Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay

Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
3.533.533.533.533.53
3.53 based on 405 reviews
#8 of 36 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (126)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

If you can afford to, find a better hotel.

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-27
crappie rooms, no ventilation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staffs
The weak points
The rooms
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
sanitizer when entering buffet
Certified

Not recommended until further improvement

, Toronto, ON
2022-11-18
Dated room is small like a 3-star motel, and doesn't feel like a resort that I stayed in other places, noise air condition also doesn't work properly as you set.
Room service always forgets something, you have to call and send it in.
Only one buffet for lunch and three restaurants for dining, bar fas food is not good.
The environment outside is good on the beach and small island, onside snorkelling can see many fishes but a lot of seaweed.
But some room close to the highway noise should be avoided.
The location is convenience close to the airport and easy to travel to the east or west coast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The location is convenience close to the airport and easy to travel to the east or west coast. Beach is good with onside snorkelling can see many fishes.
The weak points
Dated room, limited restaurant choice.
Certified

2nd stay

, St.johns, NL
2022-11-11
My husband and I stayed at this resort in 2014, and at the time actually got engaged. We had a fantastic stay and our only complaint at that time was there was no disco. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the resort had renovated and put in a new club, which was one of the reasons we decided to return. There were resorts for a comparable price that we had not stayed at before, but we thought this was our best bet because of our previous positive experience. We spent a few days alone, and halfway through our stay, my husband's family joined us. We arrived on October 31st at 2:00 p.m. Upon check-in I notified Tevin that we were returning guests from 2014 and that we had actually gotten engaged at this resort. Although we had booked a standard room, I asked if we could get a room with two double beds as my stepson would be joining us later in the week, and I also requested a refrigerator. At that time we were told that our request was not a problem and that we would also be getting an ocean view room. We were told we would have to wait about an hour for our room which was no problem, so we decided to go and eat. Before we got a chance to go to the buffet, we were told that our room was ready. We were pleasantly surprised that it had gotten cleaned so quickly. We offered to carry our bags to our rooms as the bell man was busy assisting other guests. After the walk over to building one carrying four heavy suitcases, I realized that the room we were given had only one bed. It also did not have a fridge. I promptly called down to the front desk to address the issue. Tevin advised me he would call me back in 5 minutes when he had everything sorted. We waited 30 minutes, exhausted and hungry after traveling all day, and called back down to the desk. I was told that he had to wait until his supervisor came in to change the room, and that we would have to wait a little longer. 20 minutes later we are still standing in the room, not able to use it because we are getting moved, and still waiting for a room. I called down again and by this time lunch was over. Finally we were given another room on the second floor, and this room did have two beds, however it did not have a refrigerator and it was not ocean view. At that point I was just tired of waiting so I gave up on the room hunt. The room was basic and simple, nothing extra, and I was told I would have to put my name on a list for a refrigerator which would be given based on availability, after 7 days I never did receive a refrigerator. Two out of 7 days we had to call down and ask for towels because Housekeeping did not show up. On the days that they did show up, the room was fantastic and the housekeeper was very friendly.
For the most part, the room was sufficient, but it was a bit disappointing to know that we were returning guests and didn't get an upgrade of any kind. Also, during our stay there was a manager's dinner where return guests were invited to a special dinner with management, and prizes were given out, we were never told about the dinner by any staff or given an invitation, and only found out after the fact from guests who had attended.

The food was pretty good, especially the Jamaican a la carte. We also ate at the Italian restaurant a couple of times and that was pretty good as well. The buffet had enough selection for our taste and we always found something to eat. My only complaint about the buffet is that during our stay one morning the power went out, and we were a little late getting down for breakfast. When we arrived around 10:20 there were lots of other people also trying to get breakfast, and the kitchen staff were taking all of the food away, and we were only able to get pancakes and watermelon. No eggs, no bacon, no other breakfast food other than dry cereal and toast. Very disappointing to have people lined up waiting for food and staff taking away pans of food with people still waiting to eat.
Due to a lack of CO2 in the country, there was no fountain soda or beer on tap.  This wasn't a major issue, other than the fact that we found the beer was never cold and a lot of people were complaining about the same thing.

