Royal Solaris Cancun

Royal Solaris Cancun
3.713.713.713.713.71
3.71 based on 41 reviews
#40 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Royal Solaris Cancun

, Springwater, ON
2020-03-08
Found hotel very clean . .Accommodation . quite good.
Pool area and beach quite nice.
Entertainment and food average [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A & S

, St Thomas, ON
2019-03-21
One of the cleanest resorts we've been to. The staff and their hospitality was amazing. The best entertainment team ever. Not a single dull moment. No need to go out of resort area. Beautiful clean beach area with full cocktail service by staff. Outdoor snack bars going all day long. The sushi bar was delicious and the pizza station amazing, the mexican station with burgers and fries was a delight. Marco polo restaurant classy and great food. We wouldve honestly give this resort 5 stars if it wasn't for the main dining room food quality and choices. It was almost the same thing everyday on the main buffets, got tired of seeing the same chicken for dinner and exact one for breakfast . On different days themes for grill stations in main dinning room it was mostly pork products. Not everyone eats it. But that doesnt change our mind, we are absolutely planning on coming back to this place. Four and a half stars from us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, great lively entertainment with a great team. Staff all the way around was full of hospitality. Great beach area.
The weak points
Main dinning room buffet just needs more variety of food daily. For people that dont eat pork and there was alot of it, got tired of eating and seeing the same chicken served for breakfast and dinner, the same fish and the same beef recipe.
Certified

Good Value for the Price

, Mississauga, ON
2014-04-14
This hotel is extremely clean. Better for families. Good value for the money, but not a big party atmosphere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very Clean, Staff was very professional, beach was excellent. Shows were excellent. Good value for the price.
The weak points
Not much happening after 11 pm, also the pool entertainment could be better. Louder music needed at the pool.
Certified

Pretty good experience

, Mississauga, ON
2013-05-09
This was my first time at a hotel style resort. I wouldn't recommend this type of resort in any country since doors are constantly slamming and kids yelling. The halls echo so the noise travels. However, the rooms are kept well here because they are actually cleaned everyday. The resort is really close to the airport which was a plus. The discos and shops are a short bus trip, however, the excursion are a long distance away. The beaches are amazing (white sands and blue water) but people are constantly walking up and down the beach trying to sell things to you which can be annoying. Food was overall good, highly recommend Marco Polo if you go. The buffet dinner wasn't anything special. The entertainment wasn't very good, I have seen better in other countries. We got a good deal for the trip so all in all it was worth what we paid for but I wouldn't pay anymore for this trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms are actually cleaned every day, most of staff is super nice, beaches are well kept, very close to the airport and discos
The weak points
Doors slamming and children screaming in the morning, people bothering you on the beach trying to sell souvenirs/jet skiing, paying for internet, crowded pool area; really far from some excursions (ie. chichen itza)
Certified

Feb 2012

, Ottawa, ON
2012-03-05
The hotel was very clean. Staff were friendly. Food was hit or miss - usually it was fine, but there was a limited selection on the buffet. Nightly entertainment was wonderful. Canadian ladies Carley and Victoria were an added bonus. Beach was great but could use many more shaded huts - beaming sun all day tough on my winter white skin. Free internet available in lobby bar and lobby was wonderful. Mini Club for children was one of the best I have seen (I travel each year and I have a 7 year old daughter). Very clean and very secure. Different in-door activities available as well for the kids. Staff speak English and Spanish. Full enclosed, bathroom on-site for children. For a 4 star this was a great value which met or exceeded expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nighly entertainment and children's mini-club were both great. Daily ice cream for lunch and dinner was super!
The weak points
Limited food selection at the buffet. Not enough shade on the beach.
Certified

Good vacation

, Strathmore, AB
2011-10-14
the hotel was utilizing the low season to complete some renovations. the hotel did thier best to minimize the impact on the guests, but the large pool was only open for 4 of the days we were there. the service was good and friendly. i would stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
this hotel has a large beachfront based on the hotels design and positioning. the pool area is fun and offers some variety.
The weak points
The same position blocks the sunset and casts a shadow over the pool area early in the afternoon.
Certified

Cancun trip

, Regina, SK
2011-04-30
Getting the room amenities we booked on line was a challenge but an extra fee was paid to get satisfaction. Club membership seems to be management's focus. Staff were very helpful and friendly! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were excellent!
The weak points
gETTING ROOM WE BOOKED WAS A CHALLENGE
Certified

