Riu Emerald Bay

Riu Emerald Bay
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 657 reviews
#1 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Mazatlan
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (135)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Nice Place to Vacation

, Red Deer, AB
2022-01-09
Location is great, beaches are amazing, the service was good and the food was decent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Very clean, service was prompt, lots of outdoor activities and restaurants to choose from
The weak points
The meat was almost always over cooked, internet only allowed 2 devices at a time
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very clean
Certified

Riu Mazatlan

, Lorette, MB
2022-01-09
Great experience! Food was very good and a big variety. Drinks were strong and tasty. Rooms were very clean. Although we did have to ask several times for them to restock the fridge.
We would totally go back or stay at another Riu in a different location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Honeymoon trip

, Gatineau, QC
2021-12-30
Our overall experience at RIU was exceptional. From our ocean view room to the restaurants with a great variety of buffets. We enjoyed a lot of activities including the table tennis tournament's. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
1) Food 2) Excursion options 3) Activities
The weak points
1) Room toilets
Certified

Riu emerald bay

, Sherwood Park , AB
2021-12-26
28 days at the RIU was perfect. The personal working there are fabulous. They make one feel very welcomed and special. From the food to the services, all is excellent. Tours, sun, sand, a perfect break from the winter.
Definitely would go back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Variety of food, staff will go above and beyond to help make your stay memorable
The weak points
Hot water seemed to get turned off from 5.00pm to 7.30pm The last day was unfortunate, returning to Canada a PCR test was required. The results were delayed and almost missed the plane home. This was the same for a few other guests as well.
Certified

Not a 5 star resort

, Surrey, BC
2021-12-12
I'm wondering if the pandemic has had an effect on this resort. It's definitely not a 5 star - maybe a strong 3.5 star (right now anyway). Lots of loungers always available (beach and pools). Entertainment was okay and nightly. There is fencing blocking the vendors on the beach from the guests on loungers which is great. Walkable to local coffee shops and other restaurants. Beach is great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Service is exceptional. The resort has 5 pools (2 of them are adult only with swim up bars) and I noticed some of the staff letting families know this (nice for us who don't want little ones running around). Lots of loungers available.
The weak points
Food is not of the standard I would have expected for a five star resort. Even in the special restaurants the food seemed about the same quality as the buffets. Elevators are slow and busy.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Buffet was operating as normal (all hands on serving utensils), there was sanitizer (often with staff operating) at the doors but not always. Masks were supposed to be mandatory but of course many did not adhere to this rule.
Certified

Outstanding

, Calgary, AB
2021-12-12
I was impressed by the entire property the ocean access and more than anything else the servers they were great! The front desk staff were a little abrasive but for the most part good! I would definitely recommend and will be back myself! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

NOT a 5 star as advertised

, Surrey, BC
2021-12-07
I had NO hot water for (5) days. I spoke with the manager about the issue and nothing was done. He stated, that sometimes more folks take showers and use up the hot water. Thank god other guests allowed me to use their showers. Also, mini fridge was restocked one time over the week i was there. When I offered him a $5 USD tip he stated he normally gets $10USD. Maybe that's why he never came back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Most staff seem to care, Food was good, room was clean
The weak points
Poor management, Lack of hot water, slow elevators, NO USD exchange at hotel,
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Not many measures in place. They where so over booked that it got to the point you had to eat in the halls. Almost NO ONE was wearing a mask and staff did nothing about it. nothing like having someone cough in the buffet food with no mask on !!!!!
Certified

Another great Riu holiday

, Edmonton, AB
2021-11-30
Room
Cleaned on time,slepted well (got extra foam put on bed). Wedding music outside off by 9ish every night.
Drinks
Normal Riu selection, consistent mixing for most part, but definitely some new staff confused with minimal English skills
Food
Good quality but buffets got repetitive with no rotation. Bamboo the best of the two Al la carte. Only place I could find shrimp which I found weird being the shrimp capital of the world.
Entertainment
wasnt great resort was full with 90 Spanish speaking guests entertainment geared towards them which made sense.
Pools
Areas cleaned regularly, big waterslides not for the faint of heart. With smaller kids the child park was great.
Beach
One of the best on Pacific. Waves fairly strong but makes for beautiful walks/sea shell picking in late afternoon when tide is out
Resort is clean maintained and great value for family's. Will be back again when kids big enough for big waterslide [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
-one of the best beaches in all of mexico -rooms cleaning consistent -quality drinks/food -constant cleaning
The weak points
-no food rotation on buffet - mixed spanish/english entertainment made it confusing for children
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
-Masks mandatory in Buffets -sanitizer provide at all restaurants/bars/lobby available
Certified

