Sandals Montego Bay

Sandals Montego Bay
3.773.773.773.773.77
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Excellent

, Braeside, ON
2015-02-06
Our vacation was excellent from the hotel, staff, food and entertainment. Highly recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were so friendly, helpful and professional. Beautiful beach, wonderful Spa and great gym amendies.
The weak points
Not being avised that you require to book some of the hotel activities 24hr in advance
Certified

Not as seen on TV

, Ingersoll, ON
2015-02-04
Don't be fooled sandles are not all wow,
Don't forget your walet. Have been to much nicer luxury resorts with similar price points.
Don't expect a good night life, but the front line staff. Are very amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment staff are what make this resort not a waist of a trip
The weak points
Front desk staff are not interested in your best interest in any way Management are smug. Not a sandles quality as seen on TV
Certified

Christmas 2013

, Kanata, ON
2014-01-03
Staff great, food great beaches good (I was bitten by something, lots of bites, but my daughter had no bites).
Definitely a couples hotel, so felt a little out of place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Had a great time staff was attentive. Would definitely go back
The weak points
The bites on my lower legs from the beach.
Certified

Our Anniversary Trip

, Mississauga, ON
2013-11-05
Great place...clean and well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people are extremely friendly and genuine...they couldn't do enough for you. Resort was clean and well maintained.
The weak points
Beach was stunning - just short and I like to walk. Just meant going back and forth a lot :)
Certified

Great Vacation

, Bolton , ON
2013-10-31
This was my first visit to Jamaica and I would not hesitate to return to this resort and would certainly not hesitate to recommend it to others. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and treated extremely well. Cold drinks and snacks in the Sandals reception lounge while awaiting our transportation to the resort was appreciated. On arrival we were greeted by Alton who went above and beyond in making sure we were satisfied. There is no shortage of beach activities and we would like to give a huge shout out to Kendria for getting us involved in the resort activities and to Damar & Camille who made sure we were never thirsty while at the beach. The service at all of the restaurants was impeccable and we would especially like to thank Javed & Shannaynay in the Cricketer's Pub and the Romaine's of the Stewfish and
Italian restaurants for their kindness, incredible service and for making this a trip we will never forget. The constant smiles on the faces of every single member of the Sandals team at this resort is a testament to their commitment to customer satisfaction.
Thank you all for an amazing time and we look forward to our next visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Staff Activities Pub Piano Bar Restaurants
The weak points
My only complaint would be having to wait a long time for coffee at the buffet in the morning.
Certified

Amazing!

, Toronto, ON
2013-09-12
Amazing staff, amazing food, impeccable service and standards, Sandals really did well and we will definitely come back. Especially for the nightly entertainment hosts such as Hartlon, the hotel receptionist Natasha and Eladio the hotel greeter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the friendliness, the food, the attractions
The weak points
Weather but uncontrollable
Certified

Awesome !!

, Manilla, ON
2013-01-19
fun freindly and great service !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and service were excellent !!
The weak points
at the end of the montegobay runway so must get used to the planes rooms and building are medocore but staff and service make up for it!!
Certified

Not enough bang for the buck!

, Hamilton, ON
2011-12-11
The staff was courteous and friendly. The food was beyond expectations. The nightly entertainment was enjoyable with a lot of interaction with the guests. Now for the downside..upgrading to concierge was pointless. Room service was an extra $25/day. The room was very small, and we lacked any privacy on our patio, as most functions were held outside our room (weddings, parties,etc). Bottles of water...you had to go through concierge to get your fridge re-stocked (not available anywhere else on the resort).The airport, well that was an experience in itself...we were treated exceptionally (private car and luggage brought to car), but at a price. It was stated that "tips are not required, but we make our living off tips". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment was fabulous. The staff were very friendly. The beach was gorgeous and kept very clean. The quality and quantity of food was exceptional. The distance from the airport was fantastic.
The weak points
Concierge? What was the purpose? Bottles of water not readily available. Room was small, jacuzzi didn't work, tub and toilet leaked. Lack of privacy on the patio, most functions took place right outside our room. Room service available at an extra / day.
Certified

