Occidental Costa Cancun

Occidental Costa Cancun
3.783.783.783.783.78
3.78 based on 109 reviews
#15 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (12)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

TARGETED / ASSAULTED / ROBBED ON HOTEL PROPERTY

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-02
This story has to be told to every single source. PLEASE SHARE WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILY!! I arrived at the Costa Cancun around 2:30pm Nov 1st 2019. I've traveled here a number of times (over 10) but it's gotten very very scary and unsafe. First off, if you decide to book at this resort after you've read this-you sure have some balls. But please be very careful here. The security guards are aggressive and abusive. I truly believe the work in cahoots with the police and are paid off. They called the police on me for breaking a lamp when I had a little too much to drink, they beat me up gave me a black eye and then took me to a Mexican prison for the night. Inside the prison I was handcuffed to the bars and slapped, kicked and punched by the guards. They handcuffed me so tight that my wrists are still bleeding 7 days later. After I finally was able to convince one of the guards to let me out, because I'm Canadian and broke a lamp and I do not belong in jail for that, they took me into a little room and sat me down with all of my stuff (wallet,phone and watch) inside a plastic bag. They opened the bag and revealed an empty wallet, which had $500 when they initially took it from me. They said if want my stuff back I have to go to the bank and take out $500 usd MORE and pay them. I said ok ok ok I will pay, please let me go. They gave me my credit card back and I ran for my life. I never trusted them to let me be free. It was the most traumatic experience I've ever had. Mexico should be black listed for canadians to travel to. YOU HAVE NO RIGHTS IN THIS COUNTRY. BE VERY VERY CAREFUL WHEN DECIDING TO VACATION HERE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU'RE ALONE. I booked an ocean front room and emailed them approximately 1 month in advance. It took them 3 weeks to send their first reply, and my request was simply to get into a room that had unobstructed views of the ocean (this place has NO VIEWS OF TURQUOISE WATER) it's located in the bay with dirty looking lake water splashing up. Never waste your hard earned money on ocean front here. There are NO balconies, no chairs to sit out and watch the ocean. There is only a patio door that opens. They assured me that they would put notes into the system to make sure I would get my request accommodated. Upon arrival, I was put in room 207. Where you can't even see the ocean because it's blocked with 12-15 palm trees situated so close to one another, they're touching. Now I'm not exactly sure why certain people have said this is a large pool area.... they must have not travelled anywhere else. I get away quite often and I have to say, it's actually pretty small. And there's only one. The beach as basically everyone states is purely awful. Dirty murky water and saying it's tiny would be giving too much credit. There's about 500 sq ft of sand. I've been to nicer beaches in ALBERTA lmfao. The food? Omg .... i read one review and the lady said you would starve here.. i thought to myself, come on. Impossible. She really wasn't far off. It's very very bland and VERY LITTLE choice. The buffet is laughable. Its day 3 and I haven't even able to get into any restaurants. I came here alone too. So I won't bother trying anymore. The entertainment is simply awful. They do pushup contests and water volleyball during the day. The music is for 90 year olds, it's elevator, music all day and night around the bars. ALL BARS OPEN AT 11AM AND CLOSE AT 11PM. NO DRINKS ARE AVAILABLE BEFORE OR AFTER. There are no swim up bars. One beach bar. One lobby bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ABSOLUTELY NONE
The weak points
Re-read my entire review

Sunwing

, Mississauga, ON
2019-09-28
The staff was good the food was good the room was clean and I was happy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good

, Calgary, AB
2019-04-19
Overall experience was good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Reception and wi-fi
Certified

Awesome staff and exceptionally clean resort

, Edmonton, AB
2019-01-24
We booked a short but very enjoyable stay. The staff here took special care of myself and my daughter [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was plentiful with a variety for every palate and very well presented. The staff I found exceptional Our room was above standard the staff ensured our stay was comfortable and clean. All of our needs where looked after in a very timely basis
The weak points
I have no suggestions for improvements
Certified

Great time

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2017-03-09
Chef Miquel Salmeron will go above the call of duty to ensure you enjoy your stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Jewel of a hotel

