Krystal Grand Los Cabos

Krystal Grand Los Cabos
3.533.533.533.533.53
3.53 based on 47 reviews
#7 of 31 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Los Cabos
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (50)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Will never go back here

, Saltspring Island, BC
2023-01-21
We “upgraded” to an ocean view room. It was filthy, surfaces had not been wiped, footprints in the glass of the door and balcony, spills on the floor, very dusty AC vents and under the bed. Had to complain three times to get it cleaned. The dust remained even after the clean. Towels were taken and not replaced, had a face cloth day 1 and never again, mini fridge was never filled,had to ask for water and coffee for the room daily , towels were frayed, I could go on. The food was sub par for the most part, the buffet being the worst, food sitting in heaters for a long time and drying out. Had heartburn everyday! Tables were sticky and not wiped between guests unless asked to do so. Some of the staff were very unfriendly, almost surely, though most were good. Lots of repairs to be done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Friendly but with some flaws and needs improvement

, Kelowna, BC
2023-01-14
I really looked forward to this booking before arriving! Was well over 2 full years since being to Mexico until this past week. Staff were quite friendly overall but in so many regards the communication was so very difficult here. The concierge staff knew English reasonably well but it became difficult to only be able to communicate any needs to them. Most of the other staff knew very little English and I tried so hard to speak in Spanish as much as I could.

We received very little in room service and many times our towels diminished down from the 4 we had in place at one point early on to just 2 towels and no face cloths ever and no med sized towels ever. Shampoo was very missed as never replenished and same as soap. And same as toilet paper and that is a major no no! This lack of service was even in our second room as first room was a complete nightmare!

1st room given...
-super loud and just awful other guests next to us and that was night one and I got almost no sleep all night and I almost lost it on those guests but kept my composure!
-safe did not work at all!
-tv was the absolute pits and so small and did not work as per digitalizing constantly and cutting in and out always.
-the shower leaked onto floor so bad! The door did not close very well!
-plus other flaws!

Had to up and move and the next room was at least quiet the rest of the nights! But very lacked on servicing. We even left reasonable tips to make it happen and did not!

The hotel is getting on in age a bit and the hot tubs were very hit and miss on working properly or not our entire time there. The last couple days one was totally busted and the other one maxed out at about 75 degrees temperature! Not good! Many others addressed this so I did not have to. I already had addressed some other issues.

The good though...
-friendly overall
-good concierge staff
-some nice restaurants in place, especially the Mexican one and the Japanese one!
-karaoke was fun and they had 2 different nights of karaoke
-food overall, especially the hamburgers at Surfos, was excellent!

I think though with all the maintenance issues and the age appearance that we will book somewhere else next time though.

Overall too the washrooms just needed urinal cakes and more cleaning action! Not a fan of smelly washrooms and other smelly guests!

Internet was hit and miss too on slowness/regular proper speeds.

Nol, from Kelowna, Jan 7 to 13 there/2023. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Worst experience ever

, North Vancouver, BC
2022-12-19
I've been in Mexico 5th times, and this one was our worst experience ever.Food was terrible and almost no taste and not much options. The quality of drinks and food was super low. The buffet wasn't a normal buffet as other resorts even for breakfast not much options. The people working in the resort didn't English at all and the room service was bad .the resort is just beside the highway and most of the rooms had the very loud noise from highway specially at night. The drinks cups beside the pool was dirty and they re-use the plastic cups over and over without proper wash. We all got sick and my kids had a very bad stomach pain and vomiting a lot during our stay. Overall, I will not recommend anyone to stay in this resort .waste of money and time. This a 2 star hotel to me [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Nothing
The weak points
Food ,internet, room service, restaurant, noise of highway
Certified

My thoughts.

, Lethbridge, AB
2022-12-01
The resort was great but for the price I paid, I feel as though there could be improvements.
1. Night life/ shows. I would have liked to have seen evening shows. And the one that did happen during my stay, wasn't advertised for. So my group missed out.
2. Cleanliness. There was scattered garbage throughout the resort. In the bushes and flowers, under the poolside tanning chairs.
3. Food variations. The food was the same daily and a lot of it didn't accommodate allergies and diet restrictions.
4. Food and drinks PASSED 11:00pm
5. Music at all locations and at the adult pool.
6. I was in room 4121- the phone, the safe and the fridge didn't work.

