Gr Solaris Cancun And Spa

Gr Solaris Cancun And Spa
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 27 reviews
#31 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (19)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great vacation

, North Vancouver, BC
2013-04-25
We Stayed at the GR Solaris from April 13 to 20th and the whole time the experience was great. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would like to single out a few, Maribel at the front desk, she made sure we had a great room. Hamilton who served us on the beach, he was very helpful. Flor was our chamber maid and she was great. Not only would we return but we have recommended anyone going to Cancun to stay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness, staff, food
The weak points
The surf was quite choppy but that's nature
Certified

Be aware of time share salesmen

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-04-17
The hotel is very clean. The food is good if not inspired. Theatre is beautiful with better-than-average shows. We enjoyed the adult pool and the hot (yes - hot!) Jacuzzi. Rooms are very clean and made up perfectly with lots of towels and toiletries. The time share issue is very negative. Unknowing guests are fooled by these salesmen into thinking they are hotel staff willing to help them with bags, reservations, etc. - when in fact they are trying to con you into a membership purchase. The "members" have a different bracelet and have additional perks, such as champagne at the bars and restaurants.
The ocean is not swimmable as the waves are too high. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, good food
The weak points
Hard sell by the time share salespeople
Certified

GRAN SOLARIS CANCUN

, Brampton, ON
2012-01-03
Excellent hotel, food, service, cleanliness,all was good except the air conditioning was a little too cool. We had a room over the air conditioning units, the noise was a bit loud. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service
The weak points
Air conditioning too cool
Certified

GR SOLARIS CANCUN AND SPA

, Guelph, ON
2011-12-24
Excellent hotel, excellent location, activities, food, entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, food, entertainment, beach
The weak points
weak drinks
Certified

Great Vacation Experience

, Aurora, ON
2011-11-26
Great hotel, great area, amazing beaches, great staff and food!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great experience, lots of activities, different theme and activities every day and night. Close to the beach, close to downtown restaurants, bars, night clubs, shopping.
The weak points
Hotel disco is a bit small but stil we had a blast every night.
Certified

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

, Scarborough, ON
2011-09-13
MY FIANCE AND I SPENT A WEEK AT THIS HOTEL FROM SEPT 4-11TH, 2011. WE READ THE REVIEWS BEFORE BOOKING AND MOST SOUNDED VERY POSITIVE. WE ARE NOT PICKY TRAVELLERS BUT WE DID PAY MORE THEN ANTICIPATED SO WE EXPECTED A BIT MORE THEN USUAL BASED ON THE REVIEWS.

DISTANCE FROM THE AIRPORT TO THE HOTEL WAS RELATIVELY SHORT WHICH WAS GREAT. UPON ARRIVAL, WE FOUND THAT THE OUTSIDE AND HOTEL LOBBY WERE REALLY GREAT LOOKING. CHECK IN WAS REALLY QUICK AND OUR ROOM WAS AVAILABLE RIGHT AWAY. WE HEADED UP TO OUR ROOM ON THE 3RD FLOOR. WALKING DOWN THE HALLWAY WE FELT AS IF WE HAD STEPPED INTO A CHEAP HOTEL BECAUSE IT DID NOT LOOK ANYWHERE AS NICE AS THE EXTERIOR OR FRONT LOBBY. WE FOUND DIRTY DISHES OUTSIDE OF OUR ROOM AND MANY OTHER ROOMS. THE ROOM WAS SMALL AND NEEDED A MAJOR FACE LIFT. THE IN ROOM SAFE WAS LARGE AND CAME AT NO EXTRA COST. OUR TOILET DID NOT FLUSH AND MAINTENANCE PERSONNEL HAD TO ATTEND TO THE PROBLEM TWICE BEFORE FIXING IT PROPERLY. WATER FROM THE TAP IS SAFE TO DRINK WHICH IS GOOD TO KNOW FOR THOSE PARANOID PEOPLE OUT THERE. NUMEROUS CLEANING PERSONNEL WALKED BY ALL DAY LONG AND ALL THE DIRTY DISHES REMAINED IN THE HALLWAY. THIS WAS THE NORM FOR THE ENTIRE WEEK. A NEW SYSTEM IS DEFINITELY NEEDED BECAUSE IT MAKES THE PLACE LOOK CHEAP AND NO ONE WANTS TO LOOK AT PEOPLE'S HALF EATEN FOOD WHILE THEY WALK TO AND FROM THEIR ROOMS ALL DAY LONG. FOOD AT THE BUFFET AND THE ONLY A LA CARTE RESTAURANT WERE NOT BAD BUT NOT GREAT EITHER. ROOM SERVICE WAS GREAT BUT WE FOUND OUT THAT 24HR SNACKS (FROM THE DELI) ARE NOT AVAILABLE DURING NON PEAK SEASON.

