Tesoro Ixtapa

Tesoro Ixtapa
3.293.293.293.293.29
3.29 based on 41 reviews
#12 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ixtapa
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (4)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Disappointed Won't return.

, 100 Mile House, BC
2019-03-09
we got a room on the 3rd floor . walls were paper thin and had an adjoining room door.they had a baby which cried and it sounded like they were in our room.other neighbor had TV on loud and constantly changing channels.next morning asked for another room which they did the following day to ocean veiw on 6th floor.Sun night this very loud music started and continued till 4:30 am.no sleep again. it was a club down the road but only open fri sat sun.lots of Mexican families stayed here.Was ill after eating in buffet on our last day.this is a first for me and I have done 10 all inclusive resorts in various mexican destinations. We wouldn't recommend to anyone we know.Needs more variety of food options in the buffet and change it up a little.We have also never had to change rooms in any resort .We stayed at this resort about 5 years ago.It was much better last time.What happened . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location and coffee was good.The staff were freindly and our room was cleaned well every day.Water bottles and pop in fridge daily.
The weak points
The food was not very good.same thing everyday and almost always everything was Mexican food.Not much variety as far as pastas and burgers and fries.no icecream either.No beer in the room fridges.Pool bar does not open till 11:30 am and closes at 7 .
Certified

Tesoro, Ixtapa Mexico

, Kelowna, BC
2019-03-09
The hotel and its employees were very good. The building is old and has just one restaurant, with a lot of hot dogs?! They put them in and on everything. Clean and comfortable, no coffee pot or coffee in your room. For us was not great. Traveling back and forth in the am to get coffee on our deck. Towels very old worn and discoloured. Wifi was a bit of a pain but atleast they had wifi. There were not a lot of English speaking workers or guests there, and the weekends explodes with Mexican weekend vacationers. Noisy until 4 am on fri sat and Sunday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room service was not available most of the time and came at a cost.
The weak points
Room service, no coffee pot in room One pool
Certified

Avoid leaving luggage with concierge

, Victoria, BC
2017-12-29
Overall it was a great experience as a winter break, the good part was mostly due to the hotel location, the beach was well maintained, has nice sand, the bay is very scenic withe nice rocky cliffs on the horizon, the hotel needs some TLC but the rooms are kept clean, the ones on the first floor facing the beach have huge verandas, the staff is friendly, but few of tehm speak some English, there is only one all inclusive buffet, each day offers chicken, pork and beek well cooked, veggies and fruits, accros the street there is a nice and safe shopping area, go to the FROG, next to the Farmacy is you want to buy nice silver jewelry, ask for FILO, tell him Camelia sent you, you will get a good discount [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was great
The weak points
lack of contact information of the hotel (email or someoane to answer the phone) BEWARE OF the hotel concierge, he stole valuables from my suitcase. I left it wih thim on dec. 21 at 11;30 am, he had only my suitcase and he knew I will be out of the hotel

TESORO IXTAPA

, Steinbach, MB
2015-01-17
Last minute booking, price was good. Hotel staff - helpful. Hotel clean- rooms could use upgrade. Hotel room security - disappointing & questionable. TWICE in one day we were in our room with deadbolt secure & TWICE - once a staff member opened it & waved a facecloth which "she forgot" to leave us, and once while we were sleeping approx 10:30 pm - someone opened the door & fled. We called & reported this immediately to front desk (the night time episode) & were told that they'd look into it. We couldn't sleep, waited for 1/2 hour & suggested they move us to a different - secure room, or a safe hotel.... were told that they'd have someone come to move us. We were to move next door, but decided to test the "deadbolt" out prior to doing so - found out it too allowed someone with key access into the room even with deadbolt secure! Advised this was not right & requested immediate solution & a guard at our door for the night. They found a maintenance person who arrived with security guard to install a metal latch into which a metal bar could be inserted into. This was to hold us secure until next day at which time they would have the deadbolt fixed to provide no access if someone was inside the room & was using the deadbolt. They completed this next afternoon & mgr followed up with call to ensure all was now safe. He also mentioned that there were other rooms they would be working on. *we shared this with our friends & we suggested they try their deadbolt - it also did not work properly. It is in my opinion - there are way too many people that have cards for guests rooms - one for delivery of water, one for delivery of linens, one for housekeeping.....where do these cards go once a shift is finished - home - accessible to non employees or returned to hotel? This was a HUGE lesson learned & we will ALWAYS check the deadbolt workings before accepting a room! Perhaps this suggestion could be passed to other potential guests! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, price, upgrades on outside of building
The weak points
too crowded - local holiday - bad time to travel there - LOTS of kids. Internet access - terrible. Bathroom could use upgrade, including linens.
Certified

