Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay

Bahia Principe Luxury Runaway Bay
4.174.174.174.174.17
4.17 based on 140 reviews
#3 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Runaway Bay
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (26)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Recently returned

, Collingwood, ON
2022-11-17
Over all we had an excellent stay at the Bahia Luxury the food was great, the resort is very clean and our rooms were very good. Staff were always more than happy to help in any way always very friendly. Our only complaint would be booking the A la carte restaurants they are very difficult to book and even trying the five days before on the app everything came up as being booked. However, when we did get in some of the restaraunts they were very good. Also to note the pools and beaches are very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

A 3 star at best, not as advertised

, Laval, QC
2022-09-21
We stayed for 9 days. In this time we had 3 rooms, each with a different issue. The 1st was smack in front of the entertainment and we couldn't hear ourselves think. The 2nd was fine, but the 4th night, the ceiling over the tub started leaking water. We called maintenance, they said they fixed the leak but would fix the warped ceiling the next day. They never came the next day. And the ceiling leaked again, so they did not in fact fix it. We called again, and were told that we would get another room, to be ready in 20 minutes. We packed quickly, and waited almost 90 minutes until we got to our 3rd room. This one had AC issues; it never really cooled down, so we used the ceiling fan to sleep. They asked if we wanted to change again, but we declined since we only had 1 more night there.
As for the food, again 3 star at best. Mostly bland, and we always had to ask for coffee, even at breakfast. The ingredients were good, but the preparation lacked experience. As for the A al Carte restaurants, most were closed, or open only 1 or 2 days per week. We spent a lot of time trying to get into the few a la carte that were sporadically open. The advertising on this is misleading.
The front desk almost NEVER picks up the phone when we called, and if you need something, make sure you tell 2 or 3 people, or chances are you will not be served. We were warned of this at our information session.
The beach in the Luxury is man made and full of rocks, and not pretty. The only nice bit of beach is in the Grand part of the resort, which is the family area. So it may be noisy - or not. There was a baby who cried incessantly (not her fault, but we paid extra for Luxury adults only so we wouldn't have to hear this).
The linens (bed sheets and towels) sometimes had stains (looked like lipstick or food) that were leftover from washing, which was a turn-off.
We paid a lot for luxury and adults only, we had expected more. Needless to say we will not be going back there, nor will we recommend this place to any of our entourage. We are very disappointed with our experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
They gave us a bottle of bubbly wine for our anniversary; we occasionally got fruit plates in the evening. The restaurant staff is generally very nice, and hard working. The drinks were fine; you had to know what to ask for. Their cookies were great!
The weak points
A 3 star at best, definitely not as advertised; adult beaches not nice, rocky; a la carte restaurants scarce availability; 3 rooms in 9 days, each with a different issue; marble floors, slippery and many guests fall down; front desk never picks up phone;
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hand sanitizers everywhere; not always enforced by the staff. Relatively clean bathrooms and other common areas.
Certified

Good, but….

, Toronto, ON
2022-09-07
Nice resort, with friendly workers but I wouldn't say it's 5 stars! I would give 3 for the property! Very old carpet with lots of stain, , broken tiles and walls and doors all scratched.
We started for 4 nights and was able to booking the restaurants just for one day because was everything booked already! We let's and we still don't know where's the snack bar! I don't think they have one because we look everywhere! If you want to sleep at night, do never stay near to the swimming pool, everything shakes with the lounge sound outside. Thanks we could change the room for quite area. The beach is very small, I could say it's 50m long. The rest was fine [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly ppl
The weak points
Installation
Certified

Aug , 2022

, Toronto, ON
2022-09-01
Everything was good, food , drinks and the people there.
Rooms clean and the pool was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Luxury Bahia Runaway Bay

