Occidental Tucancun

Occidental Tucancun
3.533.533.533.533.53
3.53 based on 85 reviews
#43 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (26)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Great hotel!

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-19
Very impressed with this hotel! Myself, my husband, my sister and her husband and two other sisters stayed here from Mar. 3-17, 2020. We were all given rooms on the ground floor with an ocean view. The rooms are lovely, beds and pillows very comfortable. The staff is amazing, friendly and very helpful. As all-inclusive guests, we all very much loved our stay here. While the buffet could have used a little more variety it was still quite good. The hotel is very clean and the staff works hard to keep it that way. The three pools always had plenty of loungers available whenever we went to one of the pools. Would definitely recommend a stay here if you are planning a trip to Cancun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, courteous, hardworking staff.
The weak points
More variety of food at the buffet.
Certified

Great vacation!

, Navan, ON
2020-02-13
The location is near the main road where you can walk.
Bar, eating areas are centrally located. Delicious coffee
In the morning from latte to espresso.
Staff members are super nice, friendly. Food was very good.
Room ( ocean view) was clean, plenty of hot water, pressure
Not an issue. Between English and using what we know in
Spanish, no problem. It's an all inclusive but with a $ here and a$ there plus a smile= great stay. Will go again.
Great beach, kept clean by staff.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, pools. Beach ALL was just fine. It was paradise, not a drop of rain.
The weak points
None. Just happy to be able to enjoy the heat, the sun And the beach.

Great vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2018-02-12
great week in this resort , amazing view and beach .the down side is that there is not a hospitality room for late night flights departures and lack of English knowledge from staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean , beach , location
The weak points
reception staff ( manager)
Certified

Great beach, okay food, friendly staff

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-08
I travelled with a group of university friends. We had a great time at the all inclusive resort, however the food was not great at all. We had to venture into the city for more edible food at times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach area Great cleaning staff, bar staff, restaurant staff Great amenities (basketball, pools, tennis, soccer nets, volleyball, beach chairs) Drinks were delicious
The weak points
Both buffet and a la carte food were pretty bad Alcoholic drinks weren't as strong unless you specifically asked Prices were quite high for excursions, cheaper to get them from places off the resort Paying for WiFi is ridiculous
Certified

9th time in paradise

, Gatineau, QC
2015-05-21
Me and my husband were at the Barceló Tucancun from April 24th to May 4. It was our 9th time at this hotel but our first time for 10 days. As always, everything was perfect.

We got to the hotel at noon and our villa was ready to move in (8010). Our check in with Lourdes went smooth as always. We were very happy to see all our friends again who work there.

The beach is the best beach I have ever seen in my entire life. I have been to other country and this is the best beach in the world.

We were there for my husband birthday and they celebrated him all day long. Starting at the pool with Angel, Tavo, Elena and Alex (entertainment staff). They sang him happy birthday around the pool and the people from the La Claraboya restaurant came out to give him a cake. This attention was so much appreciated. When we got back to the room, Adriana Luna (assistant manager to Ricardo Reina) had the room decorated with balloons and a cake made of towels was made on the bed. Thank you all so much for that day. Martin will remember it for the rest of his life.

Again, the food was great and the a la carte restaurants were perfect. Just a little new information to you travellers, there is now a dress code for the men at the a la carte. Long pants is required (just thought I would let you all know). You need to go try the Mexican restaurant it is so good. Ask to have Martha as your server. I have known this girl since 2008 and she is the best waitress and a good friend of mine. Go try the seafood restaurant too. Wow !!! Spend a little more money and ask for the surf n turf this is the best.

We did the romantic diner on the beach for 110 $ US. It was such an amazing night. Thank you to everyone who made this night magical.

A special thank you to all the people who makes us return to this place. Adriana Luna (my sister from another country), Gonzalo Hernandez (bellboy), Angel May, Gustavo, Elena (Entertainment), Lourdes (reception), Antonio (mi amigo), Felix (my sweet bartender) and all the people in the restaurants. I am sorry, I cannot write all of your names down ! We love you all.

I would like to give a big thank you to Mr. Ricardo Reina for everything once again. We are always treated like family at this hotel and this is why we fall in love all over again with this magical place. We will be back very soon.

