Grand Sens Cancun

Grand Sens Cancun
3.503.503.503.503.50
3.50 based on 266 reviews
#24 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (125)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Sens Cancun - Sian Ka'an

, Middle Sackville, NS
2020-03-08
Resort experience was great - service staff were friendly, prompt and courteous. Range of restaurants was amazing and food was great quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants! Housekeeping and ground staff were very friendly. Beach was very clean,
The weak points
Desk staff at check-in and check out were aloof and barely friendly. Felt like I was at the bank applying for a loan.....
Certified

Best vacation Ever !!!

, Moncton, NB
2020-02-18
From the time we stepped into the resort everyone and everything was perfect !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everyone was always upbeat and friendly
The weak points
I wish they had a ladder or step by the swimming up pool bar to get into the water. Watched to many people fall.
Certified

Grand Sens Cancun

, Langley, BC
2020-01-14
The hotel upon entry had a very intense annoying pumped in aroma, we could see the boxes all over the lobby. The smell became nauseating. The room looked ok except the first time we used the toilet it plugged. Maintenance had to remove the whole toilet off the floor. No hot water for 2 days, when we asked to move rooms we were told there were none available unless we pay more to upgrade. 3rd day the ceiling above the tub was falling into the tub in large chunks. We asked to move rooms , they suggested we stay and they would send maintenance. We refused and the manager finally moved us to a new room. Although the new room did not have a balcony or a window that opened, we had hot water and a toilet that worked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pizza at the outside restaurant. The coffee shop in the lobby. Being able to use the buffet next door.
The weak points
Buffet was terrible, not enough lounge chairs, annoying music that played the same beat all day long. Inconsistent info from staff. Difficulty changing rooms when it was obviously a reasonable request. One elevator not working till our last day.
Certified

Not as advertised

, Rigaud, QC
2020-01-14
First trip to Cancún. Hotel appears to be in a transition period due to new ownership. Many renovations in progress. Staff is very gracious & polite, hotel is very clean. Rooms are poorly soundproofed and noisy. There are less restaurants than advertised, and limited seating in each. Each evening one of the specialty restaurants is closed without notice for unknown reasons. Loud techno music at pool and beach all day/evening. Lack of courtesy bathroom/shower for late departure travellers [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely polite staff. Very clean. Good food. Hammocks in the ocean!!!
The weak points
Loud techno music all day. Poorly soundproofed rooms. Restaurants not as advertised - only a few open each evening, limited seating.
Certified

Grand Sens Oasis; hazerdous and falsely advertised

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-09
This hotel is advertised as 4.5 starts and "new", neither could be further from the truth. The front desk staff are miserable to deal with, perhaps because they are constantly dealing with complaints. Less than 20% of the rooms have balconies. As I understand it the previous reviews and 4.5 star rating are based on a previous location for this hotel. The hotel has significant water problems, we witnessed a significant leak in the front lobby and while sitting there a large chunk of plaster from the ceiling fell down narrowly missing us and other patrons. At our New Years dinner a rain storm came in and the ceiling in our restaurant began leaking everywhere. The grounds themselves are not well maintained and we witnessed numerous dead palm fronds fall down again narrowly missing guests.

The floors throughout the hotel are constantly changing in height so there are many small, unmarked steps which make for a significant trip and fall hazard, additionally there are a number of unmarked 1 inch diameter holes in much of the wood and stone flooring, perhaps for drainage but again hazardous as they are certainly large enough for a ladies high heel to get stuck in.

There was no music or entertainment by the pool and 50% of the pool chairs were broken or damaged.

There was only 1 working elevator the entire time we were there and as such there were long wait times to get to your room or down to the main floor.

The only positive was the wait staff, the bartenders and waiters were wonderful, especially considering they appeared to be significantly understaffed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The wait staff - bartenders and waiters
The weak points
Everything else
Certified

Nice vacation

, Cambridge, ON
2019-03-06
We had a lovely time at this resort. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The resort itself was perfectly fine - it could use some updating, but it was clean and comfortable. The pools were lovely, and it was nice to look out at the beach while in the pool. There was good entertainment, and the food was enjoyable. It was very easy to organize our excursions, and the proximity to the airport was a big plus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, well maintained pool area, good dining options.
The weak points
Could use some updating, air conditioning didn't work so well, but not uncomfortably hot.
Certified

Great Hotel!! Loved it!!