That being said, the staff was PHENOMENAL. Very welcoming, kind, hard working. We found our favourites throughout the week and we were very pleased to have the same poolside waiters throughout our stay! Huge shoutout to Daniel, Julian, and Margarita (the man with braces), Izero at the sports bar, Hugo, Manuel and Mario (at the concierge). We really did enjoy our stay and I do believe with minor improvements, the resort would reach up to a true 5*. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff was amazing. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.
The weak points
No shows or night life, no music throughout the resort, garbage everywhere, food wasn't accommodating to allergies and should be served until the bars closed at 11.
Certified

Definitely not a 5 star

, Salmon River, NS
2022-11-13
This hotel was advertised as a 5⭐️ resort, but was a 3 at best. The check in was simple enough; we paid a $14 CDN hotel tax. The room was on the far end of the property. Once we got in the room we found the coffee pot was broken and no coffee in the room. This was rectified the next morning; however, there was only coffee brought in twice during the week. We also found ants in the room.

The mini fridge was not stocked and there were no face cloths. The shelf for the towels was coming out of the wall.

We noticed many signs of disrepair and aging around the property. The lounge chairs were all in need of a good staining, the pools had many tiles broken and missing. There were many pot holes in the cement around the pools.

The food seemed to come from one central kitchen, so it never came hot. The best meal was at the Ayami grill at the hibachi. The food was prepared in front of you so it was very hot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The people were friendly and did what they could to help out.
The weak points
The waiters were slow to come around and the food service was slow. The Grill Restaurant had a waiter that seemed to not know what he was doing. Took 1 hour for our food to come.
Certified

Go somewhere else

, Taber, AB
2022-10-21
This hotel is pleasant but certainly does not cater to English speaking guests. If you are Spanish speaking and have a family, the two family pools would be a blast. We spent the majority of our time at the adult pool or in the chairs on the beach. Weather in October was beautiful! We found other Spanish speaking guests to be very rude, constantly playing their own music over the pool music so there would often be 6 or 7 different groups playing music at the same time. It was so frustrating. Staff focused mainly on guests they could communicate with and we were never once offered poolside service like the Spanish speaking guests. Same goes for the buffet and restaurants. Experienced staff were helpful but they seemed to have mostly new staff. We were in one of the hotel restaurants for 2 1/2 hours one night because they either ran out of food or our waitress brought us the wrong food or she was too busy with other tables to bring our food on time. The manager was no help either. Rooms were fine but there were small cockroaches in the bathroom so that was gross. Overall it was pretty clean. Buffet food was fine but the same every day. Supply chain to this resort seemed to be an issue. They ran out of a lot of things and there were not many options. Plumbing and public bathroom cleanliness was not great. It's also odd that there is no late night food available. Room service is hit and miss at best. We asked for water bottles three times one night and never got them. The tapas bar was supposed to have food but didn't at any point or they were closed. The wifi is terrible. Absolutely terrible. We will not be returning to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
This resort would be great for families. It seems to be their focus and I think that would be the main reason to go to this resort
The weak points
Biggest weak points would be food, plumbing and the significant language barrier. We have been to Mexico quite a few times and have never had this experience before.
Certified

Budget friendly but lacking

, Calgary, AB
2022-10-16
We had a good time at the Krystal Grand but probably would not return. The location was beautiful and the resort was fairly quiet as it was the off season. However the food quality was not that great (even noticed difference from the beginning of our week to the end) and the resort was very inconsistent in service. Including housekeeping and maintenance. We did find out there had been a recent management change and majority of staff turnover. So hopefully it was just temporary issues. But we won't be back to find that out. Met a few couples there who had been to this resort multiple times who were also unhappy with recent changes and would not return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful location! Reasonably priced.
The weak points
Inconsistent service. Low food quality. Needing maintenance.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
None
Certified

Loved it!

