Grand Oasis Palm

Grand Oasis Palm
3.163.163.163.163.16
3.16 based on 79 reviews
#36 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (11)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

WORST PLACE. Never Ever go there.

, Cambridge, ON
2019-12-30
There are following points to consider before you book this resort.
1). Rooms are very very old. I had bathroom leak from floor above me. And water smell is horrible. If you are taking shower with bathroom door closed, you can't even breath that steam.
2). During my stay at this resort I had complain multiple people that 2nd and 3rd floor is smell like gutter. But every time they were like let me check with people who can fix this and they continue checking in people or doing something behind their desk. As far as I remember I told Judith and Olivia. No Action were taken and Luckily this was my second last day so I had to only pass one day which I did. But No one listen to you if you complain about something.
3). I overheard about bathroom got flooded and all the water was coming out of their room. Lady who was complaining at front desk, front desk folks are like Yes we understand but we don't have another room. Really?????? There were bunch of rooms empty but they don't want to give that. Finally that lady argued and asked them to come to her side and feel it. Finally they gave her another room. My point is why do I need to fight and argue for something where its not even my fault. It's the resort and bathrooms are too old.
4). Forget about your temperapedic and firm mattresses. Get ready to sleep in sagging mattresses. They say with kids they have themed room but when you go there, it's totally different story.
5). Never ever stay in 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor. And special near elevator rooms. There are pool table and sports bar and tvs are right there in lobby. So you will hear people screaming and loud noises. If you are early sleeper like me around 11ish you can't sleep. You have to hear those noise till 1 am and then slowly it dies down. This is very important if you stay on first 3 floor. From 4th floor they have glass covered lobby so noise does not travel to your room.
6). Lets talk about FOOD. If you are VEGETERIAN or VEGAN, forget about this place. I think resort folks behave like vegetarian and vegan does not exist. When I booked this resort I did call them and customer service told that captain or manager of each restaurant can make something special. Really…….. You literally have to fill your tummy with bread and bread and bread and bread…….
So small answer if you are vegetarian don't even think about going here.
7). They don't provide any floaters or life jacket for kids in swimming area. So make sure if your kids don't know how to swim then you need to buy floaters, THEY DO SELL THAT TOO. (Hey where is all Inclusive word come from).
8). I think some other reviewer talks about GRAND status. Yes they have only one building and from 5th floor to 8th floor for GRAND and from 1st floor to 4th Floor for normal people. The video that shows online about OASIS Palm it's fake. They don't own both wings of the building. Without GRAND status you have access to all BARS and 7 restaurant except 2 which haven't tried.
9). Tours people sit at the entrance of the building. Don't buy extra activity from them. As for example we bought ticket for xel-ha water part ticket and dolphins encounter. They gave us 20% discount but at park if you buy this extra optional activity (dolphin, Zip Bike, Walk under water) then it is much cheaper. For some of us we bought same dolphin encounter at park 50% off. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Excellent Family Resort

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2019-04-25
Resort was well maintained and clean. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our family feel welcome. The resort had a real Mexico feel which we loved.
Food was above average at all the buffets and ala carte restaurants we visited with even the snack bar on the beach offering up some delicious burgers and sushi.
Daily activities around the pool and shows at night were really well done.
Beach was beautiful. Highly recommend for families with younger kids [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kid friendly, well maintained and clean resort with above average food at a great price
The weak points
Could use a little larger area for adults only for guests that don't have children
Certified