WE WERE ALSO TOLD AFTER THE FACT THAT NON MOTORIZED WATER SPORTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE AT GR SOLARIS AND THAT YOU HAD TO TRAVEL TO THE ROYAL SOLARIS (APPROX 4 HOTELS AWAY) TO ACCESS THEM. THE BEACH/ WATER WAS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. ONLY PROBLEM IS THAT IT WAS ALWAYS BREEZY AND THE WAVES WERE REALLY HIGH. THE RED CAUTION FLAGS WERE POSTED THE ENTIRE WEEK BECAUSE IT WAS TOO DANGEROUS TO VENTURE OUT INTO THE WATER. MANY OF THE BEACH CHAIRS WERE IN POOR SHAPE AND PEOPLE WOULD PLACE THEIR TOWELS ON THE BETTER ONES EARLY IN THE MORNING TO RESERVE THEM AND COME BACK 3 HOURS LATER. WE'RE ALL PAYING GOOD MONEY TO STAY AT THE SAME RESORT SO WHAT MAKES THESE PEOPLE THINK THAT THEY ARE MORE PRIVILEGED THEN EVERYONE ELSE.

ONE OF THE COOLEST THINGS ABOUT THIS RESORT IS THAT THEY HAVE A NURSERY FOR RAISING BABY TURTLES ON THE BEACH. ONCE THEY HAVE HATCHED THE HOTEL GUESTS ARE THEN INVITED TO RELEASE THEM INTO THE OCEAN DURING THE EVENING HOURS.

LOCATION OF THE HOTEL IN THE HOTEL ZONE WAS NOT GREAT. IT IS FAR AWAY FROM THE DOWNTOWN AREA AND NIGHTLIFE AREA. THE BUSES ARE CHEAP SO IT WAS NOT A HUGE DEAL. THE HOTEL IS REALLY CLOSE TO THE EL-REY RUINS SO YOU CAN WALK THERE IN LESS THEN 5 MINUTES. FOR THOSE THAT LIKE TO FEED IGUANAS THIS IS A DEFINITE MUST OF THINGS TO DO.

OVERALL, THE HOTEL EXPERIENCE WAS NOT BAD BUT NOT GREAT EITHER. WE WOULD ONLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL IF YOU GOT A REALLY CHEAP DEAL. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
(1) RELEASED NEWLY HATCHED BABY TURTLES FROM HOTEL NURSERY INTO OCEAN (2) IN ROOM SAFE IS LARGE AND NO ADDITIONAL COST (3) CLOSE PROXIMITY TO EL REY RUINS
The weak points
(1) NON MOTORIZED WATER SPORTS NOT AVAILABLE AT GR SOLARIS. (2) DIRTY DISHES LEFT IN THE HALLWAYS WAY TOO LONG (3) 24HR SNACKS ARE NOT AVAILABLE DURING NON PEAK SEASON (4) ONLY A LA CARTE RESTAURANT IS NOT THAT GREAT (5) ROOMS ARE VERY BASIC LOOKING
Certified

Not for me

, Toronto, ON
2011-03-20
reasonable price for its below standard food and dripping shower water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
price
The weak points
food
Certified

Very nice resort, excellent service.

, Riverview, NB
2011-03-14
Very good hotel and service was excellent. Food was very good, Marco Polo (reservation only) was a bit of a game and in our opinion not worth the wait (based soley on the menu). Main pool was crowded and very busy, but there are two other pool options and an adults only pool which are quieter. Besides, we spent our day at the beach so it really didn't matter all that much to us! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness, diverse food options (snack bar and self serve beer tap aand water cooler) and awesome service.
The weak points
Marco Polo restaurant. No cappucino/espresso bar options (i.e. hard to ge a decent coffee of any sort).
Certified

Great place!

