Riu Montego Bay

Riu Montego Bay
3.873.873.873.873.87
3.87 based on 263 reviews
#6 of 36 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (66)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

Great Hotel

, Westerose, AB
2022-12-07
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hotel exactly as we expected, nice pools, great variety of food at buffets and restaurants, friendly, helpful staff and large clean comfortable room. Was disappointed as we took a golf trip and the website indicated hotel guests get golf discounts however this was not the case. Staff did not seem to know anything about the offer which was disappointing because we were there to golf. Front desk staff did not do anything to address the issue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Large, clean hotel rooms; beautiful pool areas with plenty of seating; great selection at buffets and restaurants; friendly staff
The weak points
Golf discounts advertised in website not offered. Beach swimming area had a slimy bottom Spa services quite expensive
Certified

Riu, Montego Bay

, Mississauga, ON
2022-12-06
A pleasant experience. The room spacious and well equipped. The surroundings lovely. All meals had a wide variety of menu. Tasty dishes and service very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Smooth functioning in all areas
The weak points
None
Certified

Highly recommend!

, New Minas, NS
2022-04-13
The best resort I've been to! Entertainment was great. Food and drinks excellent. I cannot find anything to complain about. Plan to return next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Petrolia, HA
2022-04-11
Overall excellent, clean , friendly and inviting [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Staff,food,pool and cleanliness
The weak points
Steakhouse Wait time to get in…at least an hour, wait time to be served , another hour minimum and food not great , service there was the worst of all the Al a carte bt far
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellent
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Owen Sound, ON
2022-03-22
Everyone was helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful and delicious. Our room was cleaned and fridge stocked regularly. The nightly shows were very entertaining and fun. The weather was outstanding; very warm and sunny. I appreciated the clean beach. All staff wore masks as did most customers.
We really could not have asked for more [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean. Friendly. Hospitable
The weak points
None
Certified

Doing it right!

, St Catherine, ON
2022-01-31
Rui Montego Bay certainly got it right here and it is obvious as soon as you walk in the front entrance. A focus on ensuring both guest and staff safety Covid protocols are front and centre. No complaints from these two guests. We enjoyed our visit and appreciated the attention to detail. Food and beverage were excellent with lots of variety. All servers, bar and entertainment staff go the extra mile. So happy too you are visiting Jamaica!
The property is close the the airport and on the outbound flight path which did NOT bother us as we liked watching the aircraft however if this is something that would impact you give it a thought. Beach is nice but small. We are not big beach people and was perfect as the # of pools MORE than make up for the small beach. No shortage of chairs, umbrellas, shade and did we say CLEAN!!!. Great week. We are going to be booking again soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Excellent management of covid protocols. Consistent throughout the resort from the time you arrive at the front door. Appreciated the staff vaccination buttons. We felt safe while at the resort and hey no mask no service is fair for all. No complaints!
The weak points
The high prices in the gift shop! Crazy prices - wouldn't buy a thing there - easier to walk across the road and get stuff for half the cost or less.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Superb - they are doing it right and consistent!
Certified

Value for Money!

, Toronto, ON
2021-12-30
Super duper hygiene arrangements at resort, Food places were incredibly clean - no stomach upset and even alcohol service was excellent. Rooms were pretty clean and tidy and cleaning well everyday. Bit disappointed in RT PCR test arrangements and check out staff was bit rude as we got 1 hour delay on the day of check out! Internet connections are available per person so only 2 devices at a time worked in our case! Overall amazing service and beautiful relaxing environment with gergeous weather throughout the week that we spent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Food, Cleanliness, Overall Hygiene even for staff, Good facilities
The weak points
Poor Check out process, inadequate number of internet connection for devices, RT PCR test arrangements on site - getting report on time is a nightmare.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Absolutely outstanding it is! No complaints whatsoever on any day that we spent at resort! Kudos to Riu Montaego Bay for maintaining that sanitary measures!
Certified

Ya Man!

, Toronto, ON
2021-11-26
From the check-in to the check-out this place was 5 stars. Friendly front desk people (how often does that happen?), gardeners, maids, bus boys, servers, bartenders, you name it they always had a smile and something good to say. The entertainment crew was top notch. Jerome, Small, Roly Poly, Melvin, Shampoo, & Jermain made us laugh and sing and smile. What a great time. The food was always 10 out of 10. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The entertainment crew makes this place a great place.
The weak points
The beach was good but the quality of the sea was not. Can't blame the hotel for that though.
Certified

RIU Montego Bay

, Woodstock, ON
2020-02-24
Travelled with my family (my husband, daughter 11yrs, son 8yrs and my mother-in-law 82yrs). We all had a fantastic time and enjoyed our time together. The buffet restaurant had lots of selection to choose from (my kids are a bit picky and often ate the same thing day after day - however, there were lots of kid friendly foods to choose from). We dined at the Steakhouse and we all enjoyed our meals and service. We ate at the Asian specialty (buffet style) as well - some liked it more than others. Entertaiment staff were enthusiastic. My 8 year old could not touch in the pool - he is a great swimmer but I still felt I had to be nearby when he was swimming - just so he could take a break without having to get to the side each time. A beautiful resort that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A clean resort with friendly staff and great food. I liked that everything was close together and easy to get around. We were in building 2 (2004&2006) which was perfect for easy access to everything.
The weak points
Not a complaint just an observation if travelling with smaller kids. The only area in the pool that they can stand/reach on their own is by the poolbar or by the pool lounge chairs. I would take my own hairdryer next time.
Certified