Ok

, Kitchener, ON
2019-02-15
ill start by saying that this hotel is def not a 5 star or even a 4.5 . Its a low 4 star at best. We were a group of 10 with 4 kids under 5. The beach was beautiful but you needed to reserve chairs at 7 in order to garantee a shady spot. Towels were plenty and could be exchanged whenever. The pools by the beach were not friendly for kids under 5. tThey are suitable for 10 and up. However there is a pool for little ones in the kids club, but unless you drop your kids off, its one adult per family. I thought this was ridiculous as we came on a family vacation to spend quaility time with our kids and their grandparents. Also the rest of the toys at the kids club were very dirty. At other kids clubs we have stayed at (5star resorts) my husband and I could both stay with our 3 kids.
The food was good. It was tasty and well cooked. There were plenty of options of meat and veg. Salad was fresh and always avaliable. There was never icecream at the buffet which was shocking and no smoothie bar . Another reason why this cant be a 5 star.
The rooms need major upgrades. Bathrooms have mold on all faucets. I requested 2 queen beds and got a room with two double beds for us 5. My parents asked for a king bed and got the same two double beds I did just pushed together. The cleaning staff was good and water was restocked every two days.
Coffee and me bar was amazing! The staff were very friendly!
We had one day of rain before we left and nothing was put into place to make it fun for the kids. And besides the Mariachi band entertainment is very poor. Kids show starts at 9 on Friday and Saturday!!!!! Again kid friendly if kids are over 10.
The staff members hardly speak any English and the stores do not carry simple essentials like dipers!
Wifi is not free and must be purchased. As does a safe. This again is obv not a 5 star rated resort.
Overall our family had a fun time but we will certainly not be coming back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

3 Star at Best - Should be Families Only

, Christina Lake, BC
2018-04-09
This is a resort for families and there is no adult sections as advertised. Lots of activities for kids. The beaches are clean and good swimming. Close to Ferry terminal; easy to catch a bus to town for shopping (12 pesos or $1USD). This resort is at best a 3 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches are nice; Staff are friendly (short staffed); Coffee Shop is great (Americanos) big variety of specialty coffees; Good variety of food and fresh fruit (guacamole hard to find); Good live music in evening; Vendors set up in evening
The weak points
WiFi $30USD for 5 days; Safe $5USD/day A la carte restaurants you have to line up at 3-3:15 to get reservations & some are 1st come first serve; Do not enforce adult only section (balanese beds $300 pesos per day); There are a lot of extras not included
Certified

Not for families with young kids

, Edmonton, AB
2018-04-03
1. Hotel room: looks beautiful and clean but things are falling apart. The bathtub/shower faucet was constantly leaking and didn't work, asked the staff to fix it, they did a quick fix but broke again, i had to fix it by myself but it was still leaking. The air conditioner started dripping lots of water during the last 2 days of our stay but we didn't bother to change room or get it fixed.
2. Hotel lobby: there are only 3 tiny elevators for the entire hotel, and sometimes one of them was out of order. For many times, we had to hold baby to walk up and down the stairs instead of waiting for the elevators because they were full. (we were on the 7th floor!)
3. Pools: all the pools (except the one inside the kids club) are too deep for young kids. There's only one small area in one of the pools in which my 6 year old son can swim a bit.
4. Restaurants: the buffet restaurants are ok but generally lack of variety and lack of vegetables. The pizza and pasta restaurant was very slow and they served me a burnt pizza! The Japanese-Mexican fusion restaurant was a joke, they don't have green tea and sake (Japanese wine)! The teriyaki beef with rice that i ordered for my son tasted no better than those you can eat in any Edo in a food court. The snack/sushi bar was running out of wings for twice i went there and out of sushi another time though it was only 2:30pm!
5. Captain Hook boats - I thought it was part of the hotel amenities/attractions for kids but you actually have to pay for it and it set off and comes back too late at night (6:45-9:45pm). We have a 6 year old and a 18m, gotta put them to bed latest by 9pm. The 6 yo was so disappointed.
6. Overall: the resort is very small and very crowded. The shows/stage entertainment were too late (even the kids show). We didn't watch any show at all this time whereas in other resorts that we went before, we watched every single show with our son every night and they were spectacular. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and friendly staff. Good services. Good location. Beautiful beach. Nice cafe with nice coffee.
The weak points
Hotel room not well maintained. Pools are too deep for kids. Restaurants lack of variety and lack of vegetables, sometimes run out of food early. Shows and entertainment are too late - can't watch with kids. Lack of elevators.
Certified

Loud music

, Montréal, QC
2018-03-12
If you like to get a good's night rest, this place is not for you! There is music playing (by the pool) until about midnight every night, and this can be heard from whichever room you were located as walls are very thin. I was not able to sleep until the music stopped. This is very annoying when you've had a long day by the pool/beach.

