Iberostar Selection Cancun

Iberostar Selection Cancun
4.264.264.264.264.26
4.26 based on 50 reviews
#26 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Canadain Couples Stay during Pandemic

, Leduc, AB
2020-11-30
Our 7 day stay at Iberostar Select Cancun was a blast even during a pandemic. We were the only Canadians at the resort but they made us feel right at home. The location and overall quality is why the price point is a little higher than other hotels in the area as this location is right on a white sandy beach, probably one of the most beautiful locations I've traveled to in Mexico.
The hotel and staff all wore masks and/facesheilds, there was shoe sanitizing stations before every entrance and the buffets were operated like a serving station instead of reaching for your own. We felt very safe and well taken care of.
Food was unbelievably good! I highly recommend the rib eye with creamed spinach at the steakhouse, and my husband recommends the fried chicken at the American restaurant. I have a serious gluten allergy and they were diligent to get me replacements when the dish called for it. We were literally in heaven anytime it was time to eat!!
The entertainment staff out by the pool come around every day and get to know you by name and make sure you're having fun and playing games. There was regular entertainment at the pool daily.
Overall cleanliness was great, the only issue we had was our first room was very dusty and not cleaned properly but they gave us a room we were happy with right away. The hotel could use some updates as some things like the bathtubs and the drawers in the bathrooms seemed outdated and old. The beds in the rooms were very hard and uncomfortable for me. But all in all the resort was still very beautiful and classy.
I got a massage one day in the little beach treehouse and wow, what a treat that was! I paid $165USD for a 50 min massage and a 30 min foot reflexology which I thought was a little steep but after getting my service I ended up tipping way more because she took such good care of me. I loved that experience!
Since there was a hurricane a few weeks before we arrived there were a few things closed that we were not aware of. One being the main lobby bar and the theatre. We did find another bar in a different lobby to have evening cocktails in so that was great, and they also moved the nightly show indoors to one of the banquet rooms. It would have been nice to have those amenities open during our stay. Also there was no nightclub or disco which I thought was different.
Lastly, fitness room and classes were par, nothing spectacular but I was just happy to be staying active!
Would recommend Iberostar and would travel here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
FOOD, Entertainment staff, service staff, location, beach, hotel lobby decor, pools, beach food truck and bar, cleanliness, spa, burger place, steakhouse, buffet, cafeteria (24 hour fancy coffee and snack place)
The weak points
Hard uncomfortable beds, some amenities not open because of hurricane damage.
Certified

Swim Up Balcony on Villa was a great touch

, Nobleton, ON
2020-02-29
The Hotel and its grounds are very well kept and comfortable and laid back. The beach and ocean out front make for a good walk in either direction with feet in the soft sand, while ocean waves make for a fun splash. We really liked the added touch of the 7 or 8 hammocks strung out under the palm trees. So relaxing laying back in the tropical breezes. Food was good at all eateries we tried. Staff were fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Villa with swim up balcony.
The weak points
Can't think of any!
Certified

Fabulous Hotel

, Surrey, HA
2019-11-09
You really get your money's worth and more when you stay here. Everything about this hotel was memorable from the friendly staff who work endlessly to make sure visitors are having a great experience to the great beach, very clean rooms. Restaurants offer a good variety from, Japanese steakhouse (my personal favourite), French, Mexican, American.
Can't wait to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location from Airport (approx. 15 min.) Great food Friendly staff
The weak points
The Mattress was too hard for my liking.
Certified

Great Place, and practically no sargassum weed

, Mascouche, QC
2019-11-04
Had a great time at the Iberostar Cancun,

Decided to book Cancun after 20 years of not choosing a location on the hotel strip.

The Iberostar Cancun is beautiful resort, I am not a fan of the large building style hotel resorts...just to many people in one building. So we booked a Garden view villa and boy are we glad we did, just gorgeous.
Property is incredible and well taken care of, and staff is always busy making sure its at its best.

Rooms in the villa are top notch and worth every penny,and i was so pleased with the little extras you get from the villas,private pool nice beach towels changed daily. room service is great and the maid service fantastic, by noon your room is clean and ready for you if you want to kick back on the balcony.
This was the first time I had a resort with two sinks which is very practical.....just like home. Water pressure goes up and down temperatures, so be careful.
Bed was big and comfy, and linens were top quality for a hotel.