Don't hesitate to go to this hotel, it is really the paradise on earth.

See you soon gang love you xxx

Mel and Mart. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, and most of all, the staff
The weak points
everything is perfect

Great time

, Brampton, ON
2015-03-11
great value, very accommodating, alberto (the food manager) actually went across the street outside the resort to get me almond milk...amazing, also, the manager for the entire resort, ricardo, was always around asking if there was anything we needed...... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Nothing

Barcelo tucancun

, vancouver, Br
2014-06-01
We enjoyed our trip & would recommend this hotel to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were all very welcoming & friendly. The three pools were great!
The weak points
Room view wasn't great, the front desk and the bars were under staffed so lines were very long and timely.
Certified

Nice resort

, Tillsonburg, ON
2014-03-05
beautiful beach and the pools were lovely too..all the people working there are very nice and helpful....the only downfalls were the bed was too hard and there could of been more of a selection of food at the buffet... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice beach and the pools were wonderful
The weak points
the bed was too hard and needed more of a selection of food at the buffett
Certified

Barcelo Tucancun Beach Stay

, Prince Albert, SK
2014-03-02
Overpriced for the accommodation.
Challenge using shower as temperature and pressure varied greatly one moment to next. No Internet availability at all in room. Thermostat for air conditioner not working. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff. Clean surroundings Near Ocean, various pools. Quiet
The weak points
No gym. Internet not in range of room. Little or no flowers, birds, landscaped bushes etc. Too many steps, making it harder to get from one side to other side of building.
Certified

Barcelo Tucancun

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-18
Good hotel, clean and service is good. internet is expensive and its access is poor, food should be more varied. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great, hotel is great and clean
The weak points
Food should be varied, Internet is expensive and access is very poor.
Certified

Excellent mini getaway!

, Stittsville, ON
2014-02-13
This was a last minute 3 day stay for my girlfriend and I. We had a standard room with no balcony and it was quite small, that being said it was fine, we didn't spend much time in the room. The beds where comfortable, nice thick pillows and clean white linens, more than adequate for 2 people enjoying a short stay. A family with 7 days worth of luggage would likely find the space too small.

Food was fine. Breakfast was the best meal by far... lot's of choices, fresh omelets and eggs cooked to order, fresh pastries and the coffee was decent. There was always fresh fruit and veggies in the buffets. Lunch was a little less appealing to me because I'm not big on cold meats or burger and fries but still the salads where good and I didn't starve. Dinner in the Spanish buffet was the better of the two buffets open for dinner. We also tried the Mexican and the Seafood restaurants - the food was just OK, the service and attention was excellent so made the going worthwhile.

The beach was very nice. Beautiful white sand beach, no rocks hardly any vendors and the one's we did see where not pushy at all.

All 3 pools are nice, they all overlook the sea, so breezy. We hung out mostly at the adult pool. It was very quiet, but it was very pretty there, also that is the only pool with a swim up bar.

The hotel itself is very clean, gleaming actually. The staff are working around the clock cleaning. The pool areas and bathrooms as well.

This is a nice hotel to stay at for a few days of relaxation. It is not a huge resort with tones of people and there are no disco's for young people or kid's clubs. The majority of the guests where 40 plus or families with very young children. Not many 20-30 year olds, so could be a bit too quiet if you are looking for a party hotel.

All in all, good experience and I would recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spotless hotel.
The weak points
Could use some shade on the beach, but this is minor inconvenience as there is plenty of umbrellas and shade huts by the pools.
Certified

Excellent Getaway

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-01-27
Nice hotel with a lot of pool options. Lots of chairs around the pool. Ocean was fantastic with lots of room on the beach. No rocks in the ocean. Rooms were very nice with lots of hot water. View was excellent (ocean front). Food was good with lots of options. Service was excellent. Nightly shows were very well done. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach; close to shopping (two malls are within walking distance); friendly staff
The weak points
Front reception was extremely slow upon checking in.
Certified

CANCUN 2013

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-05-09
GREAT BEACH, GREAT STAFF, GREAT WEATHER [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STAFF
The weak points
WINE
Certified

My Vaction

, Calgary, AB
2012-04-03
Over all it was ok I don,t know if I would go back small thing like rooms being cleaned evry other day. The food was good same thing every day. Nightly shows were great.Pool and beach was good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was over all not bad nice staff,good food great nightly shows
The weak points
checking out took for ever the rooms were cleaned every oyher day not very good for handicap people
Certified

Go there!

