Finest Playa Mujeres By Excellence Collection

Finest Playa Mujeres By Excellence Collection
4.504.504.504.504.50
4.50 based on 28 reviews
#8 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Playa Mujeres
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (20)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Finest Playa Mujeres by Excellence

, Chatham, HA
2020-03-04
Our stay at the resort was fantastic! It is very clean and modern. The staff were all very accommodating. They answered all our questions and helped with any concerns we may have had.
The food was delicious. The difficulty was which restaurant to choose each night.
Our room was beautiful and always clean.
The wait staff went out of their way to please and keep us satisfied.
Everyone was friendly and made sure we had everything that we needed.
I would certainly recommend the hotel. It was a very pleasant and satisfying experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very nice, but not amazed

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-28
The resort was very nice. It's marketed as premium resort but I didn't get the value for my vacation dollar. I would say this resort should stick to the couples and adult only market. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is great! Seating, services and the restaurant on the beach was great. The suites and the beds were awesome. Feed quality and taste was great. Best I've experienced.
The weak points
The swim-out was unusable. The water was too cold so we didn't get to use it. The hotel is marketed for families but the kids pool is hidden away in a corner and not something that the whole family can really enjoy.
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, New Hambug, ON
2020-01-26
Overall we had a great experience at this hotel. The rooms & grounds beautiful and clean, the staff were all super friendly, and the food was great. It is a VERY family-friendly hotel - lots of great activities for the kids etc (but it can be hard to find a nice quiet place to sit and relax...) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice layout, friendly staff, delicious food.
The weak points
The housekeeping service was a bit hit-or-miss. Several times, our mini-bar didn't get restocked (water, beers, snacks). And they never replaced any of the glassware (wine glasses, coffee cups, juice glasses) we used.
Certified

ISAAC V. RUINED OUR TRIP

, Montréal, QC
2019-01-22
would give the resort a 5, but because of an unfortunate event, I must rate it 4 stars.
I have to say, from the moment we walked in, we were very well treated, the resort is beautiful, clean and smells amazing. Our room (ocean view 2 storey roof top with pool) was beautiful and worth it! We spent many afternoons before sunset on the roof to swim and relax on the day bed. The food was amazing at most restaurant, especially at Duke's lobster house. One downside is the sea weed, that I am not crazy about, but the staff cleans it in the morning and they cannot control this. Now, my bad experience is that we booked from Sunday to Sunday, arrived at 2am on Sunday and we were leaving on Sunday at MIDNIGHT. You would think that the resort would have informed us that we had to check out at noon on Saturday, even though we were leaving at midnight to fly out at 3am. No one informed us of this until our last day (which was our ONLY sunny day) at 1pm, someone came to tell us on the beach that we missed our check out. My husband tried to talk to the finest club manager ISAAC V. and asked for a late check out, but this INCREDIBLY RUDE MEAN man would not grant us anything and wanted to charge us for an extra night!!! after arguing with him, he told us we could pay 150$US to check out at 6pm, which still meant we had to go back to our rooms on the most beautiful day to pack and be left without a room until midnight. First of all, fine you have a late check out policy, but we could have been informed of this when we checked in so that we can plan ahead, pack our luggage the night before and not pay an extra 150$US when we just spend almost 6000$ on our trip. Second of all, this man ISAAC V. is the RUDEST, IMPOLITE, DISCOURTEOUS, AND UNPLEASANT manager a hotel can have. I do not understand how he can work at this resort!!!! the rest of the staff is so nice, so pleasant and accommodating, but this man clearly HATES his job. Why would he need 150$, instead of accommodating client and ending our stay in a pleasant way, when the staff forgot to tell us that we had to check out 12 hours before we had to leave. When I answered back to him, he started threatening me that he will call the police and have me sleep in prison. This really left us bitter with this resort unfortunately and because of this I will never go back to this resort, which is unfortunate because we had a good time before this incident. Finally, I'd like to finish by recommending this resort to extremely quiet couples or families. There is no music, only music at the Piano bar, which is not really a "bar", more like a little space with a stage that is not extremely welcoming. The rest of the hotel is beautiful, but very very quiet, everything closes at 11pm except the piano bar that is open from 11pm to 1am. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fantastic vacation

, Keswick, ON
2018-11-27
Highly recommend this resort!! Just got back home yesterday after spending a week here with my family. I found this to be one of the best resorts I have ever been to! The staff are AMAZING and the food is FANTASTIC! You feel like royalty here! Tons of stuff for kids to do - our son is too young so we are already planning for next year as he wanted to hang out at the Kids' Club!! We had some bumps during our week but they were smoothed out immediately by the WONDERFUL staff. Can't wait to return in 2019 :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation !

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-14
Have been taking winter get away vacations for about 15 consecutive years, but this was the best yet. Hotel was beautiful and well laid out so minimal walking to get where you want within the resort.
Rooms, restaurants and public facilities were exceptionally clean and well maintained.
Accessibility and choice within a la carte restaurants was fantastic as you never had to line up to book restaurants days in advance; essentially walk in.
Adults only areas was added value as was upgrading to Excellence Club. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF - exceptionally friendly and helpful. FOOD - very good at all locations and some of the best we have had at an a la carted at any resort. BEACH - great for walking, clean, lots of chairs in sun or shade.
The weak points
Only negative was staff continued to serve drinks to guests in swim up room pools long after the 8:00 PM no swimming rule which sometimes resulted in excessive noise
Certified

Amazing Vacation from Start to Finish!