Royal Solaris Cancun

, Smiths Falls, ON
2011-04-07
The Royal Solaris was beyond our expectations. The room was a typical hotel room and it was fine, although balconies on all ocean view rooms would have made the experience better. The food was excellent. Every night the main buffet restaurant had a different theme and hence the food was never the same. The nightly shows were well worth seeing. We made a point of watching them whenever we had the opportunity. The only drawback that we experienced was the internet. I believe we paid $10.00 per half hour. Unfortunately, the directions on the internet are in Spanish and we waisted a lot of time trying to figure out what to do. My husband and I are used to computers but their setup was ridiculous. Plus, signing off was also a roundabout process and apparently the first time we did not sign off properly and lost 20 minutes. Needless to say, we threw away $20.00 Overall, we would return to this hotel and we would recommend it to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, location, cleanliness, shows, variety of hotel activites, restaurants
The weak points
The internet was frustrating to use. One needed to be able to read Spanish in order to use it.
Certified

3* not a 4*

, Amherst, NS
2011-04-03
First of all I just want to say that this resort is what you make of it and that is exactly how we looked at it. First of all it was a bit misleading about the Solaris and Caribe towers from the description that we read prior to booking....these are two seperate areas and if you don't book the Caribe side you are limited to what you can do and where you can eat. If you stay on the Caribe side you have access to both sides but if you stay at the Solaris side you only have access to that side. However we were not going to let this bother us since this was our vacation. This hotel also caters to the Spring Breakers who were very loud and very drunk. Again we didn't let this bother us too much because we would have a few quiet hours at the pool before they "took over" the pool area....at that time we would go to the beach so it worked out fine. The restaurants were very average except for the Marco Polo which was fantastic. The service at the pool bar was very slow...at times they would look right at you and just keep going unless you had some money in your hand. I did tip them but not every single time and still had the same service....that was a let down for sure!!! The maid did a fantastic job at keeping the room very clean and made sure we had extra towels and lots of water. We also came across some other workers who were amazing. They worked hard to please you and always had a smile on their face. Bottom line.....you get what you pay for and we knew this going in. We got a fantastic deal for a family of four so we knew not to expect five star service. We had a clean place to sleep and we did not starve. We enjoyed each others company and had a relaxing time on the beach. I would probably not ever return to this resort but I would recommend it to anyone who is on a budget. I would give this resort a 3* and nothing more!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
amazing beach, most of the workers were fantastic and worked very hard, maid service was great always a clean room, grounds people worked hard to keep the place clean especially after the Spring Breakers! Marco Polo restaurant was fantastic.
The weak points
bar staff needed a tip to give good service, food was average, misleading advertising about the "whole" resort
Certified

Royal Solaris fun,fun,fun

, Vaudreuil Dorion, QC
2011-03-07
After reading a variety of reviews, both good and bad.I just returned from spending a great week with my husband and 2 boys (11& 13)at the Royal Solaris in Cancun.This being our 3rd to Cancun I will tell you that although 4 1/2 may seem high because the hotel IS 25yrs old it is well maintained anad very clean. Only the furniture needs to be updated. As for the FOOD, let me tell you as a caterer the food was very good. Some people are just too picky and creatures of habit and comfort.The variety was always there and always tastey. I had to laugh one night when I encountered a man at one of the food station who looked at me and said "finally, mashed potatos" Really, you came to Cancun and you wanted mashed potatos!!! That just show you that people will complain about ANYTHING.
Now lets talk about the staff. They were extreamly friendly and polite. As for the people who complained on previous posts about the BLACK SHIRTS trying to lure them to a 2 hr presentation in order to sell them timeshares. Not one of them approached us NOR did I see them harass others. They never seemed to be doing anything but sitting at a computor.
The pool and the entertainment staff was great. The drinks were great it was hot and sunny everyday. If I was asked to go back to the Royal Solaris again I would definately say YES.
By the way I am a seasoned world traveller, I have stayed 5 stars that should be 2 stars and I have stayed in hostels that could pass for 4 star hotels. Some people just like to complain no matter how good a place is. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The price for and all inclusive is excellent.
The weak points
Just needs some furniture updating.
Certified