RIU EMERALD BAY

, Vancouver, BC
2021-11-22
This is my second time to this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff are friendly. The beach is spectacular . To make this a true 5* they need to upgrade the beds and the padding on the beach chairs. The only other thing is there is a LOT of kids at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
Beds Padding on beach chairs
Certified

SUNNY IN MEXICO

, Calgary, AB
2021-11-21
This is my third trip to this hotel. For some strange reason all the people on the bus which was full got their rooms, not me i waited for 3 hours, The room was 5 star but no one ever came to give me water and that was after calling 3 times. They did fix my safe but that took a day. I asked at the buffee if they had breakfast sausages or chorizo they do not serve sausages at this hotel so if your German do not go. Gone really far down since first time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Sunny hot weather, nice rooms lots of pools
The weak points
to many to mention
Certified

Great view,food,service. Rooms/elevators need work

, Maple Ridge, BC
2020-03-24
Beautiful resort. Wonderful staff. Awesome food. Very clean and always being cleaned throughout the week. We stayed in the big, older hotel and the rooms were nice and adequate but there were some serious issues with things breaking down and the terrible elevator experiences.

At arrival the resort is gorgeous. Staff is helpful and friendly. The view from the room was epic. But one sink literally was so clogged we couldn't use it. Beds were old and need changing. Our friends next door had the metal piston thing on their door break off and mold on their box spring. Mini fridge was stocked well but if you want it done daily you have to phone reception and stay on them.

Elevators were a struggle. We were on the 6th floor so we would usually walk down to avoid the wait and on the way up you had to just tough it out. There were new elevators under construction so hopefully that helps but with thousands of people using 3-4 elevators it was difficult, plus one person told us she fell half a floor in an elevator and was scared to use them.

The buffets were AMAZING. Probably the best buffets I've ever experienced. Something for everyone. The stir fry station in the Italian buffet at lunch was a highlight. My only issue with the food was none of the a la cartes were menu dining they were both buffets. Although really great food we were looking forward to something different and a fine dining experience and didn't get that.

The pools and water slides and kids pool and slides were all totally awesome. Lots of bars and fun places for the kids to play. They had a blast. The only issue the adults had was that we hoped for more entertainment in the form of pool games and exciting hosts to ramp them up. There was plenty of activities but no central area or pool for them and no music except for in the adult pools. The beach is perfect and we had a great time in the ocean. They have vendors behind ropes halfway down the beach so people could relax without getting bugged and the vendors were super cool.

The nightclub was super loud and played all salsa dance songs so it wasn't our jam, the sports bar was pretty cool except you had to pay for pool, air hockey, and foosball!!!! They had a beach party/rave which was awesome but a bit much for the young kids so we left lol. No foam party!!!!

One thing I will say is that we were there right when the COVID-19 virus hit high gear so the mood was slightly shifting and Canadians were leaving daily so that affected activities happening and put a slight cloud over the trip for the adults. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-everything was clean and there were always staff cleaning everywhere -service and staff -food -beautiful resort and setting and view -lots of pools and slides for the kids were great -beautiful, huge beach area -beach party was really cool
The weak points
-rooms were run down in the old big hotel -elevators were a tough go -no menu dining in the a la cartes -no music and laid back entertainment/activity at the pools during the day - we were looking forward to a foam party but it didn't happen
Certified

Scott

, Melville, SK
2020-03-10
Hotel was good, no issues. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice place, food and staff are great. Especially Luis in the Sports Bar.
The weak points
Elevators are a bit slow, but not bad. Not really a good place for snorkeling.
Certified

Ken

, Calgary, AB
2020-03-08
good but larger than i like [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, pools,most workers, clean rooms and gardens
The weak points
sports bar, no service around pools, windy and cool
Certified

5 star resort!