We did find a few fantastic staff who really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and helped us make the best of our stay. Mark at the snack bar was absolutely fantastic, Ewan at the barefoot bar always had a smile, and Mr Powell at the adults swim up bar was sweet and friendly! My husband had great chats with some of the lifeguards and they were super helpful when he had to go into town and go to the bank. Nightly entertainment was pretty good, but we were disappointed that the disco was usually pretty dead and it didn't seem to be promoted much at the resort. There was a heavy focus on promoting Margaritaville, which we were not interested in after spending $3,000 to stay at an all inclusive with a club. The first night that we did go up there, we were served one drink and then the bartender put his head down doing paperwork and didn't look up again. We tried to get his attention a couple of times for another drink, but we just ended up leaving because there was no one around anyway.

The pools and beaches were fantastic, always clean with plenty of sun beds. The nightly grill, nacho bar and jerk hut were great, but the guy working at the jerk hut never said hello or smiled and always looked like he was in a bad mood. It was uncomfortable actually just asking him for food. We ran into this a few times actually, where we felt like more of a burden than a guest, and like we were begging or something. We are regular tippers, but even that didn't seem to make a difference.

We booked a room for my husband's family and were pleasantly surprised that they had a beautiful room on the 4th floor of our same building. It was partial ocean view, had a refrigerator, a sofa and beautiful high ceilings. They were also given a welcome drink when they came in, something that we never got. While we were super thankful that our family had this great experience, we wondered why we weren't given the same. As a matter of fact, when we were checking out, my husband asked for a bottle of water to take on the bus for our 6-year-old son, and we were told that we would have to buy it at the gift shop because they only provide water to people who are checking into the hotel, and since we were checking out I guess we weren't a priority anymore. Even though we had just spent $3,000 to be there for a week, it was too much to ask for a bottle of water when we were leaving. Come on.

Another disappointing factor was the Japanese a la carte, which was included in our last stay, but for some reason this time they are charging $29 USD per person. Not exactly "all inclusive".

***
My husband also had a ridiculous run in with the head of security. He asked the front desk if he could remove his bracelet in order to leave the resort to avoid being hassled by vendors. He was told that this was no problem at all, and that a lot of guests do the same thing. Upon returning, the security chief approached him and asked why he wasn't wearing a bracelet. He explained the situation to which the security responded "what sense does that make" and even after my husband showed that he had the bracelet in his pocket, he took the bracelet from my husband and stated that he would need to follow him to the front desk to make sure his story was accurate. He also stated that he spent 30 years in the constabulary force in Jamaica and that he "knows a trickster when he sees one". My husband who is originally Jamaican, told the security that he didn't feel that he needed to be followed like a criminal, to which the security Chief replied that indeed he would need to follow him like a criminal to make sure that he was a guest on the premises.
Warm welcome right?

Prior to writing this review, I had said that maybe I would return again, but when I'm sitting here thinking about everything that actually happened, I would be very hesitant to do so. It wasn't a terrible experience, there were a lot of great things about this trip, but it's the little things that make a difference on a vacation, and a lot of those little things were lacking at this hotel. We met a lot of return travelers, gold banders, who had nothing but great things to say about this hotel, but for us it seemed like if you weren't a first time visitor or a 20th time visitor, you were overlooked and ignored. Except for the few staff that we did mention who were absolutely fantastic! We wanted to give an honest review, with the good and the bad included. I think we have done just that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, pools, some staff, food.
The weak points
Drinks, some staff, night life, security.
Certified

Montego Holiday Inn Tropical Getaway

, Aylmer, ON
2022-06-26
Our family had A fantastic time at Holiday Inn Montego Bay. The resort was very clean and the staff was very friendly and the island across from the beach was incredible!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The island across the beach is definitely the Crown jewel of island hotel. You can walk out to this little island and Snorkel all the way around..The cost was fantastic for our family and the Hotels location is almost perfect ditance from the airport!
The weak points
The food choices were not in abundance at the buffet or menu at the 2 A'Cartes we went to..But remember price is fantastic!!
Certified

Amazing destination for a family getaway

, St Albert, AB
2022-05-10
We travelled with my 5 year old twin girls to stay at the Holiday Inn Montego Bay. It was a beautiful resort that was clean with staff that cared. We stayed in building 1A, located off the main lobby. It was quiet on our side facing the tennis courts. The sun always rose on our side of the hotel and morning coffee on the balcony was always how we started our day.

The room was clean and well kept. House keeping came every 2nd day and often was not completed until late in the afternoon.