Great Winter Getaway

, James River Bridge, AB
2014-03-01
Perfect hotel with great service, location, beach and plenty of sun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness and location
The weak points
A/C from neighbouring place was running at night and day. The evening entertainment was so so. The lobby bar was the only place to sit for a drink at night and not very inviting.
Certified

Tesero ixtapa

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-26
over all very good!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service
The weak points
noisy ac
Certified

A winter week in the SUN

, Penticton , BC
2014-01-26
We enjoyed a week at the Tesoro. What an awesome experience! From checkin to checkout, the efficiency was much appreciated. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and so clean. The buffet food was delicious - Fernando was our favorite waiter, but all the wait staff was great.They worked so hard to make everything special. The pool was lovely and the beach fabulous. The entertainment was top notch - Carlos and his team were so upbeat and put on excellent shows. The lobby shows afterwards were so much fun.We're ready to go back!!Thankyou everyone at Tesoro for a wonderful vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is exceptional;the staff were friendly and helpful;the food was delicious;the room was clean and comfortable with daily fridge restocking.
The weak points
It would have been helpful to have an internet room as we don't bring ours with us-mainly for keeping in touch with family and for checking in at the airport. English language on TV in prime time would be nice for watching a movie.
Certified

Love Ixtapa

, Vernon, BC
2013-03-09
When we arrived at the hotel,they checked us into a room with a double bed instead of a king, which we had requested. They told us it was impossible to change that day. After much frustration and us getting upset with them, they finally "found" us a room with a king bed that day. I heard from others that they had the same experience at this hotel. Once settled in our room, everything else was fine. Must try restaurant in Ixtapa " Mama Normas " [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was awesome for walking, great chairs at beach(2 types available)and lots of cabanas. Food had good flavour, elevator for hauling luggage. The beach at Ixtapa Island had good snorkeling and great swimming. Our guide, Louise was awesome(sp)?
The weak points
Would have enjoyed fish that was not deep fried or battered. Quite busy on weekends with Mexicans tourists. More sports options. Surf quite strong for swimming.(full moon).. may have been better later. Pool fine, but a bit crowded.
Certified

Kids

, Trenton, ON
2012-04-05
If you are going to these hotel for peace and quiet do not go.From Thurs.to Sunday the locals come in with there familys and its gets loud and wild with kids running around all over the pool areas.They can buy day passes for $45.00 to use the hotel grounds.The hotel other than that is fine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are great and the grounds are well kept.
The weak points
To many kids from the local area.
Certified

Only go here if you get a really good deal...

, Calgary, AB
2012-04-03
Only paid $ 1600 total for 2 during March break so we had to keep an open mind because it was such a good deal... Overall had a good time because we just stayed on the beach (to get away from the crowds), relaxed and enjoyed the sun...

Be prepared...it is SO busy with Mexican families from Thursday to Sunday...impossible to get a spot near the pool...the pool is insanely busy from morning until night...the only buffet area also gets jam packed so you have to wait to be seated...one a la carte restaurant which really wasn't great...staff speak limited English...

Alert: my beach bag was stolen on the beach with lots of people around. There are so many annoying people on the beach and in town (even at restaurants) trying to sell stuff every minute... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Beautiful Beach -Great hot/sunny weather -Many restaurants walking distance from the resort -Can catch the bus (9 pesos) into Zihuatenejo right in front of resort -Golf nearby -Nice pool when not invaded by MExican families
The weak points
-Too many disrespectful Mexican families -Found a cochroach in our room -ROCK HARD beds/thin walls -Below par food/1 restaurant -Only one bar open at a time -Limited hang out space -Staff don't speak English -Check in took forever
Certified

Fun in the sun

, Cranbrook, BC
2012-03-23
The staff was friendly and competent. The room was clean but modest. We stayed on the north side and there was a constant loud noise from the air conditioning system for the hotel next door. beach was great but waves harsh - you could play waist deep but not swim. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe, walking distance to plaza, easy city bus system, great snorkelling.
The weak points
You could not play in the waves the surf was too strong.
Certified

OK

, Lisle, ON
2012-03-08
3 STAR, walk to town,vendors,restaurants shops and attractions hotel has many local guests waves quite rough all the time vendors on the beach food repetative but mostly good.flew with air canada tours so paid too much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean hotel very nice beach area not crowded but hotel was sometimes quite busy
The weak points
drinks were very lacking in alchohol watered down
Certified

Tesoro

, Taber, AB
2012-02-27
good hotel close to downtown but needs to be updated in the room department [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location to town,waiters,bartenders,
The weak points
rooms need updating, tvs didnt work mini fridges were iffy
Certified

Best Vacation in a Long Time!!!!

, Edmonton, AB
2012-02-26
Great service, clean amenities and beach, tours fantastic...all in all a great trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe, affordable, clean, excellent service from everyone!
The weak points
more free wifi access.... and only one main bar....
Certified

We're coming Back!!!