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-26
We had a great experience at the RIU in Mazatlan. The service was amazing, the food excellent, and a great variety. Loved the location and our room was brand new and absolutely beautiful. Great place to get away whether as a couple or with the kids lots of options for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Lots to offer! Friendly staff

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-24
My 18 year daughter and I had a terrific 6 day stay and enjoyed the resort so much. We recieved friendly and prompt service. We loved taking daily Spanish lessons, aquafit and even crafts. There were always plenty of loungers to lie in the sun and the waterslides were a blast! Great food, fabulous drinks, nice accomodation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service, activities, location
The weak points
The loud bands that play grating music on the beach every day just when you'd retire to your room to get out of the sun. You can't enjoy the sunset from your balcony without hearing it.
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-16
Second time at the resort! Love the Riu Emerald Bay! The maids and waiters and waitresses are outstanding. Wonderful people. The food is great! Very clean! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Delicious food! Beautiful resort! Very very clean. Entertainment is wonderful! Every night there is something.
The weak points
Elevators, some in repair. Takes awhile during peak times.
Certified

Very nice place

, Hinton, AB
2020-02-16
Our overall experience was very pleasant We arrived around 11 and out room was not ready till 5, taveling with a young child and an infant this was a huge inconvenience. Our luggage was not brought to our room. Everything else was very great. The water slides were cool. The place is very clean, even the public bathrooms. The food was tasty and had good variety.Staff was nice. Nice beach with good soft sand, always beach chairs available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean. Good food Plenty of variety. Pools are nice. Always chairs available. Staff was pleasant.
The weak points
Check in took very long. Luggage was not delivered.
Certified

Will not return

, Calgary, AB
2020-02-09
Friday arrival got into our room after a 6 hour wait. Get into bed, bed was FULL OF BED BUGS. Called front desk, they came changed our room, took 90% of my clothes as they were out on the bed, said they would be washed and returned ASAP. Had to fight with the hotel to get my clothes, different story with each staff member. Finally got them on Monday, mostly ruined. Again fight with hotel for compensation. Was offered a room upgrade and a couple of 25 min massages at the spa. We declined the room upgrade as the elevators were under construction and did not want the long waits. We accepted the massages and the value of our ruined clothing in gift shop credit. The hotel then locked us out of our room because they wanted us to sign the release paper, and the spa would not accept the coupons from the hotel. This trip was a complete disaster from start to finish. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Area is beautiful. Food is better then most resorts.
The weak points
Staff, language barrier, new building clearly had some issues with bedding, as we were not the only ones with bugs.
Certified

Good title

, Tisdale, SK
2020-01-27
Very efficient checkin; prompt services always; very clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean; very good food; prompt services when requested
The weak points
elevators or lack thereof; no coffee pot in rooms
Certified

Great place to stay for fun or rest.lots of space

, Cowichan Bay, BC
2020-01-27
We were not expecting too much after reading a few negative comments and
we read a lot of good reviews too so now we have been we can say we will come back again and we do not say that often at other places !
this hotel has everything we require for a great holiday to remember-well done to the hotel and staff for ensuring everyone had a good safe time.
one couple we met has been there for the 8th time ! we like to go to different places - but we know we are coming back here for sure.
we want to bring our little grand kids too as there is lots for everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great food. great staff and very clean. excellent choice and something for everyone.
The weak points
some noisy nights from outside - take ear plugs and not a problem.
Certified

Great for young children

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-27
The waterslides for young children were just right for the 4 year old we had with us, and I do like that the pools were heated [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
No coffee or room service. Because of this, this Riu should not be a 5 star rating.
Certified

Riu Emerald Bay Rocked

, Pelly, SK
2020-01-26
Awesome experience. Would definitely go back here & to another Riu location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food & cleanliness
The weak points
Ocean is not for snorkeling, just body surfing
Certified

Riu Emerald Bay

, Edmonton, HA
2020-01-26
Overall average experience, but considering rating resort has, we were a little disappointed. Too expensive considering all the weak points. Possible with recent expansion not being managed very well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic beach, resort very clean.
The weak points
Not enough elevators, too slow. No clocks, coffee pots in rooms, no English channels on tv. Very few washrooms in public areas, entertainment for younger people, too loud. No quiet public areas. No a la carts, all buffets. Dress codes not kept.
Certified

Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlan

, Sherwood Park , AB
2020-01-20
We went from Edmonton as a party of 4 adults and 2 children for a birthday celebration. One party was in the original building and they said the rooms are very dated and need some reno's. The other party was in the new section which was very nice and quiet. The pools were nice except for the adult party bar which I would never step into. The water was awful looking and you can decide for yourself why....eeew! They have a waterpark and the kids loved the slides. The resort lacks restaurants as they only had two a la cartes which you had to make reservations for so we ended up eating buffet the entire week. We did however choose to go up the road for two dinners out. One at the beach restaurant and one night at Roys, just north of the hotel. The entertainment group was friendly and came around throughout the day to advise of what was going on, however the night shows were definately lacking. There was a rock band one day at the newer end and they were very good. Also a band played at the beach but kind of monotonous. The rooms and facilities were clean. I would advise be very careful of what you eat and what you drink as a couple of our party had stomach issues. And also watch your beach towels as ours were stolen twice from our chairs while we were either int he pool or eating. They will charge you for the towels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
They strive hard to keep everything clean. Waterpark was great for kids and adults.
The weak points
lack of a la cartes.
Certified

RIU Emerald Bay - spot of dishonor on the reputati

, Pitt Meadows, BC
2020-01-16
I have been visiting RIU Emerald Bay in Mazatlan (Mexico) for one week from Dec 27, 2019 to Jan 3, 2020.

My experience that time was completely different vs. my previous visits of other (at least five) RIU hotels.

To make my review short, I will mention only some things, which make RIU Emerald Bay incompatible with five stars rating.

First, I was shocked by dirty tableware in restaurants, which I have seen many times during my stay there.
One time waiter brought me a dirty cup for coffee. I cannot understand how he could not see this.
One time I have seen a whole stack of dirty plates for ice cream. I have checked at least ten plates.

Now about reception and minibar refill.

To have drinking water, you have to call reception and they send someone to bring it to your room then.
Looks easy. It worked two times. Next time, I have been waiting more than three hours.
I went to the reception, they said "sorry, we will do this right now".
Nothing happened after that. I needed to go to a bar for drinking water.

Fire alarm.

During seven days, I have heard/seen myself four false fire alarms.
Two times it happened during night hours.
Especially nice it was at 6:15am on Jan 1.

There were some more small things.

Sometimes we were waiting for ten minutes for a waiter in restaurants.
One waiter after arriving was able to understand the word "coffee" only after five times of repeating.

Food and drinks selection limited vs. other RIU hotels I visited before.

There is only one shop in the hotel.
On the second or third day of my stay in the hotel paying machine stopped working and the issue was not fixed until my leaving.
Everyone will have to pay in cash.

Barmen and room cleaning are OK. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, room cleaning
The weak points
restaurants, fire alarm, shop

Riu Emerald Bay

, Vancouver, BC
2020-01-15
The service and the pools are excellent. The rooms are only 3 star (unless you pay to upgrade to a suite). The food is OK. you have to be up at 7 am to make a reservation and even then you can't always get one. By 7:08 all the reservations were taken. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and pools
The weak points
Food and rooms
Certified

Excellent value

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-05
Very nice clean rooms with exceptional views of the Pacific Ocean. Wonderful staff who were always very helpful. The food and beverage experience was very good. Plenty of restaurants offered. Evening entertainment could be improved. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent beach and the ocean is amazing for swimming.
The weak points
No non-motorized water sports offered, such as snorkel gear, boogie boards, kayaking, paddle boards, etc. I may have misread the description saying they offered this, or they don't offer it.
Certified

Not like other Riu hotels

, Ottawa, ON
2020-01-02
If you've stayed at other Riu hotels, don't expect the same here (unless if you're in the new section). We opted the ocean view, which was really nice, but the room amenities aren't the best - overall it was ok and the view made up for it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, great view.
The weak points
The check-in process was awful, the hotel should consider stanchions. The elevators were awful, we had to take the stairs to the 14 floor regularly. Lunch is meant for kids mostly. We ate at the restaurants it's pretty much the same food as the buffet.
Certified

Riu Emerald Bay

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-12-30
Great spot, a couple of annoying issues that affected the stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, food quality
The weak points
6 total elevators for 22 floors, THREE undergoing maintenance. Very loud outdoor evening entertainment with speakers pointed straight up.
Certified

Riu Emerald Bay Christmas 2019

, Calgary, AB
2019-12-30
This was our 3rd trip to Mazatlan - first time to a large hotel. Trip was great we will definatley be returning. The beach , the service and the food was beyond our expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness - I cannot believe a hotel this large can be kept so clean. Every bathroom I went into had a staff member monitoring it. Food selection was fabulous - so many selections and it was presented well.
The weak points
The elevators! Hotel was very full and with 17 floors you found the wait to be a little long. However one was down and they are currently upgrading.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Mazatlan's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022