The staff and especially the lifeguards around the pool were amazing. They kept a watchful eye without being intrusive. The resort felt extremely safe for the kids. More than once when our group was separated we were asked where the other child was, it was nice they noticed and were aware of who belonged together and if someone might be missing. The entire staff went out of their way to accommodate the kids and that made it so special to them. They also have a kids club where kids can go and play in a supervised area and parents can take their own break.

The area of sea between the small island and the main beach is incredible. Warm, clean, clear and relatively shallow made it easy to get back and forth comfortably as well it being relaxing, picture lazy lounge time just floating in the water.

The food was good, buffet breakfast was good, we loved the a la carte restaurant (Italian and jerk) and the quick eats at the day time bars were great too.

Loved it and would definitely go back for a family vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
family friendly clean
Certified

A Wonderful Experience

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-06
It was our 1st time to the resort and to Montego Bay, Jamaica. It was a wonderful experience for us and we look forward to return there again next year. Though resort was older compared to others but it has all that we needed. Free Wifi, laundry service you do yourself, and water sport activities. The price was most affordable for our families. We have meet many families that were returned guests who had been there many times. I highly recommend those that don't have a lot of funds to travel this resort, a place that you can travel and enjoyed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was clean/services free and price was good
The weak points
not a lot of foods selection but we were fine with it for 7 days stay.

Better than expected

, Toronto, HA
2020-02-06
This property had everything required at a resort, beaches, entertainment, food, and opportunities for children. Attentive staff and upgraded bathrooms. Clientel was mostly Canadian (good) and largely middle class (also good). All staff were happy to chat. As a travel writer, I liked the hotel and the location [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Landscaping was nice, the hotel was spead out along a stretch of beach, had everything we required. Great staff. Good fitness room
The weak points
Personally, we found it too big, but not overwhelming. Entertainment was professional but not enough reggae. This is Bob Marley country after all.
Certified

Older run down building but very relaxing

, Port Alberni, BC
2019-12-20
I was a little underwhelmed when we got there in the evening. The buffet was unappealing the room small and smelled but seeing it through fresh eyes the following day and seeing the beach put my apprehension at bay we loved the relaxed atmosphere and the staff were amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service... super chill vibe... restaurants were very good ... beach was gorgeous ... close to airport
The weak points
Older building... really funky smell in the room... buffet was not all that appealing and you had an upcharge at certain restaurants (lead me to believe they minimize buffet selection in order to profit from the restaurants) located near highway (loud)
Certified

Wonderful

, Ottawa, ON
2019-06-08
We had the most wonderful experience, the hotel was clean, the staff was so friendly, genuine and sweet! We can't wait to come back next year ! Thank you so much for the amazing experience and food ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Review on Holiday In Resort Montergo Bay

, Brampton, ON
2019-06-06
- The services provided were not good (no water in the room, no fridge in the room, no room service, and housekeeper did not put enough body lotion in the room - I had to asked for extra body lotion).
- The waiters/waitress need to be more sensitive to the guests.
- The beach was not good - very shallow water and lots of sea weeds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Great location and easily accessible. - Nightly entertainment was good. - Food was good.
The weak points
The section that I stayed was rated 3.5 stars; I thought it was 5 stars. I did not the value for the price paid.
Certified

Hidden Gem

, Edmonton, AB
2019-05-30
This facility has everything you would need in an all inclusive resort. The rooms are very clean, a little dated, the pool is perfect with bars in every place they should be, would want a bit more alcohol in each drink and more bar tenders at times. The food was excellent, we especially enjoyed the Japanese restaurant and "Jerk after Dark" was the icing on the cake, totally worth the extra money. The excursions we went on were an awesome way to see Jamaica for our first time which was to Black River Falls, Nigril Beach and Rick's cafe and Cool Runnings Catamaran in Ocho Rios. The native Jamaicans we met were beautiful people. The hotel had a rotation of Merchants in the hotel which really were reasonably priced after bartering! You can't get better beaches with such a variety, we never felt crowed and the water was so warm and crystal clear! The nightly shows blew us away almost every night! We hated to miss it! Our travel agent earned even more respect after recommending this place! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, entertainment, staff, beach, bars, merchants, excursions.
The weak points
The building and decorations are dated, more staff at the bars and more alcohol in the drinks.
Certified

