Park Royal Beach Ixtapa

Park Royal Beach Ixtapa
3.833.833.833.833.83
3.83 based on 29 reviews
#8 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ixtapa
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (6)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Visit

, Prince George , BC
2020-02-27
It was good make sure you say in your intros on web site, it is family oriented, there were more children at the swim up bar then adults [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, staff are excellent
The weak points
Food not much. Voice for gluten free people on low sugar too
Certified

Birds in restaurants

, Regina, SK
2019-03-24
Hotel needs to get some netting to prevent all the birds from entering the eating areas. The so called gym is an absolute joke, no water, no towels and not even a bench press. The room was unbelievable small and hot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, food is good.
The weak points
The gym is terrible. Either get some decent equipment and a large room for it or simply close it done.
Certified

3 star Hotel

, Vancouver, BC
2019-01-07
The hotel staff and location were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was the best thing about this Hotel. The hotel staff were all very good.
The weak points
The food selection was not very good and it was usually luke warm and not to my taste. There wasn't much entertainment.
Certified

Sleepless in Mexico

, Lambton Shores, ON
2018-04-15
Rooms look nice but the pillows are lumpy and the beds hard. The tub leaked and toilet broke as our room needed an update. We paid extra for a ocean view room and asked to be on the 19th floor when we booked but were given a room on the 16th ( really only the 6th) as the
Floors start at 10. The disco music was so loud we could not sleep and after the disco the waves were very loud crashing on the beaches. Guests arriving home after the disco would wake us up at 3 AM. You could not swim in the ocean as there is a very strong undertow at the shoreline. Most kids swam in the adults pool . The security did not enforce the rules about reserving chairs by the pool and beaches. The chairs at the beach were hard and uncomfortable and many broken. The Italian restaurant food was really good, if you eat at the buffets be sure not to leave your food alone as the black birds will enjoy it for you. Buffet food was good, you can order extras like toast and bacon from the waiters. The hotel is ok if you are young or have small children but would not recommend for English Seniors. Beware - if you exchange money at the front desk, be sure to check it before leaving the counter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms nice, beautiful beach, good food.
The weak points
The Disco music went til 2 AM and it was very very loud so we could not sleep. When the music stopped - the waves crashing on the beach kept us awake. Security allows guests to reserve beach and pool chairs

Wonderful vacation in the sun!

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-02
The Resort was all that we wished for, lots of good food, friendly staff , super clean in every area rom our room to the lobby to the pool area. The staff were always working and cleaning. The buffet was laid out so that you always seemed to have a place to sit, indoors in the cool or outdoors in the warmth.Our room was large, bathroom was great, shower worked well with lots of hot water anytime of the day. Closets were large, several hangers, and a nice table and two chairs in the room and a beautiful view of the ocean from our deck, Room 1615. I would go back to this resort anytime. This was our first time in Ixtapa, the weather was 30 in the day and 23 in the evening. Marguerita, our house keeper was so efficient, our room was so clean and always done early. She made beautiful animals every day for our bed surrounded with flower petals. She loved our hugs in the morning!!! Louis was an awesome bar waiter. He would follow us every where we went in the lobby every night. Jacson was so cute and attentive in the buffet in the evening and on our last eve, he got me a delicious Margarita... Antonio and Victor were so much fun around the pool area. They tried so hard to get people active every day.Their sense of humour was so cute.. The band in the evening was awesome. Boy, did they get the people in the lobby bar dancing from 8:00 to 11:00 every night. So much fun!!! We loved our week, but will be returning to paradise for 2 weeks next time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness friendliness of all staff. Close walk ( about 15 mins) to the market area.
The weak points
Being bothered by the Time Share people every day for the first 3-4 days You had to walk by them right off the elevator every am. More umbrellas at the pool would be nice, as the sun is so hot!.
Certified

Great holiday

, Hope, BC
2018-01-15
Very good. Room was large, clean and well furnished. Bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent. Great little balcony with awesome view. All but one staff were amazingly friendly and helpful.
Food was a good as one can expect in a large resort. The Italian restaurant is a treat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, well looked after resort. Staff with one exception were friendly and helpful.
The weak points
One pool bar employee refused to serve us because I was wearing a T shirt - other's were sitting at the bar wearing T shirts - it made no sense.
Certified

Love Ixtapa

, Fort Frances, ON
2017-03-19
Aside from front desk reception offering us an upgrade for $250, which I reluctantly fell for- just to find out the other couple we travelled with, got the identical room for NO ADDITIONAL cost really makes me angry. It's a scam.
We really enjoyed the resort overall. Food was average. Room is tired, bathroom shower curtain was in need of replacing. Only in room for a short time daily, so that's not our #1 concern. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Time at Park Royal

, London, ON
2016-02-28
Enjoyed the week. Everything was great, as expected or better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The proximity to Zihuatanejo and the airport made this a great location. The food was very good in the restaurants too.
The weak points
The bathrooms needed updating.
Certified

Room

, Cal., AB
2016-02-21
First room smelled so bad of mildew. Saw 2 more rooms and took the second as it did not smell as bad as the first one. The staff are all wonderful people. They were all so very helpful with everything. Need a bar fridge and a safe in each room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds and kept very clean.
The weak points
The beds and pillows were very hard and uncomfortable. Need to have another restaurant and more variety of food.
Certified

Loved it, will be back.

