Beachcomber Club Resort

Beachcomber Club Resort
2.532.532.532.532.53
2.53 based on 15 reviews
#13 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Negril
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (16)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

New management definitely needed!

, Petawawa, ON
2019-05-02
What is wrong with management! Perfect location, but they seem not care for there guests or staff! Hotel room safety deposit boxes have no locks! Will cost you an extra 5.00US per day! No batteries in remotes nor light bulbs in the lamps! The maids do there best, but have very few resources to do so! Lucky to have clean towels, didn't bother to ask for my sheets to be changed! Cock roaches in the rooms as well as ants! Very little security! Food is hazardous, eat at your own risk if there is any for you to get! Coffee and tea at the bar, but usually empty and still plugged in. No beach towels, if you do get one it hasn't been washed! Beach chair are old! Overall the resort is very run down! The staff on the other hand are wonderful and without them things would have been a sad state of affairs! They are short staffed and each one of them play 3-4 roles! To them I would like to pay a special thank you! Jerome, Shane, Avatar, Richardo thank you. I truly hope another resort takes you and treats you what you are worth! Very sad there is no competent management on had to look after there guests! Hope you sell soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach on seven mile beach Negril!
The weak points
No management! Not enough food! Definitely needs repair! Pool is filthy!
Certified

Run down, GM needto take a course in running Resor

, Scarborough, ON
2019-03-27
Upon arrival at the Resort was greeted by the Lovely and pleasant Ms P and Security Shane.

Asked about the wifi was told up and down mostly down very intermittent. Unfortunately wifi only worked well in the lobby and by the eating area which was not specified online.

Was shown 2 different apartments to choose from. Due to long day,dropped luggage off went for what they said was dinner at 7....that was late and there was not enough for all guest.
No water in the room, no stove, no standard size fridge mini fridge with no water and it was only 3 feet tall... we the guest are almost 6 feet tall...not erognamically sized. Curtains do not cover the complete window leaving clear view into our apartment. Bathroom towel rack missing a bar. Furniture outdated chairs had Rips in them. Phone not working.
Breakfast was supposed to be 8-10 got there at 920 nothing left not even fruits or coffee was told the kitchen was not advised we were there??? Chef David came out apologized and said he could make omelets for my daughter and I. Proceded to beach area broken beach chairs as pool was closed for cleaning. Lunch suppose to be 1 served at 126 still not enough food.All the plates had chips in them. Went to the bar asked for water where after drinking them was advised there is a cost for them. On the beach area met the GM as she introduced herself where I proceded to let her know I'm a type 2 diabetic and have high blood pressure was there to rest .
Down hill from there. Not a reflection on the staff but her. They can only work with the tools they are given and with proper management. Place is run down not like it use to be years ago when it was 5 stars. Running out of propane and blaming the chef that didnt come was last draw as now my health was at risk, lack of food only 1 tray of fruit for the entire guest is absurb. There plenty of pictures that I have but dont want to embarrass the once 5 star resort. Other Canadians there also had horrible experience as well. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone with health conditions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Our Dec. 31, 2018 stay at Beachcomber Club Resort

, Regina, SK
2019-01-09
Our experience was Exceptional. All Staff were so attentive, friendly, kind & went out of their way to accommodate our needs; becoming friends. We've stayed at 4 & 5 Star resorts many times in other countries but prefer a more genuine hospitable experience at a smaller boutique hotel. Its location on Negril's 7-Mile Beach was perfect. Due to its age, we would rate the resort a 3.5. We are already planning a return Spring 2019 trip to visit our new friends. Be a [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Exceptional Beach Front, Awesome Staff & Service, Pretty Gardens & fresh table flowers in Dining Area, outside room patios & inside our room. Appreciated retro old world charm, cleanliness, thick white towels, large shower & good mattress.
The weak points
It would be pleasant if a menu & meal times were displayed in the morning for the three daily buffets (no restaurant included); more efficient for guests & workers. More fresh Seafood & more clear definition of 'Almost All Inclusive' would have been nice.
Certified

Pack a Lunch you'll Need it!!!