, Calgary, AB
2022-07-20
Food was much much better than anticipated; we had a longer stay (8nights) and got a chance to experience every restaurant multiple times. Junior suite was spacious for my family of four, including a 10mths old and a 3yrs old son. Kids clubs was a lifesaver, can't thank the staffs at the kids club enough. My son is hyper active and this made all the difference for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Kids club was a lifesaver. Food was much better than anticipated.
Certified

Slow and Unfriendly

, Edmonton, AB
2022-06-17
Bartenders were rude to people (not all but most) also slow for food. Under staffed and only a few were nice to patrons. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Krystal Grand

, Surrey, Br
2022-04-19
We loved the hotel room.
Pool side. Facing ocean.
Bathroom faucet was very loose. Requires maintenance.
King size bed very comfortable.
Wifi: Spotty. Sometimes would log off in room. Did not work on balcony. Not available poolside.
Staff worked very hard. Very accommodating.
Check-in was slow. Need more staff. Servers brought drinks while in line. Snacks would have been nice as we were arriving in late afternoon.
After check-in, and arrival to our room, restaurants/snack bars were closed in prep for dinner.
Other than check-in, Front desk was very helpful.
Two groups of room service: cleaning/bed making, and coffee/water bottle replacement. We had to call twice due forgotten coffee/water restock. They quickly responded.
Dinners at "The Grill" and "Ayami" fine dinning were excellent. We went to both twice.
Dinner at "Risotto" excellent, however quantity was small. Order appetizers!
No entertainment in complex, Did not affect us.
Beach is beautiful but not swimmable due current/undertow.
Adult pool lounge chairs occupied early. General pool, no problem.
Less than 20 minute walk via sidewalk (sometimes narrow & uneven) to two large department stores which were very modern/clean. Half hour via beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
We loved the hotel room. Pool side. Facing ocean. Staff worked very hard. Very accommodating. Servers brought drinks while in check-in line.
The weak points
Check-in was slow. Need more staff. Wifi: Spotty.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Staff all wore masks. Guests required to wear masks in restaurants to table, and at outdoor bar. Staff took this very seriously.
Certified

Horrible

, British Columbia, BC
2022-04-01
At best, this is a 2.5 stars resort! No towels in our room at checkin. Dead cockroaches on the bathroom floor. Air conditioner leaked from the ceiling taking 4 days to fix. Bar fridge was only refreshed a few times with a max of 2 beers and waters. Large outside planter was broken with the contents leaking into the pool. Long lineups at the main pool snack bar for both drinks and food. From getting in line up to receiving food often took 30 minutes. Snack bar chef was an angry man who refused me ketchup pushing me off to one of the other staff. And the next day he snapped at the order clerk forcing her to only give me 3 slices of pizza rather than 4. The snack bar constantly ran out of food every day. No guacamole, no fish tacos, no chicken for the chicken quesadillas, no pizza, etc. Had to lineup at both buffet restaurants for breakfast, and the grill and Italian restaurants for dinner. At least the grill had a pager. The Mexican restaurant was closed. You had to lineup at 2:30pm to get into the Japanese restaurant at 3pm to make a reservation for the hibachi grill for the same evening. The adult pool was disgusting in cleanliness and adult behaviour. Witnessed a women throw up pool side at the adult pool in front of security. The mess of towels and chairs where this occurred was still there 4 hours later. Both pool entrance showers from the beach at the adult pool didn't work. Food was ok. Italian was the best but the dishes were all appetizer size.

Whiffs of septic were strong from the pool snack at through the corridor to the adult pool!!

We booked this trip with little notice but paying for one week which we found out others paid for 2 weeks was hard to take. That's really our problem though.

