Azul Beach Resort Negril

Azul Beach Resort Negril
4.194.194.194.194.19
4.19 based on 26 reviews
#9 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Negril
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (7)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Impressed but not so much

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-29
We arrived at our hotel and were greeted with champagne. The staff was very friendly. They "Upgraded" our room from Deluxe ocean view with King bed to double queen with the view of the side Bar!!! What a JOKE! Very frustrated! It was my GF's bday and she specifically wanted to spend that second day at the resort with breakfast in king bed and view of the ocean!!! The food was not the best! the lady on the grill should not be on the grill! the meat and the fish tasted burnt all the time so we gave up on the grill. the jerk chicken, its a joke, not jerky at all! The room that we paid for was giving to us the next day at 4pm! like a full day without a room. The ocean was beautiful but the fact that we have to pay to go snorkeling and paddle boarding when you pay such a premium price. Not worth the money! Also we were age 30 to 25 and I felt like this hotel was 45 .
Entretaing at night was great! I enjoyed the last 3 nights! The singer Steffy was amazing!!! The one thing that bothered me a lot was when I was eating and not done with my food they already were trying to take the plate away. Please teach them that if the plate is still in front, and not on the side, people are still eating! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
people clean
The weak points
food.
Certified

4.5 star trying to get to 5.0

, Mississauga, ON
2018-06-27
I stayed at this resort with my family, August 11th to 18th. First, we will be returning next year, and we had a great stay. I will highlight some of my observations. I will say this; the management is actively trying to fix some issues with restaurants and reservations. We were asked throughout the stay for feedback on how they can improve our experience. We saw numerous head office types walking around talking to staff and guests. I liked that. So, if you have read bad reviews and already booked, I think they are going to bring this resort up to the Karisma standard.

Now, on to the review:

Rooms: We did not get our rooms we paid for initially, but they fixed it the next day. We had a “Swim-up Room” in the Premium section and Building 12. Rooms were great, air-con worked well, and the cleaning staff did a great job. We got turndown service when we wanted it and aromatherapy when we asked for it. Nice touch. Go to Concierge Gazebos for this perk. Room service was good, but if it was raining, they suspended service.

Staff: This is where the resort excels, from the concierge staff, Lifeguards, security, servers, waiters, lobby personnel and entertainers. I was just blown away. Always making sure guests were happy, Jamaican style.

Layout: Everything is close, about 5 min walk. Yes, you are near the road, but you are also 60 seconds to the beach from the farthest room. I did not mind the tradeoff. The hotel was 82% full. I asked someone, and it did not appear to be busy as the hotel is very spread out. Good design overall.

Beach: the Best part of Seven-mile beach. We walked down to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville and thought Azul had the best beach. Water was clear and calm; buoy fence to protect from boats and a resident stingray. It was sweltering at 8:00 a.m. when the sun peeked over the buildings.

Restaurants: Staff were great. The Palms should be enclosed in glass and air-conditioned. I felt bad for the servers. The food was hit or miss, but I know they are working on that. Food is subjective. The Italian restaurant had great steaks; the Mahogany had great food for breakfast. Garfield's and Oceans had great Jerk Chicken for Lunch. Asian needs work, and when they had Indian food night at Mahogany, it was not up to standard. Ackee restaurant had the best view of the sunset, but the food was hit or miss.

Activities: They post them online, every day but Volleyball, Archery and Water aerobics were very popular. I met many guests this way and got to know the staff as well; shoutouts to Lasnea, Clarence, Nicolas, Oneil and Jerome. Entertainment was just so-so at night except for the request show or live bands.

Watersports: Stanley Watersports was very well-run. You never felt like you were imposing on them, they had a lot of equipment; Hobie cats, paddle boards, and kayaks. You could buy scuba diving or fishing excursions. Stanley was always around.

Security was everywhere. If you went off the property, they noted it in a log. If a vendor approached you, they stood near to make sure everything was good. They were not intrusive, but you knew they were there.

Loungers: There are plenty of beds, and you could go down at 8:00 a.m. and get one. Lots of choices, people did save them but not crazy early. Also, they had resort owned floats everywhere, which was nice once we figured it out.

Bars and Food stations: There were plenty of bars, so you did not have to walk far to get a drink or food. Something for everyone.

Weather: It rained every day around 2. It usually did not last more than 1-2 hours. Everyone just moved to the pools. I walked to all the Gazebos to say hi. I loved the rain. A nice break from the sun. I think I was nicknamed the “Rainman”.

