Riu Santa Fe

Riu Santa Fe
3.933.933.933.933.93
3.93 based on 698 reviews
#3 of 31 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Los Cabos
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (114)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Riu Santa Fe

, Edmonton, AB
2021-12-31
We definitely are left with mixed feelings about our stay. It did not feel like a 5-star hotel. They should update their main picture as we did not see that pool area anywhere. With Covid-19 areas of the resort were closed and many shows canceled. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort is large, with 2 adult resorts on both sides. The employees are constantly working and making sure the grounds are clean and maintained. Several different restaurants. Staff is very friendly
The weak points
We were given a room with a king sized bed for our 3 teenagers, we asked for 2 double beds, they would only give us a cot. Never stocked our fridge Pools closed at 6 Many events canceled Shows ended early First come first serve for restaurants
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Masks worn in lobby Hand sanitizer was provided at many locations. bathrooms out of stock of soap. Covid testing was very inconvenient, expensive and unorganized, testing only from 9-11, but actually opened at 8, not done in a very clean room.
Certified

6/10 resort

, Thornhill, ON
2021-12-30
This is my second time to this resort for a one week stay and it was not the best experience. The room was okay, super out dated. Light bulbs were burnt out. The food was decent but was not hot and fresh and most times food stations were left empty.

The overall look of the resort was nice. The beach is full of people trying to sell you bracelets and goods but it got annoying. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Resort looks.
The weak points
Food and drinks. Barely any food. themed dressed dinners weren't the best. Towels access. Beach was nice but people trying to sell are super strong and vocal.
Certified

Fun time - Not Greatest Amenities

, Ardrossan, AB
2021-12-25
We had fun with our friends at this resort however the rooms and food were not great.
We booked for our honeymoon and received a room with two seperate beds and no decor for the occasion.
Changed us to a room with a king on other side of resort from our party and gave us room keys that didn't work, safe didn't work and bugs on counters.
Being our honeymoon we thought there might be some nice towel art or something at minimum to mark the occasion.
The restaurants could not keep up with the food demand and bins were often empty for quite some time. There was enough variety if you are a picky eater to find something though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Foam party was super fun It was nice they played a movie in the lobby each night before the entertainment. Lots of pool options. We were able to get into any of the restaurants relatively easy.
The weak points
Food was often not replenished fast enough Bartenders could not keep up The only resteraunt that wasn't a buffet was the steak one. Rooms were not well kept (safes in multiple rooms were not working or damaged, bugs on counters, dirty towels)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The only time you were asked to wear a mask was in the restaurant when filling up plates. More seated dining and less buffets would be a helpful covid measure instead of the other way around. More hand sanitizer stations would also be welcomed.
Certified

Not impressed

, Medicine Hat, AB
2020-03-23
Too many spring breakers no consideration for guests not on spring break poor service not good food shows sucked hated how you served your self at the alcart restaurants very disappointed in service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach and location the massages at spa were great
The weak points
Too many to mention we will never be back
Certified

Riu Santa Fe

, Emerald Park, SK
2020-01-17
Very large resort. Lots of walking. Resort grounds, public areas, rooms are clean. Friendly staff. This is a party resort - quite noisy at times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort grounds, public areas, hotel rooms are clean. Staff is friendly.
The weak points
This is a "party" resort - noisy. Oceanview is partial oceanview (you look to the side of your balcony). King bed is two double beds pushed together. Didn't really notice any security around. Wifi drops a lot.
Certified

Amazing vacation with friends and kids

, Québec, QC
2020-01-11
Nice hotel, the pools are really large. Cocktails are great, food is diversified and available easily. The waterslides are really awesome. The beach is nice and the view just take your breath away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean view, pools, quick check in check out
The weak points
A little bit noisy at night but no enough to disturb your sleep.
Certified

Great Time, Party Hotel

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-07
We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holidays and it was an absolute blast!! There were a lot of Canadians that joined us at the resort! It was super busy the closer to Christmas but that staff and everyone made the experience so much better! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Santa Fa 5

