Dreams Sands Cancun Rst And Spa

Dreams Sands Cancun Rst And Spa
3.523.523.523.523.52
3.52 based on 44 reviews
#43 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (4)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Dreams -Cancún

, Amherstburg, ON
2019-03-11
We were there last year. Overall good. Biggest downside - constant sales pitch to buy next year's vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and responsive staff, good size and clean room, good entertainment, good variety and quality of food. Seemed safe & secure
The weak points
Lack of extended checkout for late departures. check out at noon - bus at 7:10 pm. Not being able to use Olio restaurant Like last year. restricted to Preferred guests & not advised about the option. Constant sales pitch to buy next year's vacation.
Certified

Annoying Hotel Reps.

, Powell River, BC
2019-01-21
This is a typical All Inclusive Resort with a great beach. The noise around the pool by the staff is annoying and not necessary as are the hotel reps. who hound people as soon as they arrive to attend meetings. People are there for a vacation, not to attend meetings. That has to stop ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel has the best beach in the immediate area. The wait staff is friendly and polite. The common areas were constantly being swept and mopped and our room was cleaned daily and restocked with fresh towels and bottled water.
The weak points
We absolutely Did Not like how the hotel reps. hounded us to attend a meeting, which apparently we heard lasted 3 hours, just so you could save a few bucks!! Coupons should be included in the welcome pkg. and that should be it.
Certified

Needs some work

, Lethbridge, AB
2016-01-26
Food was fantastic but resort was dated and needs a facelift [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food the restaurants were all fantastic best food of any resort I have been at
The weak points
The building rooms and a lot of common ares were very dated and some even needed repair
Certified

AVOID

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-27
No free Wifi. No fridge. We complained and they gave fridge on our last day. Water would turn run out during shower few times. Restaurants are not open late. So if you go clubbing and come back to hotel hungry, you're out of luck. Some bartenders would refuse to give drinks unless you tip them.
Overall I would AVOID this hotel. They don't offer free wifi so you cannot even help promote them through social media! It was scary taking a shower because you didn't know if the water would last. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, cleanliness
The weak points
No wifi, shower water not reliable, no late food
Certified

VERY KINKY!

, Orleans, ON
2014-03-16
I really enjoyed my stay at Grand Oasis Viva. It was truly an experience and I am already looking forward to visiting more oasis hotels in my travels. I highly recommend it. There are 5 selection of Oasis hotels to choose from where I stayed in Cancun, and there's something for everyone here, you only need to choose. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Although there is a lack of entertainment during the day, the evening entertainment shows are truly spectacular! - The Food and the view is amazing here!
The weak points
-Out of 7 restaurants to choose from, the variety is great but the waiting time in some restaurants is somewhat horrible. -The bedrooms have paper thin walls, if you are light sleeper then it's too bad for you.
Certified

Great Adults only vacation!

, Keswick, ON
2014-03-02
We met so many great people. The beach was stunning. We will return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Food
Certified

Great holiday

, Cochrane, AB
2014-02-27
food was very good at all the restaurants, entertainment was great and varied. overall I would recommend the hotel and i would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food
The weak points
no premium liquers
Certified

Decent hotel for the money

, Yellowknife, NT
2014-02-22
It's not the nicest hotel in the world, but it's not the worst either. The food was good, the staff were ok, and drinks were great and not watered down. The beaches were nice and it's within walking distance of downtown. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is very nice and if you like going to the clubs, it's within walking distance. The food is pretty good, there was always something to eat.
The weak points
We are on vacation and would like a drink no matter what time of day, the bars are only open between 10 am and 1 am. Also we found that most bartenders were not too energetic, but they did serve good drinks.
Certified

It was O.K.but not a dream come true.