Overall, I think this resort will become the Jewel of Negril. They are working on fixing the little issues. We will be returning next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Azul Sensatori Mars 2018

, Bromont, QC
2018-03-25
Tres propre complexe. Bonne nourriture. Peu de bons vins. Bataille quotidien pour les places de choix a la plage. Section premium chaises longues tres cordees sur son voisin. Pas une grande plage. Divertissement nul, jour comme soir. Aucun bar dansant ou club le soir. Service courtois lorsqu'un pourboire est attendu. Club pour semi-retraites. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Proprete constante.
The weak points
Manque de vie, de divertissement et club de soir.
Certified

Beautiful

, St-Leonard, QC
2017-09-22
The staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful. They treated me like royalty. Giving me a cold cloth on the beach, along with fresh fruit and a carpet for my feet on the beach. It was amazing! Staff was very attentive. The food and drinks were also very good. loved the entertainment too. I highly recommend this place...a shout out to Andy Campbell who greeted us upon arrival. He made me feel like home.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small Resort
The weak points
Early morning you hear the cars drive by from the road. awaken by noise almost every morning or during the night.
Certified

Riu club

, Houston, BC
2013-12-17
Never stayed there it was cancelled so we were at the riu club [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good. good bar service. Good staff.
The weak points
Had to pay $50.00 dollars US per week for internet. Ocean was muddy but was good just down the beach food was good first room ac quit working second room ac worked but had a water leak in the bathroom through the flourecent light
Certified

Great vacation!

, Inverness, NS
2013-05-12
We had a great week at Seashore Bay We had done alot of research prior to booking and Seashore lived up to our expectations. It is a great location with all rooms only steps away from the beach. We especially enjoyed the soups with each meal- they were all delicious as was all the food.
We walked the beach every day.
All staff were friendly and courteous.
We would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat and actually did. a couple of our friends went a few weeks after us based on our review and enjoyed it as much as we did. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fabulous beach, great food, and great staff
The weak points
poor internet access, no wifi
Certified

Sun and sand in Negril

, Ottawa, ON
2013-04-07
Although the reviews of this resort were the basis on which I made my decision, I would say that they are rather over rated. Construction has now begun at this resort. The lobby area has been demolished and the Caribbean restaurant is closed (no great loss). However as other reviews state, the staff truly make the place, all are friendly and accommodating. Being steps from the beach was also great. There are not many things to see or do on this end of the island, so sun, sand and sea is what you should be seeking. Be prepared to travel for 2.5hrs one way if you want to go to Dunn's River Falls. Negril is a very poor town. Avoid Rick's Café; it is highly over rated and over priced. You will be propositioned frequently for marijuana - just be firm and say no thanks, then they won't bother you. If you are looking for made in Jamaica souvenirs, then shop at the Things Jamaican stores (Boardwalk village near the resort, and at the airport). The Montego Bay airport stores also carry the Blue Mountain coffee and all of the Eaton and Walkerswood spice mixes and chutneys. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff made the resort. Being steps from the beach was absolutely wonderful.
The weak points
Construction has now begun. Food at times was hit and miss, although suppers were always very good.
Certified

Best yet....

, Pierrefonds, QC
2013-04-05
Prior to going on my vacation-I had read reviews that were really positive about this hotel. And, you know something they were not wrong. What a wonderful experience. Being that this was my 4th visit to JA in 4 years I can tell you that this small cozy hotel exceeds the 3.5 star. Being a small resort made this experience different from others and I connected with the people and had more of a JA experience oppose to being in a compound type setting.

From the quality of the food to the friendliness of the staff. EVERYONE …WAS SOOO NICE.

The food was plentiful, and delicious----- the beach…spectacular (best I have ever seen in JA…7 miles of fresh ocean breeze)
The hotel was clean, clean, spotless
I can't name everyone but the friendliness of the staff was incredible…Thanks for making this a memorable trip and experience.

If I had to critique I would say they need more maid services as cleaning of the rooms ran way into the afternoon. So if you wanted to take a nap it could interfere.