, Brampton, ON
2022-04-25
It was a great vacation. The property is very well maintained and the staff are very friendly. We got a nice room with great view. I would comfortably recommend this resort for anyone looking for a great place for vacation or for any events. I would like give credit to few staff members whose contribution made our stay more comfortable and enjoyable.
Ashdaine - A cheerful young man who decorated our bed for our 30th Wedding Anniversay. He left a very kind hand-written note, wishing us on our anniversary.
Dushaine - helped us setup Wi-Fi, helped us book dinner reservations, gave a short tour and helped us get familiar with the property. Always willing to offer help.
Sam the Man - Would greet us every single time and always asked if there's anything he could do for us.
Jodon Bowen - Luxury Lobby Manager - He went out of his way to help us with our special request for meals. He introduced us to Chef Clark at the Jazmin buffet, to help us with our special food requests.
Both Chef Clark at the Jazmin Buffet and Chef Christopher Ryan at Picasso restaurant took extra efforts to cook vegetarian food for us, every day. Every meal they served us was delicious, nutritious and satisfying.
Shadale who works at the bar would greet us every morning with a big smile and start our day with delicious, flavourful Latte. She maintained the same taste and consistency every single day. We miss the Latte.
Sandrieka - I believe she works as Supervisor in the Entertainment department. She greeted us every time we met her, made sure we stayed hydrated.
Owen - We attended his 'stretching' session one day. We left the class with full of energy and knowledge about exercising and staying healthy. A very caring person and an excellent personal trainer.
Besides the above mentioned people, there were several staff members who made our stay very special. Our room was kept clean, bed nicely made, supplies replenished. Overall, it was a great experience.

Weak Points:
We are vegetarians. Though there was abundant choice of food, we noticed there was not much choice for vegetarians. There were steamed vegetables, salads etc. We were concerned about possible cross contamination and the ingredients used.
Suggestion: Having a restaurant for vegetarians, or providing a menu for guests like us, with vegetarian options to choose. Though the Chefs would prepare something for us every day, we didn't have a menu to pick something that may like and sometimes the wait was long.
Since we don't consume alcoholic beverages and don't eat meat, we felt that we didn't get our money's worth. We are looking forward to travel more and would prefer to stay at Bahia, based on our experience at Runaway Bay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Nicely maintained resort, very clean, lots of activities and beautiful garden. Friendly staff and convenient shuttle service.
The weak points
We are vegetarians. Though there was abundant choice of food, we noticed there was not much choice for vegetarians. There were steamed vegetables, salads etc. We were concerned about possible cross contamination and the ingredients used.
Certified

Awesome

, Bateston, NS
2020-03-17
Beautiful resort; beautiful people. Food is incredibly delicious; Room service after 11pm not so great. Very very clean, comfortable beds and lots if activities. Loved it!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean fun and food is great
The weak points
Room service after 11pm is not good. Ceasar salad consisted of 2 small pieces if lettuce 1 tomato and a piece of chicken thumb size.
Certified

50 th Birthday Party

, Perth, ON
2020-02-10
We had a lovely time at this hotel. 6 of us came for a 50 th birthday party. There was a great selection of food at the buffet. The staff at the Jasmin restaurant were fabulous. I was disappointed that most of the elevators were out of order and we were on the 7 th floor. That is something that can not afford to be broken. Also there wasn't any bar service, washrooms or beach cafes near a big stretch of the beach where we sat. The one in Mexico had beach service and washrooms near the beach. We heard from someone who was there the week prior that if you didn't tip every time at the pool bar, they were rude and would ignore you. That should never happen regardless of tips. People pay a lot of money to be there. All in all it's a really nice resort with great food but there are a few Big things they need to get on top of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Had a Great Time on our Honeymoon!