Very Nice

, Niagara Falls, ON
2011-04-25
All I can say is that this resort is very nice. We have been to many different resorts in Punta Cana, Cuba and Mexico and I really didn`t see any WOW for the price of going to Sandals. The food, drinks and staff were very good but I have had the same in Punta Cana for less. We wanted to go back to Jamaica as we honeymooned there 25 years ago and we went back for our 25th wedding anniversary. I would definetly go back to this resort but only if I were to find a sell off as paying 2168.00 per person is really not worth it for me. I went to the Gran Bahia Ambar adults only last year in Punta Cana and payed 1550.00 tax in and not as a sell off and food, drinks, beach were just as good. As far as the planes that take off it`s not bad at all. The noise last 7-10 seconds and it`s actually very nice to see if you like planes like I do. The rooms were nice and clean but the bathroom was WAY to small. We had the ocean view and it was very nice. The staff were very nice and pleasant and went out of there way to say ya mon. If you don`t mind spending the extra money to go to Sandals do it as this is a very nice resort but again I really don`t see any WOW in going to this Sandals resort. We also went the Sandals Carlyle and the Sandals Royal Carribian for dinner and they were also very nice. The Carlyle is very small with 53 rooms and the small beach is across the street and very noisey if you are trying to relax as it sits directly in front of the city road, again no WOW in this Sandals resort. The Royal Carribian is very nice with the lush gardens but not a good beach, as alot of people were coming to the Sandals Montego Bay for the beach from both resorts. To end this for me, if I am spending that kind of money I expect a WOW for my money and these Sandals didn't do it for me. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful view of ocean from almost anywhere you were on resort.
The weak points
Small Bathrooms and small pools
Certified

Fantastic!

, Oakville, ON
2011-04-03
Get the Bay Roc villa experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We will never travel to another resort without a butler and our own private beach and lagoon.
The weak points
40 minutes to check in at the concierge villa. Free drinks while we waited.
Certified

Sandals Montego Bay

, Bragg Creek, AB
2011-04-02
We haven't traveled a whole lot, but maybe the "Sandals" name gave us a bit more of an expectation than was warranted. Everything was nice and we have no complaints it's just, for the price, we somehow thought we'd get maybe complimentary housecoats while we were there. Everything that would've made it more special, cost extra and we'd already paid $5,000 each. In 2003 we went to the Dominican for 2 weeks for $1,700 and there wasn't that much difference. Not unhappy just slightly disappointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great restaurants, activities and entertainment, close to the airport
The weak points
Too close to the airport, going off the resort is only by bus and I would'nt feel safe in Montego Bay at night.
Certified

Fabulous Resort

, Brooklin , ON
2011-03-28
Fabulous resort. Great service. Great food and entertainment. Beautiful beach. Bay Roc Villa with Butler service was well worth the extra upgrade. Yes, the airport is close but not really an issue. Only downside was the pools could have been bigger, but I believe a new pool is their plans. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach, service, Bay roc villas with private gardens and beach.
The weak points
Pool.
Certified

Sandals

, Sudbury, ON
2011-03-16
This was another great experience staff were frendly and helpful would recemend to anyone [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
airplanes but you get used too
Certified

A Dream Vacation

, Cowansville, QC
2011-03-10
We went there for our honeymoon and made a promise that we will go back as soon as possible. The environment was luxurious with a fun and friendly atmosphere. The food was excellent and the staff always made us feel welcome. We especially enjoyed all the water sports that are included. The weather and the beach were wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the beautiful grounds, the friendly staff, the water sports, great beach with comfortable chairs and available shade.
The weak points
The resort is next to the airport and so there are a few times a day that the planes take off but it is not really too bad. The only other weak point was the bathroom because it was a bit small and lacked water pressure if too many people were showering.
Certified

Be Careful in what you book !!!

, Langham, SK
2011-03-07
Booked this trip online back in Sept 2010 at the same time as another friend was and we asked for adjoining rooms. Now the friends had done alot of research on this resort and knew exactly what she wanted so we booked exactly the same rooms - or so we thought. We arrived to the hotel 5 hours late (due to our flight) and when we got there the room that my husband and I thought we had booked was exact to the website and all the pictures on it but our friends were in a room quite a distance away from us and nothing like they expected. I actually do not recall seeing these rooms even on their website. They had asked the hotel the day before flying out to send them pictures of the room they would be staying in just to confirm what we had expected when we got there and they were sent pictures of our room. When we went to the hotel desk the next morning they told us that we had received an upgrade but we were actually suppose to be in a room like our friends. They did not care in the least that the pictures our friends got were of a room like ours and would do nothing to fix this problem. Very disappointed in this hotel and how they handled this situation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room was great. Great location, just what we expected from the pictures on the website. Ala carte restaurants were very good.
The weak points
Hotel is at the end of the runway at Montego Bay so you are having to hear planes take off from 6am to sometimes midnite. Would like to see a buffet for supper as well. Snacks are not what I think of snacks.
Certified

Sandals Montego Bay

, Regina, SK
2011-03-05
We were quite dissapointed because we did not get the room that we booked. We booked with another couple and asked for adjoining rooms which we did not get. The other couple booked the same room we did and they got that room. The manager kept telling us that our friends got an upgrade but when we questioned the housekeeping staff they told us our room was a downgrade. We did not want to let this ruin our holiday so we stopped arguing with the hotel. The room we stayed in was nice but not what we booked or paid for. The butlers were fantastic and looked after all our needs. The food at this hotel was just average. There is no buffet at supper so you must make reservations at the ala Cartes or eat at the pub. The beach is wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, butlers,pools, weather, activities
The weak points
Not getting what you paid for, no buffet for supper,
Certified

Super nice!