Beach was fantastic with close to NO sargassum weed.
The infinity pool was spectacular and you must take a picture in the am in it looking out to the ocean.
We couldn't believe the amount of chairs available for everyone....none of the running out early to reserve a beach chair lot for everyone .

We had a private pool for our villa which only gusts from the villa can use, the villa section has hammocks and in my personal opinion is the best choice, if you stay at the beach all day the garden is a tranquil change.

Restaurants, we like good food ,the buffet was nice and something for everyone If they didn't have other restaurants it really wouldn't have made a difference since the daily meal themes change .

We tried the French it was ok just ok, but the waiters were great, thanks Jonathan for the great service .
Mexican was fantastic and we ate there often in the afternoon.
Tonight we are at the Japanese and heard only great things.

The guest services are quick to respond to your request, on Saturday we didn't get any beach towels saw a maid in the hallway and she quickly brought us some fresh ones for the next day, this is a service for the villas and premium rooms. Then again on Sunday there were no beach towels, called the concierge and when we came back from a walk the towels were there,I think it was an oversight on the weekend crew, but nonetheless you can still get towels at the towel hut.

Fitness Center:
Every morning at 6am we were there ,the exercise room is large with lots of FUNCTIONING equipment to use which were in good condition.Towels, water, and different juices were available while you workout

Only Negative was half way through our vacation the hotel placed a group of excessively loud young party goers next to us basically sandwiched us in on the sides and below. I had to go out at 1:30am to angrily tell them to keep it down. Next day I told the guest services to make sure security does a proper walk around d to keep them, quiet.

To the management , you should mention in your room choice that some rooms have connecting doors, I personally hate this and would never knowingly book a room with connecting doors especially with loud mouths next door…this did put a downer on the trip, but not enough for me to hate it since the PROS out weighed the CONS, and can't blame the hotel for guest who have no manners and common sense .

Recommendations: book this place and choose, a villa any one is great but beware some have paper thin connecting room doors.

Thanks Iberostar for our great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Good 4 star

, Scarborough, ON
2015-12-04
First time at an Iberostar resort, check in was quick and we were greeted with an ice cold beverage

Staff: Very friendly

Cleanliess: lobby (wonderful aroma), restaurants and pool area and grounds were kept very clean

Room: wonderful oceanview and poolview,comfy beds, air conditioner did not work well initially but was rectified quickly by maintenance staff.

Spa: wonderful spa pool with jets and waterfall for a great head to toe massage

Beach: beautiful tourqoise water, lots of waves, red flag was up our entire stay, every morning a tractor pushes seaweed in front of the empty lot beside the swimout villas

Food: tasty but repetitive options. Good breakfast, yummy mojitos and decent red wine with meals. Our best meal during our stay was at the steakhouse a la carte. 24 hr room service was also a nice option for lazy mornings and afternoons.

WIFI: strong signal and fast connection in the room, did not try connecting anywhere else

Location: this hotel is not situated in the middle of the hotel zone action which can be a good thing. You will need to take a taxi or local bus into town for shopping.

Entertainment: nightly live shows were okay,not all resorts in the area offer this.

I would recommend this hotel to others [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff, comfortable beds
The weak points
Beach: suggestion- remove the seaweed completely off the beach,take it away and turn it into compost Food and Drinks: food meant to be hot was always luke warm or cold in a la carte and buffet. Frozen drinks were not tasty
Certified

Review

, Vancouver, BC
2014-11-08
very nice lobby, pools, beach areas. good location. excellent food & drinks. both old & small washroom & 3star rooms. even the master suite didnot look impressive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very nice pool areas, very nice lobby & buffet
The weak points
very old and cramped rooms. small & old washrooms
Certified

Iberostar Cancun

, Bolton , ON
2014-10-25
Very beautiful property, great staff. Entertainment in the evening was top notch, not your typical hotel type.The biggest problem we had was the food quality. Never hot, looked like it had been there for ages. Even the gourmet and steakhouse were disappointing, ended up going back to buffet to eat bread after leaving most of the food on the table. I guess the good thing is that instead of gaining weight on this trip, we actually lost a few pounds! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and staff
The weak points
location is far from everything and the food is not good
Certified

ABSOLUTE FANTASTIC

, Elko, BC
2014-03-12
This was by far one of the best hotels I have stayed at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food at the buffets was so good, I didn't even feel the need to try the A LA CARTE Restaurants.We did LOVE the French Gourmet Restaurant and the Japanese was so much fun. The staff are outstanding with their service, especially Erica at the Spa
The weak points
I would have loved a Yoga class
Certified