, Chestermere, AB
2015-02-17
We spent 2 weeks at the Park Plaza, it is a small resort with not much to do but relax by the pool or the beach.The location was great, bars, restaurants and shopping nearby, felt very safe leaving the resort at night to go exploring. The Staff were just fantastic and very helpful. we did a couple of trips to Ixtapa Island and into Ziuhatenajo it was much cheaper to jump on a local bus to visit these places rather than book through the hotels. Time share guys are around but they soon learn that you are not interested and leave you be when you say no thanks. Food was not bad at all, the servers were great. We were looking for a nice relaxing Holiday and that is what we got. We would go back again for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel has amazing,helpful staff everywhere. I was pleasantly surprised by how clean this place was, it is older and abit out of style but we experienced no problems. The beach was great for walking, with beautiful sunsets everyday.
The weak points
The beds were as hard as the tile floor, not very comfortable. The disco was rather noisy late at night , the techno music could be heard throughout the complex. Not much for entertainment but a relaxing place to Holiday.
Certified

Location Is Not Everything

, Burlington, ON
2015-02-11
My husband and adult daughter stayed here for a week. We have never been to Ixtapa before and absolutely loved the area. We will definitely be returning but just not this hotel. We got what we paid for, a cheap vacation. As many others have stated, the hotel is extremely clean. Food selection is limited however there are plenty of restaurants close by so if you really don't like the food you can eat outside the hotel. I would rate this hotel as a three star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptional cleanliness with helpful and courteous staff. The setting of the hotel is beautiful.
The weak points
Rooms need updating, disappointing selection at buffets. The person who leads the pool aerobics needs to stop blowing his whistle non-stop. I got a major headache from it. Totally unnecessary.
Certified

1st impression is still lingering

, Red Deer, AB
2014-03-22
Beyond expectations says it all. It can be as relaxing as you want at the Park Royal. A very welcoming and accommodating resort. Worthy of a return Holiday for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was abundant and good variety. Wide,clean and very walkable beach. Pool area and decks were cleaned and sanitized after each days use.
The weak points
Only one Al La Cart but it was excellant in every way. High and frequent waves restrict swimming about 80% of the time. Caution advised when showering in 1/2 tubs.
Certified

Park Royal Ixtapa

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-27
Room was middle of the road. Housekeepin was great. No frills, should only be rated a 2 star... needs updating. Looked elsewhere while we were there. Location Ixtapa. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, although the ocean is rough most of the time, so caution needs to be exercised. Beach area itself is gorgeous, with lots of activities. Ixtapa
The weak points
Sounds like the usual complaints. The hotel when we first went was first class. We have stayed in others, however, it needs to be updated. No frills, no coffee makers in the rooms.Room had a musty smell to it without the air. Self serve at the bars. Rate2
Certified

Trip to Ixtapa

, Cochrane, AB
2012-01-13
We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay at the Park Royal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All balconies seem to have a great view no matter where they are situated
The weak points
Found food to be very bland
Certified

As expected

, Bentley, AB
2011-03-22
The hotel was nice, but musty smelling, and our clothes still smell like that. i woke up to find a cockroach in the bathroom sink, and front desk offered to fumigate the room,, or we could relocate, we chose to relocate, and did so, but in the process some of our suveniers got left in the room, and we were not notified of it. we had to spend an extra 100.00 to get it back ( we had some freinds that were staying for longer than us bring it back. ) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent food. very nice front desk and managers of the hotel. excellent service, considering the language barrier.
The weak points
cockroach in our sink, musty musky smelling rooms.
Certified

Beyond expections

, Wilmot, NS
2011-02-08
this hotel was better than i thought it would be.as i indicated below the room could have been slightly better.the bathroom fixtures should be upgraded.the maid sevices was expectional.the staff were very nice and friendly.i would reccomend this resort to my friends.thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
scenery was beautiful.beaches,pool.bars restruants,lounges were great
The weak points
their could have been more hot food.when i asked for toast the answer was no
Certified

Loved it too short

, Calgary, AB
2011-01-02
Had a great time was only there three days due family emergency but would absolutely return. However the time share people are viscous and are more than a little ignorant towards people, and even the same people keep coming after you, after you say no, they get personal. Saying incredibly ignorant things with a smile like its only a joke. Next time I would tell them where to shove it immediately and as often as as rudely as they treated us. the rest of the experience was top notch [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent staff great facilties
The weak points
the time share pressure sale
Certified

Great place! Wonderful staff

, Lethbridge, AB
2010-04-26
Had a great time at the Park Royal Ixtapa. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff
The weak points
Very busy on the weekends
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021