Run of the Mill all inclusive

, Uxbridge, ON
2011-03-05
If you can get a smokin' deal like under $1700 for two it would be more worth the quality vs price. If you like to drink yourself blind then you can overlook the little details that separate the comforts of high end from what is offered at this hotel. The beach and pools are lovely, along with a very friendly and hard working staff. The food and drinking got old fast along with some of the loud ass Americans who were drunk and pathetic most of the time. The beds need an upgrade along with the rooms and restaurants. Great location if you want to be near Cancun but not so great if you want to see the sites along the Myan Riviera since most things are two hours away. The tour desk is a bit of a rip off and after the first tour bus didn't even show up to pick us up on the very first day we bailed and rented a car up the street. Don't be afraid to drive in Mexico the 401 in Toronto is ten times more dangerous. If it wasn't for the fantastic folks who I was there with I would have stayed in the jungle and had a better time. Adios Amigo [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic Beach with lovely pools also a beautiful outdoor restaurant by the water. Pool side bar was great with hard working staff and bartenders. Great servers and helpful staff not always expecting tips which was a nice break and made me want to tip
The weak points
Out door restaurant would have been lovely for breakfasts and we saw a hugh roach running through the restaurant one night. The pool music was awful. Pillows were terrible and beds need improvement. Noisy place with little control over the more rude folks
Certified

Friendly Staff but will not go back

, Gatineau, QC
2011-03-03
Although most of the staff were friendly, the accommodations were well below what we expected for the price we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were excellent and very friendly.
The weak points
Front desk staff were not very helpful when we complained about lights not working and the dampness of the room which caused my cell phone to stop working.
Certified

Nice vacation

, St Albert, SK
2011-02-10
We really enjoyed our holiday, the staff right from when we arrived at the hotel was excellent, the food and waiters were very good also. We would recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, awesome staff
The weak points
everything was good
Certified

Royal solaris

, Regina, SK
2011-02-08
our room in the caribe tower was good minus the broken door handle onto the deck but it would have been difficult for someone to gain entry to our room that way.A family member stayed in the main tower and the floors were very wet everyday from the humidity making it quite slippery.
Ala Carte resturaunts were very good.
The service was good.
pool area always clean and enjoyable.
overall a good place to stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location from the airport excellent. staff were very good. resort cleanliness was good. entertainment was the best .
The weak points
main buffet noisy and not alot of variety, food often cold.
Certified

Caution

, Hawkestone, ON
2010-12-19
Upon arriving to the Royal Solaris, we were immediately approached by the staff that sells time share. They made it seem like we were meeting our Sunquest representative, whom we didn't see at all, and offering free massages, breakfast etc. This was disturbing to us, as we were totally blind sided by these people, who wanted 90 minutes of our time and a credit card. Not cool. The resort itself was very nice, but on a stretch of beach that was very rough waters and required a bus to get to any shopping. The buses are awesome, and very safe. The food was below expectations, but not so bad that you couldn't enjoy a meal. The hotel staff were very friendly. Our room was adequate, and keep very clean. Over all experience was okay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, and staff
The weak points
food, and location
Certified

Royal solaris

, Saskatoon, SK
2010-11-23
this hotel had fore restaurants closed for
renovations all of time will not open till december no tennis the same,the one alacart restaurant that was open .were
closed twice from six till eight so thay could sell time share.now adults pool
as advatised [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness,staff services
The weak points
things not open for renoes
Certified

Fun and Affordable

, Hammonds Plains, NS
2010-05-24
We enjoyed the resort. There wasn't any issues with crowds or lines at bars or restaurants. There are 5 restaurants but only 2 are open for each meal. The menu doesn't vary so it gets old by the end of the week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
For an old hotel we were impressed with the condition and cleanliness. Everything was available to us when ever we needed it.
The weak points
It has 5 restaurants but only two are open for each meal and they don't vary the menu. We went off the resort to end by the end of the week.
Certified

Royal Solaris Cancun

, Kanata, ON
2010-04-05
Very good hotel. The service is perfect. Food and drinks are fantastic! Highly recommended! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean hotel. The service is great. Food is very good in a la cart restaurants
The weak points
only few palapas on the beach
Certified

Great hotel & had lots of fun

, Ottawa, ON
2010-03-12
Overall pretty good hotel. very clean, good food and friendly staff. Beaches are nice but to get to the water you have to jump down 3 feet. I guess this is their rebuilding stage(Prior hurricanes) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very good hotel, I would return
The weak points
Sun cannot be seen after 4:00Pm due to the height of the hotel.
Certified