, Creighton, SK
2019-03-04
We had a great 7 days at this hotel. Food was excellent. Never had any problem finding something to eat. Entertainment was the usual but we enjoy our quiet time. Room was a little worn but everything worked just fine and we had a great sleep every night. Great adults only hotel. Would highly recommend for anyone looking to get away and relax, party and anything in between!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Service, Room cleanliness, Availability of chairs on beach and pool areas, Great location close to airport, Cars to rent right at hotel
The weak points
Buffet only open until 10:30 for breakfast and not open for lunch, No balconies on a majority of the rooms
Certified

Holiday review

, West Kelowna, BC
2019-01-28
Grand Oasis Sens 21 Plus [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Terrible resort

, Scarborough, ON
2018-07-07
By far the worst experience my friends and I had. When we got there we had no reservations under any of our names. The people at the front desk were rude and continuously lied to us. The food on the resort is not the best and resturants all close at 10:00pm. We stayed there for 7 days and heard many people conplain about their stay. I would not recommend this resort at all! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

All Inclusive Grand Oasis Sens

, Sarnia, ON
2018-04-10
No daily itinary in the room, like most resort packages, so you miss a lot of what is happening for entertainment. Bars close at 11pm, except kinky bar, which was great when there was entertainment only. The overall property was absolutely beautiful thoughout with infinity pools overlooking the carribean. Restaurants are small, and involve an hour of lining up at 6pm to get in for 7pm, or 8:45pm and fills within minutes and the process of reserving is incredibly frustrating. They need to change that process right away. The buffet is back up and closes at 10:30pm, everything closes up at 10;30pm. The buffet is nice however ketchup and butter packets are not something you see often in a luxury resort. Gourmet options are only in a la carte restaurants, if you get in. We only got in to two the whole week, and not for lack of trying, wow! There are 6 including buffet for dinner, not 13, unless you upgrade to get the other 3 premium restaurants. Slim choices only 2 for lunch. We made the best of it and enjoyed our stay. Never an issue with the room, or getting beach chairs. People claim beds by the pool early by dropping their stuff on them. Bus is 1$ to get to shopping markets and malls including Walmart. Entertainment was less then expected and usually happened during dinner hours 7pm ish so we missed a lot of the shows. Gorgeous spa is super expensive, never saw a soul use it. $110.00 US for half hour each for massage. The Hidden Pool is topless optional as is the beach. Smoking they allowed pretty much anywhere outside. Staff was great except at check in, they barely could speak English. This property has potential to be incredible with a few changes to their process involving the restaurants and entertainment schedules. They really should include all restaurants in the all inclusive, that was a big disappointment. It's not specified that 3 of the best cost extra in their marketing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points: amazing beach, grounds, views overlooking carribean, room was awesome with balcony overlooking hidden pool and carribean room 867 with tub and shower, beautiful.
The weak points
Out of 13 restaurants, three were excluded unless you upgraded to Oasis Plus plan, disappointment no. 1. Small restaurants ala carte have a very terrible reservation process that includes up to one hour of lining up to possibly get a seat.

Amazing Time

, Halifax, NS
2018-03-31
Love love loved our week at Oasis Sens, beautiful rooms, weather, food, drinks, beach and staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was amazing, friendly, helpful - top notch.
The weak points
Lots of steps, so not good for those who have mobility issues.
Certified

Weekend getaway

, Halifax, NS
2018-03-27
Great resort! Beautiful beach, clean. We upgraded to Sian Ka'an, diasapponted at first as we had a view of the road and shower had no hot water. We went to customer service and they changed it the next day. Gorgeous big room with a beautiful view of the beach. Lots of recent updates done. Good food. Planning on returning next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-clean -relaxing atmosphere -beautiful resort -gorgeous beach -Perfect size. Has everything you need without being too large -friendly staff
Certified

