 20 min. 4:15 pm still not ready. It was 5:00 pm before we could get into the room and only after asking to speak with a manager.
The choice and quality of the food at the buffet was very disappointing. Though the French restaurant was good. The room service food was poor as well.
The restaurant staff and pool staff were excellent. Two of our favourites were Azucena and Anabel. They always made us feel special. The staff interacted with kids exceptionally well.
This resort is fairly new and has some hiccups to work out. It has potential but requires work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort. The pool wait staff were fantastic. Especially Azucena and Anabel.
The weak points
Extremely slow check in. The process took an hour. Only to find out that our room wasn't ready. Unable to get into our until 5:00 pm. Food was very disappointing.
Certified

Value for money, room for improvement

, Vancouver, BC
2014-01-12
Calling this hotel a Hilton is a misnomer. The All-Inclusive package is a good deal. We didn't experience Hilton quality service or accommodations. Be prepared to complain about quality of room, room service, and WiFi. One couple changed rooms three times in one week. There was zero WiFi in our ocean view room, but because of the view we stayed. Getting room serviced timely and getting towels were challenging for our friends. If it weren't for overall good value, I'd give this place one star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All inclusive is good value for money. There were some good service and staff. A few menu items were very good. Lots of fresh fruits. No one got Montezuma's Revenge. Personnel at travel agency were excellent.
The weak points
Didn't exactly get Hilton quality service. In-suite WiFi didn't work at all. A couple of the front desk staff were not service oriented. Room service and maintenance was sub-standard. The majority of the food was very bland.
Certified

Nice hotel but could be even better

, Vancouver, BC
2014-01-12
Nice, clean hotel in a great location (unbeatable sunsets as hotel and pools directly face west all the way to the horizon). Spacious, clean, and beautiful rooms, good food and good service. Great pools and good beachfront. Great security. A few snags - wifi in some rooms don't work (apparently has always been like this), and on some days, they ran out of fresh bath towels for a few hours. No hot water on the first day but it was fixed by the next morning. No entertainment in the evenings. Still, great value for money and a very relaxing stay. I would recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good, clean room and hotel. Felt very safe on premises and outside. Great pools. Unbeatable sunsets.
The weak points
No wifi in some rooms. Ran out of fresh bath towers for a few hours on some days.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021