, West Baptiste, AB
2014-02-14
the Hotel, in general, was O.K., seemed to be a management problem with communication, staff, and vacationers. Had inconcistent theme, adults only, but every thing shuts down at 10:00 p.m. There is a lounge, but not enough room, noisy, not for everybody.Our biggest concern, we were getting bitten badly, when ever we tried to find out why, we were told mosquitos, however we are Canadians, and know they were not mosquito bites. Air Conditioners need to be maintained so mold/must does not enter your room. Not all rooms have balconies to be in the open air. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The no reservation A La Carts, nice to be able to just go, and they were excellent. The rooms were well cleaned.
The weak points
Dark, small elevators, so silly, and communication/location to resort activities, and to be able to communicate in English. the Buffet was not the best, and the room was very musty, bad when one is allergic to mold!
Certified

No room at the Inn at least not on the first night

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-10
First night, room was not ready. Transferred to Grand Oasis Smart. Little more than a motel. Had to go to corner store fto buy a beer. Transferred back to Grand Oasis Viva in the morning. Overall impression of staff was very pleasant and helpful. Offered apologies and a free weeks stay which I probably won't do. Room was always clean but the air conditioning smelled of mildew. Great Beach which was well maintained and my room had a great.view. Buffet and service was good. Italian restaurant well below par. Sushi bar mediocre...no Saki Shower in both hotels were broken. Friendly helpful smiling staff. Mexican restaurant average. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, helpful staff. View and the beach was outstanding.outside activities tours etc. were great.cleanliness was good aside from air conditioning mildew smell.
The weak points
Food other than the Buffet was mediocre at best. Plumbing complaints ongoing from other guests as well.
Certified

Meh

, Regina, SK
2013-12-29
Resort was okay. The place was nice and small and the beach was amazing.

Food was not very good and neither was the service. Took a lot to get a drink when eating at the buffet and generally if you did get one it was always at the end of the meal.

Room was okay but everything was slightly broken. On average 1 dresser knobs would fall off each day. Lights would take turn flickering and shut off, occasionally flooding during hard rain and problems with the shower. Place was clean though.

Drinks were okay. Mix and alcohol weren't the best quality and sometimes it was hard to get one. I would recommend staying away from the white wine. Yuck.

Best part of the resort was definitely the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location Great beach
The weak points
yucky food meh drinks meh service
Certified

Wouldn't go again

, Burlington, ON
2013-05-13
The hotel grounds were pretty good (nice beach, good pool) but there were no gardens. Also the beach was so rocky I cut my foot in the sand more than once. Something pissed me off about this hotel everyday. The internet package came in 1 day or 5 days, m ost vacations are 7 days. I didn't want to pay $30 for 5 days then pay another $10 per day to have the internet for the last two days. The food in the buffet was awful, the restaurants were okay but there was one resaurant that you had to pay for! The service in all of the restaurants was wonderful however, every server, bartender, host(ess) etc were the nicest people ever.
Wasn't too impressed that there was no balcony in the room. I'd rather a balcony than a TV. They leave you a bottle of wine in the room with no corkscrew. The front desk wouldn't break american bills and their excange rate was ROBBERY. All in all, Oasis, being as large a chain as it is, should have done better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff.
The weak points
See above comments. Too much to list twice
Certified

Not a 4 star for services

, Moose Jaw, SK
2013-02-25
I wouldnt spend over 500 dollars to stay here. Staff at reception or if you had problems were so non sympathetic. Too commercialized. They nickle and dime u to death. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was nice and well kept and our sunwing rep Mattieu was excellent
The weak points
Customer service was horrible. No club on site or nightlife on resort. No food past 9pm. No drinking before 1030am.
Certified

GRAND OASIS VIVA BCH

, Ottowa, QC
2010-07-03
Sorry, that is not a 4 and a half stars, according to Canadian standards. First of all, the air-conditioning was leaking forming a lake with water in the room! Second when the front desk staff was told about it they ignored it for over 48 hours. Only when I approached the concierge and told her "how can we escalate this issue" it registered with them that I am not kidding. Also, I don't get it, the elevators are so small and hot! The lights in the panel emit a lot of heat making it unbearable at times to be in a small elevator with another 5 people in it! The food was ok, but not spectacular. It may have been that this is off-season (end of June) for them so some things may improve during the busy months in the winter months. Overall, I don't think I'll go there again, maybe if the price drops to the point that its just too good. One more thing, sea weed! The beach was full with it. The staff tried to clean it up but there was so much that I think at the end they just gave up! As far Cancun goes, its all hassle for hassle everywhere you go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is close to the clubs.
The weak points
Lots.
Certified

Oasis or Grand Oasis that is the ?.

