Grand Park Royal Cancun

Grand Park Royal Cancun
3.983.983.983.983.98
3.98 based on 49 reviews
#35 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (12)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

I don't recommend it!

, Vancouver, BC
2019-04-10
Overall not a bad experience, but I will not recommend and better find something else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pros: Beautiful beach, friendly staff, clean rooms and grounds.
The weak points
Cons:Food extremely limited as variety and not tasty at all. I will rate the food at 3* at the best. I had better food quality and much better variety on 4* resorts. Very limited number of Umbrellas or shades on the beach.
Certified

Excellent winter break in beautiful Cancun

, Squamish, BC
2019-02-07
A very nice and clean hotel with excellent food choices and terrific service. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Terrific beach with white sand, very clean pools . Great all around. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food - excellent Cleanliness - very good. Good attention to detail in all areas.
Certified

Best vacation ever

, Hamilton, ON
2018-07-15
I loved everything about that place..Rooms very big,clean,24 hr room service,pools nice and clean,beach too.. Only thing on the beach was seaweed. Food isvery delicious,staff very friendly and helpful... Big shout to entertainment staff (JOAQUIN esp..,_Dario,Edwin,Nay,Esmeralda),they are absolutely awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Relaxing Vacation

, Regina, SK
2018-01-26
We choose this hotel for our week vacation to get away from the cold weather and relax. We really enjoyed this hotel and its location; it was our 2nd time there. The food was good with a wide variety to choose from and the menu themes were changed on a daily basis. The beach area is beautiful and you can spend many hours walking the beach or relaxing by the pools. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Lots of Sun

, Saint John, NB
2016-03-31
We had a great trip, staff were very friendly. Had to make sure to get up very early and claim a spot on a pool/beach chair if you wanted one for the day. Played 2 rounds of golf - I recommend the Cancun Riviera course. If you book any golf online, don't forget to call the course 24-hours in advance to arrange your free shuttle - it's included! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were great Buffet always had something good Small fridge in room with coke products, beer and water (only 2 beer, maybe we could have asked for more) Close to Cancun night-life Decent TV channels Team had activities going all day
The weak points
Wifi seemed to kick you off after a while, and then had trouble reconnecting Bathroom was small, and the stopper on the tub didn't work Half of the beach area in front of the resort was flagged off (couldn't swim there) Last bar closed around 2 I think
Certified

We had a really nice time

, Regina, SK
2016-01-31
We enjoyed this hotel very much. The hotel was very clean and all staff were very friendly. Our only one complaint would be the food was never very warm. The taste of the food was good but it would have been much better if the food had been kept hot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, and nice location
The weak points
Food never hot.
Certified

MAYBE.... A 2 STAR ....

, Surrey, BC
2015-09-29
The hotel is very dated ,but the rooms are big and clean. The tub was plugged, there was NO hot water, the water stopped completly one day.
I have never seen so little food offered at a Buffet, the salad bar had lettuce .. no vegetables, there was one option for meat, how ever they did have a Great desert selection. During the day you can get Pizza, Hamburgers and hotdogs near the pool area and these were ok. There is 24hr room service and this needs improvement ... I had a Sandwich which came with 6 fries and the Salad had 3 pieces of lettuce.
The pool area was fun and entertaining however it ended at 5 pm and there was NOTHING to do after this, there is no shows at night and nothing else to do.
The staff at the pool work very hard. Our waitress was Gisell and she worked very hard each and every day, she always had a smile and made a point to acknowlge you where ever you were on the propery .
The sand on the beach is plentifull and nice HOWEVER there is a Seaweed problem and they do not do much to clean it up so you can not walk along the shore or go into the water. They leave the seaweed to rot and dryout on the shore instead of raking it up.
I was very concerned that the Security and Life Guards spoke 0 English ... did not make me feel safe.
We checked out at noon ...everything fine.. we had a few hrs to kill and had to re check out before leaving. We are givin a slip and told everything is good. We get into our Airport shuttle and about to leave when the Bell boy comes out and says the Mgr wants to talk to us. He informs my husband that he owes $150 for breaking a table .... we did not even use the table..They were just trying to scam us !!! Be Very Aware [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gisell ,workers
The weak points
Mgmt, ocean, food selection , things to do
Certified