Oasis Sens - Good not Great

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-03-05
The hotel is nice but a bit dated. The pools are good and the restaurants too, though they are all very similar, specializing in either tacos or sushi. Resort could use a steak house.
Beach was nice but high winds keep the water off limits most days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- meals were good - pools were clean - beach was very clean and seaweed cleaned daily - staff was very friendly - Pirate ship was excellent for a free excursion put on by the resort - lobby shows were good but pretty short
The weak points
- dated rooms - poor plumbing. Had frequent water outages during stay. No hot water in sink (had it inshower only) - no lunch buffet - restaurants too similar to each other - no place to exchange cash - no steak house
Certified

Just meh

, Chilliwack, BC
2018-02-23
drinks were too sweet , premium liquor is not really premium .
Lizette was the best thing about this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bali beds and beach service were great ...if you can reserve one
The weak points
reservations were terrible. room unclean. siankaan not really worth the upgrade
Certified

Great trip

, Montréal, QC
2018-02-04
Hotel is great room service was excellent mini bar was filled everyday room was cleaned everyday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools beach was very clean and they had lots of activitys around the pool area . Last night was the best night with pirate night on the ship was the part of the trip.dinner at shukara was breath taking.
The weak points
Hotel could be little more friendly . Bars could do well to have extra bat tenders since we had to wait for drinks I found that annoying plus chef at the buffet was all alone and had to wait 30min just for emlotte. They need extra grill with veg none veg.
Certified

Great Stay

, Saint John, NB
2018-01-31
We enjoyed this motel very much.The food was great and the beach was beautiful. Bus stop in front of the motel with buses running every 10 or 15 minutes made it easy to get to shopping area and bar district. I would go back to this place if I went back to Cancun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Oasis Sens

, Brantford, ON
2017-04-12
Had a great time, but would have loved more live music entertainment that lasted longer, need consistent drink service throughout resort, coffee shop needs more staff and longer hours. Better seating at the Box, not comfortable. Enjoyed VIP pool, nice quiet area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sian Ka'an Beach Club great service, Benazuza great as well as theBox great service
The weak points
Elevators not always working, not clean, plunge pool need maintenance as boards around not attached, no jets in pool, bathroom dated and dark, too much time spent reserving restaurants, not consistent drink service throughout resort, Buffet limited
Certified

Great place to get drugged!

, Burford, ON
2017-03-16
Food is horrible (had to set my own table for dinner); Black hole is a joke.
Staff is by far the most ignorant/lazy people out there. (They count tip money as your waiting at the bar).
Rooms are mould infested. House keeper stole my drivers licence.
Cherry on top was getting drugged (Rohypnol) at kinky bar.
DO NOT GO HERE; JUST NOT SAFE . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Beware

, Spruce Grove, AB
2017-03-15
First impression, not great at all. I've been to several adult only all-inclusive resorts and this would have to be the worst. In the first couple of hours we encountered more unruly drunks than all other resorts combined. We paid for the upgrade to a Sian Kaan room and they didn't have that for us the first night, giving us a $100 US credit to use at the spa or restaurants. The "Sian Kaan" concierge that informed us about the room neglected to tell us about all the features that come with being upgraded to the Sian Kaan club. When I inquired about more than one dinner at Bennazuza, since we were staying 10 days, he said that only one dinner was included. When dining at Bennazuza we were told otherwise by the staff there. When you're booking online they say that SK gets preferred restaurant reservations. When you get there you find out that you can't really make reservations but you will have to line up for more than an hour to "book" a seating at the restaurant of choice... Now on the positive side: there were some staff that were excellent and went out of their way to do accommodate and look after us, calling out Daphne and Rodrigo on this. Cleaning staff and plunge pool cleaner did a great job too. The SK beachside bar/café was very good and had no lineups. Key to making this resort better? In my opinion, there was a distinct lack of proper training throughout the resort on the service side. Last negative: pretty sure I got food poisoning from one of the last dishes we had at the Black Hole, dining in the dark restaurant. That took me out of commission for the last two days of our vacation. Looks good on paper. They won't see us ever again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Grand oasis sens

, halifax, NB
2017-03-11
Hotel was awesome. Staff were great. Our travel there and back sucked. We would never travel transat again. The rep was never to be found at the resort when he was supposed to be. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Awesome!