, Oshawa, ON
2020-02-09
We are from Canada and came here for our honeymoon. We had an amazing time! We had an ocean view room with a great view of the pool and the mountains/ocean. Night time made for some beautiful colors. The room had tons of space and housekeeping came by 3 times a day to make sure it was clean (which it always was). There was a really great sized balcony as well where we had several drinks watching the sun go down.
Food was really great as well. We ate at all a la carte restaurants and all had something different to offer. Our favorites were Rodizzio (if you like to EAT), The Knife, Mikado and Dolce Vida (unreal view of the ocean). Late night room service wasnt very appetizing I must say. Breakfast and lunch buffets were really good both in quality and number of choices. However, they need to have more hot sauce available (small detail i know).
All the staff are super friendly and accommodating. They really love Canadians! From concierge, to housekeeping, to pool staff, to food/beverage, etc...they all want to make sure you have a memorable stay. The resort itself was beautiful and really breathtaking to look at day in and day out. We were on the Luxury side but spent most of our time on the Grand side (kids allowed) because most restaurants were over there and the beaches were much better (view, sand, size, water). Entertainment was also very good. we enjoyed the shows on the beach and at the village. However, we werent the biggest fan of the venue on the Luxury side as it was just a medium-large size tent. The village had a large stage with plenty of outdoor seating and a bar right next to it so it was much better. we are not pool people we are beach people so we spent all 10 days at the beach and therefore cannot comment on the quality of the pool. However, from what we say people did seem to enjoy it and the entertainment looked like fun.

All in all we had a great time for sure and would definitely come back! It was definitely a memorable honeymoon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Beach (on the Grande side)/Water, Room/View, Staff, Bar
The weak points
Not enough hot sauce at buffets, need late night food buffet on Luxury side, better venue for entertainment on Luxury side, Luxury beaches did not have great views or swimming
Certified

GOOD SPOT

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-29
GOOD HOTEL NOT QUITE AS GOOD AS OTHER LUXURY BAHIA BEEN TO [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLEAN
The weak points
DIFFICULTY IN RESERVING AL ACARTES RAN OUT OF SOME LIQUOR AT LOBBY BAR
Certified

Happy New Year

, Brampton, ON
2020-01-20
The hotel was magnificent on a whole. The staff was remarkable, and did their best to cater to any needs that arose. Grounds were well kept, and the rooms were clean. We were upgraded the luxury side, but was disappointed. We were there for rest, due to health reasons, and ended up fighting mosquitoes for our first 3 days, and there was a lingering odour of sewer. Our room was sprayed several times, but the amount of mosquitoes that stayed alive was numerous. My husband and I came home covered in bites. By the 3rd night our room was changed to a higher floor and we had no further issues. We loved the grounds but were disappointed to only have 2 good days for the price that we paid. If you visit this location, just be aware that the lower levels have a mosquito issue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Vacation at Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay.

, Scarborough, ON
2019-11-09
Very good service,Clean Environment,Good Spicy food.

Need to improve Internet access and Wi-Fi service, Very poor signal strength. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room cleaning services,Staff and crew,Food and Restaurants. Pool and Grounds Staff and Crew.
The weak points
Overall Entertainment. Need more Shows and Activities. Beaches need more Standard and Upgraded.
Certified

Grand / luxary Bahia - NEVER GO HERE

, Whitby, ON
2019-10-09
Luxary / Grand Bahia Principe Runaway Bay Jamaica - 0 Stars - DO NOT STAY HERE EVER

so as much as I had a fun time on my vacation there were several things that happened in which I would never recommend this property to anyone. Here are some of the things we encountered.

1. 4 different rooms in 4 days - first 4 days we had to switch a room each day due to a/c being broken to leaks from the roof going through out light fixture in our bathroom. We had a slip and almost fall incident in that one.

2. Beach closes at 5pm , pool at 6pm and whole resort at 12pm. - Who closes a pool and beach so early ? and the main bar at midnight ??? which by the way they stop serving at 11:50 pm as the lights literally turn off at midnight. The only positive things was the bar staff at the resort as they were awesome.

3. Not handicap accessible. - they claim to be but when I see a woman who is physically challenged, struggle to open and close a door at dinner to where I got up to help her out they most certainly are not handicap friendly at all.

4. Room service - their 24 hour room service was horrible. 45 minutes anytime to get a cold meal that more than likely was not what you ordered in the first place. How hard is it to understand "no tomatoes". Most of our meals came cold and with service from a pissed off worker that was more than likely napping when we placed the order.

5. Tiles in hotel / pool / room - if it rains you cannot walk. We saw over 10 people slip and fall all around the property. We even witnessed a elderly who was walking up a ramp with a walker slip and crack her head wide open just outside the main bar. If it wasn't for a friend of mine who was a Dr she would of been in worse shape. This place is not safe when it rains .