Second Visit

, Stevensville, ON
2019-05-20
Reception: Adrian at the front desk should teach other employees how to perform their jobs....he is so professional and always a smile
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Night shows are very good Housekeeping is very attentive Every thing is very close Great for families This property is beautiful
The weak points
Employees need take more pride in their jobs or maybe they need to e treated better
Certified

Superb Vacation

, Brampton, ON
2018-12-10
A wonderful experience.
Up to standard
Happy and friendly staff which is very important. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, delicious food and good entertainment
The weak points
Room air-conditioners are too noisy. Tennis courts need to be lit.
Certified

3 females

, New Liskeard, ON
2018-11-29
First impression is 3*. We started with a shabby room close to entertainment area but were moved to the Adults Only area after 2 nights. Fantastic 4*.They were renovating one whole building so they are updating. The Casino is a bit of joke, never any change and only 15x15 room with 21 slot machines.Great food. The pools need better cleaning. Both pools and sea were no deeper than 3.5 ft. IF YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO BEES, BEWARE!! they are at all the bars (sugar).IF YOU ARE A SMOKER, THERE IS ONE DESIGNATED AREA ONLY. but the staff did not say anything in the Adults only area.The drinks with alcohol were lacking variety. Beer was good and we bought our wine with dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport. Good food.Not extra big but big enough.
The weak points
Not smoker friendly. Too many kids. Drinks with alcohol were lacking.
Certified

Holiday Inn Montego Bay

, Trenton, HA
2018-10-21
First off, this is a beautiful resort. The food is amazing and drinks were good. The resort is spacious with lots of areas to sit by the pool or along the beach or the little island across from the main pool. The adult pool with swim up bar is very small as it has a 20 person limit. I did check out this pool one afternoon but wouldn't get in it as it was too confined for me.
The down side to this resort is that it is open to the public. Had I known this I would not have booked it. Jamaican people love those all inclusive option and I don't say I blame them but upon arriving on a Friday, we were pretty much ignored or treated as a nuisance until Monday when they left. We had to be moved to a different building after we were kept awake all night by the Jamaicans who were there partying all night. It really was a gong show until Monday. But once it quieted down and the tourists filled the resort, the staff seemed much more gracious and helpful.
All in all, we made the best of it. We've travelled a lot and never came across this before so it set us back being ignored on the first few days. I would not return to this resort as this did not have the resort feel I like. I felt like I was just staying in a hotel and that the local patrons were more their priority than the people who flew there to stay for a week. If you don't mind these things, it is a very nice place. Bring bug spray as well, several people got chewed up while we were there. Happy travels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, beautiful resort
The weak points
The resort is filled with locals on the weekends and they dominate the place
Certified

Holiday Inn, Montego Bay, Jamaica

, Laval, HA
2018-07-29
The staff was most welcoming and made you feel like you were one of them.
The rooms were clean and were never missing anything, even towels were sufficient.
The entertainment staff was exceptional.
The hotel would need to upgrade their AC units that are not as noisy - that would make the stay much more memorable.
Excellent food and service!
A great experience overall! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel staff was very approachable and friendly.
The weak points
Outdated AC system
Certified

March Break Vacation

, Beaverton, ON
2018-03-27
The staff was friendly and attentive. The size of the resort was great for my kids (10 & 12), They were able to have independence. There was aiways something available to eat. The jerk chicken hut was a highlight for me!

We felt safe despite the Canadian travel warnings.

I would recommend this hotel! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Size was good, especially for older kids It was clean There is an adult only section which is a nice touch Towels were always available Beaches were clean I loved that we could see the sunset, at another resort it was blocked by buildings
The weak points
Not exclusive to this hotel but people placing towels in all the shady spots the night before and never spending a minute in their chair all day was irritating!
Certified

Best vacation ever

, Orillia, ON
2018-03-21
Absolutely loved this place. The food was amazing and so much variety, the rooms were very clean and the beds were really comfortable. The staff is exceptional, friendly, helpful and they absolutely love kids there. I highly recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, great food, very clean
The weak points
None
Certified

Great first vacation for the kids

, Saint-Lazare, QC
2018-03-11
We had a lot of fun at this resort. Travelled with kids almost 3 and 5. There was a good variety of food. We had lunch from the 3 different snack bars most days. I would have liked if there were more whole fruit available at breakfast to keep for snacks during the day. Some days there were bananas which we were happy to see. It would have been nice to have more chairs on the multiple beaches but it was very spacious, which was nice.
I liked that we weren't bothered by vendors. There was a section where they were set up most days but you could pretty well avoid them if you didn't want to browse. They were respectful when you declined browsing their collections.