, Port Perry, ON
2014-02-13
Let Me first start by saying I know this is a 3 star resort. We have stayed at many in Negril and prefer the small hotel atmosphere that the large resorts lack. That being said the management at this hotel and the owner specifically run this hotel into the ground.
My room did not have any water and was in a state of disrepair on arrival. This does happen and we was willing to pay to upgrade,
When I calmly attempted to pay to upgrade my room on my arrival my money was refused. I was shown a room i could have but the front desk showed me a ledger of how book up they are and asked me if could read. The alternate room was available but at the last minute i was told i had the best room in the resort and would not be moved! I did discuss this with manager Dominique who in all fairness apologized and gave us the use of a kitchen and living next door to us, which was accessed daily by staff for the purpose of laundering the resorts laundry. Did not solve the issue, but granted it was a gesture.
The rooms are dated but that isn't the problem, the bathroom ceilings are mouldy and in disrepair. When two separate neighbours bathroom ceilings fell in during my stay, the maid and a grounds keeper were berated by the manager Dominique
in front of the guests. I was embarrassed for the workers, who on a daily basis are verbally shouted at by Dominiqe. She is a bully by all standards. The owners and management are responsible for standard maintenance, it is not cleaning staff fault they work with the low standards they are provided with.
Towels were stained and holy, with magic marker written on them for identification purposes i assume. See Bathroom Pics below
Sheets are see through they are so old, a purchase of new towels and sheets should be on your Christmas list Beachcomber!
When ceilings fall in, or room doors are accidentally left open, again staff are screamed at for all the guests to hear. They are the scapegoats.
Our room was old and falling apart, cockroaches in the room and although there are safes in the room we are not permitted to use them. Instead they charge you 5 bucks a day at the front desk, yes very convenient. Same with internet, wifi is there for purchase, but other resorts provide it to their guests at no charge.

the food is mediocre at best, sometimes inedible, and repetitive, yogurt or cereals would be a welcome addition. This is food is NOT child friendly.
The bar closes at 10pm sharp and staff look frightened to make sure that happens, it is a ghost town after 10, god forbid you didn't plan for food in your room, no snacks after dinner, nothing. Late arrivals to the hotel are not offered anything.
The water is an issue at this resort, although i am not sure why, it hasn't been at any other resort or hotel I have stayed in Negril. 2 days out of 7, no water, hot runs out quickly.
I know what you think i am being picky, no i travel extensively and do not expect 5 star service, However what i don't expect to see is the Manager Dominique standing on the beach in a screaming match with locals in front of all the guests and swearing at the top of her lungs in front of children. It was spectacle to see, i am embarrassed for the local vendors who got dragged into it, and police were called in to assist, Regardless what the altercation was about, there is no excuse for such unprofessional behaviour from the management, just embarrassing. Disgusting way to run your resort, disgusting way to treat your staff and guests.
Negril is a beautiful town filled with lots of lovely hotels and B Bs which i have stayed, the local food is wonderful which is good, because i had to eat out everyday. The Beach is gorgeous and weather sublime, go to Jamaica but do yourself a favour, don't waste money here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Central location on beach to all restaurants Beach is stunning Weather is hot and locals are warm and welcoming
The weak points
As I have said, running this place into the ground with bad management and disrepair
Certified

Awesome beach

, Woodlawn, ON
2013-03-31
Hotel location is great , staff were friendly .
Rooms need updating ( particularly the bathrooms) . Overall it was a good experience .
I guesse my biggest complaint would be the
The lack of bottled water , many times throughout our week there was no access to water and the stores were closed , staff really could improve hear . Buffet was ok ... Filled your belly ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach , location ,
The weak points
Front desk , bathrooms & lack of bottled water
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2013-02-17
Staff was friendly,and helpful!!! When there was problems with our room they were promptly repaired.
Good value for your money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location! Location!! Located in the center of the 7 mile beach, and next to the Margaritaville. If you want extra sporting activities and tours they can be easily purchased from the locals
The weak points
Lots of vendors on the beach. Not enough shady areas on the beach.
Certified