6. Health and safety - If you severely hurt yourself the staff has no clue what to do. As I mentioned above when that happened the tourist were more help than the staff. Their concern was asking for insurance papers and standing around doing nothing while my friend was assessing the situation and taking care of her with help from others. The staff were slow and basically didn't care what was going on. An ambulance was on the property by the Club (a 5 min walk) took 30 mins to arrive with a pissed off nurse who was on call and had no training what so ever. It was a complete shit show and this here is the main reason why I would never return. The lady ended up with several stitches in the back of her head when it was all over with.

7. We get compensation for a spa package in which we use the second last day on the resort and were told by the spa that the voucher has to be redeemed at the main desk. Meanwhile when we check out the main desk says we have to go to the spa to give in the voucher. The communication between the employees was pathetic and the run around we faced on a daily basis for things was unprofessional. Even to the point that on our shuttle back to the airport we are sitting on we get called off because they think we owe money for the spa treatment but we then showed them basic math and it was figured out 20 mins later.

8. A la Cart - The hotel cancelled 1 of our reservations due to the restaurant being closed for an emergency (or something). They give us a letter in our hotel room which states that we can select any place we want to go eat at a specific time. We make our way down to the one we chose and there is no reservation on the books. We explain the situation and of course we cannot go eat until I decide to flip out at the server and manager as I had enough.

These are just off the top of my head and don't include the countless times staff woke us up with random phone calls at 3am or 8am asking us dumb questions and not respecting privacy. Along with the do not disturb sign that is left on the door which apparently means to yes knock and wake us up.

overall I do not recommend this place to anyone ever. With the main reason that their staff has no clue what to do if you hurt yourself in a serious way. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Birthday at the beach.

, Grimsby, ON
2019-03-28
Beautiful resort, great weather, friendly staff and good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing views from ocean view rooms. The grounds and buildings are immaculate. Friendly staff. Rodizio a la carte is fabulous. Plenty of loungers and umbrellas at the beach and pool.
The weak points
The 2 Asian restaurants were very under whelming. Wifi was spotty. Bars closed too early.
Certified

Awsome as usual

, Yarker, ON
2019-03-15
This was our 3rd visit to the GB resort area, 1st time to the adults only Luxury side. Accommodations did not disappoint, nor did the staff, service, amenities etc. Very large rooms, beautiful bathrooms, great views. Food was above excellent in the buffet, only tried one restaurant.

We have been to this resort before so knew what to expect from the beach and the man made beach area, which is an awesome place to snorkel in shallow water right from shore, behind a protected break wall.
We enjoyed the 2 new pool areas for the adults only, lovely shade cabanas, lots of chairs and umbrellas, pool side waiter service, and the best part, no reserving chairs before 9 am unless your butt is parked in the chair.. So if you jumped out of bed at 630 to save your fav. spot then went back to bed, guess what , your stuff if sitting over by the towel shack and your chairs are gone, and it is enforced, so it's great. After 9:00 am, no problem, you can come down, grab your chair then off to a wonderful breakfast. If you come down earlier, you must stay in your chair...no problem for us earlier risers that like to sit and read a book while nice and quiet with a large cup of coffee from your room.

Only problem we had was the air conditioner. We had a room on the top floor, and unfortunately the sun beats down on the roof too much there and the room was always hot. We had maintenance up every day, they tried adjusting the sensor in the patio door, then they disconnected it, then they found a broken coil. Eventually gave up and they brought us a huge fan. They offered to give us a new room, but the ones on the same floor were not any cooler and it was already more than 1/2 way thru our holiday, so we just used the big fan we had. Helped but not cool like our friends who were on a lower floor and they had to turn their AC off at night as it was too cool. The staff tried hard to fix it, the Guest Services Manager assisted , even the Assistant Hotel Manager, but no go. I must admit they tried hard and certainly did not ignore our daily complaints of "no ac yet". So don't ask for a room on the top floor, they need to put stronger AC units on that level...