, Claresholm, AB
2012-02-24
Fantastic experience! Great staff, hotel, food, fun! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
WestJest provided an amazing holiday experience; this resort was better than we had anticipated! Enjoy!
The weak points
None!
Certified

Ixtapa paradise

, Carlisle, ON
2012-02-23
It exceeded my expectation the staff were very attentive and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beached were very clean and scenic with very strong waves. The staff were exceptional and I almost never had to wait for any service I requested. Its proximity to a local town with bars, restaurant and flea markets was fun!
The weak points
Public bathrooms especially the ones by the pool were not always clean. The a la carte would have been better if it was separate from the main buffet.
Certified

Mary M

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-04
Hotel was very nice, staff friendly and accomodating. Comfortable room and bed was good. Very good vacation for the money paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very comfortable and welcoming hotel.
The weak points
overall was ok.
Certified

TESORO IXTAPA

, Golden, BC
2011-12-05
GREAT LOCATION MID BEACH, GREAT SCENERY,OLDER HOTEL BUT VERY CLEAN &WELL KEPT,MARBLE FLOORS & BATHROOMS, GOOD BEDS,SERVICE VERY GOOD,BUFFET HAS SALAD BAR AS WELL AS HOT DISHES MOSTLY MEXICAN.UNFORTUNATELY OVERRUN BY INCONSIDERATE MEXICAN TOURISTS MOST WEEKENDS. THEY DO SEA TURTLE RELEASES MOST WEEKENDS.GOOD POOL BUT SOMEWHAT SMALL DUE TO LARGE SHELFS.RECOMMEND SMALL GAME FISHING APPROX.$140 FOR THE DAY & IXTAPA ISLAND FOR SNORKELLING APPOX.$30pp[NEVER SEEN SO MANY TROPICAL FISH IN ONE SMALL AREA] ALSO INCLUDES BRIEF VISIT TO THE CROCODILE SANTUARY. NO WATER SPORTS OFFERED,PARASAILLING,ETC AVAILABLE & AFFORDABLE $20 & UP. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
GOOD ATTENTIVE STAFF
The weak points
LACK OF VARIETY OF MAIN MEAT DISHES[WAYS PREPARED]- POOLSIDE SNACK BAR LIMITED REPETATIVE CHOICES OF FOOD
Certified

Was ok but needs improve

, Calgary, AB
2011-04-25
The Hotel was ok, but doesn't have the same quality of Tesoro Manzanillo, the bar at the lobby is dated, even when the bartenders were very friendly they didn't have a big variaty of drinks, they couldn't prapare a single martini.
We maybe go back but in another season, April was really full, too many families with small kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly attention of all the crew
The weak points
April is too busy, to many kids on the pool.
Certified

Tesoro Ixtapa

, Wetaskiwin, AB
2011-03-31
We were unsure what to expect as there were some negative comments about this hotel. We found it to be a very nice hotel and would definatly go back in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful. The pool was gorgeous, the food was great and the staff were friendly.
The weak points
The beds were hard and it did become croweded on the weekends, but other than that it really was a nice hotel.
Certified

First Mexican Holiday

, Willow Beach, ON
2011-03-11
We enjoyed ourselves very much, the staff was great especially Tomas he was our waiter the first evening and when he was available we asked for him. Most staff spoke some english & always smiled and sd ola. On the weekend the resort was very very busy with national people large groups with a lot of children, the pool was very crowded and the dining room was packed that was the one day we felt the food was not as good but they were catering to the majority of their guests. We had dinner several evenings outdoors at the theater which was lovely we lucked out & had a few extra outdoor dinners because they were doing some reno's on the dinning room. We felt very safe & within walking distance there are many shops and restaurants taxis and buses are right at the door. Tours are available and reasonable. We feel that we got our moneys worth it is a 4 star holiday, (mexican Standard) Basic clean room.a firm OK King bed. The one draw back was a bit of a Musty smell from the air conditioning and the adjoining room door was not very sound proof. But they were not major problems for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, location, beach, sunsets grounds & hotel very clean, service was great
The weak points
lack of communication about events @ resort, a bit of musty smell with air conditioning
Certified

Best Beach & Weather Anywhere!