Beachcomber Negril

, Moonstone, ON
2013-02-03
staff were very good, room was nice, food was not as good as expected with a very limited menu. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice resort with an amazing beach. the staff were very friendly and helpful
The weak points
the menu sucked and somebody stole my sandals off of our patio!
Certified

Nice location

, Regina, SK
2012-03-24
Beachcombers was a nice location with a beautiful beach. The staff were really great. There is only one restaurant at the resort, so the food is much of the same everyday, but it is close to lots of restaurants to go to if you want to change things up. There are set times for the food. Food is not available at all times so you need to buy your own snacks.

The Wifi has a fee, therefore I never paid for it. I am an avid traveller therefore I have stayed in much smaller and bigger resorts and the Wifi is not ususally included in most places, however I hope this changes with time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and Beach - the beach is ideal at this location and nice and quiet, never having to fight for a chair. Nice place to swim and walk.
The weak points
This is a new all inclusive and still trying to work out some kinks. The food is good, but much of the same everyday since there is only one restaurant.
Certified

Not sure AI is right for this Resort

, Lloydminster, AB
2012-03-04
Best location on the beach...the rooms were ok but do need updating, the food was ok if there was some or if it was ever on time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best beach & location
The weak points
Should not be a AI
Certified

Vacation

, Whitby, ON
2012-02-13
My husband and I were very disappointed with this trip, the hotel was horrible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff works very hard to please the guests. Food was good but only had 4 selections at every meal. Location was great on the beach.
The weak points
Hotel was very dirty lots of roaches in the room at night. Was not cleaned very well by the maids. No spa or Gambino's restaurant at the hotel which we were very disappointed with, and the buffet only had 4 different types of food no desserts. Pool dirty
Certified

Over-rated

, Ottawa, ON
2011-02-21
I was not impressed with the all inclusive being offered for this hotel. This is my very first AI Holiday. We arrived at resort at 2:45pm. Our room was not ready at this point, when we asked when we can have our room, we never got a straight answer. I cam back every 15 minutes and still no eta, the room ended up being ready at 5:30. Breakfast lunch and dinner were NEVER served on time. (i.e. breakfast was very rarely available before 8am) although its scheduled to be ready at 7:30. Food was not replenished and if you didnt get there at the beginning you were left with out some of the options. there were no snacks available for the inbetween time anywhere at the resort. Sometimes we felt starved and were not able to get anytype of food for the inbetween time. We were not allowed to have bottled water before 10am. Gift shop did not have any snacks for water for purhcase and as a 2 single friends travelling together we did not feel safe traveling outside the resort to purchase snacks. Hotel website totally is not impressive. There was no managers cocktail, no Gambino restaurant so we were not able to have another opportunity to order from a so called menu. Meals were okay but no much variety. Scramble eggs for breakfast for the complete 7 days that we were there. Not fun.... The hotel staff was amazing. Overall I believe we paid to much for this hotel. Please review this comment. I believe that the $1500 we paid was too much, I would think twice before booking again with sunquest as hotel was not well represntived. I would almost feel like asking for some type of compensation for me and my travel partner. If I paid under $1000 I would not have complained. but price vs. quality was not good at all. Please take this comment seriously. Anna [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
wonderful staff
The weak points
overall, this hotel was misrepresentived.
Certified

Good Choice - Very Good Value

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-05
Beachcomber is beautiful resort - dated needs some refubishing but very large clean rooms located in best section of beach has excellent staff in particular beach security lady superb. Food was very good but very limited choices and very slow service biggest annoyance Never any coffee cups! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach - excellent / Staff superb / Room Very Large - dated but clean
The weak points
Very slow service for food (1 hr per meal even breakfast) Food good but very little variety. Never had a morning with coffee cup / cream / sugar always something missing usually NO Coffee CUPS!
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021