, Montreal, QC
2011-03-10
Nice place. We will definitely re-visit sometime.
Avoid the American spring break... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, pool activities and great food.
The weak points
Bus commute: 30 minutes to the downtown.
Certified

Great resort, not very stroller friendly

, Niagara Falls, ON
2011-02-22
Food - The food at this resort was fantastic. I've read some reviews that said differently, but of all the resorts I've been to in Cuba and Mexico the food here was by far the best. The wait staff throughout were also great.

Rooms - very nice rooms. We had the oceanview which was amazing! The washroom was nice with a nice large shower. The only downfall of the rooms were the lack of bathtub if you have children requiring one (we brought a blow up tub with us) and the fact that there is only one sink and kind of poor lighting. The beds were very hard and the pillows left much to be desired, but all in all a great room....very clean!

Pool/beach - the pool was nice and usually fairly warm, however, it does have a very rough bottom which can be hard on the feet/knees...especially for little ones. There is a lack of seating around the pools where children are allowed so reserve your seat early! This resort could use a better kids area as the kids pool is VERY small and there are no loungers/seating for adults. The beach was nice with lots of seating, however there is a drop off in the sand which you have to watch when walking...again especially with children.

There are lots of doors that are not automatic and only open on one side which makes it very hard when you have a stroller. There are also lots of entry ways that have steps.

All in all this was a very nice resort and I would recommend it....just not ideal with small children! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, Wifi access and clean
The weak points
Pool, beds, too many doors/stairs and reception upon arriving
Certified

GR SOLARIS CANCUN,GREAT PLACE

, New Hamburgh, ON
2011-02-06
Great Place to take a vacation, food,staff, beaches and location great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Hotel
The weak points
HALLS NEED TO SOUND PROOF, OR NEW DOORS ON ROOMS.
Certified

Beware noisy

, London, ON
2011-01-29
Hotel property is four star along with service but because of 5% of patrons being uncultured slobs hallways at night are very noisy. Hotel is mason and tile, with long echo chamber hallways. Hotel needs foam core room doors to isolate hallway sounds and badly needs monitoring to control the minority of patrons that ruin your sleep. Food is excellent and with good variety. Nightly entertainment is mixed; some excellent Vegas quality, a few very loud. Pools are good, ocean is frequently dangerous with high surf and uneven bottom which is dangerous on entry and exit from water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good food choice, Marco Polo Restaurant is first class and highly recommended.
The weak points
5% of clientele are slobs, very noisy at night, room doors need to be replaced with foam core & halls monitored by camera and audio devices to control patrons. Ocean surf is often dangerous for children and seniors entering and exiting. Bring ear plugs.
Certified

Jan 17/2011

, Woodbridge, ON
2011-01-17
The hotel is beautiful, the staffs are very nice. The food is not great as expect , but ' s not bad. The beach beautiful, but ' s not recommend for the kids. Too much wave, and deep . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful city , you can take the Bus to city , shopping...
The weak points
Not safety for the kids at ocean
Certified

NOT BAD

, Bracebridge , ON
2011-01-15
We would not say this resort was a 5*, maybe 3&1/2-4*. Beach was beautiful however we wished they would have cleaned it up everyday, but didn't. We also would have liked staff to have done more cleaning around the premises more etc. washing windows sweeping pool area. The entertainment staff could have been alot more outgoing, and planned more fun activities. There was quite a bit going on for the kids at the kids club: piniata's a great puppet show, face painting. The circus show at night was fabulous. I would say it was about a 3.5 out of 5. We probably won't go back. We like to discover other places. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
KIDS CLUB,NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT, FOOD ALWAYS SOMETHING TASTY
The weak points
CLEANLINESS,
Certified

Winter vacation

, Kingston, ON
2010-02-07
liked the all-inclusive,enjoyed the adult pool, the rooms with barfridge and the friendliness of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service,entertainment,food
The weak points
hot water,access from road,coffee
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021