, Abbotsford, BC
2010-04-22
Well although I was not totally disapointed with this hotel I will say there are some things I really didnt like or expext.

First off after staying there for 2 weeks Im still not sure if this is a "Grand Oasis" or an Oasis. Everyone down there called it just Oasis Viva but on here they call it a grand which makes you think its a better property.

The wait staff and bartending was great however the front desk and especially the concierge desk were terrible.

Food was average to below average at best and did not have any variety what so ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff,
The weak points
Food, rocks on beach. pools close very early.
Certified

Amazing Days in Cancun

, Toronto, ON
2010-02-16
I and my girlfriend were in Grand Oasis Viva BCH on Feb 2010. Rooms were so clean with regular services, very friendly staff, many options for the meals with slightly above average quality.
All the rooms are Oceaview but do not expect fabolous view.
I had best week of my life in this hotel and I 100% recommend it to all the couples. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Easy public Transport, Mexican Italian Brazilian and international Restuarants.
The weak points
Phone System
Certified

Not so good, not so bad

, Port Dover, ON
2009-06-17
First impression.... Alot of people at the front desk with ALOT of complaints. Once we got past that, it wasn't too bad. Not a place for young singles - more of a family environment. Food was so so - very repetitive and always the same... do not drink the tap water... seriously. Alot of people got very sick. If you can make sure you upgrade to the black bracelet... well worth it! Beach wasn't too bad... but lawn chairs are gone very very early in the morning and people reserve them for the entire day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good beach, several dining options, walking distance to clubs and shopping,
The weak points
No Disco... and the nightly entertainment not so good. Swim up bar is limited and was closed during the week we were there.
Certified

Good Hotel

, Richmond Hill, ON
2009-06-17
The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. We ate at several restuarants at the hotel and all of them were very good.
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Review of Grand Oasis Viva Beach

, Victoria, BC
2009-06-17
I went to the Grand Oasis in February with two friends. We had a great time. The staff was friendly, the food was good. The beach in front of the hotel was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, friendly staff and bartenders.
The weak points
Not enough chairs by the pool. Pool was freezing -- not warm enough for February.
Certified

Very Nice Place!!

, Ottawa, ON
2009-06-17
This was the first time I'd booked a vacation online with very little information to go on and must say that everything went better than expected considering the little info I was working with.

All of our flight info, hotel info, sign-in process, upgrades... everything was exactly what we had requested.

The hotel itself was very clean!! Staff were mopping and sweeping the floors all day, every day. Our rooms were clean and even the glass tables were wiped down everyday.

The beach was very nice but if you weren't out by 8am, odds of getting a chair on the beach were essentially none. Towel service was always good and the pools were very clean. Swim up bar was closed the entire week we were there so that was a little disapointing.

The food was OK as well. Nothing special but not bad.

The only odd thing we found was the 2 different types of bracelets you could get. From what I could find out from people we met, we all paid roughly the same amount for the same time, room types and everything but we were given black [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
VERY clean. Newer part of resort is very nice
The weak points
All resort bars are closed at midnight
Certified

Grand Bend Oasis Viva Beach

, London, ON
2009-06-13
Great hotel overall.
Food was great...overall healthy selections to choose from in the buffet and a selection of great restaurants to choose from.
Rooms were maintained well and cleaned in an excellent manner.
Customer service was great and always helped out when there would be a problem with anything. I would recommend this hotel to all ages.
Beach was fabulous! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, room...renovated rooms, cleanliness, bathrooms very clean and a sophisticated hotel!
The weak points
None
Certified

Nice place

, Kelowna, BC
2009-06-10
WE'D STAY THERE AGAIN! WAS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF SOME NICE SHOPS AND RESTAURANTS. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were on the top floor, which had a great view. It was very clean and bright
The weak points
no names on the restaurants, no directions or book of instruction in the room, so it took a couple of days to find everything that was available for us
Certified

Grand Oasis Viva Beach

, Cornwall, ON
2009-06-10
Great, I'll return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021