Wonderful Relaxing Hotel

, Cranbrook, BC
2014-02-08
Wonderful hotel and staff. Clean. Food is good (aka average) for an all inclusive. Fantastic, large beach, although waves might be a bit much for weak swimmers, the very old or very young. The resort has everything for a great vacation, unless you want a night life, there is no real night life and about 20 min cab ($40) to downtown. All in all, great, relaxing beach vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Beach Rooms
The weak points
Night life
Certified

Christmas at Iberostar

, Kleinburg, ON
2014-01-04
This is a lovely hotel with excellent service. Every interaction was great and the entire team there aims to please. It's in a great area, beautiful beach. Extra cost for Villas and Suites are worth it. Open lobby always busy with couples and families having drinks with on going entertainment each night....very nice. Definitely would return and recommend. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service - went out of their way to accomodate meals with all of our family Lots of chairs/umbrellas at beach and pool...never had to line up or get up early Lifeguards on beach Great food selection Suite worth the extra cost Internet free
The weak points
Hot tubs would be great if warmer Gourmet restaurant was disappointing. Food cold several times. (Service still great though)
Certified

Very pleasant vacation

, Oakville, ON
2013-12-26
Very good experience. Good food in dining room but specialty restaurants to avoid. Food lower than average [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food of dining room and rooms very clean
The weak points
food of specialty restaurants is poor
Certified

Family week in Cancun

, Bolton , ON
2013-12-17
Everything very convenient to the restaurants and pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
close to the airport
The weak points
the ocean to rough and we couldn't go in, too dangerous
Certified

Great Times!!

, Ajax, ON
2013-09-13
Hotel had great service. Very accomodating. Meals were good. Steakhouse is a MUST! Pool was AWESome! Kids too had a great time. Loved the free internet in the lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort layout was great. Distance from pool to beach is perfect. Food had good selection. Money well spent.
The weak points
Archery and air rifle is too far away from the hotel. Could have more a la carte restaurants.
Certified

Amazing Trip!

, Surrey, BC
2013-09-03
Had trouble with the front desk checking-in as they required something so specific yet very simple task just to print out the same info that we had that complicated our accomadation. Overall good food! very clean hotel and lotsa activities and sucha beautiful beach! will definitely book again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome food! GREAT VACATION!!
The weak points
needs improvement on business centre and reception desk
Certified

Ok resort but not 5 star

, Branchton, ON
2013-03-05
This might be a new Iberostar, but the building and grounds are not new. Rooms a bit shabby, especially bathrooms. Food could be wonderful if it was served hot. Waiters and most staff friendly, but food service staff were neither friendly nor helpful. Pool area nice. Kids area looks like lots of fun. Beach is pretty but sand is full of shells and is hard on the feet. Shows at night are fun. Shopping and nightlife are too far away to walk, but bus is easy enough. Free wi-fi never worked. Overall, 3.5 or 4 star at best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Le Hombre a la carte restaurant is great. Good food and service at that restaurant.
The weak points
Bathrooms are shabby. Food looks good but is most often served cold.
Certified

IBEROSTAR is Great!!!

, kananaskis, Al
2013-01-17
Great Hotel, loved every minute. All the staff were great. The Food was very good and the interaction with the servers and the Chefs in the restaurants was very nice. Had a junior suite with ocean view, was large and the hot tub was a nice treat. The Japanese Restaurant was the best experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and all the Tequila at the main lobby bar. Alfredo the main bartender was great.
The weak points
Nothing I can think of.
Certified

Love Love Iberostar! Will def return!!!