, Chelmsford, ON
2011-01-20
This was our first Sandals resort and loved how everything is geared for couples. We went with friends, and couldn't have picked a better place for their first all inclusive. Even though we booked our trip together we initially didn't have rooms near eachother. But this was quickly fixed and even upgraded! I would just recommend that anyone who books, be sure you understand how they class their units. Oceanside, does not mean you see the ocean at all, and Deluxe is the bottom of their scale. Also, the resort is at the end of the runway. The only disappointment was the entertainment. Out of the 6 shows we seen, only the beachparty was worth seeing. Some of the games are very embarassing, not for everyone. But other than that, the excursions were great, food was amazing, the people wonderful. Hope to go back for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was amazing. Staff very friendly. Everything was super clean. Amazed by the beautiful bathrooms every where. Such a wide variety of activies included, kept our men happy.
The weak points
The description of the location of the rooms should be clearer. Also its located at the end of the runway, we didn't realize that. And with the exception of 1 or 2 nights, the entertainment left a lot to be desired for sure.
Certified

Beyond Expectations

, Calgary, AB
2010-12-31
Awesome, first trip ever and am privilaged to have that type of first experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the location, overall feel and attitude from the staff, I believe the staff is what makes this location so welcoming and a great vacation atmosphere
The weak points
We were not able to access the "swim up" bar due to the lack of sunlight shining on that part of the resort this time of year. Friends of ours that came to Montego Bay had stayed in Ocho Rios and said the swim up bar at Montego Bay is poorly situated.
Certified

Amazing

, Beaumont, AB
2010-12-29
We had an amazing stay at Sandals Montego Bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was always very active however there are numerous places throughout the resort for quiet alone time. It seeemd the Montego Bay location is much more vibrant and the Royal is more laid back. The opportunity to travel between the other Sandal Resorts via a no charge Sandals shuttle really added extra value. We used this on numerous occasions to experience the other resorts (Royal and Carlyle) and they run on the hour. The excursions based out of the resort were very reasonable and well coordinated. We went on the zip line(awesome), make sure you ask for the one which has the ocean views!! The other was a meandering raft trip for an 1 1/2 hours however we are split on this excursion for value. The beach activites are readily available, with no wait or extra charges. The pictures taken by the staff are really expensive (10 pictures for $115.00 US!!)however your under no obligation to purchase. We were there over Christmas and they went all out with a lot of effort to make the Holiday special. The resort offers a mixture of nightly entertainment from a dance club to a piano bar. They make a wide range of drinks try the "dirty banana" or the "Hummingbird" as I tried about 20 a day!!

A FEW TIPS:
1) Take a pass on the cab ride to town, take the free shuttle to Sandals Carlyle which is on the downtown strip instead as you'll save $ 30.00 US!
2) DO NOT BOOK AT THE CARLYLE, very small resort with no beach and the locals party across the street in the evening!
3) Buy your liquor at the airport, very good deals at the duty free and cheaper than in town.
4) The price of souvenirs at the resort is double or triple of what you'll pay in town.
5) Make sure you take the shuttle to the Sandals Royal and visit the private Island. Very nice place to relax, eat and they have excellent snorkelling right off the beach. You may find yourself going back as the Royal is a great break from the Montego Bay Resort.
6) Be prepared for an agressive group of luggage carriers at the airport as they will demand a $1.00 per bag to put the bags on the bus.
7) If you don't have concierge which we don't recommend just have a brief discussion with the person restocking the fridge with a tip and you'll have a fully stocked fridge and more in your room during your stay. They can be very helpful and accommodating!
8)Bring a large insulated mug saves on trips to the bar!
9)Talk to Jermaine about afternoon trips on the boat where they snorkel, private Island for lunch and then shopping.
10) While downtown stop in at Margaritaville especially to watch the sunset, bring a camera!! Good deal, buy a beer glass full of beer for $11.50 and keep the glass!
11) Make sure you negotiate on all of your downtown souvenir purchases and don't buy anything until you visit most of the stores as we've seen deals for 9 t-shirts for $20.00 US.
12) Make sure you have small US bills once you arrive at the airport!
13) There is a Bank of Nova Scotia in Montego Bay out front of Sandals Royal or 10 minutes from Sandals Montego.
14) If you go to Sandals Montego Bay say hi to Casey as he's a very friendly and helpful staff member who will go above and beyond in getting you anything you require!!

Highly Recommended Resort!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and Staff!!
The weak points
Food was great however portion sizes very small during the evening dinner. However just order two of everything...LOL!
Certified

Fantastic Vacation Spot!

, Ottawa, ON
2010-06-30
Definitely be sure to visit the other Sandals resorts closeby that you'll have access to as well. We had a wonderful honeymoon here. No complaints! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Right next to the airport. Plenty of places to sit, swim and eat. Lively nightlife.
The weak points
Airplanes fly by pretty close in the daytime, but was never all that annoying.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Montego Bay's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021