Food: Restaurant staff generally kind and happy to serve clients, except for the pasta lady at the Los Lunas buffet, and the lady at the front entrance at the Las Palmas.

Unfortunately, there were only 2 restaurants I was able to attend with my kids. The Los Agaves (mexican, very good) which required you to stand in the heat for 45 min to get a table (you are required to make reservations at 4pm each day, but the line up starts at 3:15).
Suggestion - like with other hotels, the concierge desk should take reservations for the entire week in the morning from like 9-10 am. We should not have to wait to reserve for anything more than 1 time. When I enquired with Los Agaves, they stated that the concierge desk used to take reservations, but they were not aware of capacity. SO, get informed on capacity and you've solved your problem!

The Bamba (seafood) : No reservations required, but we waited 45 min at least to get seated. Very slow service. Terrible food. Fish of the dayt was boiled and overyl salted. Clam chowder soup terrible and no fish in sight. Tasted like blended baby food.

Maki Taco : Fusion cuisine. Went there for lunch. VERY GOOD. Service great!

Sushi restaurant : Went there for lunch. VERY GOOD. Service great!

Buffets : The buffets had repetitive food but you will find smtg good to eat.

Coffee and Me : Great coffee. Frozen chocolate or Hot chocolate for kids and Frapuccino for adults!
*I suggest staffing a 2nd girl in the morning from 7-10 am, to avoid 30 min waits.

Hotel : Generally very clean but is a little old and needs renovating.

Elevator very slow. But I see a new one being installed. Thank goodness. The Hotel should make sure the new elevator is air conditioned!

Front desk : Christopher at the front desk was a doll. So sweet. Thank you for being so nice!

Oasis sister Hotels: I booked this hotel based on the fact that I would be able to visit other sister hotels. Apart from the Oasis Tulum located 2 hrs away which I chose not to visit, I was NOT able to go to the Grand Oasis Cancun because it was 'March Break'. I find that ridiculous and am very angry that this information was not disclosed on the hotel information sheet upon booking. This was the largest factor for choosing this hotel. Stay at 1 / Play at 2 or more!

Wifi Access: very expensive (the other hôtels do not charge, but I figure this is because it is a prty hotel and the hotel makes money from all the teens).

This hotel tries to target too many audiences. Is it a party hotel for teens or a family hotel? If you are targeting kids and families, restaurants should allow kids, and music should not go on until midnight as kids need their rest. Please...

Rooms : Nice and clean. Cleaning staff quick to clean rooms. Very happy about that!

Beach: Shallow because located in a cove. Great for small kids, but my 12 and 8 yr old boys wanted waves, alas. Some seaweeds in the water unfortunately. Royal Cancun neighboring hotel has clearer water.
Towels service closes at 5.

Pools: Very crowdy with many kids. Music was VERY loud all day long. I like music, but this was RIDICULOUSLY loud. People are there to relax on their vacation, not to hear crazy loud music from 9am!

Car rental : At the lobby you can rent a car for about 60$US for an Aveo. Book online at Hertz for example (near Fiesta Amercana) which is a 10 min bus ride away.
At front desk was cheaper at $35USD for same car, fully insured. Online will be no more than $20-$25 fully insured. Do your due diligence!

We went to Tulum and the Gran Cenote for the day. Was an amazing experience. Just make sure to respect the speed limit. We had no problems!
*Tulum : Gorgeous views. Parking 180 pesos. Entrance $10USD. Kids under 10 yrs old $5.
*Gran Cenote : Beautiful experience. Rental for locker and jackets and snorkling between 100-150 pesos ea.

Day trip to Isla Mujeres is a must. Ferry $19pp. Playa Norte is beautiful!!! Clear water. $25 US for 2 chairs and an umbrella. Rent a golf cart for $700 pesos ($40US) for the day, located right accross from Ferry when you get out. Do not rent at the ferry (will tell you cheaper but it is not).

Bus: 12 pesos or $1 USD. WIll give you change for pesos only.
To go downtown, it's a 15 min bus ride to Mercato 28. Walmart right across the Mercato 28. Loved the Walmart as many of the same souvenirs for 1/3 of the price elsewhere!

