Grand Pineapple Beach Resort

Grand Pineapple Beach Resort
3.473.473.473.473.47
3.47 based on 32 reviews
#10 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Negril
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Grand Pineapple, Dec. 2019.

, Richmond Hill, ON
2019-12-28
This Hotel has The Best People working there. A Special Thank you goes to Basil and Lloyd - our Lifeguards at the Beach, who keapt us Safe and sound. And to Ricardo at the Bar - he mixes the Best Drinks ever and has an endless variety of them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Review

, Hamilton, ON
2019-05-03
I did not enjoy my stay for the amount I paid. My room was across the road from the main resort, so anytime i wanted food or drinks or to go to the beach, i had to walk 5min, while waiting on traffic to clear in order to cross the street. Half of the times the employees would sit there and not get up to assist you with crossing the street with a stop sign. Eventually, I gave up & started crossing on my own, to not be a bother. The food was oksy, but half the time if you went right when breakfast was served the bacon and hash browns were available, as they were still cooking it. If you went later for dinner, there was never any food left. Drinks were ok, plenty, but food & drinks were not served after 11pm. I felt very excluded not staying on the main part of the reserve. Only a pool on the side where i stayed, & it wasn't the cleanest, nor did I once see a lifeguard on duty during the day. The pool closes at 6pm, which is rediculous. There was no wifi and the rooms do not come with a fridge, that is extra. Overall, i would not recommend this place. I barley, slept as they have peacocks that are so loud and wake you up at 7am in the morning and are loud throughout the whole day, so you cannot eve nap, not to mention you have screaming children running around. It's best to pay $300 extra, as other all inclusive resorts at least have a stocked fridge in the room, wifi & longer hours for serving food & drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Pineapple Beach

, Toronto, ON
2017-11-20
The rooms are great clean the cleaning girls are wonderful happy, we stayed on the garden side by the pool. No bar No food on this side of the resort. ONE Buffet that's all food was awesome most of the time not a lot of selection but enough. Man that put out the clean dishes was the best. Bartenders were not very happy so tips went out the window by day 2. hard to have a nice walk people always friendly but always bugging to buy. Ran out of booze twice not good not impressed they didn't seem to care. It is a part of sandals so they need to pull up there socks. We had fun always make the best of our trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean rooms small resort clean beach, awesome sunsets can walk to shop
The weak points
need 24 hour bar, 24 hour food, at least 1 more option to eat, happier workers should have entertainment every night
Certified

Grand Pineapple Negril

, Ajax, ON
2016-05-21
Our second time at Grand Pineapple was just as wonderful as our first. Met up with many returning guests. Good food, friendly staff and nice accommodations. The beach side cottages are newer than the garden side, but still no complaints. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, food, beach, clean
The weak points
guests encouraging stay dogs on property
Certified

Pineapple review

, Brandon, MB
2016-01-18
Grand Pineapple has the benefits of creating close knit setting to make new friends. The size of resort allows you to met new people and enjoy one of the best beaches in Negril. They do need to improve food quality and choices. 2 weeks becomes stale and some days a big imagination of what to eat. I love they added access to WiFi and excellent coverage on the beach. Peace of mind to ensure contacts could check in and enjoy vacation. Great staff all around. I would like to see added to bar an import of at least on whiskey as I do not like rum. Cleaning staff also need to improve on busy check out days so you can shower and change for dinner after a day at the beach. Good trip but they have few things to tidy to improve star rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Love this resort

, Brandon, MB
2015-01-19
Best beaches and staff! It's not the ritz but it's the most fun and quaint resort I've ever been to [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, food, cleanliness
The weak points
No free wifi, no Canadian whiskey
Certified

Grand Pineapple

, Brandon, MB
2015-01-16
Had a pleasant at Grand Pineapple resort. Staff were very good to guests. Had a beach side cottage and recommend this side as oppose to crossing busy street. Food quality could be better along with different variety. After third day got tiring. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly and helpful. Small resort that allows for interaction among the other guests.
The weak points
Food quality and variety could be better. Rate food as 3 star. Usually still something each day that could found but tiring after 3 days. Need better literature for the excurisions as didn't find out about how to do until near end of trip.
Certified

Great Vacation at Grand Pineapple Negril

, Flesherton, ON
2013-07-02
We loved our recent vacation at the Grand Pineapple Negril. It was our 3rd visit to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are wonderful. The beach is superb!
The weak points
For us, there are no weak points!
Certified

Grand Pineapple

, London, ON
2013-05-11
In some ways this resort was purchased by Sandals simply to justify their high prices at their upscale resorts. Overall great value. Good wifi just not free like many cheaper resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value, Style, Location, balconies.
The weak points
making traffic stop at busy crosswalk sucks, not the most organized front desk, Nickel and dime you for any little extra
Certified

Ok, but not Grand.