We didn't do any of the excursions except for visiting the Shops at Rosehall. The kids were happy playing in the sand and we were happy lounging.

The staff : very kind and courteous.

The grounds : very well kept, staff walked around picking up cups often so there was little to no mess seen around. Gardeners always at work maintaining the grounds.

Food : always a good variety at the buffet. A good variety of Jamaican specialties if you wanted to try. But also a fair amount of American style food. Barefoot bar, snack bar, jerk hut - loved it.

Rooms : always very clean. We actually saw them upgrading some of the empty rooms while we were there. Changing for new mattresses and couches. Painting and small repairs in the rooms. Better than expected for one of the more affordable resorts.

I found it hard to get a reservation at the a la carte restaurants we wanted to try. The times were way too late to dine with young children. 9:15 pm for example. You need to book them the morning before. The Italian restaurant was always booked up. I know you need to get up early to make the reservation but for me, vacation is not waking up early or setting an alarm to do so. When the kids are tuckered out from the sand and sun, you take advantage and sleep in.

** designated smoking area so people weren't lighting up anywhere they wanted. Great for us as we don't smoke and don't want to be avoiding clouds all day long.

** there is an adults only section. We didn't really visit as we were with our kids but great option for some. It has its own swim up bar.

** one of my kids has an egg allergy. We were able to easily avoid any issues with contamination. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Variety of food & quality - cleanliness of rooms and resort - nice beaches. Super nice staff. Always happy to help you. Disney junior channel was good for calming the kids to sleep at night. Close to airport so it's a Short drive. 15-20 mins.
The weak points
Making reservations for the restaurants was not ideal. The times were always too late for us. A few more chairs on the beaches would have been good.

Awesome resort

, Binbrok, ON
2018-01-30
it is a 4star hotel but I give it a 12 star. our stay was amazing always something to do our entertainment guy goth was awesome. my husband had an amazing birthday. will definitely go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great 10 days

, Pickering, ON
2018-01-28
Good location, great service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent for families with small kids
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, St Catharines, ON
2017-09-27
The staff was very accommodating. When we arrived they had us in romm with twin beds as it was our anniversary they moved us to a junior suite. The food was top notch. The resort is huge lots of walking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ala carte restaurants were fantastic
The weak points
Entertainment could use some help
Certified

Ease yet need service enhancement

, Toronto, ON
2017-07-10
Noisy A/C. After called and requested and confirm two BEDS in ROOM. This was changed to bunch beds! There is a dial for hot water. Felt like B N B. Curry mutton instead of goat. The jerk but took 1 hour and 40 mins to come back. Came back and was out said to get burgers [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Holiday Inn Montego Bay

, Kitchener, ON
2017-04-18
Hotel was average. Would have been nice to have a pool you can actually swim in and a beach that wasn't just a wading depth. Clean and well maintained. Great for kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

As expected for the money

, Hammonds Plains, NS
2017-03-22
Resort was as expected for price point. Disappointed with the service. Not bad but nobody goes above and beyond. Everybody just seemed indifferent. Lots of things for the kids to do. Would rather a beach that is all connected rather than sections. Rooms were decent. Food and drinks were fabulous. Kids enjoyed the snack bar but long line ups / wait. Jerk hut was delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay

, Barrie, ON
2017-03-21
I paid 1800 CDN for all inclusive with flights for 8 days at this resort. For the price I can't really be upset with my experience. However, when we arrived our door to our room was unlocked. This gave us a false sense of security right away. The room was fine but having a room wide open for anyone to walk in and out of is not acceptable.

For the women. My gf had her certain time of month happen overnight and a little tiny spot on the white sheets was there. She cleaned it and got most of it out. When we complained that the sheets haven't been switched and they just made the bed to make it look like they did(we knew because of the little spot on the sheets) The front desk supervisor said that we might be charged for the sheets.

This is a resort faulting a woman for being a woman. Not to mention how embarrassed she already was and how they made her feel guilty afterwards.

We are never going back there to that resort or using that hotel chain again.