If you go after reading this, opt for the Junior Garden View Swim Up as it was simply spectacular!! Most of the staff were great. Prepare to tip heavily for faster service and better drinks. The beach location of this resort is incredible! San Jose is less than a 10 minute ($10 USA) taxi ride and is beautiful with countless good restaurants, bars, and shops. We did walk both ways one day taking 70 minutes one way down the beach and out the public access to town. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
We opted for the Junior Swim Up Garden View which was simply awesome. If you can swing the extra cost, this made the experience worth it!! Most of the bar staff were great especially at the lobby bar and martinis bar. Restaurant staff were good.
The weak points
Poor service to room. Long line ups at buffet, restaurants and snack shed for both food and drinks. Food was mediocre.
Certified

Krystal Grand

, Oshawa, ON
2022-03-14
Nice rooms, clean and stocked. Food in the buffet was excellent. Japanese restaurant was very good. Italian restaurant food was average but the pizza and lasagna was above average. Service at all levels was excellent but the check-in process was extremely slow and cumbersome for our group and seemed about the same for any group coming in when we were in the lobby bar and when we asked people we met. There was no orientation process, papers or seminar and I did ask at check-in so it was a bit of an adventure finding out what was available or when it was available. There was no entertainment at night but we didn't miss it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food overall was very good. The Japanese restaurant had a nice ambience, the sushi was well done and the service was excellent.
The weak points
The ocean was not hospitable to anyone but the strongest swimmers. Black flag all week.
Certified

Would go back !!!

, Condor, AB
2022-03-02
Hotel was very clean, staff was absolutely amazing. This resort is very safe and we loved every minute of it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, staff was always more than willing to help. All restaurants were great.
The weak points
Wish the buffet was open 24/7 and the ocean is beautiful, but way to rough to snorkel.
Certified

Krystal Grand - Nice Getaway

, Lachine, QC
2022-01-09
This was a great getaway after 22months of Covid. The check in was quick, the hotel is gorgeous and staff work diligently to keep it extremely clean. All staff wore their masks at all times. The pools are beautiful. If you are going in January it is quite chilly if you aren`t in the sun. The adult pool is heated so that was nice.
The rooms are clean and well maintained. The food was ok however you are a 5-10min uber ride from fantastic restaurants with delicious food.
There is a beautiful view and easy access to the beach from the hotel grounds however once we arrived we were informed that the ocean was rough and more suited for surfing.
The wifi was spotty at best in the hotel room and no access in certain areas of the hotel.
Perfect resort for families! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Extremely clean resort. Close to delicious restaurants Friendly and helpful staff.
The weak points
The food seasoning was mediocre. Very quiet resort at night with minimal to no activities Bad wifi service
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff followed all Covid19 regulations diligently. Never saw a staff member without their mask fully on correctly.
Certified

Great holiday

, Calgary, AB
2021-12-15
Wonderful staff - they were helpful and friendly. Food, and different restaurants were all convenient with a choice of neals. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, friendly and convenient
The weak points
More choice if breakfast menu would be make it better instead of having same items every morning !
Certified

Stay at Krystal Grand Los Cabos

, Spruce Grove, AB
2021-12-08
The hotel was nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The majority of the staff were friendly and always willing to help
The weak points
With it being a pandemic, not all of the services were offered/opened (but the staff still tried to ensure we had a great time)
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Everything was being sanitized throughout the day, masking was required for shared spaces. I felt confident with their measures
Certified

Ok but not 4.5 star

, Calgary, AB
2021-11-28
Was a great time in Los cabos, but the resort needs to be updated. And the room service needs to come through with there timings, if you say 40 minutes, don't come 3 hrs later. Rooms near the road way are poor, it sounded like there was no patio door or windows at all. Loudest ever. Buffets are lacking, the food was ok, but only a few choices. Restaurants closed when they're sheet says open.
Was not happy with this hotel at all. Booked a king size suite, and got a double. Asked for our room we paid for and was told 2 days later they could move us. Was not happy. Check out was 12 noon but transportation was set for 1pm, we were told we could not go have lunch as we were no longer guests. Lol wouldn't allow us to eat lunch before we left, I was mad. Entertainment was great and thanks giving meal was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Servers amazing and pool bar staff great Pablo and Pedro were awesome.
The weak points
Rooms, food and the smell by the pool snack bar. Sewage smell. Yuck.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Not bad, only one manager and restaurant ever made us sanitiz hands before entering. But felt clean and safe.
Certified