RIU Montego Bay

, Fredericton, NB
2019-05-08
Overall everything was very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was very nice. Clean and friendly staff. Rooms were big and clean. Food was good. Having water sports included was awesome. Entertainment at pool was great and shows were good as well.
The weak points
Not enough bathrooms available around the resort. Beach was small and water was cloudy. No access to a bar on beach.
Certified

Excellent food but dirty beach water

, Stittsville, ON
2019-03-27
This hotel is rated as 5 stars which i can only apply to all inclusive food meals and nightly intertainment .
The room is a standard 200-250 sq.ft. with balcony , bar, fridge and bathroom with 2 sinks . There was a problem with flashing toilet and it was not fixed after request.
There was no normal shampoo as it should be in 5 stars hotels . Some floor tiles corners were chipped off . For this i would apply 3.5-4 stars .
Location is 10 min from airport but such a close proximity makes a chaos every 5 minutes due to taking off planes which a thundering right above your head so you cannot hear anyone you are talking to. So for this -2 stars. You can even smell the aviation fuel exhaust from time to time .
But the worst is a beach . Very short beach filled up with loungers and a very dirty , muddy water due to a small power station by product drainage from 1 side and a sewage channel from another side . There are Montego bay , Discovery bay , Runaway bay . This one i nicknamed Sewage Bay ...
There is a Spa with a prices for massages 2-3 times higher than in Canada .
But all stuff is friendly and always willing to assisst. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, intertainment
The weak points
Beach , water
Certified

Love jamaica

, Vancouver, BC
2019-03-21
great hotel and great staff. food is amazing. lots of fun activities to do out of the resort. was a bit crowded for spring break but expected it. very clean but getting a bit older. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and cleanliness, food is awesome. jerk chicken, Buffets and Italian are amazing. lots of cool activities.
The weak points
only 2 device for wi-fi, not a big deal. far to get a drink on the beach. a bit crowded.
Certified

Review Riu Montego Bay

, North Tetagouche, HA
2019-03-07
My fourth visit to this resort.It needs work.Food is not acceptable, especially Mahoe Bay steak restaurant.Italian ok.First come at restaurants no good.I pay a lot of money to stand in line for 30-40 mins. and hope.Should go back to reservation system.Beach needs cleaning.Full of small stones.Get rid of scumbags peddling cheap goods from canoes on beach and annoying guests.They are actually selling dope.Management is aware of this.Wake-up call system not reliable.Serious problem.Entertainment is all the same each night.Very amateur and somewhat foolish.Service at front desk and restaurants generally good.
Will not return to this resort unless I hear of improvements in this regard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is very clean and well maintained.Rooms are good and well cleaned.Service is good at restaurants and bars.All staff responds well to requests and are polite.
The weak points
Food at restaurants.First come system for restaurants.Beach (stones).Entertainment.
Certified

Fantastic Service

, Rimbey, AB
2019-02-25
There were a couple of issues that we had during our stay with our room. Beds are looking pretty used as well as our TV would just shut off. Maintenance was really good about fixing the TV whenever we called, but was still an inconvenience. My husband was happy that the resort is not purple anymore like most of the pictures.
I do have to say though that the staff and food was great! They have something for everyone, even if you are a picky eater.
Would go back to this location, no problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely the Food and the Staff. We had gone to Mexico four years ago and did not enjoy the food nearly as much as here in Jamaica. Jerk Chicken is just way tooo good.
The weak points
Are the beds. Our springs popped a few times and we are not big people.
Certified

Wonderful Getaway

, London, ON
2019-02-07
My fiancee and I chose this hotel because of the proximity to the airport, price, and familiarity with the Riu Brand name. We had an excellent week away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was delicious. I was pleasantly surprised by the flavour of the food. We mainly ate from the ' Jamaican Station ' section of the buffet. We always could find a beach chair. The grounds were extremely well landscaped and common areas were clean.
The weak points
The patio door did not lock, we brought this up to the front desk staff, but no repairs were made. The toilet in the room was inconsistent with flushing. Often our room wasn't made up till after 4pm. We asked for extra pillows which took 2 days to receive
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Pincher Creek, AB
2018-12-26
The hotel and staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All inclusive was just that. Full bar in room, nice pool, smaller resort but overall great value.
The weak points
Beds not comfortable
Certified

Amazing!!

, Edmonton, AB
2018-12-05
Our first time visiting Jamaica and we will definatly be returning! The Riu was beautiful the staff was always there and willing to help. Hotel has nightly shows very interactive and entertaining.
Highly recommended!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The selection & amount of food. Friendly interactive staff
The weak points
Taxi personell at the front are not as eager or happy to help
Certified

Riu montego bay.