, Oxford Mills, ON
2013-01-31
We spent one week at the GP Resort. We enjoy smaller resorts, but this one was perhaps a bit too small and needs some work.
There are some things we weren't told when we booked our package. Check-in is at 3:00pm regardless of when your flight arrives. The water is turned off for several hours during the night (apparently so the large resorts up the road can fill their water tanks). The gift shop does not use cash -- you have to put money or a credit card on your account at the front desk.
The staff are all very friendly. However, with the exception of the two fantastic barmaids, they all need to learn about service. Sometimes you will get water before your meal ends and sometimes you won't. It is frustrating to ask your server for a coffee and then watch as they clear and set multiple tables, and still don't get your coffee. Even though it is billed as a non-tipping resort on the Grand Pineapple website, one of the staff told us we could tip if we wanted. Maybe we didn't tip enough and our service reflected that.
On the plus side, it is very clean, laid-back, and the location is great. There are always enough beach chairs and plentiful shade. Our room was very clean. The air conditioner was excellent.
If you are looking for a place to just swim, relax, and read a book for a week, it is the resort for you. If you are looking for partying, activities, and entertainment, you should look elsewhere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful. Excellent for swimming. The grounds were very well maintained. The food was all good and tasted homemade (especially the desserts). Everyone was very friendly. The bar service was always good. The location is fantastic.
The weak points
We had to wait 3 1/2 hours for our room to be ready. The service in the restaurant was poor even by Jamaican standards. There are no scheduled activities. Often no money exchange available at the front desk.
Certified

LOWEST OF THE LOWEST

, Toronto, ON
2012-07-06
This is not a resort. You go to a resort to have rest and fun and to be pampered. This hell hole had nothing to offer. It is embarrassing for a place to be run under the Sandals umbrella and to have an ice cooler as the ice machine, one mickey mouse bar with the worst bartenders around and one restaurant, (if that was a restaurant). To have a mentally handicapped local screaming non stop from the bottom of their lungs at the beach every day while you are trying to relax is unacceptable. First aid assistance is non existent. That should be mandatory. To be charged for just about anything you want to do for a paid all inclusive trip is false advertising. Some staff at reception have never smiled in their lives. This place is an embarrassment to be called a resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I was actually impressed that the bathrooms by beach area had plenty of toilet paper because for a place like this, I would expect otherwise. The beach was nice.
The weak points
EVERYTHING ELSE. It was a waste of money. Same sentiments mentioned to me by others there that have been to real resorts.
Certified

Great Little Resort

, Ste Anne, MB
2012-03-24
Loved this resort. Service, food & drinks were exceptional. Beach was awesome. Located centrally on 7 mile beach next to the best nightclub in town Alfreds. Couldn't ask for anything more. Will definitely return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and location.
The weak points
Only complaint was maid never left enough coffee creamer.
Certified

Awesome trip. Will definitely return.

, Ottawa, ON
2010-10-24
This resort definitely lives up to its slogan: "The cutest little resort in Negril". Pleasantly surprised to see it was run by Sandals since it wasn't mentionned when we purchased. Food was fantastic, the people were great. Even the wireless internet was good so we could Skype the kids from the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food! Every dish was perferct all week...and I tried everything!
The weak points
Nothing really except that there isn't much in the way of nightly entertainment. But don't forget, it's a small resort. The bar next door, however, was a bit of a problem on a couple of nights with loud music well into the wee hours.
Certified

Value for the money

, Toronto, ON
2009-10-27
The resort was ok, what I expected for a 3 star resort. The rooms were clean, bright and well maintained.

The food was terrible, it was bland, cooked to an inch of it's life and dry.

The "sauces" were so salty you needed to drink gallons of water to wash it down.

The staff were excellent, but the servers were overwhelmed with the patrons, and it took a long time to get a refill of a drink(soft or hard liquor).

I ran into an issue with no voucher and they wouldn't let me use thier terminals to access my email account (in case I made a mistake), but were more then willing to sell me access.

The bar was also short staffed, during peak times, there could be a long wait for a drink.

Watersports? What watersports, the resort had the gall to charge for the use of snorkeling gear, the rest(Kayak, Aqua cycle) were rarely used.
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gardens, landscaping, the people
The weak points
Food, rigid front desk staff
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021