San Jose - Reflect- Grand Krystal stay

, Edmonton, AB
2020-02-07
I had a good 7 days at the resort. I was able to take the local bus successfully to San Jose and Cabo San Lucas. I also visited the Flora Farms - a real treat that features and focuses on farm to table. The front desk staff- Memo was very helpful in my minor crisis and found the right phone number ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room had modern furnishings- comfortable beds, daily cleaning of the room, working fridge and microwave. The view was of other buildings with an ocean view w-a-y in the background. The elevator worked well.
The weak points
The location of this hotel is Ok but not within walking distance to city centre, it borders a 4 lane highway, it can be noisy. The closing of restaurants on a rota basis should be discussed at arrival, had to find out on my own.
Certified

Clean but not worth the money spent

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-29
Don't book a garden view room, it's located across a highway, they do not own the building, and they only have every second room, every other room is privately owned. And to upgrade into the resort comes at high prices and no one is given the same rate. If your going to eat the snack bar by the pool is a good treat [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort, comfy beds, nice big beach, great elevators
The weak points
Front desk and VIP staff very pushy for trip and time share sales.Very slow service. Food is hit and miss but the waiting for service made the experience bad. Adult pool is tucked behind buildings gets shady very early and is not heated
Certified

Great beach! Average food

, Vancouver, BC
2020-01-22
The overall experience was good, not great. The food situation was frustrating at times. Room service was slow and food always cold. Hotel was clean and in good shape. Staff was good and friendly but seemed overwhelmed at times. No reservations at restaurants made wait times regularly 1 hour plus. Buffet food was good for breakfast but not great for other meals. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Great little coffee shop -Staff was helpful -Swim up bartenders were fun
The weak points
-very close to the highway and can be noisy -buffet food not great -restaurant wait times are regularly 1 hour plus. A reservation system would be better
Certified

Reflect resort and spa

, Prince George , BC
2020-01-21
The hotel itself is very nice in some areas. Most rooms are right on the highway so pick the right area for you. Also, the staff selling timeshares are extremely aggressive and will say mean things when you politely express you are not interested. The food is good and the bar staff are very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good, Mexican fiesta on Saturday nights are really nice. Bar staff are kind. Entertainment staff were great
The weak points
Rooms are on the highway and timeshare staff are rude
Certified

My trip review

, Kamloops, BC
2019-12-31
This resort was excellent as I walked in the front entrance, the staff was great and friendly through the whole week I was there, the room was excellent and clean with a great view, it is truly a beautiful resort, the pools are amazing, the views are amazing..... now, the food was edible but not good anywhere, the drinks were terrible watered down booze and super sugary. Also this is a very family oriented resort, with very few adults with out kids and lots of screaming kids or crying baby's... which is fine just know this before u go. Over all it was a great resort and staff and very average food and drink at best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, rooms, views, entertainment, cleanliness,
The weak points
Food, drink, excursion sales people, adult pool area was lame, no good music
Certified

Family Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-02
I was disappointed with the resort overall. I am a single parent with two small children, but I had to pay full adult prices for my children??
The Italian restaurant is an adults only restaurant, though that was not mentioned on the website.
The rooms are VERY noisy, even with the upgrade to ocean view. The outside noise was not quieted by the door. As well, my room had a connecting door to another room and I could hear everything that the other guests were doing.
My toilet leaked twice, and the tub (that did not have a drain plug) was very slow to drain.
The double beds were very comfortable, along with the pillows.

The meals were of good quality and the drinks were also good. Service was lacking in the buffet and front counter, however the restaurants were well staffed and very friendly. It would be nice if the resort was less wasteful as well. The use of one use plastic cups is an easy issue that could be improved.