, Collingwood, ON
2017-02-12
My sister and I just got back from the Sens and loved it. The beach and pools were amazing, and the staff were so friendly. Marco, and Fransico at the Sushi bar work so hard, Karla our chambermaid did a great job, and Neri our waiter was delightful and Meley at the coffee bar was so pleasant. Just to mention a few of the great staff. The food was delicious with a lot of variety. When we needed anything staff were always there to accommodate us. The entertainment and fitness staff did a great job. I loved the Zumba but maybe it could be offered in the mornings as by 3:00 it gets pretty hot. The Japanese rest. is a must try, the view is spectacular. This resort is kept spotless! We definitely would come back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and pools, friendly staff and very clean.
Certified

Review of Grand oasis Sens

, Vancouver, BC
2017-01-30
Very dissapointed,not enough staff the ones that work there are great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is not a 5 star resort as advertised.
Certified

Amazing Vacation!!!

, Verdun, QC
2016-11-30
GREAT HOTEL!!!
GREAT FOOD!!!
PERFECT ADULT RESORT!!!
BEACH IS JUST GORGEOUS! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel amenities entertainment crew!
The weak points
If there was another breakfast buffet in the morning, would be perfect!
Certified

Great Resort

, Ottawa, ON
2016-04-28
Great fun, lots to do and clean.... short on staff and needs a bit of updating... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment, location of amenities
The weak points
Overheated buffet, low staff on entire resort
Certified

Great Hotel for seniors

, Ile Perrot, QC
2016-03-30
The Hotel is good, well located, nice beach and good food, specially the breakfast (the omelettes of Ignacio). The negative is the people of Lifestyle Holiday Vacation Club, they are all day all over the lobby trying to sell their membership. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach and food
The weak points
The crew of Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club trying to sell their membership bothering you all day in the lobby.
Certified

Relaxing time

, Pilot Mound, MB
2016-02-24
food was excellent,clean comfortable room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very friendly staff
The weak points
didn't receive a welcome meeting
Certified

Our Vacation - First Time There

, Coquitlam, BC
2016-02-20
We had a great time. Quiet at times and we loved it. The service was good to great. Room were ok not over the top but we were comfortable. Food was great most of the time. The entertainment was fantastic for the most part. Staff was great most of the time.
Our not so good points were as follows:
We did not get the room we ask for and it took them 2 days to get it right as we requested a King bed but ended up with two doubles instead. they fix this in 2 days - thought they would have done it faster. I would have like to have been able to get food late at night which was not provided as things closed to early. Should have been more of a selection instead of just nuts, chips, poor hamburgers, and some fruit. The sound was to loud at the Kinky Bar for the size and they should have toned it down a little so one could hear what the words were when they sang and or talk.
We would return again as it was nice and we did have fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Cancun Oasis Sens

, Grand Bay Westfield, NB
2015-04-19
Resort was beautiful and staff was so friendly. only draw back was lunch grill was so slow with food and drink, and room fridge was not stocked as we were told. Beautiful beaches and lots of fun activities around the pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort - pools and beaches
The weak points
Maid service and pool/beach restaurant very slow.
Certified

Oasis sens

, Mission, BC
2015-01-18
My room leaked water everyday from the air conditioner it took them four days to realize they couldn't fix it and finally gave me a new room that was much better.otherwise the rooms were nice and well kept. The cleaning service was good. The bartenders expected a tip everytime and if you didn't you would get shitty service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches
The weak points
Bad service
Certified

Great food...fun and sun

, London, ON
2015-01-18
Recommend the room upgrade.. my wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary and decided to get the si'an kian upgrade it was awesome.The staff is great,the food is great probably the best yet...we only stay at 4 or 5 star resort's in Mexico..8 times and counting.This was our first Adults only vacation and the no kids is great.I don't recommend this hotel if you are an uptight or intolerant person ie:American. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome
The weak points
Had to go home
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021