WONDERFUL RETURN VISIT

, Regina, SK
2013-12-13
Just returned from this resort and again was totally impressed!From check in to checkout we were surrounded by hardworking and friendly staff who could not do enough to make our stay wonderful.As return guests we had requested a specific room-not an issue-provided!We had arrived later in the evening but were offered seats at one of the restaurants that should have been booked earlier in the day-nice touch!were greeted warmly by many of the staff we had met during our previous visit.
Love the 3 headed showers.I cannot stress enough how pristine this resort is!Staff clean and smile while they do it!
Sure the buffet does not have the lobster or tenderloin that I have eaten at some other resorts,but there is a great variety of good food and not a night went by when I could not find something that I thoroughly enjoyed.One night after too much sun I was feeling a little nauseated by supper time and my wonderful waiter spoke with his supervisor who immediately brought me the yogurt that I was craving,but that was not served at supper.Everyone at this resort went out of their way to make sure we had a great time.Special thanks to Roberto,Jesus and Hector who mixed us wonderful drinks and without who our holiday would not have been the same.
The beach was large with endless white sand .The water was a little rough in areas,but there were several lifeguard protected areas where you could wade,swim and feel safe.
My only suggestions for improvements would be queen instead of double beds(we stayed in the premier wing) and possibly beach waiter service,but this would be nit-picking as we loved every moment of our stay and will certainly return next year(we travel a fair amount and this is the only resort we have ever chosen to return to). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness,location,great beach and great staff
The weak points
Expensive internet
Certified

Great Hotel!

, Georgetown, ON
2013-02-26
I traveled in February and absolutely loved my stay! The ground were incredibly clean, people are always cleaning! The rooms are absolutely stunning and comfortable. The staff made us feel welcome and feel like family, they are absolutely so sweet. The food is AMAZING. I was so surprised at how much variety the buffet had and the El Mirador restaurant was amazing. The activity staff are so much fun and work hard to make sure everyone is having a blast. This is a smaller hotel which means it does not take 20 minutes to go back to the room to get something, which was nice. Overall great hotel!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and so clean!
The weak points
There is no free wifi (not even in the lobby) and there are no activities past 10pm (like a dance disco or something)
Certified

6th trip to Mexico

, Ottawa, ON
2012-04-27
The hotel is nice but, I would not consider it five star in comparison to other five star hotels where we have stayed i.e. El Dorado Royale. It is clean and attractive. Staff is attentive. The food is mediocre and they could use more variety with respect to a la carte restaurants. We enjoyed our experience and considering the price that we paid it was good value. But, I would rate it a 4 star at best. One added note: they are way too aggressive on the time share sell. They hit you as soon as you check in. I didn't like that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and quiet pool are wonderful!
The weak points
Food quality and variety.
Certified

Nice!

, Ottawa, ON
2012-04-24
We had good time, the location was awesome; The staff were beyond friendly and the hotel is/was VERY CLEAN. Service at the buffets & A la cartes were wonderful. The We loved, loved the Cafe, such great touch!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location!
The weak points
** No shows/nightly entertainment was disapointing!
Certified

BEAUTIFUL!!!!

, Carlton Place, ON
2012-03-27
We just got back from Cancun Saturday afternoon and it was a dream come true. The Grand Park Royal is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at. The staff was amazing! The restaurants were fantastic with a great variety of food so you didn't get sick of eating the same thing. The nightlife in Cancun is something that everyone should experience....soooo fun! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness of the hotel
The weak points
In my opinion, there wasn't one.
Certified

Don't show up before 11!

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-15
We took the red-eye flight into Cancun and arrived at the hotel at about 8am. We were told we could not get our bracelets until 11am - so no food or water. They gave us towel cards, which we used, but then while we were around the pool, we had security asking us where our bracelets were. Rooms were clean. Buffet food was good. The Italian resturant and Martin were excellent! But get in line to reserve by 11am. Tipping does not go far and seems to be forgetten the next day (with the exception of a few great employees). We were there to celebrate our engagement and it was ignored and we were told we couldn't pay to have our room rose - petal'ed or anything otherwise special. Weather was really windy - we couldn't sit on the beach without getting sandblasted (and there were no chairs even if we wanted to). Be at the pool early - before 7 am to get a chair.
All in all - would not go back to Cancun and definitely not back to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Certain staff - Hector & Martin
The weak points
staff at front desk
Certified