Overall the resort is very beautiful, and with a few improvements it could be a wonderful resort, however for the price I paid it was not worth it in its current state. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Krystal Grand Los Cabos

, Vegerville, AB
2019-03-30
We stayed 7 days at this resort, loved Cabos but would stay elsewhere next time. We booked 2 king size suits, there was a miscommunication somewhere i think and ended up with 2 double beds in both rooms 1 the shower drained incredible slow and one room had a leak in the ceiling. It took a couple tries with the front desk to get the leaking room swapped, and got the correct room for that one (thank you). The other one they refused, kept being told to come back the following morning and they would have one, by day 5 i gave up. Could have been worse, but 2 grown adults in a double bed doesn't sleep very good making for a tiring vacation.
Also, seemed they the hotel was operating on a very low budget. Quality in service and food seemed to be lacking. Appeared to be severely understaffed as service was really slow throughout the resort, although most of the servers were very pleasant and polite. We had to call everyday for our mini bar to be restocked, tried leaving extra tip money and complaining to front desk but nothing changed.

Food was not what we hoped for but there was a couple restaurants that had great food, once again just very slow. The night life/evening activity was slim to none. There was a couple nights where there was a decent show, but short and everything was usually shut down by 11 it seemed. Most popular thing was the movie on the beach for the kids, but not much for adults.

All in all a decent place to stay for a family with small kids if you got it for a decent price. We went during spring break and paid a premium, but where most disappointed that we couldn't get the room we thought we paid for. The rooms advertised on the website are not what we got, seems part of the resort is renovated and they advertise those rooms but we got an older non renovated room. Also adding to the disappointment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time to Cabo - We'll be back!

, Vancouver, BC
2019-01-16
We had a wonderful time at the Krystal Grand! We usually go to Puerto Vallarta but decided to try something different, and were glad we did. The resort is a nice medium size, easy to get around, with friendly and attentive staff everywhere you go (everyone we spoke to had great English as well).

The Mexican dinner on Saturday night in the courtyard was a great welcome for us (loved the live music), and we enjoyed all the reservation-free restaurants. The only place you have to reserve for is the habachi specialty grill at the Japanese restaurant, but you can sit in the main area without a reservation. Surfos is the best snack bar I've seen out of the resorts I've been to, with a full menu that should have something to appeal to everyone! The coffee cafe by the lobby is awesome and has a few snacks out 24/7 if you're feeling hungry after the restaurants close. And the bars are all top notch!

Daytime entertainment was by the main pool -- volleyball, water polo, bingo and other games, yoga, etc. We partook in most of them at some point in the week and had a great time, then retreated to the solitude of the adults-only pool. We usually book adults-only resorts, so were glad to have this refuge when the main pool had too many kids in it. There is a kids pool, but it was small and there was never anyone in it -- I heard it was freezing cold. The beach is endless to walk and vendors are few and far between. There isn't a lot of nighttime entertainment here... all I recall was a movie night and the mariachi band music with the Mexican themed dinner, but we may have missed some stuff while out having dinner, which is what we were usually doing in the evenings. There is a dancing in the sports bar at night, but it wasn't well-attended the night we went there, but we were glad there wasn't loud music booming until late at night like some resorts.

When booking, if you choose the least expensive "deluxe room", you'll end up in the residence tower that everyone talks about as facing the road. You need to upgrade to the junior suite to be in the "Unique Tower", which is ocean view but not ocean front (only the Altitude Tower is ocean front). There is also the Palmilla Tower next to it, which I believe is further upgrade, and then the swimout rooms. Our ocean view room still had some traffic noise as we were still close to the road, but it depends how far down from the lobby you are. At first we were concerned, but once the heavy door is shut, it cuts down on it significantly, and once the air conditioning is on, you can't hear it at all.

Our room was beautiful. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was well appointed, and the mini fridge was well stocked (all the soft drinks had aspartame in them though, even if they weren't diet). The A/C worked a little too well (if it's on at night, it's too cold even when adjusted down, and even the fan was too cold, so we had to have it off and be a little too warm... we heard this from other guests too). Wifi worked awesome in our room... 4428 was ours.

If you're into horses, check out the stable that's 10 minutes down the road by bus (there is a stop just beyond the hotel... to get across the road without darting across traffic, go to the old lobby and walk to the right, then go under the underpass. I don't think I can mention the name in a review so just look it up. I had a wonderful high-end dressage lesson there!