Only other area, that I did not personally like is the LACK of a usable beach in front of the Luxury section. They have made a tiny little sandy beach area behind the break wall, but unfortunately the water in this area only gets to about waist high if you are short.. not a walking beach either. I was disappointed as I had been told that they made a beach out front for the adults.. they did, but not really. However, if you want a bigger private beach, just walk over to the left about 10mins to the beach of the Gran Bahia and voila. Or you can ride the free golf cart train that takes the luxury adults around.

But despite the AC issue, we certainly enjoyed our holiday and would go back to this resort in a heartbeat.
Front desk staff and management were great. Cleaning staff were good, always left little chocolates on our bed at night, We even had a wonderful Butler Simone, who popped in every day with ice and to see if we needed anything.
Wifi, free in this section and available everywhere, but a bit of a pain, you had to log in every 24hrs..

Highly recommend to others, and FYI.. I am a travel agent, so yes I have sent lots of my clients here and will continue to send them here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food, accommodations, pools, drinks
The weak points
Entertainment in adults only a bit sad, more live music would have been better. Poor to non existent air conditioning on the 7th floor, Beach... just a bit of sand and knee high water
Certified

What a wonderful holiday that was....

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-06
This was my first time in Jamaica and I can honestly say that it exceeded my expectations.
Very friendly, professional customer service that made me feel very welcome and warm. Every time I would pass the staff in the hallway , by the swimming pool or restaurant they would greet me with a friendly hello with a smile.
Clean rooms, nicely stocked fresh towels and replaced toiletry.
We bought a trip to Dunns River Falls for Wednesday. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling well and the manager accommodated me by changing it to another day. I didn't think it would be possible.
It was great and entertaining every evening and day. Fun , fun, fun...
Great foam party in the swimming pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Jamaican Escape

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-19
Have been to a variety of 5 star resorts in Caribbean but this one falls short. Located essentially on the highway, you have choice of road noise or pool noise. It takes time to understand layout since you can not get from lobby to pool / beach are without going through corridors with rooms.
Lobby bar has outdoor seating but it faces highway and the 'fogging' for bugs at dusk forces people to leave. The bar itself can't handle number of people, and after 6:00 PM, it is the only option. Frequently went to the non adult Bahia hotel to get a drink before dinner as it was larger and had better service.
Rooms nice, but no spare electrical outlets - must disconnect light etc to recharge anything. While the rooms were well cleaned daily, the Housekeeping service was frequently very late - after 5:00 PM resulting in frequently lack of towels, shampoo, bathmats etc to replace previously used items.
Grounds and exterior appearance are beautiful. Both quiet and active pool areas with lots of chairs and shade when needed. Beach areas small although sand area to walk and beach sports is good [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Courtesy and friendliness of staff - everyone very friendly. Grounds and visuals of hotel Food and ease to book a la carte dinners online
The weak points
Housekeeping, bar service, forced to resign in to wifi every 24 hours but good reception, lack of spare electric outlets in room
Certified

BEST VACATION EVER !!!!

, Lasalle, QC
2019-01-27
Amazing resort ! They have absolutely everything . Food is great , the site is super clean , employees are friendly , pool and beach parties , talented DJs , a live reggae band , I can go on and on . If you want to chill you can and if you want to party and hang out - this is place is for you . Even the shops are cool . At night , you can take a shuttle to the village . Karaoke and dance club . There's always something going on and always something to do . Be sure to check the activities sign so you know what's going on each night .

You have access to the Grand side which has a beautiful beach with white sand and clear blue water . There is a beach at the luxury side but it's worth the walk to the Grand .

Our room - gorgeous ,comfortable and clean with an amazing view of the beach and pool.
Quite private as well on the balcony .

The staff treated us with white gloves . TIP : Call the concierge and not 0 for anything you're missing in your room .

Super sonic shoutout to Latoya and Alex !