, Gibbons, AB
2020-01-07
For the most part we loved it but there was a few things we were not happy with. We would go back to this resort.
New years Eve was busy but lots of fun.
Thanks Santa Fa 5 for a great Christmas/New Years. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools were great and for the most part clean. Food was amazing, loved the mexican place and the taco stand they had in the evening in the court yard. Most of the staff were amazing.
The weak points
Entertainment in evening was ok, wanted more shows then them playing movies on the big screen. Steak house the night we went I think were short staff so wasn't the greatest experince for us. But lots of people loved it.
Certified

RIU Santa Fe good again

, Langley, ON
2019-12-30
This was my 7th stay at this resort. Some for business and some for pleasure. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. A good mix of channels on the room TV.
The food doesn't disappoint and I usually find a new favorite buffet item each visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large resort with lots of amenities. Great access to the town and a 20 minute walk will have you in the heart of town.
The weak points
Just a few picky things. No plates at the poolside BBQ. In room safe malfunctioned so had to wait for manager to open.
Certified

My Vacation

, Vermilion, AB
2019-12-23
This place is amazing. Massive resort where you can relax or go wild. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots and lots of choices as to where you want to spend your day...quite and relaxing,mediocre loud and wild and crazy.
The weak points
My only complaint would be that the a la carte restaurants were mostly buffet style. Not that that was a horrible thing by all means, food was still delicious just after eating buffet for lunch and breakfast everyday a order off menu would of been better.
Certified

Overall

, Ottawa, ON
2019-12-14
Very nice.
We enjoyed ourselves.
We are booking there again in a month [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic. Grounds were clean Great location friendly
The weak points
Nothing
Certified

Not happy

, Edmonton, AB
2019-12-14
very disappointed with the food. we paid over 1300 each and couldn't even enjoy the al a carte restaurants. they closed over half throughout our stay. when asked why it wasn't open the response was that the hotel wasn't full enough to open all al a carte restaurants, however the lines were so long for the one or 2 that would be open that you couldn't even get in for he food. at no time upon checkin did the hotel staff make note of what restaurants are open when. when asked when they would all open response was they would be open thursday, however not kuch good since we flew out rhat afternoon. overall mediocre service and will not be returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ample places to drink.
The weak points
food was substandard. restaurants not open
Certified

RIU Santa Fe

, Richmond, BC
2019-11-11
Overall, for the price, it is well worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are polite, efficient and always try to do their best. Many fun programs are arranged. Wifi is free and strong. Swimming pools are huge.
The weak points
3 of 5 of us had vomitting and diarrhea. Not sure it was from the food. Sound from the pool events was too loud and ended at 11:30 pm.
Certified

Birthday at the Santa Fe

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-11-11
My son & I stayed for a week at the Santa Fe and found the room and the entire property to be quite beautiful. The landscaping is in meticulous order and the bars and restaurants are as well. He had a great deal of fun at the pool parties etc. Drinks are as plentiful as you want and you certainly don't have to walk to far to obtain one. The hotel is massive and it takes a little time to figure out the best route to where you want to go. The only downside of this resort is the food. I am basically an old guy now and that is important to me. The Asian restaurant is the best. The buffet sucks for lunch and is about the same for dinner. I think that is my only complaint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Birthday trip

, Richmond, BC
2019-11-07
Had an amazing experience celebrating my b- day in this hotel.Though food is just average
but nightly entertainment,and day activities keeps us busy and entertained.Had a blast and would recommend this hotel to visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A truely amazing vacation

, Beaver County, AB
2019-06-28
When planning your trip to a new resort do your due diligence and take the time to read reviews so you can form your very own opinions.

This review is totally positive!

Firstly for the price we paid I would have expected a cockroach riddled dump no where near as amazing as the Riu Santa Fe. We were welcomed with a chilled Margareta and smiles. The book in process was well thought out and before we knew it we were in our magnificent room looking onto a beautiful pool and the ocean. We arrived there in our early 60's but from that moment on, we were both feeling in our late 20's.

Room was large and spotless. Bar fridge was stocked with beer, pop and water. Liquor dispensers were locked and loaded. Room service was super fast as I had them install a brand new battery in the safe. I recommend doing that to avoid and safe hiccups while you have the room.

The view was breathtaking. Be chose a room overlooking the ocean so we were placed into Block 7. A simple out the door, down the hall and we were out overlooking a massive family pool. A quick walk to the swim up bar Tequila in front of our room and we were in Margareta heaven. The pool was large, and clean and refreshing. We are not smokers however they allow smoking in the pools so with ease we just moved to a smoke free area and enjoyed the water.