, Fort Erie, ON
2017-02-27
Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Pepe Hernandez (buffet staff) was excellent throughout the entire stay as were Sylvia (buffet), Sandra (poolside)and all entertainment staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely well managed, family type hotel. All amenities close together. Excellent staff
The weak points
Check in a little slow.
Certified

Great vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2017-01-16
Great resort. Strongly recommend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Enjoyable Resort

, Vancouver, BC
2016-03-23
An enjoyable vacation hotel away from the downtown and club district. Selection of 3 themed restaurants and buffet. The Mexican restaurant has great food and atmosphere. Nice white sands beach. Rooms are clean & comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Complex was nice, great restaurant & Bell staff. Good cross section of restaurants, Mexican Restaurant very good food
The weak points
Room not ready when we arrived. Told we had to wait until 3:00 P.M. @ 3:30 P.M. still not ready - had to request another room - annoying after overnight travel! Bathroom small, water pooled in shower did not drain properly creating mildew odor.
Certified

Resort stay

, Martensville, SK
2016-03-01
This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at barcelo costa resort in cancun we were very satisfied with resort staff were very helpful and a pleasure to be with we were very pleased with front desk staff they did an excellent job planing on going back in the fall of this year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were all excellent
The weak points
Better cuts of meat roast beef was tough to eat every time
Certified

This hotel is nice

, Guelph, ON
2015-04-14
Last month i went to barcelo in cancun with my boyfriend, it was very nice that place, we love the beach and we are so happy with this hotel. i recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach, food and drinks
The weak points
no weak points

Wonderful !!

, Montreal, QC
2015-04-02
This place has it all ! i love it !, This hotel is excellent for vacations ! really nice food and drinks. i'm so happy [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food and service
The weak points
no weak points

The best hotel

, Toronto, ON
2015-03-04
i really likes this hotel, i love mexican food they have !!, drinks are just the best !! recommend this hotel for everybody !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
mexican food !! the best !
The weak points
none

Nice Hotel

, Kelowna, BC
2015-03-04
Recommend this hotel, my first time un cancun, best vacations in years !!, they have excellent service, rooms are really nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
perfect service, excellent food.
The weak points
the just have one pool but its really nice.

Just perfect

, Kelowna, BC
2015-03-04
This hotel have everything to have a nice vacations, the food was really good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food
The weak points
They dont't have any weak points

Excellent hotel

, Kelowna, BC
2015-02-27
This hotel is really nice, they have a perfect service and real good mexican food ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food and service.
The weak points
the pool, they just have one.

Barcelo Costa Cancun

, Winkler,, MB
2015-02-22
Had a wonderful time with great staff and food, Resort was just a little to small for us and the wifi was way to expensive for the bad reception [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great staff
The weak points
too small
Certified

Enjoyed our Stay

, Regina, SK
2014-06-19
The resort was the perfect size. No walking for blocks to find what you needed. All restaurants were in close proximity as well as beach and bars. Service was excellent in every area of the hotel. The cleanliness of our room as well as the rest of the resort was superb. The poolside bathrooms were always clean which was very much appreciated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and food
The weak points
No free wifi
Certified

Barcelo Costa Cancun

, Lethbride, AB
2014-03-10
Everything was great. The best that I have experienced yet. Have been to Mexico 10 times. This was the best for the vaulue we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was great espically Natasha & Irina. They were great & kept was entertained!!!
The weak points
The room view - was suppose to be ocean - definetely not!
Certified

Amazing winter getaway

, Pointe Aux Trembles, QC
2014-02-26
i've stayed in 5 stars hotel in Mexico, but this hotel was by far the best iv'e been too [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food and staff
The weak points
small beach
Certified