Enjoyable vacation

, Beaconsfield, QC
2010-03-07
We had researched hotels in Cancun & booked the Royal Solaris based on the reviews. We had reasonable expectations and were not disappointed.
Our first night was spend on the 2nd floor in a smoking room & we were not happy: with asthmetics in the family we had to insist on a room change. We ended up on the 7th floor (club class) with a mini-fridge, balcony, and view of the lagoon.
The staff were very welcoming and great with the kids. Tipping was appreciated. The maid got more &more creative with her towel designs throughout the week!
There was enough variety with restaurants & menus that we didnt get bored. The buffet was great for breakfast, but we preferred the table-service restaurants for lunch & dinner. None of the restaurants take reservations, which we liked. None of us suffered from tourista during our stay, which was an added bonus!
The pool area was nice, but the water was too COLD! The kids were the only ones that stayed in more than a few minutes. Our only complaints were the reserving of chairs (get down there at 6:30am if you want a prime location) and that you couldnt find a non-smoking section for the family (you were likely to end up next to some guy with a Cuban cigar).
The Kids Club had a nice schedule of activities, but there weren't enough kids that week to get things going. Our kids spent most of their time in the Main Pool where they could view the family/adult activities that were scheduled throughout the day. Some of the adults might have preferred their own pool, but we were happy that the family was not restricted to a kids area!
The hotel is located between the 18K and 19K markers on the hotel strip. It is a quieter area, but you have to take the local bus (about 75cents) to to shopping and offsite restaurants/bars. The city of Cancun is about a 30min bus ride and you can catch a bus directly to Walmart if you need some staple items and dont want to pay the inflated hotel-zone prices.
The hotel offers free wireless internet in the lobby.
The in-room safe is $1.00US a day, which is a very reasonable charge for peace-of-mind. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- the staff - variety of restaurants - no advance reservations needed at restaurants - children were not restricted from any pool or restaurant
The weak points
- most of the rooms are average - not enough non-smoking rooms available & no non-smoking area around the pool
Certified

Not 4star by far!

, Pickering, ON
2010-02-24
We were disappointed with this hotel. The staff were not friendly for the most part, the food was not worth the hours you had to line up to get it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the airport
The weak points
The staff was not friendly. The restaurants did not take reservations and you lined up for hours for sub par food. The rooms were attache to the room next door and you could hear everything.
Certified

Royal Solaris Cancun

, London, ON
2010-02-10
the hotel was very nice, and the staff were amazing! the food was good but it seemed like you were eating the same meals every day. Overall it was an amazing trip for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the service
The weak points
food
Certified

A fist visit to Cancun

, Alberton, PE
2010-02-02
A great resort. We d checked the reviews on the Royal Solaris on the internet prior to our trip. Most were very positive and we must indeed echo these sentiments. We d recommend this location without hesitation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Happy and VERY friendly staff ... everywhere. Service was awesome. The beach-side pools were especially great. Bus access to the city was easy, cheap and convenient.
The weak points
Although the food was fine, the selection was, for the most most part, standard U.S. There was almost no Mexican food ie; burritos, enchiladas, etc. although there were a couple of Mayan entrees that proved interesting.
Certified

Great Value

, Dorchester, ON
2010-01-13
I spent 7 nights last week and had a very good experience. We were in the older part of the hotel and it was a bit noisy and mold smelling but very clean-I didn't hear anyone else complain of that so I think it was just in the older part-we could have asked for a new room but didn't and eventually as the week went on it was better. The staff are friendly, the resort very clean, the food was enough and good-not luxury but very good. The pool and ocean view was 10 out of 10. I would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the pool, ocean view and the drinks-service too excellent
The weak points
room smell and noise level-shower was hot and strong but sprayed all over
Certified

Been Twice... Can't Wait for the Third!

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-25
I absolutely love the Royal Solaris. The Entertainment staff are the best. I had an excellent vacation and hope to go again this winter! I was surprised that the main hotel didn't have balconies anymore, but I guess you can't have it all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, view, food!
The weak points
You have to be up early to get a pool chair
Certified

Would go back

, Edmonton, AB
2009-06-25
enjoyed the property that we stayed at.. the staff were helpful. the rooms were basic but considering the amount of time that was speant in them i felt it was well worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was good, workout room was great, staff was awesome.
The weak points
location was a bit far
Certified

Pretty good

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-19
This hotel was listed as 4.5 stars. It's more like 3 stars.
Rooms are very old and dated, but the beach and outdoor area are great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Room
Certified

.

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-17
great experience [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great!

, Surrey, BC
2009-06-17
Our hotel stay was an excellent experiance. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and kept the hotel grounds very clean. The downsides of our stay were that the drinks were watered down and the food would be hard to tolerate for more then a week, however that was to be expected of an all inclusive and wouldn't stop us from visiting again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice staff nice hotel
The weak points
food drinks
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021