, Rockyview County, AB
2018-11-04
Nice resort but very shitty beach. 20 feet in there is seaweed and muck. Gross. Also shitty wifi policies and procedures. Will never return to this riu. I'm not a negative person and always try to see the best in things but these few thing were a major turnoff.
Food was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness.
The weak points
Beach. Wifi services.
Certified

Superbe vacances

, Baie-Comeau, QC
2018-10-07
Propreté de l'hotel, des toilettes publiques et la nourriture woww c'est l'endroit où j'ai le mieux mangé de tout mes voyages.. c'etait Comme si j'etais Au Québec !! A 5 minutes de l'aéroport et trafic aérien qui nous ne nous a aucunement dérangé même impressionnant. Jamais manqué de rien dans notre chambre et bar dans celle-ci. Pour ceux qui aime se baigner dans la mer et faire de la plage oubliez ce site car elle est vraiment pas le fun fond vaseux et l'eau assez So So [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bouffe, bouffe, bouffe et la propreté partout.
The weak points
Manque de salle de bain et plage

Our stay at Rui Montego Bag

, Edmonton, AB
2018-10-02
Loved my stay at the Riu Montego Bay, staff so friendly, the little girl at check in, "Yanique" was so helpful in every way. Just loved her. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautiful resort, very clean Ocean so calm, (not huge waves like in Mexico) White sand. Peddlers not on the beach bugging you to buy there stuff.
The weak points
Not enough bathrooms on the resort. would of liked a room with a better view then some old building . Both my friend and I had birthdays there but no one told us about the Birthday Blast things you receive when you have a birthday there.

Amazing First Trip

, Pefferlaw, ON
2018-05-25
This was our first family vacation. The hotel accommodated our family of five with adjoining rooms. Very clean resort with amazing staff who were very friendly and eager to assist us with any of our needs. The beach may not be as large as the ones in Negril but the pool area made up for it. The entertainment staff seemed to work non-stop to make sure everyone was having a great time and they didn't disappoint. We were extremely happy with this resort and would definitely stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent hotel, close to airport, amazing staff, amazing food. All around great place.
The weak points
The beds are not very comfortable. We went on an excursion to Negril and we were bombarded by locals peddling goods. We had very few approach us while in Montego Bay.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, London, ON
2018-05-07
RUI Montego Bay is a very nice resort. It is well maintained and current, with free wifi through out the property. The check-in was easy and the resort employees were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, with current climate control; as well as a private balcony. The in-room bar was well stocked and maintained every other day. The pool was beautiful, with daily entertainment. The food was excellent. We also had no problem getting into the A La Carte restaurants.
It was an excellent trip. I would definitely recommend and return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort. Friendly, helpful staff. Great rooms.
The weak points
The beach was nice but small. The water is not the pristine turquoise water we expected. I would recommend water shoes if you are an avid ocean swimmer. The room to hold bags for late flights is not secure. Do not leave valuables in luggage.
Certified

Everything

, Mississauga, ON
2018-02-24
First time I been to Rui Montego Bay I has to say 10/10 nice peoples good food , beautiful Beach white sand , special is dancer team is so friendly very good Dane ; talented everyone should go to Rui Montego Bay very safe loved I will go back again and again loved there see you soon Jamaica Rui Montego Bay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great first trip to Jamaica

, Baden, ON
2017-12-12
Really liked the hotel. Great friendly staff, food was awesome, very nice pool, beach was nice, loved the jerk hut on the beach. Would definitely come back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, 5min from the airport.
Certified

Enjoyable

, Sherwood Park , AB
2017-03-27
Very close to the airport so you don't have the long bus ride. Staff were extremely friendly. Buffet had theme nights and the food was wonderful. Jerk chicken on the beach was best! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Closeness to airport. Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff - especially Jahmarie and Gillian who worked in the buffet
The weak points
Can't walk very far along the beach
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Bestia, ON
2017-02-23
Hotel was ok not a 5 star by any means. A la carte restaraunt a pain to get in and limited seating for a resort this size. Price was a little steep for the value. Fruits and certain foods were very limited. Fruit was not of very good quality at all .Music worked at pool bar 50% of time at pool. Odour in the evening of raw sewage or the grease traps in the kitchens overwhelming. Rooms are very dated and much better options for the price of this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Lloydminster, AB
2017-02-22
The service staff works so hard and are so accommodating, it's sad they are under such scrutiny to keep their job. They get paid so little with one day off a week, can we not demand better for them? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU Montego Bay

, Beaumont, AB
2016-11-30
Over all great service, good people and clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Summer Sun

, Scarborough, ON
2016-07-17
We spent a week at Rui Bachata in the Dominican Republic two weeks ago, and then last week at Riu Montego Bay. After Bachata I did not want to return to a Riu hotel. Riu MB changed that! Food was incredible, except the alacarte were not worth going to as the main buffet had everythung you could desire. Animation crew was not as lively, the Dominicans have the Jamaicans beat on dance! Staff was friendly, but not near as friendly as in the DR. Beach clean but very small. The whole bay is filling up With weeds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the girls
Certified

Montego bay

, Calgary, AB
2016-07-03
Excelence service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022