Food was above expectations and throughout the course of our stay we hit every restaurant and enjoyed all their exceptional specialty's. Over all the amount of food choices was top notch! The saddest part for us was to watch the waist left on many plates. People don't seem to understand that there is no limit to how many times you can refill your plate.

The La baja California is your main all round breakfast Buffet location destination. It's a massive restaurant with a massive buffet. It closes at 10:30 M and becomes a Dinner buffet from 6PM to 10PM. Another breakfast choice is the Torote restaurant offering a different breakfast experience from 7Am to 12PM At 3:30 PM it reopens as a romantic steak house serving amazing foods till 5:30 PM

La Mision is also a steak house/ Mexican theme restaurant with amazing food choices. Carusso offers up a wonderful menu of Italian themed dishes and both these restaurants have tremendous buffets as well.

We really enjoyed our evening at Zashila restaurant feasting on flavorful Chinese and Asian inspired dishes.

Beverages are abundant an all the swim up bars and the bars in the main square. All offer a broad selection of beverages for all tastes. HOWEVER, IF YOU EXPECT TOP OF THE LINE ALCOHOL GO TO A TOP OF THE LINE RESORT !!! If you enjoy standard and above board alcohol them you found the right place. If your a night owl and want to drink your face off till the wee hours then the Sports Bar is your booze haven, enjoy.

Staff are all super amazing and will go the extra mile to see you happy no matter how shitty of a day they are having. These people really rely on tips, so take money to tip them. If you go to any one of these resorts with that " I paid for All inclusive no need to tip attitude" then just stay home cause you will probably find something to bitch about.

The beach is awesome and the view is out of this world. The ocean in front of the hotel is not a safe place to swim because of the rip tides. The resort recommends walking to the safe swim areas well marked out. If you think you are stronger than Mother Natures Force, then have at swimming in the restricted areas and rest in peace.

Final thoughts and tips.

If you hate young adults partying don't go on Spring break. If you don't like the pool party atmosphere book a room away from that area.
If you don't like people coming home to their rooms at 1AM or 3AM then stay home cause it happens everywhere.

This is a massive resort and there is a lot of ground to cover. If you don't like to walk maybe find a smaller resort. At 60 years old feeling in my late 20's I enjoyed the walking the sights and the sounds.

Unfortunately no matter where you go in this world you are always going to have that one group of people that enter the pool in the morning, drink and smoke all day long at leave at closing time never once exiting the pool to take a piss. A bit of a turn off however the pools are kept very clean and they ensure to always chlorinate. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service is far above average Rooms are far above average Food is far above average Alcohol and pools are far above average out of 10 I give this resort a 20
The weak points
Absolutely none

Riu Santa Fe

, Calgary, AB
2019-05-21
The hotel was good, the staff was very helpful and the service was good.
Aside from that, we will not be going back to the resort with our experience. There were lots of things that we didn't like with our room. The patio door was not easy to open, bathroom door wouldn't close as the door knob was broken, our room wasn't cleaned till late in the day until we requested it to be cleaned earlier, the room was not cleaned proper as there was empty beer cans and half dank bottles in the fridge from the previous guest that stayed in the room. Our safe was not working and had to call management to fix, there were lots of mosquitoes in the room when we got in, and never refilled our in room coffee. We will try other Riu Hotels, but we will not go back to this one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was wonderful and very helpful.
The weak points
Room wasn't cleaned till late in the afternoon. Patio door and bathroom door was not working. We were recommended that this was kid friendly, it is not. El Medano was never open when were were there. The staff was good but didn't speak much English.
Certified

DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT

, West Kelonwa, BC
2019-04-09
I booked this vacation with my 8 yr old daughter, two other moms and their 7 year old daughters. The website stated they did NOT ALLOW spring breakers. They lied! The manager confirmed they had allowed a booking for over 1000 university students from a spring break tour company and another booking of over 300 students. The resort was invaded by drunk, entitled, obnoxious, disgusting assholes that screamed in the hallways, banged on doors, smashed plates on the hall floors ALL NIGHT LONG!! There was no security anywhere and if you called to complain, the phone just rang and rang and no one ever picked up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
none
The weak points
they lied on their website stating they DO NOT ALLOW SPRING BREAKERS
Certified