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-12-27
it was a nice hotel close to the mall. bus's available all the time and the staff was friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food amazing the view was great and the service was friendly. I really couldn't have asked for more. for the price it was hands down my best experience. stay 10 days if you can!
The weak points
The internet was a little slow and they didnt have change for our money so they told us to come back later and we just never got the change. really it was only a buck or two and we didnt pick that resort so we could surf the net. all and all it was great
Certified

Amazing

, Thompson, MB
2011-12-07
Just when you think you cant find a better hotel. You do. The people, hotel, room, and beach were amazing. The food was good. Love this hotel and will be going back soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was impecable.
The weak points
There is a few stairs when going to the pool or beach. I have a hip problem. I did not have a problem with the stairs.
Certified

Not so great

, Bowmanville, ON
2011-04-09
Having the resort front onto the beach was beautiful but the overall experience with Barcelo was well short of expectations and I would not suggest travelling to any of this company's resorts. Foremost, our room was not ready by the promised time and on our last full day we returned to our room for a rest and it was completely torn apart with no staff to be found (pillows and sheets all over the floor). As well, none of the activities (volleyball, basketball, games, etc.) actually took place and none of the advertised water sports were free so there was very little to do if one desired. Finally, our air conditioning broke for two days and any issues taken up with the front desk staff were really just ignored. For us the experience fell short and was more reflective of the Barcelo company and business practice rather than the few great people who did work within the restaurants and bars (they were great!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff who work the restaurants and bar would do anything for you and always have a smile!
The weak points
Everything but the staff who worked the bars and restaurants.
Certified

Ok vacation

, Ellershouse, NS
2011-03-28
Hotel was very nice but it is not a resort! This is a great place for singles or people looking to party. Walking distance to shops and malls and is a short cab ride to clubs. I would nit recommend it to families or anyone wanting a quiet, calm vacation. Spring break was nuts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great
The weak points
Nothing to do at the resort at night. No 24 snack bars
Certified

Not Bad

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-03-22
This hotel was appropriate for the price. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children. The staff were pleasant and the hotel was well kept. The food was not bad...not great, but there was a variety. I did have a few concerns about the washing of the drinking glasses at all the hotel bars. They are washed by hand and rinsed in a questionable brown solution?? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches and pool areas.
The weak points
One drink per person rule?? Every time you wanted a drink we each had to come up from the beach. We were not permitted two drinks even if one was for the spouse. Very annoying!
Certified

Just returned.....not impressed!!!

, Raymond, AB
2011-03-18
Considering how long I waited to go on this trip and all the anticipation it turned out to be a nightmare. The flight was horrible. I had the passenger behind me kicking my chair into an upright position when I reclined it. He freaked out at a bunch of us calling us very foul and vulgar names. I asked the flight attendant to help deal with the problem....she tried to but had no success so got the crazy man another drink.....just what he needed. After landing and arriving at the hotel the airport service van lost a piece of my luggage.....let the people before our stop take it with them.....it isn't even a piece of luggage that would match anyone elses....anyways after 30 minutes they retrieved my suitcase. The room had 1 king size bed even though we had asked for 2 double beds....had to wait for a cot to be delivered......the shower did not work...you either got freezing cold water or a burst of boiling hot water. The inside buffet needs some work......the buffet outside and around by the pool rocked. Unfortunately we hit spring break......the kids took over the pool and unless we went to the bar we did not get drinks....plus the drinks lacked in alcohol. I waited so long to go on this trip.....I have returned with nothing more than anger towards the airline, the hotel and the thought that I wasted my hard earned money for the crap we went through. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and ocean were beautiful.
The weak points
Read above. Many!!
Certified

Nice vacation

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-07
Good time in Barcelo, selection of food very good, some many bars you can get lost :-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
View from my room on the 8'th floor was breathtaking
The weak points
Air conditioning was too noisy
Certified