, Kitchener, ON
2012-12-10
Our trip was amazing! Food was perfect, never got tired of the buffet. Staff were so hard working, and really ensured all visitors were taken care of. My daughter loved the kids club and nightly shows. Victor and Verissa took such good care of the children, that I never had one worry about leaving at the kids club. All the star friends try to get people involved in daily activities and games, such amazing upbeat people! We were so well taken care of that we will be coming back each year. The value was amazing for the services we received. The beach was fantasic, Waves were a little rough but the weather, sandy white beach, and clear water made up for it! Location was 10min from airport, which made it very convienient. Laungers were always available, and the servers were always checking if you needed anything so all you had to do is relax and not worry about a thing. Room had an amazing view of the ocean, simply breathtaking! Can't say enough great things about Iberostar Cancun, you def went above and beyond to make our trip a relaxing one! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value for our money was very worth it! We were upgraded to balcony rooms due to our flight situation, the staff at the front desk were amazing. Buffet food was fantastic always something different, facilities were always clean, employees work super hard.
The weak points
Lack of nightlife after the nightly shows. They should offer some sort of disco or something in the theater for people that don't want to leave the property. Prices for spa are very expensive and wifi should be free not just in the lobby.
Certified

Iberostar Cancun

, Kirkland, QC
2012-04-18
Stayed on April 8-16 with my family. This hotel is solid 4 star, not 5 stars as advertised. Reception was very smooth. Rooms are big and clean, but outdated. Very small shower room, not very efficient noisy A/C. Food is a good quality, standard for that type of the resort.Staff is very friendly and helpful. Liquor selection at the bar is good enough. Beach is big and beautiful. Unfortunately it wasn't possible to swim in the ocean because of big waves. And that was one of the main reasons we came to Cancun- to enjoy swimming in the warm Caribbean sea.
Overall we had a very good time at Iberostar Cancun. The resort should be more careful with star rating not to confuse people. If compared with other 5 stars resorts like Secrets Silversands and Excellence Riviera it's rating should be downgraded to 4 star resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent front desk, very clean, helpful staff
The weak points
Not real 5 star,especially when compared with other 5 stars,we stayed before like Secrets Silversands. Rooms are big but not up to 5 stars standards, outdated, shower room is very small,air condition was week but noisy.High waves,swimming is impossible
Certified

Easter Weekend

, Ottawa, ON
2012-04-12
Overall the hotel was good. With this being our first trip to Cancun, we wouldn't go back as we found it a bit too commercial. That however has nothing to do with the Hotel itself. The Iberostar in Punta Cana for example was a little more cozy and was bit off the beaten track.
Seeing that was a new Iberostar hotel, we were expecting a bit more but overall it was good. It was a 5 star hotel in all aspects.
Japanese Restaurant was fun. The Steak restaurant was good but there were only 4 other reservations that night - not sure where everyone else was. The Mexican restaurant was our least favorite.
The nightly entertainment was to be expected with the Disco night being the best.
My wife made 3 trips to the SPA and she raved about the great back massages.

Lots of room by the pool with ample shaded areas if you need to be mindful of the sun. Note, while not shown in the hotel pictures one of the big pools have a water slides and such for kids so it's not a great place to do any reading.

The all inclusive package was as expected with nice drinks, buffet meals etc.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were generally good. Front desk were very helpful and patient and their English was good. Overall no complaints with the staff.
The weak points
Room was a typical standard room with only a little balcony. Most likely my mistake but I was expecting a little bit more. Had to pay for an upgrade but was very happy to get a nicer room. Only one place to have a drink before dinner.
Certified

Iberostar Cancun

, Markham, ON
2012-04-11
We travelled as a family with two tween/teenaged sons. This was our 2nd visit to Cancun/Riviera Maya and an amazing stay from the moment we walked in, which was a relatively short drive from the airport. Check in/out was quick and easy and we found them always accommodating. Other services available here: front desk concierge and guest services.

Rooms were lovely, modern with no issues and made up daily when requested (card displayed).
At one point our safe wouldn't lock however maintenance was prompt to resolve (battery died).

There were scheduled activities every day from 10am-5:30pm (except at lunch) run by the Star Friends entertainment and they worked hard to get guests involved but never overbearing - just very friendly. They also provided the daily evening entertainment in the theatre which changed daily and again was very energetic and entertaining.

As this is an all inclusive the food and drinks were wonderful, never boring or repetitive, the buffet offered something for any palate throughout the day. Lots of variety with both hot, grill and cold stations (loved the variety of salsa!). My boys loved breakfast with the waffles, french toast, custom omelettes and pancakes. The wait staff is excellent everywhere on the property (Bartolo always had a warm and friendly smile for everyone during his shift and teased our boys). They have 4 a la carte dinner restaurants (Mexican-beautiful oceanfront; Steakhouse; Japanese Tepanyaki-fun; French Gourmet) for which you require reservations. There was no problems booking and you could select one of these each and every day, if desired. We actually missed a reservation and were still able to rebook for the same evening.