Hotel staff

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-08
We arrived on Sunday March 24th and was told we had no reservation. I used Sunwing. The manager Cynthia - very rude told me she needs to hold my Passport (which is illegal) and if I didn't give it I would have to pay to stay at the hotel - I told her I already pay for my vacation. She never utter the words of "I'm sorry for the inconvenience etc" common customer service. She eventually found it and we were put in a room with 2 double beds even tho we booked a triple - apparently no extra bed can be put in a room in Villa 9 (another inconvenience) we were told we can only be moved on Tuesday to a triple room that the resort was fully booked. It took away 3 days of my vacation having to deal with miscommunication between Sunwing and Riu. What really got me was the staff does not care about their guests. I did not feel very welcome. I've stayed at many resorts and was compensated someway or the other for any inconvenience caused by the resort. I surely did not get that at Rui-Santa fe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Pool party noise has ruined the relaxing atmospher

, Kelowna, BC
2019-04-07
I have stayed at the RIU Santa Fe for the last 8 years and loved it. However this year was a major disappointment. The pool parties took place 4 times during the week and the noise was unbearable. Each year I request a quiet room on a top floor. This year they placed me in building 7 which put me right next to the pool party. My room would shake for the duration and the noise made it impossible to read a book or sleep. I asked to change rooms in line with my request for a quiet building and was told I would have to check out at 11 the next day and could not check into a quiet room until 3 pm. I totally understand the need for the hotel to continue to offer new and exciting changes to remain competitive but RIU Santa Fe, you did not get this right. The pool party noise should not impact on other guests who want to enjoy a quiet Mexican vacation. Contrast the pool party to a Vegas adult pool party where there is no extraneous noise even in the next pool. I was very disappointed with the hotel management in accommodating my change. Why should I miss a day on the beach having to guard my valuables because you did not honour my usual request for a quiet room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The facilities and location is perfect. The staff on the whole are very friendly.
The weak points
The noise from the pool party is overpowering and reverberates through the whole complex.

Not overly impressed

, Nanoose, BC
2019-04-03
Our room was dirty. There was blood drops on the floor, the mirror, mould in the shower and on the shower curtain. The throw pillows we're filthy. My son got sick and puked while in bed and got some on the sheets, they charged me 85us for the sheets and refused room service until we paid , when I tried to talk to the manager on duty about this she told me I would be kicked out if not paid and hung up on me [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing place to stay!

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-11
everything was very good, we really enjoyed our stay! food was delicious, service was great, we only have a positive experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service is great. we loved the cleanliness of the hotel. we also loved the opportunity to use the water park in the riu santa fe.
The weak points
nothing
Certified

Great time!

, Vancouver, BC
2019-03-04
The check in was delayed and we waited for three hours to finally get our room. We were luckily put in a building that was away from the party scene. Our room was beautiful-right across from the spa. Cleaned daily. We noticed how clean they kept the resort and how friendly the staff were.

This is a party place, so we had a great time. Both of us in our 30s and newly engaged. We had so much fun. Pool parties, swim up bars, great a la carte restaurants. People were easy going and friendly.

Downside- very very loud at all hours. People screaming- maids slamming doors and chatting at 7:30a.m. Do not expect a good restful vacation.

The beach was lovely. You cannot swim in the ocean. Going into town was so easy and safe. Great restaurants and many local vendors to buy from.

Overall I would go back to this resort for a good time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fun. Party place. Clean. A lot to do.
The weak points
Noisy. Party 24/7. Late night food was disgusting. Long wait for drinks.
Certified

Santa Fe

, Prince Albert, SK
2019-03-04
We had a very good experience with this resort. Top of the line service all week! The staff are friendly and fun to be around. Our first night was a la carte at the steakhouse and we were blown away. The presentation and quality of the food was excellent. No reservations are required for the a la carte restaurants also. We ate at all the restaurants and each delivered an excellant meal.
The bar staff were very busy but were always smiling.
Housekeeping also did everything to make our stay comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was awesome Entertainment every day Whole resort was very clean
The weak points
Bar was very busy
Certified

Great resort

, Cranbrook, BC
2019-02-25
Everything was great!!! Lots of great food. The Asian al le cart was awesome. The steakhouse was great. The staff was very helpful. The pools are very clean. Would recommend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
No elevators.
Certified