Probably the best vacation we've taken to date .
We will be back ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
I have no negative comments .
Certified

Luxury Runway Bay

, Mississauga, ON
2018-12-25
Runway Bay is a beautiful resort. My bad experience started when I reserved four rooms all on the same room and when I get there one room was given to someone else and move me to another floor. We were there to celebrate 60th birthday.
Food was good. Staff very friendly
Do not recommend if you are going with big family because they scatter you all over instead of putting your group together. Would not go back to this resort. Need to improve on their entertainment. Went to other resort with much better entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food is very good and staff very friendly.
The weak points
Entertainment need to improve. Grand Bahia is better resort. I went to other resort where they have live music in the lobby not at the poolside and it rain out.
Certified

Mediocre at best

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-11
This hotel is clean with beautiful grounds. The food is ok at best. The hotel is lacking friendly customer service. Don't save yourself a spot by the pool either or the hotel staff confinscates your belongings and takes them to the pool house.
The beach is small and not the prettiest of views for the ocean. We normally like to spend my time at the ocean but due to the rocky/ painful sand and the minimal area to swim, we didn't sit there at all.
The rooms were very clean but we both have very sore backs from the bed.
I would not call this hotel a 5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-11
This resort was just good - I wasn't really wowed by anything here. For the price we paid for a luxury resort we were actually expecting a bit more. The rooms were clean and spacious but our tub was broken and would not drain properly. Housekeeping was hit or miss, the first 2 nights they did not clean our room at all. Overall the staff were nice but nobody really stood out. They do not carry straws at any of the bars or restaurants so be sure to bring your own containers as their cups are also quite small. The food was good for the most part, lots of a la carte dining options and they did not enforce a strict dress code. Overall the place was good but next time I would try a different resort. I would suggest only booking if it was on sale. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wifi was reliable, grounds were nice, lots of lounge chairs available, many dining options.
The weak points
The beach was shallow and rocky, everything including the pool closed early, housekeeping was inconsistent.
Certified

Great staff and service!

, Brampton, ON
2018-10-18
We had a wonderful stay at the resort with no issues whatsoever.

The staff were all extremely friendly, polite, and very professional. One thing that I really noticed was that they didn't act like they were hungry for tips. They took tips graciously if given but in no way did I ever feel like it was expected of us! The resort clearly enacts some professionalism protocols as we were always asked to go ahead if sharing an elevator with staff, for example.

Our room was great! No issues whatsoever. It was cleaned if we put he "please clean" sign up. If we had the do not disturb sign up, they did a courtesy knock (if the sign was off the door) in the evening to see if we needed anything stocked up, or they would do a courtesy call if the sign was on the door.

The buffet was delicious with a fabulous variety of healthy and not so healthy vacation guilty pleasures. We did a few à la carte restaurants which were a nice change. Some of them weren't any better than the buffet (Picasso, Garden Grill), and some of them were definitely a treat (Mikado Tepanyaki, Rodizio, Don Pablo)!

The beaches were nice, but I much preferred hanging out at the pool as the bar was closer and the entertainment was lively. Raymond at the Luxury pool bar was a constant highlight of our day, always boisterously serving our drinks!

A great trip all around!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Good food. Extremely clean.
The weak points
Internet is sometimes unreliable - who cares, it's vacation!
Certified

