Krystal Ixtapa

Krystal Ixtapa
3.133.133.133.133.13
3.13 based on 31 reviews
#13 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ixtapa
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (7)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Clean resort

, Hague, SK
2020-03-21
This is a very clean resort. The food was very good and well presented. The rooms were a good size and very clean. The beds were comfortable. There were lots of activities for everyone including small children. The hotel offers free guided bike tours from the staff to help formularize with the area. There are lots of restaurants and shops close by. There were lots of chairs and lounger for everyone around the pool and the beach. I would recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A good family resort
Certified

A beautiful,clean area.

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-06
My wife and I enjoyed our week.The room (707) allowed for a good view of the ocean.Our one complaint was about the the dirty curtains.We suggested that they had outlived their usefulness.The food, except for breakfast,which was always good,was of poor quality and limited selection.We had almost all dinners at the a la cart.The staff as we have experienced in Mexico generally were friendly,helpful and efficient. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent view of a beautiful.long beach
The weak points
Lunch and dinner at the buffet restaurants were of poor quality and selection.
Certified

Krystal Ixtapa

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-04-02
Rooms were nice, very clean. Shower was great - beautiful tiled, walk in shower. Pool is nice - no swim up bar in pool though. Generally, staff did not serve drinks around the pool. You need to go to the bar. Buffet food was okay - probably catered to Mexicans as 80% of visitors were Mexican. Two a la carte restaurants were very good. Great location on a beautiful beach. Entertainment was not good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, a la carte restaurants, value for your money. friendly staff
The weak points
Buffet food, service around pool. Activities and entertainment
Certified

Krystal

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-02-21
Hotel staff friendly and helpful entrance was clean and comfortable. Pool area each morning was very clean as were the grounds and beach area. Room had a fantastic view of ocean and golf course. Felt very safe hotel was close to the market and other restaurants [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff friendly Ma De La Luz, Jose,Ivan, Edwardo and many more great cleaning staff our room was cleaned well as were the bathrooms at the beach area. Glad as a non smoker than it is now banned on the site. Excellent food/servers @ Bogarts
The weak points
adult pool shouldn't have kids in it one security guard would kick them out but many would not. Hard to get a chair that's not hotels fault but people who save chairs and do not come down
Certified

Wouldn't go back.

, Chestermere, AB
2019-02-13
The hotel is clean. Could use some updates. Very few of the staff speak English or are friendly. The food was really terrible. Breakfast omelettes were good. Only time you got fruit was at breakfast. Had to special request bacon and we learned this from another guest. Other desserts were always gross cakes. Never served guacamole and ran out of food at fiestas. Bogarts was an excellent a la carte. We liked the fruit flavoured water served all day. The drinks, such as margaritas or pina coladas, were warm, separated and chemical tasting. Good variety of excursions. Good location with shops and restaurants across the street. Beach “furniture” was in poor repair and not enough. Locals take over on the weekend so be aware and don't book a ten day with two weekends. Lots of kids so definitely not a quiet hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean hotel. Deep pool. Good a la cartes. Close to airport. Ixtapa area as a whole is beautiful! Nice excursions. Consistent hot temperatures. Amazing snorkeling on island.
The weak points
Terrible food. Mushy stuff everyday. No guacamole. Friday fiesta they couldn't handle the crowds/ran out of food. Warm drinks that sat in blenders. Most staff unfriendly. Many beach palapas/ chairs/tables were broken & not enough. Boring entertainment.
Certified

Relax and enjoy the sun

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-22
We wanted a vacation to relax and lay in the sun. This is exactly what we got. Enough activity around the pool without being annoying. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great size pool.
The weak points
Showing its age, could use a paint job on the outside and a little update on the inside.
Certified

A great experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-03-28
Staff were friendly; overall it was clean in rooms and common areas. Odd time the language barrier was a challenge when ordering drinks or food. I believe they hope to update as this property was a gem back in its day. Would go back and recommend to family and friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location - proximity to shops and restaurants. Activity director and assistants work hard to keep things going. They had decent bikes for hotel guests to use.
The weak points
Music around pool could be more lively; a welcome drink in lobby while waiting to check in would be a nice touch.
Certified

Nice 3 star property

, Langley, BC
2016-04-18
had a good time at krystal ixtapa in mid april.hotel is kept well and staff are friendly.locals like to come on weekends so it gets busy but was quieter during the week.location good,beach very good.only knock was food---mediocre at best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good value clean,good location,very nice beach.
The weak points
food was only mediocre.im sure things not eaten at lunch were recycled at dinner.
Certified