, Oshawa, ON
2017-10-04
Everything on our vacation was perfect! We traveled with Air Canada Vacations and transfer to and from the hotel was seamless and easy. We arrived at the hotel within 35 minutes and were greeted with a drink and cold towel. We got to Cancun prior to check in so we couldn't see our room at that point, but we went for lunch and then went to the beach shortly after.

The beach was beautiful and there were no shortages of chairs and shaded areas to escape the hot sun. Staff members came around to take drink orders and they were very friendly.

We traveled with 3 kids and were given a room in Building 1; every member of our family had their own sleeping area. We had 2 double beds, a pull out bed, a crib for our baby and then another lounger type sofa. Rooms are large and clean. The fridge is restocked every day with snacks and drinks, and you also have access to 4 large bottles of alcohol (these also get restocked). Bathroom was large and had double sinks and a waterfall shower. We brought all of our toiletries, but there really is no need, as the bathroom is stocked with shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion, shaving kit, sewing kit, toothpaste, toothbrush, etc. A bonus for the rooms was that US and Canadian calling was FREE!!! No complaints about the room whatsoever.

I am not picky about food so it was all fine, but the a la cartes were not the best in my opinion. I have been to a few all inclusive resorts and I found better tasting food and options elsewhere. Out of the restaurants we tried, we liked Duke's the best. The buffet was good and had different options everyday so we never got sick of the food. Breakfast was by far our favourite meal of the day. We loved the donuts and the freshly prepared omelettes and juices. Definitely recommend visiting the food truck as they had delicious tacos and fajitas.

My favourite part of the trip was access to the Kid's Club (3 ). Our kids loved it there and we let them visit at least once per day. They played games, did crafts, went horse back riding on the beach, watched movies, etc. I can't say enough about this part of our hotel experience. The ladies who worked there were lovely and so kind to our kids. Karla, Ferdnanda and the rest of the ladies were fantastic!

As a side note, the wifi is excellent and we had internet access for the entire trip with no issues.

Overall our vacation was excellent and we would definitely return again in the future! Finest Playa Mujeres was our best experience at an all inclusive resort that we have had over the years. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool & Grounds, Staff, Cleanliness and Kid's Club
The weak points
A La Carte restaurants
Certified

Great Resort!

, Calgary, AB
2017-03-02
We stayed here for our honeymoon. The resort is beautiful and modern, and the service is excellent. We stayed on the adults only Excellence side and it was very peaceful. I would recommend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not a huge resort so you are close to the ocean.
The weak points
Can't think of any.
Certified

Amazing!!!

, Edmonton, AB
2016-02-04
This was an extraordinary resort. I have been in a lot of resorts for the past 20 years and this one was the best for me so far. I just can't believe some reviews saying any bad things about this hotel. I would love those people to tell me where they went for a better experience for that price. Seriously! It is a beautiful modern hotel. Everything was perfect. When you get to the hotel, you are welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine!!Never happened to me before :) The hotel lobby/bar is so nice and massive. The floors are clean everywhere you go. The gardens are manicured like I never seen before. The food was excellent. Lobster and tenderloin every night if you want. Wine list very extensive if you want to treat yourself even more. And the service...unbelievable. Thanks to Guadalupe for the multiple ice buckets filled with any cold beer I wanted.Thanks to Freedy for his amazing service at the restaurant "Au Petit Plaisir". The servers at this resort should teach lessons to the servers where you live on how to treat a customer. Impeccable!!! So respectful,polite and simply nice!!! The spa was of course great. Thanks to Marcos for his high quality massage. Treat yourself and go to that hotel. We are going back again with our 3 daughters next year!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The overall beauty of the resort The service Treated like gold
The weak points
None
Certified

Married Couple Vacationing without their Kids!

, Sherwood Park , AB
2016-01-12
This is a beautiful "Modern" hotel. The service was exceptional, the food great and the grounds immaculate. I did feel like I missed the "Traditional" Mexican vibe!
This is "family" resort with a lot of children. It is a resort where both the kids and the adults will have vacation time. If you are looking for a quiet, adult vacation, this is not the resort for you. If you are a family and would like the finer things a 5 star resort can offer, this is the resort for you!
One of the best things this resort offered was free WIFI. Loved this! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful location, exceptional staff, rooms are perfect (swim up room/hammock) Lots of staff /security, helping everywhere! Free WIFI
The weak points
Not all restaurants open on all nights. Piano Bar was not really a Piano Bar....No one ever played the piano! The couches inside and outside need different fabric. One that the stains can be removed easily.
Certified

Excellent Hotel

, Norwich, ON
2015-09-18
This hotel has excellent customer service,
staff cannot do enough for you. Food and beach are very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Food, Beach, easy to get around the property, nothing is very far.
The weak points
Auditorium needs fans.
Pro

Future Finest

2015-03-21
Beautiful property. Not fully functioning at one month.
It is a four star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful property.
The weak points
Service in restaurants is slow. Not five star yet.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021