Overall : Great vacation because it was Mexico and there are so many day trips and places to visit. Location is great. Would I return to that Hotel, I don't think so. A 3.5 star hotel at most. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms very clean Shallow beach great for small kids Central location (5 min walk to Ultramar ferry for Isla Mujeres) Coffee and Me (great coffee)
The weak points
Long wait to make reservations Not a "family oriented restaurants" hotel My kids a little bored with the same selections (great breakfaast at the Los Lunas buffet) Towels service closes at 5 Not able to visit Grand Oasis Cancun No waves at beach
Certified

Great Vacation!

, Sundridge, ON
2018-01-30
This is a wonderful resort geared towards family vacations. The food was excellent as well as the service. The place is kept spotless. We had a street view room with a balcony which was fantastic to sit out and watch the world go by. The bed was comfy and the chambermaids were very thorough and pleasant. I would recommend this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spotless, great food and comfy bed!
The weak points
Slow elevators- take the stairs
Certified

Review GRAND OASIS PALM

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-29
It is good....................................... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

1week get away in cancun

, Maple Ridge, BC
2017-02-22
Terrible system for food, always a line up at almost all places that are available to eat at. The food isn't the best quality food either. There are NO 24hour bar nor is there a 24 hour buffet. only food available after 11pm is hot dogs, burgers, and fires which are not the best quality and are frozen [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean hotel well managed
The weak points
food and drink services arent the best, therefore you don't get a 100% all inclusive experience out of it
Certified

Stay away

, North York, ON
2017-01-10
The concierge manager (Carlos) is a sly person, never believe him. We went to him once, he told us all their restaurant share the same menu, and show us a buffet place calmly. It made us really sick.

The resort policy is to push tourists from restaurant to buffet, from buffet to snack. Open time is always changing, reservation policy is changing everyday as well. The food sucks, tastes like feet. You could also be poisoned, we were sick two days.

If you get a very good discount, e.g. below $1K kids free, go ahead to try, otherwise go to another resort, save your money, save you time, save your vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The concierge manager (Carlos) is a sly person, never believe him. We went to him once, he told us all their restaurant share the same menu, and show us a buffet place calmly. It made us really sick.

Happy New Year!

, Lundar, MB
2016-01-19
We had a good time at the Grand Oasis Palm for a week at New Years. The beach, drinks and the rooms were very good, the buffets were "ok". We loved the sea food restaurant and the restaurant called "Agaves". The adjacent peanut bar was also a favourite of ours. Getting the water bottles replaced in your room every day was a crap shoot and the process for making reservations for the a la cartel restaurants that apparently don't take reservations is still baffling to us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean rooms, good quality drinks, Agaves and the peanut bar, and the calm beach.
The weak points
The system for "booking" the a la cart restaurants, expensive and spotty wifi, poor selection of snacks.
Certified

Birthday celebration gone wrong

, Waterloo, ON
2015-01-17
This was a wasted holiday for us because I got food poisoning on my second day at la bamba restaurant. so I did not feel well for the rest of the week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
food quality and selection. no wifi. no sun around pool.
Certified

Not the best vacation

, Moncton, NB
2014-04-04
Wasnt a nice hotel, food wasnt good, service not the best, the kids club member not friendly and welcoming my son didnt want to go. The maid no communications, late cleaning slow giving towels, no special treatments and nice decor for my son. I would not recommend this hotel so many great ones to choose from at a good price why waist time and money here. The unique peole are a pain and buggin u every day waiting for u at the elevators is pretty extreme not a relax pleasant vacation at all stress of being bothered all the time. Elevators very slow and small. Shower water burned our skin, one minute it was cold the next was burning hot. No balconies in the rooms to dry our clothes or just even sit and relax. No lobby bar that would serve us with a kid. People got money stolen and our cards were disacticated the day before what a pain. Reservations a la carte was a joke we only got into the Mexican and it was grost, never ask us if we wanted a drink they gave us their "special" drink but nothing else didnt dare asking in case they charged. The only thing good about this trip was the captain hook boat funny and intertaining for all. i hope my review helped and hope to hear from u soon.
Thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pool
The weak points
All the rest
Certified