Krystal Hotel- ixtapa mexico

, Calgary, AB
2015-03-18
This hotel I was the worst hotel I have ver stayed in. Clothing times were stolen from my sons room and later recovered when we threatened to contact our travel agent and post the information on Trip Advisor. The hotel gym had two air conditioners, both broken, the gym had a quad sexercise station-- all four were broken and unusable. the rooms were dirty- blood on my bathroom wall- not clean for the entire stay. The buffet was extremely limited- we only ate breakfast daily, ate out every night after the first experience . This place is not a four star hotel as indicated on Escapes web site. I would be generous a give it a two star rating. I would not recommend this place to anyone. I have made 11 trips to Mexico and will return to Ixtapa but will never stay at a Krystal Resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The best bar service at the pool I have ver experience
The weak points
Please see above, too many to list again
Certified

Would go back.

2015-02-14
We enjoyed our stay at the Krystal with our 2 year old and 8 month old and would go again but would not spend the money on the all inclusive. With the huge selection of restaurants right across the road it just was not worth eating from the same small buffet every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort overall. Great location right on the beach and minutes walk into heart of town. Nice pools for kids or adults.
The weak points
Very limited food selection. Lots of repetition in the buffet. Tasted good just got old in a few days.
Certified

Only 1 Bottle of Water Per Day Per Person!!!!!!

2014-04-28
The Krystal was extremely clean and the staff were amazing. The food was good but it was the same food every single day. Things that I expected like tacos, guacamole and fajitas weren't something that were available unless you ordered of the menu. Only 1 bottle of water was free per day. Plan on buying water while you are there and don't ask for anything after 11 pm. I would go back to Ixtapa again but probably won't stay at the Krystal again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, Staff was over the top amazing, food was good and bad
The weak points
Only 1 bottle of water per day per person, not a lot to do at the resort, 95% of people were all Mexican no Canadian/American people stayed at our resort.
Certified

Krystal Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-03
Krystal states they are all inclusive but are should be rated "almost inclusive" the dico was free to get in but once you got in you had to pay for your drinks. Only 1 buffet for dinner and breakfast - food was repetitive, and poor selections; on the last day 2 days I could not swallow another bite. You are only allowed to go to the A la Carte 2 times during your 7 night stay and was horrible selections - food was my biggest disappointment at this resort. Upon my arrival back into Canada I still gag at the thought of the food. We spent most our days at the "Generals" off resort. Beach was beautiful weather was great but their was no nightly entertainment and the entire place shuts down at 12am. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach & Location was great, A great place for seniors
The weak points
Not all inclusive, Food was horrible, no selections and very repetitive. I have been back in Calgary for 4 days and am still sick thinking about it. Disco is extra, only allowed alacarte twice for a 7 day stay. no nightly entertainment
Certified

Not a 4-star, 3-star at best

, North Bay, ON
2014-01-30
Old hotel, not built to be an all-inclusive, and not all of their rooms have been renovated, so beware (above 7th floor is renovated, although my room 624 seemed to be as renovated as friends room 919). I went all-inclusive, but this hotel is only bare-bones AI, and has a non-AI option with a separate, different coloured bracelet. Buffet is very disappointing – not a lot of variety, re-use of food from one meal to the next. But, hotel is very clean and perfectly located in Ixtapa Hotel Zone – close to restaurants and shops. Great beach, but not allowed to take lounge chairs close to the water, Security and life guards make you stay on hotel property under hotel palapas (first 15 feet from the wall) and tell you not to go onto public-beach area (another 25 feet out) with their lounge chairs. Krystal hotel is about the middle of a shoreline where you can walk half an hour to 45 minutes one way, and the same distance the other way before you get stopped by a rock wall on either side. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and location
The weak points
Food/buffet and not enough 'extras' for an all-inclusive, too bare-bones
Certified

Amazing vacation!

, Victoria, BC
2014-01-11
We had a great time at Krystal! The beach was stunning and the pool area was great. It was also centrally located so you could easily walk to other shops, restaurants, bars etc. The only small downside was the food, it was good food but not much variety. I would also not pay for any kind of upgrade for an 'ocean view' room as all of the rooms have ocean views. We were up on the 10th floor and the view s stunning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool area, location, rooms
The weak points
Lack of food variety
Certified

???? We stayed at the Fontan, not Krystal

, Canmore, AB
2011-05-02
We didn't stay at the Krystal -- we stayed at the Fontan.We did not do a "Package" -- we flew with West Jet and made our own accommodation arrangements at the Fontan.

Revise this and I will happily submit a satisfaction survey.