Would visit again

, Oshawa, ON
2018-06-05
Second time there and again it didn't disappoint.
Check-in at 9:00 PM was a breeze. Front desk staff told us to visit the buffet before it closed and we could pick up our bags when we had finished eating.
Rooms are spacious and spotless. Bar fridge was stocked daily. Small dickie (half a mickie) bottles of rum and vodka were replenished daily as well. Balcony was enormous with 2 chairs, table and 2 loungers.
Pools were clean and large. Had to wait till 10:00 one day to use one of them as the overnight staff had over chlorinated and we had to wait till it burned off. Plenty of loungers but shy on umbrellas. Shady spots were at a premium around 11:00. Lots of folks saving chairs but not showing up till later in the afternoon. The hotel were addressing but seemed to go after the wrong people as well. We went down at 7, placed towels/personal items on chairs and went up for a shower. 10 minutes later, my wife told me that staff had picked up everyone's item. When i asked the manager he said that everything was picked up between 7 & 8. I pointed out that the buffet opens at 7 and several people had drop off items and went for breakfast. We complied for the rest of the week however they need to monitor more for chairs covered all day and no one there.
Las Olas, the pool buffet stood out as a great place for breakfast and lunch. All the staff were amazing and incredible helpful. Denton, Cruse and Jordian were standouts. Fitzroy, the jerk chef, served succulent jerk chicken and pork, on a daily basis, and has a fantastic attitude as well.
Main buffet was always good and had daily different ethnic specials. A la cartes, were good but not overly impressive. Visited Don Pablo, Garden Grill and Mikado to mixed reviews. Should have just eaten at the buffet and saved bringing along a pair of long pants.
Wi-fi was spotty at best. Had to constantly log back on.
Entertainment was good. Steel drum band was excellent as well as the Michael Jackson show. Same ones as last year however. Entertainment and bars, with the exception of the lobby bar, shut down at 11. For those wanting to party, the nightclub in the Village (family side of resort) opened at 11 and closed at 2.
Experienced some hiccups but the pros outweighed the cons and wouldn't hesitate to visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food. Nice & clean pool area. Clean room. Huge balcony.
The weak points
Beach for Luxury side beach is just a wading pool sheltered by a tall break-wall. Long walk to family side beach.
Certified

Would go back if the price is right

, Montréal, QC
2018-05-30
Very good resort, big difference between family and adult area. Beach is nicer in the family area but a lot to walk.
Bus from the airport aprox 1:15 hr, check in didn't take long. We e-mailed in advance and asked for higher floor, corner room - got 3rd floor close to the end but not corner. The view of the pool and ocean was amazing so no complaints (room 25234). A lot of walking to the buffet,, but close to the beach and pool. Las Olas beach restaurant was all we needed most days.
The ladies that would come on the beach to take your order for drinks were always smiling and nice. I didn't see any of the staff acting different with people that gave tips vs people that didn't.
Room was spotless, our cleaning lady made sure to ask if we need anything. One day we told her that we don't need cleaning and we had to sign a sheet to prove that. Once they forgot to bring coffee to the room and once we had only 1 hand towel. No facecloths, we had one first day but it wasn't an issue for us. We were on vacation
Food was good, a la carte we only tried Rodizio and loved it. It was too hot to wear long pants at night just to go eat so we went to the buffet instead.
I found that because it's such a big resort, everything is far and they don't have enough carts. From this point of view Ambar in Punta Cana is way more organized.
Lobby was crowded at night, we stayed always outside where we could smoke. Went to the pool show and another one, both ok. Everything closes at 11, which we found strange in all adults only resorts.
We did 2 trips, one from the resort and one with a private driver. Both great.
Last day we tried for a late check out but front desk was not helpful,(I didn't find them too helpful from the beginning), so instead of getting upset at the end - we all know that when there is a will, there is a way - we chose to check out at 10am, had all day by the beach, lunch, shower next to the lobby and be ready for the bus transfer.
In conclusion, it was our first trip to Jamaica, we went with an open mind, looked only for the good in everything and we had a blast! I would go back in a heartbeat! We love BP hotels [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spotless resort, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, sunset / sunrise
The weak points
Beach would be nice but water is too shallow, blocked by rocks. Not good for swimming. Also room service takes about 45 min for anything. Not enough carts and everything is far.
Certified

Hotel and Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-29
I had a great experience at the Luxury Bahia Principe. The Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very clean and has a Butler Service available and 24 hr. room service. The property is split into two sides, a Grand side and a Luxury side. Luxury guests have access to the entire property whereas Grand guests can access the Luxury side for an additional daily fee. The resort has a good selection of a la carte restaurants that range from Asian Fusion to Italian and a buffet that offers a large selection of foods as well as an area dedicated to Jamaican foods. The resort is rather large so be prepared to do a bit of walking, especially if you aim to spend some time on the beach on the Grand side. The beach is a natural beach and does have access to a segregated Nude - Adults Only beach. Luxury guests however, have a man-made beach that is protected by a break wall and isn't very large. The pools wrap around the property and is cleaned nightly. The pools are vacuumed every morning and the decks are washed nightly.