Evaluation Of Hotel

, St Catharines, ON
2014-02-08
The hotel and all facilities were super. Food was excellent, staff friendly and welcoming, anything else that was offered truly exceptional. All in all it was an experience beyond our expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
convenient stops for public transportation to other areas of the town and the port for the pirate shows,
The weak points
Internet should be included in a 5 star resort, elevators really small
Certified

Good and Bad

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-05
To start they gave us a room that was already occupied. Then they told us that they will offer the very last room in the hotel and it was an "upgrade" however we found that it was a very average room. All rooms are apparently the same but with kings with 2 double beds pushed together and other rooms with 2 double beds apart. The pool is nice but in the shade most of the day. The buffet is okay. Service is good but the food is hit and miss. The a la carte resturants need to be booked at 8:30 am in the morning and you wait with the rest of the poor saps in line. We never got a table as they booked up fast. If you go at night, they tell you that they are full, though they tables are usually half full. The beach is calm and a bit weedy in spots. It's good for kids as they don't get swept away from the waves. Overall the resort is nothing to write home about. Will avoid next time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not worth mentioning.
The weak points
Most aspects of the hotel.
Certified

Absolute disaster...

, Markham, ON
2014-01-02
My friend and I arrived at this hotel on Dec 23rd 2013. We had paid quite a bit for it, and judging by the reviews we were expecting to have a great time...but it ended up being the worst trip and experience of my life. We had paid for a beachfront room and the upgrade fee which we were told included 1 hr of free wifi per day as well as the safe. However, when we got there we found out that no free wifi was included nor a safe (as a matter of fact, wifi did not work ANYWHERE except in the lobby). They also placed us in a room beside the disco on the first floor which was very loud. When we complained, we got put in another room that was not clean (e.g., vomit and dirty towels everywhere...)...when we complained again they finally gave us a better room. Throughout our entire stay, the line ups for food were ridiculous (30-40 minute wait times!) and it was impossible to get tanning chairs unless you arrived before 8:00am. In addition, my friend's bedside light was not working. We called them to come upstairs twice to fix it...nobody came. Then we went downstairs to ask and when they came to our room they said they 'cannot do anything about it....". Furthermore, our fridge was stocked only every other day and 4 out of the 7 days we were not given ANY shower towels...when we called about these, once again, nobody came so every day we would have to go downstairs and get our own towels. To make things worse, on Christmas Day our room flooded. To make things even worse, I got a severe case of food poisoning from the food at this resort (it was the only food I ate on my trip). I sat in my room puking for hours and then called the front desk so that they can put me through to the doctor from my room. The man at the front desk simply laughed at me and hung up. I tried calling a second time and they told me 20 minutes. I waited 40 minutes and no doctor came so I called a third time. Eventually they told me that I had to dial a different number. After being in hospital for about 2 days I was finally released the day that I was supposed to check out. I couldn't check out at the original time due to being hospitalized so I called the hotel and told my roommate to let them know that I will need to pack up my stuff and shower and that I will be back to do so before 5:00pm. When I get to the hotel (at noon) I find the maid moving my stuff and going through it. I told her not to touch my stuff and she simply told me to check out because I had to...after explaining myself to the staff at the front desk they gave me about 45 mins to shower and pack my stuff.
This was the worst hotel I had ever stayed at...
the staff was rude and unprofessional and the food was terrible (a guy in line was given undercooked pork and I landed with food poisoning). I will be sending a complaint letter to the company I booked this hotel through demanding for a refund
NEVER STAY HERE UNLESS YOU WANT TO END UP IN THE HOSPITAL [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, location,
The weak points
bad food that gave me food poisoning, rude staff, long waits for food, no tanning chairs
Certified

Would not return!