Clean, noisy and friendly

, Edmonton, AB
2014-01-16
This was our first holiday to Cancun. I've travelled to several different areas of Mexico, and would probably not go back to Cancun anytime in near future. Although the goal of our trip was really some RnR for 2 of us, we left our husbands and children at home, and wanted to get away from the every day hustle. We wanted a 10 day get away, and this one was the only one in our budget and time constraints. The hotel staff were very friendly, and spoke good english. The rooms were nice, the beds were a little hard, but has an avid traveller beds are a luxury, the food was great and the location of the hotel to other amenities were great. However, the beach is not very big or very clean. If you enjoy walking the beaches for miles, this isn't the place for you. The ocean is also constantly flooded with boats driving by the from sunrise till sunset. The smell of diesel is a predominant smell around the hotel. The Captain Cook and Jolly Ranger boats also dock just next to the resort, so you get the daily traffic and noise that comes from their events. Because the amenities are so close within the resort, you hear everything that is happening, pool activities to evening stage events. Everything does quiet down by 10 pm, but if you have kids who nap or people who are there for quiet get away, this might not be the place for you either. The weather is not something anybody can control, however because of the size and minimal amenities at the hotel, during the rainy days it can get long and cramped. But there's tons of other things to do in Cancun, and the bus system runs great and everything is on one strip. So you can't really get lost. The cleanliness and the friendly staff make up for most of it, and we overall had a god time. Would we go back, probably not, would I recommend the resort to others? Depending on the goal of your trip, this could be the right place for you, but if you're looking for a relaxing get away, with a quiet environment, I would recommend going further towards Playa or down to Tulum, or head to the Pacific coast. This was my second time at a Barcelo property, and my first experience was amazing, in Los Cabos San Jose, it was FABULOUS! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, good food, amenities are close within the hotel
The weak points
Beaches are small and dirty, diesel smell from boats, not many amenities within the hotel for rainy days
Certified

Barcelo Costa Cancun

, Errington, BC
2014-01-10
It was very beautiful and really enjoyed myself. I would go back again to this hotel and will tell others about it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was clean, service was very good and everyone was very friendly.
The weak points
Only the person taking reservations for the restaurants was not very helpful.
Certified

Great Trip

, Dartmouth, NS
2013-05-14
We had a great time at the hotel. It was very clean and we liked the fact that it was a small hotel, you didn't have to walk miles to get any where. The food was very good and they did a great job with their theme nights. The nightly entertainment was also great they went all out with the different shows they had. The staff were amazing very friendly and helpful always smiling and truly looked like they enjoyed their jobs. The beach was beautiful and clean there was always someone there cleaning up glasses, racking the beach and picking up garbage. We would go back in a minute. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were great, the food awsome and the location and size of the hotel.
The weak points
Poor lighting in the bathroom over the sink, and though the beach was beautiful it was small.
Certified

Trip to Barcelo

, Grand Barachois, NB
2013-02-25
I've travelled quite a bit but it was my first time to Cancun. We booked this thinking it would be a big party but most of the time it was mostly dead around the pool with no music after 4pm. We often went to the Pirate bar next door for entertainment. I never expect the food to be great at all inclusives since it's all the same but this food was below what I expected. Always the same things but not a lot of taste. We lived on chicken wings (which were awesome) and fries all week. They didnt even have bacon for breakfast which is pretty basic but you could have bacon wrapped shrimp at a la carte restaurants. We went to the Spanish one and was so delicious! The rooms are a good size with a huge bathroom. Like most reviews the beds and pillows are a bit hard and wouldve been nice to have a balcony that you can sit on.
The grounds were very clean and so was the beach. We didn't spend much time there since it was very windy and the only chairs available were in the trees so we stayed at the pool most of the week. The entertainment staff was great and made sure we were taken care of when we went to the clubs with them. Def buy your passes from them. Cost a bit more but its all you can drink, some places you get bottle service and you cut the lines, totally worth it.
All in all, was an ok trip. Not a 4 star resort and I probably won't return but for the price we paid, it was a good week away from the snow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms were a good size, it was close to everything, always able to find chairs around the pool and the Spanish Restaurant
The weak points
The beach was small, the food was not that good, slow service and no music after 4PM
Certified

Great time

, Russell, MB
2013-02-20
staff was friendly, food was good, rooms were great would go back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good location, snack bar open 24 hrs
The weak points
none
Certified