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-02-21
The beach & weather were near perfect! 27 – 30 degrees every day; cooling to low 20s at night; not a drop of rain. We talked to tourists who come back every year & even those who have been returning each winter for 22 years say the weather is the same every time. The beach is 2 – 3 KMs long & 150 meters wide. It is powder fine with no seaweed, garbage or sharp shells; you can jog in bare feet with no worries at all. The ocean is great for body surfing; it is the Pacific so do not wade out too deep, it is rough but no rocks or obstacles to deal with. I ignored the red flag on the beach and swam instead of wading; I was greeted by a 2 metre high wave crashing over me. Once you get caught in one of these it pushes you under & pulls you out to sea then throws you back towards the shore and repeats this cycle; all the while you will just pop up long enough to get a breath of air, so make sure you time it right, don't fight the current or you will tire quickly & try to get your feet below you when you see the ocean floor approaching. By the time I was able to stand, my husband was able to get to me and a life guard from the neighbouring Park Royal Resort, which I was in front of, had rushed into the water to make sure a tourist did not get injured in front of their resort, no matter how crazy they were. The moral of the story is: never ignore a red flag!
The location is ideal; you can walk to a couple of groups of restaurants and shops as well as flea markets. Zihautanejo is about 20 minutes south; you can take a taxi or catch the bus for 8 Pecos ($0.80 US if you get change from the bus driver). Zihautanejo has everything a modern city could offer: banks, restaurants, shopping, and night life, plus a marina and flea markets for tourists.
Ixtapa Island is about 10 minutes north of the resort and has the best snorkelling at coral beach, which comes right to the shore and extends about 100 metres into the ocean. It has colourful fish that are so plentiful you will have difficulty avoiding bumping into them. The bay is sheltered; the waves can be large for novices but they are gentle; there are large rocks on the bottom here so you have to be careful you do not swim into very shallow water and get beached when the water level drops between waves. Las Gatas beach is accessible from Zihautanejo and has the best swimming; it has a sandy bottom and is in a large, very sheltered bay so the water is calm. You can snorkel here as well but the fish are not as plentiful as Coral Beach on Ixtapa Island.
The resort is extremely clean and has a small army of landscaping, maintenance, housekeeping and entertainment staff. The size is ideal; big enough to offer everything you could want yet small enough that kids or those with limited endurance can get around without feeling they have run a marathon.
The buffet is huge, offering Mexican, Spanish, International and North American cuisine with a different theme each day. There is one a-la-carte restaurant that alternates between Italian and Mexican. A pool-side snack bar offers hot dogs and quasadias during the day & there is also a pool/beach-side bar for those who do not want to go back inside the resort. The infinity pool is large, clean, heated, has 2 levels and has a kiddy pool sectioned off. The beach has plenty of palapas, loungers and beach chairs
There is nightly quality entertainment on a stage that moves in to the lobby after to involve any tourists who wish to participate. The serving staff are fabulous; tipping is not required and the service is great with or without. Only about 1/3 of guests tip, so staff will greet you with an extra wide smile and watch for you if you do. We really appreciated Thomas and Adrayalas (Andy) who were both outstanding waiters. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, beaches, snorkelling, cleanliness, entertainment, food, staff, wheel chair access.
The weak points
Internet access free in lobby; available in room for $20.00 per week but in room internet was not reliable; we had to go to the lobby at times. Signal had 2 – 3 bars strength; go for the weather & beaches, not internet access.
Certified

Good Value

, Saint Albert, AB
2010-04-05
You get what you pay for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are excellent, friendly, helpful and work very hard every day.
The weak points
The hotel is accross the street from a bar that pounds music all night long so if you are on the wrong side of the hotel you can be kept up all night.
Certified

Ixtapa Tesoro

, Olds, AB
2010-01-22
Tesoro was a great value resort! It was all you need for an inexpensive all inclusive. The rooms were clean, food was average, and the drinks were great!! The staff were friendly & helpful, I would definately recommend Tesoro for a relaxing getaway:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location(close to all amenities), atmosphere, and staff
The weak points
General buffet food, not a lot of entertainment but enough for anyone looking to relax:)
Certified

Tesoro

, Saskatoon, SK
2009-06-18
The resort was decent; price we got was excellent - it was pretty well what we expected. We were able to move after the first couple of days to get a larger room with a queen size vs. double bed.

The Nolitours agent was very good; helped us with tours and answered lots of our questions.... Her name was Jacine (? spelling)...

[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent price - decent food, good location & staff were friendly
The weak points
It was very busy; limited number of chair around the pool and at the beach.
Certified

TESORO IXTAPA

, Thunder Bay, ON
2009-06-17
An overall good vacation for the price. A very friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff- very attentive to your needs.Good location- beach. 1 main pool- allows you to meet most of the guests at the hotel - good a la carte restaurant, good pool snack bar
The weak points
shortage of lounge chairs by the pool -some meals in the buffet restaurant -lack of sports equipment for use- ex. boogie boards
Certified

TESORO IXTAPA Stay

, Trochu , AB
2009-06-12
They advertise it as a four star hotel. At best I'd rate it at a 2 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was awesome
The weak points
Food was so so and the nightly entertainment in the parking lot was to say the least cheesy
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021