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-25
The workers seem more interested in talking amongst each other than they are with helping their guests. The room had a lot of maintenance problems that took 3-4 days to get fixed. The shower went from scolding hot to freezing cold numerous times during the shower, and the toilets never flushed properly. The maids generally sis not get around to cleaning the room until around 5-7 PM - one night they did not come until 7 and were upset when we said they can just do it tomorrow! The beach is very tiny and the sand is full of seaweed...it is not kept very clean. There are lots of bars but they are in inconvenient places - and the service is awful. They shut down early (most before 6 PM) soo you need to go in a smelly nightclub to get a drink as it's the only one open. Overall, very unimpressed with this hotel and would never return! It is a good spot for families, but that's about it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great for families Clean pools Nice view Workers spoke pretty good English
The weak points
Tiny beach No wifi / you have to pay for your own locker Food was okay, same food every night though Bartender service sucked! They made you feel like a nuisance when you wanted a drink
Certified

, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia Canada Apr 2013

, New Waterford, NS
2013-04-23
First time in Cancun... I have to say that it was a wonderful time!! The room was beautiful. Service was great. Food was great. The Sun was shinning, very HOT everyday.. The Beach was wonderful, Pool as well..Lots to do. Nothing to complain about.. Met a lot of people from all over the world.. Much more than what I expected.. Cheers!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything about the Grand Oasis Palm had Strong points!!!
The weak points
Nothing to mention...
Certified

A great vacation

, Cornwall, ON
2013-03-25
Great family vacation and worth the price. Decent food and lots of things to do. Biggest downfall was spring breakers so it was exceptionally loud. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not sure what all the complaints were about the beach bec/ it was beautiful. Clean grounds. Buffets were decent & large variety. Drinks were nice & cold. Located right on the "strip" so location was perfect and only 15 min bus ride to Walmart.
The weak points
Spring break! We were too old (40s) to be vacationing with them. Loud partiers (which we should have expected it during spring break). Water temperature in bathroom wasn't consistent. Seafood a-la-carte wasn't very good. WIFI kept losing service.
Certified

Grand Oasis Palm Feb 2013

, Shallow Lake, ON
2013-02-14
This hotel has a few issues. i.e. elevators, noise levels in halls and rooms, restrooms when on the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach.
The weak points
Walls a little thin and hall noise. Restrooms were a little sparse when on the beach. Since this building has 10 floors 2 small elevators is a little trying at times.
Certified

First stay at an Oasis resort

, Brossard, QC
2012-12-31
This is my first stay at an Oasis resort. The sun, sand and sea are the same wherever you are in Cancun (yes I know that other resorts have better beaches, turquoise water). But I was there to relax and enjoy good food and most important under a superb weather.

I am glad that I booked the "Grand Oasis Palm" instead of the Oasis Palm for a litte extra. The restaurants at Grand Oasis are then accessible and also have a better buffet quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1. Lots of space and area to relax 2. Generally good food 3. Good friendly staff in most restaurants (Reyes, Del Nortes, Las Palmas)
The weak points
1.Front Desk Communication on first day on hotel facilities poor. No Grand Oasis Palm channel to explain. 2.Gym facilities is inferior (the worst I have experienced) 3. House Keeping (Daily call to get the right type of towel) 4.Entertainment
Certified

Grand oasis palm

, Brampton, ON
2012-03-20
we had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything you could want you have
The weak points
should be better insulated for noise
Certified

Grand Oasis Palm Beach in Cancun-2012

, Tottenham, ON
2012-03-07
I thought the hotel was great was so very clean and the rooms were so BIG and so clean. The only part of the resort was the party and music until 1a.m. and so loud.The food and so was the service. I would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Right on main strip out front is the bus to all the shopping you need, I would go there again. I rated it 10
The weak points
The poeple on the front just NOT friendly at all and didn't always have the information you needed.It is always ask someone else at times.
Certified

Very Nice but too quiet

, Stlazare, QC
2012-02-08
Vacationed from Jan 28 to Feb 4. Overall the Grand Oasis Palm is a very nice, classy place to stay at. The beds are extremely comfortable and you are close to all restaurants, bars and pools on the site. If you are looking for a very relaxing place to go, this is it BUT if you are looking for ocean waves and mile long beaches to walk on, then this is not where you want to stay. This is a great place for small children as the water is not deep. We took day passes to go to the other all inclusive Oasis Cancun Resort for the real ocean waves and it only cost $ 1US dollar per person each way on a city bus which is about 15-20 mins away. The city bus was a great experience and very safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely well maintained grounds, very clean, very safe, good food, a walk away from the location to take boat tours.
The weak points
The bay has no waves and you cannot walk past certain limits due to the boat dock at the hotel end of things and a rock wall of sorts a ways down the beach.
Certified

They really should know what they are doing.