They ruined the Riu Sante Fe

, Burnaby, BC
2019-02-04
i have stayed at this hotel in the past, several times, and it was wonderful, but this trip I have never been so disappointed, they now cater to the young crowd with having crazy loud pool parties daily from 3-7, then they have Jungle Parties, Pink Parties, etc etc. until 11:00pm nightly the yelling and screaming of drunk out of control people is so disgusting, people had thrown up all over the place, security did nothing to stop the yelling so late at night, I watched staff pull three drunk people out of the pools, that were passed right out, I am serious if you are not 19 or a responsible adult you will hate this place now, I had in the past recommended this place to everyone and as soon as I landed I text everyone who was going to book there and said don't go, people on the plane to all were so mad and said they would never return, you really ruined such a beautiful resort it is a shame. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the grounds are beautiful and that is about it.
The weak points
the food has gone down hill from when I stayed there before, the swim up pool was closed most of the days, and the partying and drunk people are disgusting and all the rave parties that they keep pumping you to go to are out of control they ruined it.
Certified

Beautiful Cabo

, Cochrane, AB
2019-01-26
The staff are very friendly. Maids do a great job of cleaning the rooms. The grounds were very clean and well kept. No security at night checking buildings for parties. No reservations for alacart so we had to stand in long lines to wait. The spirts bar needs a Reno it smells and is not a nice atmosphere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was great. Friendly staff. Very clean grounds.
The weak points
There was no security checking the buildings at night to monitor for noise. It was extremely noisy in our building until all hours of the night.
Certified

What was expected!

, St Catharines, ON
2019-01-15
Would travel here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hotel is very ynderstaffed

, Kerrobert, SK
2019-01-07
We expected more from Riu that what we experienced. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Our room was just ok. There were only 4 plug ins in the room and they lost power when the lights were turned out and 1 did not work at all. The beds are slightly smaller than US doubles and for 4 people, we had 2 small beds pushed together. Everyday we were missing towels - either bath towels or face clothes. When we called the front desk, they said someone would come, but no one did. Although the desk did call our room back at 10:30pm to ASK if someone dropped them off! We had several large bugs in our room - we think they were cockroaches but having never seen one before, we can't be sure. Our balcony doors were left wide open one day by cleaning staff. Again, called the front desk, nothing happened.
The hotel is horribly understaffed. It was a 30-40 minute wait to get drinks at any of the pool bars. There was no pool or beach service. Everyday, when we visited Torote (pool buffet) for lunch, there were NO plates, cutlery or glasses. The staff didn't seem to ever know when they would come. Rather inconvenient when you'd like to have lunch!! Lots of staff have limited english skills (some having NO english while serving), but they did try very hard to assist you. Being so short handed, they were smiling and engaging and really, really tried to find you a plate!
The food in the main buffet was outstanding! It was beautifully prepared and fresh.
The resort itself is massive! Be prepared to walk and walk. It would be nice to have small coffee makers in the rooms, so you didn't have to walk for 10 minutes in the morning just to have a coffee. The main buffet does not open until 8:30am, but sometimes its 9am.
The kids pool is nice for very small kids, but the activities are bland. It was coloring a page in a small room or playing musical chairs. It is certainly not an active kids club like they advertise. Being that it is not a secure place (gates left wide open all the time), we would not leave our children (5 and 7) there for the activities.
Overall, we expected more from a RIU. They need to do better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent quality of food! Beautiful grounds (and very large) Very nice sand beach (the vendors are respectful if you decline)
The weak points
Terribly understaffed! Wait of 30 minutes for a drink! Short towels in room every single day - no response from agents at front desk. Lack of plates, cutlery and glasses in buffet No pool or beach service
Certified

Santa fe

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-03
The staff is great . They really go out of their way to make you comfortable
Food options are ok
They have five restaurants but when we were there the Italian was closed so we only got to experience four
I did not particularly enjoy their main buffet dinner.. it really was the same thing every day so I would say if you are looking for great food go to the restaurants every day
Facilities are great
Rooms are ok
Could do with a little updating
When we got there they put us in building 9 right by the pool party
Thankfully we checked and got moved right away
Overall great week [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and pools
The weak points
Food is ok Rooms are dated
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022