Very good hotel

, Gatineau, QC
2012-03-10
Very good hotel,very clean everywhere, the room was awesome. The food was excellent, à la carte we were lucky because it's only 12 years and over, but my daughter looks older than 11, but some people were very upset with younger kids, they weren't able to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean place
The weak points
no activities at night
Certified

Wonderful Trip

, Richmond, BC
2011-12-31
This hotel is very clean. No complaints.I would love to return again soon. Loved Monique's smile and laugh. Would like to thank Miguel, Eric, Gilberto, and Max for your great service. All the staff at the Grand Park Royal were awesome! They all work really hard and deserve a tip. This is a beautiful hotel. Food was awesome. Loved the Italian resturant. Thanks to the chefs we always had an execellent meal. Look forward to returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice hotel
The weak points
No Complaints
Certified

Great vacation

, Hamilton, ON
2011-12-04
Hotel was clean and served its purpose. Loved the beach view it was spectacular. Staff was wonderful, but not enough food selection. This was the only problem I had with this hotel, but I would go back again to Grand Park Royal [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we loved the beach, staff was great, room and hotel were spotless.
The weak points
Food could use some inprovement not enough selection
Certified

Very relaxing vacation!!

, Emerald Park, SK
2011-04-11
very relaxing stay,no evening shows but close to clubs,good a la carte restaurants,smaller buffet though but lots of choices, excellent beach!!!,not enough loungers around pool area,entertainment team not very good,their is a cafe for coffee, capps, sandwiches, awesome icecream and sherberts,cookies, very nice!!smaller resort,very clean resort,have to pay for wifi,small lobby [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach,rooms,breeze off the ocean,very clean,nice rooms,
The weak points
no night life on resort,needs more choice in restaurants,entertainment staff needs to step it up,needs to provide free wifi
Certified

Good value for price paid

, Burlington, ON
2011-03-31
Clean resort, friendly staff, nice beach. Not enough beds with shade, found people were placing items on them by 6:00 am and not using them until the afternoon. Very frustrating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean
The weak points
Poor buffett
Certified

Caribe Park Royal Grand

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-03-08
The hotel and beach were nice. The location is central and about a 15 minute walk to most of the clubs. The time share people were relentless the first couple of days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was nice. The food was good. Rooms were clean.
The weak points
The time share people were relentless the first couple of days.
Certified

Great resort!

, Crysler, ON
2011-02-03
Food was EXCELLENT! staff were great and very hard working. Rooms, hotel, pools and beach were very clean. Beach was amazing! Highly recommend this resort... and hope to go back with children next time. 2 thumbs up! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food 5 stars. Staff 5 stars. Beach 5 stars.
The weak points
More chairs required on beach.
Certified

Worth the price I paid

, Ingleside, ON
2011-01-13
We were very pleased with this hotel, very large beach area and two separate pool areas. One for the young crowd and one quieter area. Food was good but it was tough to book the oriental and italian restaurants. Rooms in the newer addition were nice but the beds were very firm. Friendly staff but the front desk should inform people about the cards for the towels once you check-in and are given your room keys. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice beach with two separate pool areas. Very clean resort.
The weak points
Tough to book a reservation at the restaurants. Very firm beds.
Certified

Would go back again

, Airdrie, AB
2010-03-29
Everything went smoothly for us. We were allowed to check in early which was nice because our 18 month old was tired. The staff were very friendly and the food and service were both excellent. We only ate in the buffet because our daughter couldn't sit through an a la carte menu. The place was so clean, which was such a bonus. They were always cleaning. We will most likely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness friendly staff (especially the Cafe Sole)
The weak points
nothing for kids to do, should have a kids pool
Certified

An Excellent Holiday and Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2010-03-01
What a pleasure to stay at a hotel where people take such great pride in making sure their guests are happy! The only criticism is our in-room fridge did not work but then we never made a big deal out of it. Ice was available right across the hall anyway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service with a smile all the time Friendly, helpful staff Meticulously well kept Very nice decour Great location Very good food Beautiful spacious beach
The weak points
Bar fridge not working during our stay
Certified

Good Times

, West St. Paul, MB
2010-02-18
The place was amazing with lots of things to do with activities provided by the entertainment staff.

Reception was terrible though :( [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The place was beautiful and most everyone was super friendly
The weak points
Female receptionists seemed to hate their lives. They were miserable and it showed. They rolled their eyes at complaining guests. We had an all inclusive package but could only get 2 bottled waters a day (one per person)
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021