, Calgary, AB
2012-01-12
Grand Oasis Palm....A beautiful place to visit but.....We found the front desk of all things to be a disaster. Case in point...trying to exchange US Dollars to Mexican Pecos....I was asked for a copy of my passport. Really to exchange money even if I was a guest of the resort. That would be fine but when you ask the night staff, I was not asked the same. We also had issues with the "free wi-fi" as we were told numerous times that the system was down...but yet looking over my shoulder someone was on a popular social network.(Facebook)....geez hard to believe the system was down...One last thing was there were shows there about 3 times a week but when you went to the front desk to ask where they were being held, they didn't know. I had to go explore the hotel to find the room where the shows were. Hmmmm

Anyways over a 6 out of 10 as the rooms were clean, food was good, most of the staff was good (excluding the front desk) but the "face of your hotel is not clear as to what to do and where things are" leave this vacationer with a bad taste in his mouth

SI [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and Rooms were great
The weak points
Front staff clueless
Certified

Not a family resort

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2011-12-18
I have been in cancun resorts and this one was the worse.
We booked a ocean view room but they told us its not availble, after arguing that we have paid for it we got the room and instead of two bed we got one bed and sofa bed.
Hotel is clean and room service is fine. Food is not great , beach is weedy with no wave atall almost no entertainment at nights.
You should pay for internet (expensive)and safe luck.
Overall not a Resort for families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Beach,night entertainment
Certified

Great hotel

, Toronto, ON
2010-07-31
They do need air conditioning in the halls and the elevators. other than that, it's a great hotel that i would recommend my friends [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great beaches and excellent customer service.
The weak points
no air conditioning in halls and elevators
Certified

Good Trip

, Barrie, ON
2010-05-06
We just got back from vacation and had a good time. The only complaints we had were that where it says water sports are included you have to bus or taxi it to Aqua world to partake in them. Note to everyone, snorkling is NOT included as it states in the all inclusive package, it is a $40 charge, which we found out after taking a bus with no extra money to spend. We were very disappointed. Also the nightly entertainment sucked and only lasted until 10:30pm, there is no disco or anywhere to dance on the resort. Other than that, the food was good, as expected and the service as well. Resort was kept clean as was our room. Have been to Cancun before and if you are going as a family or a couple to relax and don't mind paying to go to the bars downtown then we would recommend it. If you are looking for more of a party place with nightly entertainment or good night bars, then choose another one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food, nice resort, quiet spots, located right on the beach
The weak points
not much space to swim because of all the boats and seadoos that pass by, no snorkling included and have to travel for other water activities.
Certified

GREAT Family Resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2010-04-14
Enjoyable - clean property - great pools and restaurants! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLEAN - GREAT RESTAURANTS
The weak points
FRONT DESK NOT TOO HELPFUL AT TIMES - SOME CONFUSION ABOUT OUR REQUEST FOR A ROLLAWAY
Certified

Gr. Oasis Caribbean

, Ottawa, ON
2010-03-29
We were a little disappointed with a few things at this hotel, we didn't get a king size bed in our room instead we got 2 double beds pushed together that weren't even the same height. The food is pretty the same at each restaurant, buffet, buffet, buffet. If you want a chair by the beach or pool, get up at 7am and go put a towel on some chairs, if you don't you won't get one until mid/late afternoon. $4/night for the lock for the safe, well worth it though. We won't be going back to the Gr. Oasis Caribbean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good, but needs more variety. Restaurant staff are very helpful.
The weak points
Not enough beach chairs!! Lobby staff needs to be more helpful. Need to have more than 1 person for check in/out. This hotel needs more elevators.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021