Barcelo Tucancun - Spring Break

, Waterloo, ON
2011-02-26
The resorts pretty good, rooms were extremely clean, pool area and beach were kept really nice, people were cleaning them regularly through the day. The bars at night can get rammed, but that may be because it was spring break. The front desk staff could be nicer and more responsive and we had one night of bad service with one of the waiters of the mexican restaurant. Other than that, entertainment staff and other hosts and servers were extremely nice and did a good job. Overall it was a great experience! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness of the pool, beach and rooms as well as the entertainment staff were really good.
The weak points
Front desk staff, internet, not enough activities to do at night on the resort
Certified

GREAT VALUE

, London, ON
2011-02-21
We had a great time at this resort. The front desk upgraded us to an oceanview with a balcony for FREE! They are so friendly and helpful. You may get caught at the front desk sometimes due to the wait but it was really a fabulous place to visit. ENJOY YOURSELF!!! WE SURE DID!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing resort! Very friendly staff that really went out of the way to ensure you get everything you want!
The weak points
The evening shows are indoors (prefer outside). Internet was only available in specific areas and we were under the impression we had internet service in our room.
Certified

The best

, Nepean, ON
2011-02-16
This resort was fab. Care free, good food nice beach. In all the whole resort was top notch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, good service, good drinks
The weak points
Internet had certain hours 8-11
Certified

Great Trip

, Winnioeg, MB
2011-02-01
No complaints! Excellent staff they will bend over backwards for you. Location is great, lots to do within walking distance. Oceanview rooms highly recommend once checking in at hotel for an extra $38 a night, well worth every dollar [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
fantastic staff and location
The weak points
Front desk not all on the same page
Certified

Eat your heart out!!!

, Ottawa, ON
2011-01-31
Exceptionally clean rooms and bathrooms, very well kept hotel and all dining room facilities...even the beach washroom was clean. Meals were quite varied and delicious. I would highly recommended this establishment and return anytime!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The meals were quite varied. Staff was very helpful, cordial and polished manners.
The weak points
internet service unavailable for my entire stay
Certified

Be prepared to upgrade

, Ajax, ON
2011-01-19
The disappointment of the 10 hour delay of our flight was quickly overshadowed by the mediocrity of our oceanview room. The hotel was loud and dingy. The next morning we upgraded to a Villa ($96 a night)which was amazing.Highly recommend this accomodation. Food was ok, beach was good if you like the waves. Not enough beach chairs which were plastic with no cushions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the airport with accomodations ranging from drab to beautiful. The Villas are well worth the extra money, the hotel rooms aren't worth what they cost.
The weak points
Noisy and drab best descibes this hotel. good for partying singles, not for the family.
Certified

Great party atmosphere

, Lethbridge, AB
2011-01-14
This was a great resort if your a young adult. If you are looking to get away and just relax I don't recommend. Everyday there were activities by the pool or on the beach and every night there was a new bar to go and party at. Great place for making friends and having an awesome time. I would go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
party atmosphere
The weak points
food
Certified

Good vacation

, New Westminster, BC
2011-01-11
Just spent a week at the Barcelo. All was good except for the lack in variety of the menus at each restaurant. We ended up switching two regular rooms for a villa on the beach, which was a huge bonus and worked well for our two families. Greatly appreciated having the front desk staff make this happen for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, nice hotel, lovely beach.
The weak points
Food - not much variety....same menus each day at the different restaurants/buffets
Certified

Wish we were still there

, Edmonton, AB
2010-12-28
We have no complaints about this hotel or the service. The staff were friendly and had many had a wonderful sense of humor.

The beach was gorgeous. We do not pay much attention to the pool side or evening entertainment. Our kids (12 and 15) are content to swim and relax on the beach so do not seek out the kids/teen entertainment. There are no umbrellas on the beach-this would be a nice improvement.

The food at the buffets was decent with a wide variety of options. The Mexican al a carte offered a nice evening meal.

We were there the week prior to christmas and it was very quiet, which we enjoyed. Our family would return without hesitation (although a gym at the facility would be nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean facility, friendly staff, beach, location
The weak points
lack of gym and umbrellas on the beach, had to pay for lock for safe
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021