Overall a memorable 5 nights for $1088 CAD each, ocean view junior suite. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, pools (including one adults-only), beach, rooms, wifi.
The weak points
Road noise depending where your room is. Lack of nighttime entertainment.
Certified

Not the worst

, Thorsby , AB
2018-12-31
Like the title says. But definitely not the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Decent food. Very friendly staff.
The weak points
Toilet wouldn't flush the whole week. Nobody fixed it. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Expect to take expensive cabs if you want to go anywhere.
Certified

8 night stay with 3 kids

, Kelowna, BC
2018-12-14
Hotel was good. Very clean, friendly staff, food was good. Beach volleyball was fun but net is not always up. Room could have been cleaned better but not bad enough to complain. Some road noise as it is beside a busy road. Try not to stay at the Residence. Further away from things and have to cross a service road so not the greatest for kids. It wasn't too busy but wouldn't upgrade me for free so I was charged 60.00 us a night to change from Residence to main part of hotel which was irritating.
overall...pretty good stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, clean, great pool and grounds, events and event organizers were fun.
The weak points
rooms could have been cleaned better, The residence rooms are away from all the events and older so look at upgrading to the newer part. They charged me an extra 60.00 us a night. Have to cross and access road so not the greatest for kids. traffic noise
Certified

Fantastic!

, Kelowna, BC
2018-04-30
We absolutely loved our stay! After reading some reviews we were a little nervous, but once we arrived, we looked at each other and wondered where the bad reviews were coming from. Amazing customer service, the friendliest hotel staff, and a view of the beach that blew us away! I will say, we were upgraded to a better room, and when we saw where we would have stayed in the “residences” building, our experience would have even borderline terrible! If you stay at this hotel, you must stay in the buildings on the main hotel grounds!! The other building should not even be offered. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was amazing! We love Mexican food, so for us it was perfect! The hotel staff was incredibly friendly!
The weak points
Not the best for evening entertainment, but we enjoyed the quiet vacation! Kids were a little noisy, but there was an amazing adults only pool that we enjoyed for the majority of our stay. The kids / family pool was nicer though and had a view of the sea.
Certified

Loved it

, Surrey, BC
2018-04-23
this place did not have the big fancy entrence way, but who needs that they up graded us to a room with a view. they had a seperate pool for the small kids. 2 larger pools for the older people and an adultpool aeay from every one else, we stayed at the regular pool becouse the adult pool was to roudy with all the drinking. the beach was great no problen finding a seat. now for the food. the bafay small in comparason to other places.but lots of food.as for the speiclty restarunts they were the best we have ever had. don't go to the rui in pourta vallarta [not good]. the staff was very helpfull' we would highly recomend this place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
every thing
The weak points
can't swim in the ocean. no tub in our room
Certified

Mixed review

, Nanaimo, BC
2018-03-14
Front desk people are a nightmare to deal with. We had read the reviews before we left and almost changed our plans but were convinced by our travel agent that the hotel was a good one and so we rolled the dice. When we arrived at the hotel we were checked in and told we would be in the Residence section even though our booking said Resort Room, apparently Resort means Residence?? I had sent 2 emails to the resort prior to arriving specifically asking not to be put in this section but they had no record of it. Just to be clear, the Residence building is a totally seperate building and you get taken there in a van as you have to cross a road to get there! Our room was on the 2nd floor and we were 30ft from the highway traffic which never stopped, you would have to be deaf or inebriated to get any sleep at all! After 4 days of emails to our travel agent, vacation provider and constantly going to the front desk, we evetually got the attention of the service and quality manager, Ariana, who helped save our vacation and upgraded us to the main building. She was fantastic! We are not fussy travelers and understand that third world 4 star is not first world 4 star but all we wanted was a quiet room so we could sleep on our vacation. Once we had moved rooms, we did enjoy the resort and if we had not had such a bad experience the first 4 days, would highly recommend the resort. The food was great and the pools and beach were really nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and grounds
The weak points
Terrible Front desk experience
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023