OKAY - but would not return

, London, ON
2013-02-17
The food was pretty good, the beach is nice and you can always find chairs in the sun or the shade. Also it is easy to get a reservation in the restaurants as well. When you first get to the hotel, the front lobby is very basic and not very nice. It gets better once you view the pool and central area and beach. It is close to the shuttle boat which takes you to the island for $17, go there for a day and rent a golf cart to drive the island for the day. Well worth it. They totally rip you off for internet, this should be included but they charge you for it.. Save your money and go to the pirate bar which is right beside the resort on the beach and they will give you free internet if you buy a beer for $2. Biggest complaint, THE POOL IS TURNING EVERYTHING GREEN... I read a few complaints on it from months ago and it is true... White bathing suits, turning GREEN.. Your hair, turns green... There was an 11 year old and she had long blonde hair and her parents even took her to the salon to have them try to recolor and fix her hair with no luck. I even talked to the pool guy in the morning and told him and his response was spray it with cleaner.. I am sorry, but BARCELO FIRE THE POOL GUY and get it right... Your pool is a major necessity to be able to swim in without going green, so drain the water and put fresh in and have someone maintain it properly. Rooms were okay, the beds were very hard, washrooms was decent. It was the cheapest 4 star we would find so you get what you paid for but I should of paid more and went somewhere else. There is no night life, no dance bar, no swim up bar and the entertainment at 9:00 is very bad. The only night that was good is when they had a band playing for casino night. The weather was perfect, so we enjoyed the weather and the beach and nice sand. We also enjoyed the spa and had a couple massages which we recommend to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was pretty good, great weather, beach was nice, and Spa is nice.
The weak points
Pool turning everything green, no free wifi, no night life, entertainment was bad.
Certified

Barcelo

, Aylmer, ON
2013-02-11
Everything at this hotel was nice. The beach, the pool, the staff, the food. The entertainment at night was good, activities in the daytime. The staff was knowledgeable and transportation to and from airport was taken care of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and cleanliness.
The weak points
Music too loud, buffet could have used a bit more variance. Biggest loser point...when you check out at noon you cease to exist. Very bad feeling when you have to sit and wait 4 hours to leave and the security watch you like a hawk :(
Certified

Enjoyed it!

, Vienna, ON
2013-01-19
We had paid for the cheapest room type and were upgraded to the superior ocean view room for no extra charge. The room was spacious and clean. The food was excellent, as well as the service. All the staff were friendly. The nightly entertainment wasn't very exciting but that's ok. Nice and close to the airport and downtown. The beach was small but alright. The pool is very large. Overall one of the nicest places we have stayed. Would definitely go back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, room, staff
The weak points
Nightly entertainment, size of beach
Certified

The place to be!

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-10
Fabulous hotel... extremely well maintained with great entertainment staff. The food at the buffet was great to my surprise... my only complaints is the beds were very hard and there was no swim up bar. Other than that, this is the place to be! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Staff Cleanliness Food
The weak points
Hard Beds
Certified

Good Trip - except for the Cockroaches

, Calgary, AB
2012-09-07
Overall I can't really complain about this resort. The staff we friendly, except the front desk staff seems a little clueless but it's Mexico and it happens at other resorts as well. Like other reviews there were a ton of young people there and at the wee hours of the morning they were still partying (outside our door it seem). The beach is fine but if you are looking for that crystal blue water it's not there - the beaches of Varedero beat Cancun hands down. Oh ya did I mention the cockroaches, gross. The resort does have an issue with these bugs - couldn't sleep thinking about them crawling all over me which is to bad because the beds were really comfortable. If I hadn't seem the bugs I would go back to this resort but I just can't do it now. Glad my trip was only 5 days don't think I could have stayed any longer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bar staff were fantastic, restaurant manager was fantastic, it's not a mega huge resort which is very nice, easy access to pool and beach.
The weak points
Cockroaches, drinks were not very good.
Certified

For a great time relaxing in the sun

, Mississauga, ON
2012-05-27
We had a fantastic time at the resort. The food was amazing, the bars were lots of fun and the staff was very accommodating. I have no complaints about anything at this resort. I would recommend it to anyone looking to have a great time drinking, eating, relaxing by a pool and sitting on the beach. If you need a place with an area for swimming in the ocean, this may not be it. But if you want great lounging areas by the pool and in the sand this is the place for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic, great variety. The service was outstanding.
The weak points
Front desk was satisfactory, but not much more. The beach is not that big and the swimming at the beach is not great.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021