And, entertainment was OK, would rather listen to music than the cultural stuff..
Otherwise..you won't be disappointed…
They are under renovation now which could be bothersome. I would love to go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
people
The weak points
maid service
Certified

Excellent Value

, West Cape, NB
2013-04-01
Food was great, clean rooms, excellent Staff, nice beach, good location above expectations We would return and recommend to others [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Staff, clean rooms, good food, cabanas on the beach awesome really enjoyed these
The weak points
Rooms need upgrading, paint tired bathrooms older would be nice if internet access included in price
Certified

Week in paradise

, Red Deer, Al
2013-02-19
beautiful beach, fantastic food, quaint hotel. rooms are steps from the beach all with an ocean view. peace & quiet easy to find. needs some updating, but very clean. downside was people saving beach chairs for hours [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food fantastic, beach perfect, small quaint atmosphere
The weak points
saving beach chairs, tables not cleaned off very quickly leaving it hard to find a table at breakfast
Certified

Great time

, Brampton, ON
2013-02-04
Had a really great time in Negril at the Seashore Bay Beach Resort, food was great service was great, Beach was A [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location on the beach , great hotel and food
The weak points
not impressed with Sunwing in an way shape or form. I would not use their Rep to book any excursions again or book a vacation from them.
Certified

Week in Paradise

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-25
Resort is on a great stretch of beach with all rooms having a great oceanview. It was only about half caapacity when we went as they just took over resort from Beaches Sandy Bay and are going to be doing a big reno this summer. Food was very good but not a ton of selection, but enough. Rooms were dated but the staff does an excellent job of cleaning up everyday. Overall I would recommend this resort to anyone especially at the prices they are offering now which are well below what the other beaches and sandals resorts charge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location on beach, a few great shows, and good food
The weak points
They don't fumigate so there are small ants that come in through the bathroom screen and are around the sink and other sources of food.
Certified

Jamaican Paradise

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-01-19
We have stayed at over 30 all inclusives and rate this one near the top. This is a small very intimate resort right on the best beach in Negril. The staff make a huge differance here and there is a high ratio of staff to guests. They quickly learn your name and remember you for your stay. The food was top notch and we already miss the snapper sandwiches from the beach bar. Go now before May 1 when they start to renovate! The rooms were nice, the bathrooms are old but clean and functional.We got a great deal on a sell off and would not hesitate to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location and the staff.
The weak points
I need to go back.
Certified

Beaches Sandy Bay NEGRIL

2012-08-11
I love this place ! Food is 5Star, chef used to cook at RITZ Montreal , the service & Food is excellent, as well as the spacious suites with extra large patios . The beauty of the smallness and direct on the beach is fantastic here. Peace and quiet early morning walks and 7Mile Beach wonderful.Unlimited watersports , no line ups no sign up just go and do it as much as u want ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The number of rooms 100, so max of 250guests makes this resort, as well as 80%rooms are oceanfront. And the Food is good and Beach is the best. Staff aim to please , anything needed can be asked for .
The weak points
The bathrooms havent been updated to granite counters etc , but are clean and functional...Bedspreads are still old school but this is a minor detail .
Certified

A family's paradise!

, Chateauguay, QC
2011-03-08
Despite the age of the hotel, the hotel experience was splendid! The room could use a paint job which we could see they were actually painting the balconies, so hopefully the rooms next. We had no tub so if you like a bath be sure to specify. The beach was clean and well maintained. The restaurant was fabulous. The grill and buffet excellent.The pools were pristine and the service was STUPENDOUS! All the watersports at your disposal in a beautiful setting. The evening entertainment was great for th kids early on with the Sesame Street gang and great later on for the adults. The beach party was amazing. Many thanks to Joseph, Nicholas, Traverse and Daniel, Garfield, O'Neil, Sean and yes Taliban! I have a ton of pictures of a trip of a lifetime! Warning...one topless women wandered by on the beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food, drinks, beach and sunshine!
The weak points
Rooms need a little work. No bath shower only.
Certified

Fun!!!

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-08
Overall we had a great time. Amazing beach, friendly and helpful staff. Customer service was great. Rooms are dated but there is a renovation going on quietly. Wouldn't have noticed the work being done if I didn't see the sign while I was walking to my room.
Our major problem was the swimming area was very shallow and going out was not recommended due to boats and water skis passing by. But the resort provides snorkeling tours 3 times a day which worked out great. If you are certified scuba diving is also included. Keep in mind when snorkeling you must wear the life jacket at all times. We have traveled a lot and snorkeled a lot but were never obligated to put the life jacket on at all times. We love free diving and at this trip we weren't allowed to do that.I understand, safety is important and the resort takes safety very seriously which is fantastic but I still think it should have been optional for the experienced swimmers.
As they say in Jamaica "No problem, only a situation!"

Go and have lots of fun... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beach - Staff try go above and beyond expectations - All sports and activities - Clean - Food - Sesame Street Characters
The weak points
- Reception seems to lack communication with each other especially when it is busy (specifically Saturdays). - Swimming area in the sea was too shallow - Life jackets mandatory while snorkeling
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021