- L. Wallace [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This was not our hotel -- I am unable to submit without completing these sections. I know NOTHING about The Krystal.
The weak points
This was not our hotel -- I am unable to submit without completing these sections. I know NOTHING about The Krystal.
Certified

Krystal Ixtapa Review

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-18
Would not stay here, we checked out at went to Barcelo, paid for all-inclusive, it wasn't, they charge for the mini-fridge in room, even if you just want to put water in it, $5 per day. Buffet was little choice and very small, no nightly entertainment, was advertised to have it through selloffvacations but the hotel says they have never had nightly entertainment. Customer service was poor, told they was a charge for internet, but then next day told there wasn't. Old run down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
leaving!
The weak points
buffet and no entertainment, falsely advertised as all inclusive
Certified

Not really a four star

, Barrhead, AB
2011-02-14
I was a little dissappointed with this hotel. the food vareity did not vary too much. They didn't have face clothes and the activites were lacking. Also there was no power on in the rooms for two days once from 11 am till 5 and then from 11 till 715 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great beach
The weak points
not a fouur star as rated
Certified

Great times!!!

, Melville, SK
2010-04-29
It was awesome the staff is great. Two Thumbs Up!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is phenomenal!!!
The weak points
The food was good but a little repetitive.
Certified

KRYSTAL APRIL/10

, Wetaskiwin, AB
2010-04-22
LOCATION IS GREAT,STAFF WAS VERY GOOD.
HOTEL IS NICE,BATHROOMS COULD USE AN UPGRADE,CANNOT SWIM IN THE OCEAN IN FRONT OF HOTEL. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLOSE TO TOWN,STAFF,POOL,
The weak points
COULD NOT SWIM IN OCEAN,BATHROOMS,LOTS OF KIDS ON THE WEEKEND
Certified

Not the best but by far not the worst!

, Red Deer, AB
2010-04-13
The staff was extremely kind and helpful. The resort was clean from the room we stayed in down to the hotel pool. Our only complaint is that it is not a great all-inclusive resort. The drinks were great, however there was very little to choose from in terms of restaurants and the buffet was not very good quality. There were no options for snacks later in the evening and they had some very strict time limits for buffet and bar service. We ventured out and ate at local restaurants which were fantastic. The pool area is also quite small for the number of guests they hold. We reserved pool seats very early in the morning to make sure we had some. They were often all gone by 8am at the latest. Overall, we were satisfied as we went for the weather and the relaxation not the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service, cleanliness
The weak points
food quality and variety
Certified

Nk krystal

, Airdrie, AB
2010-02-08
this hotel treated us very well [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff, bartenders, entertaintaiment staff waiter/waitresses, front desk all excellent
The weak points
the food was good but not a large variety and only 1 restaurant open much of the time
Certified

Sun and Fun

, Tillsonburg, ON
2010-02-01
As always a great trip to Ixtapa. First time at this hotel and would probably return. Book poolview rooms-rooms numbered 01-08 are over the airconditioning units(very noisy)Anamation staff was great and they really try hard although there is not a show every night like other hotels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, accommodating staff.Great central location
The weak points
Quality of food was sporatic. Rooms not ready at checkin. Not enough keys for safes.
Certified

NH Krystal Ixtapa

, Aldersyde, AB
2010-01-28
Some work is needed to make this a good all inclusive experience. There are lots of rules about what you can and can t have and you are never sure until you check out what extra charges you may have incurred. You have to sign a receipt after every meal and at the end of each day at the beach if you order from the waiters. The food was good but all meals are buffet and choice is limited. We were given a coupon to go to Bogarts, the a la carte restaurant, one night. The meal was good and the ambience is very nice. The hotel is clean and well kept. Check in and out was very quick. The location is good and the beach is very nice. Getting a chair around the pool or at the beach was a challenge on some days and there were not enough umbrellas to go around. The resort is pretty quiet in the evening. Because not all the guests are AI, most go out for dinner. There is no entertainment unless you go to the disco, so not much socializing. Overall we enjoyed our week and we did not incur any extra charges, but the uncertainty was a bit annoying. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, nice beach, clean hotel and decent food.
The weak points
All inclusive packages available but not an all inclusive resort
Certified

Krystal not worth it!

, Kingston, ON
2010-01-11
Reading other reviews about all-inclusive customers being neglected at Krystal is true. It is so visible. There is a different level of service for different customers. Food choices @ breakfast are good. Dinner not so much. For an AI "resort" one expects more variety. We are not picky people! Do yourself a favor if you want an AI holiday, go to a resort that is solely an AI resort not Krystal. There are more than a few issues they need to figure out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Service and food.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021