The Resort offers nightly entertainment as well and for the added cost of staying on the Luxury side, you can also ask for premium brand liquors and spirits. Grand guest may ask for them as well but of course comes at an additional cost. Wifi on site can be unreliable. We found that it's difficult to connect while on the beach and inside some buildings and in our room as well. Food on the Resort was always well made and flavourful and the staff are very prompt when making sure that selections don't run out for too long. The buffet also offers made to order omelettes in the mornings and a pasta station for lunch and dinner.

Overall, I had a great relaxing experience and would definitely come back for another stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the staff, cleanliness, and access to premium liquors and spirits.
The weak points
The WiFi and the beach for Luxury Guests.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-05-02
We had a great vacation here with no complaints about anything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service around the pool deck which is actually quite large and spacious. Food and service in all restaurants was excellent.
The weak points
The beach is definitely the weakest point of the resort.
Certified

First visit

, Dartmouth, NS
2018-04-23
Hotel is beautiful, very clean, including our room and all public areas. The food was delicious and great variety. The beach was very small and shallow. The pool has exceptional daily entertainment. Only went to two a la carte restaurants. The Grill had a wonderful surf and turf and the Japanese had the best cooking show, service and awesome food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was delicious Pool daily entertainment was superb Cleanliness was above expectations
The weak points
Very small beach Recognition of guests by staff needs improvement, not all were friendly and outgoing as we expected Our air conditioning unit was not as cool as wanted
Certified

Luxury Bahia Principe Runaway Bay

, Whitby, ON
2018-04-02
What an INCREDIBLE hotel!!
The grounds are gorgeous, rooms exceptional and HUGE!
Resort is big, but enjoyable to walk and explore!
Cannot say enough great things about the staff, they are wonderful, personable and genuinely caring and loving! <3
Always something to do! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are the best! Beach and pool areas - so clean and beautiful Food - delicious everywhere we ate
The weak points
sometimes bar service was slow, but did NOT affect my stay! They were very busy and very hard working! Wifi was not very good, connect one day and not the next, even in the lobby.
Certified

Jamaica Get Away

, Waterloo, ON
2018-04-02
Overall the hotel was clean and well kept. You could se maintenance crews working in the background and they were all friendly with a Smile or HELLO, as you passed. We asked for a Pool view and we did book early so we paid a bit more than the people that booked early January - February. Building 25/26 are the best to stay in with POOL VIEW. We asked a few times by Email for pool view and to book dinner reservations but were told they can not do that. It was disappointing looking at the Road and Garden but we did not spend that much time there anyway. I found this property easier to maneuver than the Dominican property. Things were laid out much better.

Staff were always willing to help and very friendly.

Meals were excellent of the buffets and A La Carte we tried. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Friendly Staff - Excellent Food - Good Service - Wi Fi on the beach - Clean - Safe
The weak points
- Ran out of Grey Goose for a few days - Ran out of 12 Yr old Appleton's Rum - Ran out of Diet Coke one night and I had to use by Mini Bar stock. --> this was also why we picked the Luxury side so this type of thing would not happen
Certified

Awesome vacation

, Laval, QC
2018-03-28
Our stay at the Luxury Bahia, was everything we could have asked for and more. The luxury side has large bright modern rooms in the newer buildings 25-26-27. These rooms are much nicer than on the Grand side. The best feature was our wrap around balcony (corner). The food was amazing, the entertainment and staff also amazing. No kids- amazing. The beach unfortunately not as nice as on the Grand side, but that didn't stop us from going over to the Grand. The only complaint that I do have, is that there are not enough umbrellas. The pool area is quite large and could easily accommodate some more umbrellas and chairs. Shade was hard to find. Other than that, had a great time at a great place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely clean resort, excellent food and drinks, luxurious
The weak points
Not enough lounge chairs and umbrellas.
Certified

Best time

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-26
Had a fabulous time. The best resort I have been at. Would go again and have never said that about any other place I have stayed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great staff were extremely friendly
The weak points
Not enough signage for such a large resort
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022