As with any hotel along this strip, the water is rough ~ but we could still play in the beautiful azur blue waves. The interconnecting pools were great with one for just about any activity. The kids pool had water slides and splash pads. There are a number of smaller shallow pools. The swim up bar pool overlooking the ocean had waterfalls as well as an activity section. There were also 2 hot tubs. Between the pool and beach there never seemed to be a shortage of lounges, Like anywhere else, people still do "towel reserve" the "prime" pool or bed lounges very early and then either don't use them or show up sometime later in the day, which I find annoying as someone else could have used them. However, there was never a shortage.

We didn't visit the spa or golf but my husband did use the gym and thought that the equipment was professional.

Aside from the swim up bar, there were also 2 beach bars (1 served fast food type snacks between lunch and dinner) as well as the impressive lobby bar, cigar lounge/bar and the bar in the theatre (open after 5:30) - There was always somewhere to eat or drink.

My hats off to Francisco at the Teenie club for entertaining my video gaming hungry boys!

There is also a gift shop in the lobby, an on sight photographer for anyone wishing to book a photo session (portfolio looked good) and travel/tour companies for excursions.

The grounds are just beautiful with paths, lawns, gardens and waterways through the villas and around the hotel itself. The resident birds and iguanas added to the tropical ambience - just loved them!

When our flight left, the boys recognized the hotel instantly from the air ~ it stands out in every way! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything! Staff are amazing to everyone young or old. Food is amazing. Grounds, pool, beach and hotel are beautiful Great international guest mix. Excellent value for price
The weak points
Although there is juice at the buffet it is not used in the bar - I'm not a pop/soda drinker and would have preferred real juice in some of my mixed drinks ~ but this is minor
Certified

Internrt and TV

, Ontario, NY
2012-04-10
Nice Hotel, beautiful lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice location, beach, views. Good weather, sea with very strong waves. Food was good.
The weak points
Not much of English channels. Paid for Internet but it did not work for one day.
Certified

Great place, great staff

, Winkler, MB
2012-02-15
Very comfortable rooms, excellent staff. The buffet is always good, but the restaurants are iffy - great one night and disappointing the next. The beach is wonderful when it is not red flagged - lots of undertow here. Swimming pools are great. The conference rooms are very nice. Great bars and music - even karaoke. Everything closes down by midnight so not too noisy. Entertainers are very talented (yay Edy and Chocolatte!) and the theatre is beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nicely renovated, great staff, wonderful buffet. Nice and quiet at night.
The weak points
Lots of undertow in this area. Bring a sweater if you are in the conference area.
Certified

Would go back but improvement needed

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-01-03
Hotel is great - so close to airport but on a beautiful stretch of beach so it feels like you are further away than you are. Huge pool area is wonderful, lots of bars and places to eat so it never feels crowded. We had ocean front junior suite which had a huge balcony overlooking beach. Hot tub though was very old and leaked and covered in paint spatters from when they painted the balcony area. We still used it and had fun but it did seem a bit "grungy". Bathroom also not that nice - the tiles in shower on floor were cracked which seemed odd as hotel was supposed to have been renovated. Maid service was TERRIBLE. Often our room, which would be empty since 9 a.m. was not clean until 5 p.m. or later. Just the time we wanted to be in our room to shower and relax before dinner, the maid would show up. She took forever to clean the room so we would have to sit out on balcony until she was done. I did complain several times but nothing ever done. Public areas of resort are gorgeous and buffet restaurants were just fine, lots of options. We also really liked the Gourmet Restaurant. Not as impressed with Japanese or Mexican and we didn't make it to the Steak House which we heard was good. Overall, I would definitely go back due to convenient location and excellent experience overall. Just need to improve maid service and maybe renovate a bit more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location; beautiful pool and beaches, great staff, good food, lots of bars, never seemed too crowded.
The weak points
Maid service; lack of wi-fi in rooms; bathrooms and hot tub need updating.
Certified

A real 5 stars!

, Gatineau, QC
2011-12-27
We were updated to a deluxe balcony suite on the last floor "9th: with a beautiful view of the ocean and golf course and an immense balcony. The food is the best we ever had in Mexico (our 5th trip). The staff was excellent. Our room was very clean. Beautiful pools and.... the beach was wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, food, staff.
The weak points
Internet access
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021