Pay the extra few hundred dollars and get more guest friendly resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drinks aren't watered down Private beaches
Certified

Rundown Resort

, Burlington, ON
2017-03-19
We have stayed in many Holiday Inn's and are IHG Platinum Elite club members and this is by far the worst one we have been in. This was our first time in Jamaica. We travelled as a family of 4. I booked 2 rooms and upon check in found out that our rooms were on separate ends of the floor. We were told that nothing else was available. When we went up to the rooms we found out both rooms had a king bed. Well this was not going to work for a brother and sister. Went to front desk to get a room change and miraculously the room next door to ours was available with 2 double beds. After spending an hour in the room we noticed how disgusting it was. Mold around the shower area, mold around the sink, rust on the rack where you hang your clothes, sliding door did not open and close properly, air conditioning very loud, door to the hall was hard to open, coffee maker did not work so back down to the front desk again. Talked to the manager and after a 30 minute discussion with him about our issues he told us again no rooms were available to move us and to come back the next day (in North America this discussion would have taken 5 minutes and been resolved on the spot) We came back the next day and were moved to another floor but the room was certainly no better and the air conditioner twice as loud. All of this wasted 3 precious days of our vacation time.

This is what I can say about the room: rust on door hinges and door locks, mold around shower and sink, towels so old they are all frayed, outlets all crooked (surprised a fire hasn't happened), no fan in bathroom, bathroom door would not fully open because toilet seat was sticking to far out, water for the shower took about 10 minutes to warm up, low water pressure and at least 3 times there was no water coming out of the taps at all, and on one occasion my husband was showering and the water just shut off, tap in bathroom sink sprays everywhere (we always came out with wet clothes from the splashing) old saggy couch, dirty chair, chipped up furniture, the air conditioning was so loud that we would wake up throughout the night and it felt like the room was vibrating (told the front desk and they said maintenance would have someone look at it. Never happened. We had a fridge in the room but it was stocked with nothing (what's the point if it is not stocked with water, pop etc.) You could hear people talking in the rooms next door. Half of the time the card to get into the room did not work. My kids got locked out and had to go to front desk to get a new card. I also stood for 5 minutes trying to get into our room with the card. We witnessed two other people on our floor that could not get into there room either. Hallway ceilings cracking, outside balconies rotting, pool lounge chairs ripping, dead branches on palm trees.

We found most of the staff to be unpleasant. A week there and we only got 3 hellos voluntarily. It was us that had to say hello first. The staff does not go out of their way to make anything right and your stay pleasant and comfortable. In fact they don't like to go out of their way to do anything extra and we have witnessed them rolling their eyes.

We tried the a la carte Jamaican restaurant, Italian restaurant and Seafood restaurant. The Italian restaurant had very good food and so was the service, Seafood was good as well as the service but the Jamaican was not so great and the staff seemed like they didn't care to be there. They tell you at guest services the restaurant is booked but the three times we went all the restaurants were half empty. The buffet was OK but food got repetitive after a couple of days. The buffet had the feel of eating in a cafeteria and was very crowed and loud. Jamaica grows many different kinds of fruit and about all we saw was watermelon day after day and pineapple twice, and canned peaches, a very, very poor selection of fruit.

The grounds where Ok we have seen nicer. The island is a nice feature that you can walk to. The nightly entertainment was lousy. Nothing entertaining about it one bit. They didn't even have a proper stage, sound system, lights or enough chairs to sit on. Most people would sit on pool lounge chairs or around the pool or in the buffet area.

The only nice thing about this resort was the nature part of it, the ocean, beach, flowers, palm trees.

This place needs to be knocked down and rebuild. Spend a little extra money if you can and stay somewhere a lot nicer. We made the best of our time there but it was not very pleasant. We would NEVER return to Holiday Inn Montego Bay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

David Court

, Etobicoke, ON
2017-03-14
3 - was as expected
The lack of beach space and chaise chairs was an issue - fortunately we found a spot however I had to get up every day at 6 am just to go out and reserve a spot
Needed more access to food and drinks - was good overall just not always available or had to line up [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food (in buffet and a couple of restaurants); fairly peaceful; room/shower pressure
The weak points
Room hot; lack of access to food/drinks on property; beach space limited; entertainment was poor and often far too loud (I couldnt' hear myself eat at the Jamaican restaurant upstairs)
Certified

Excellent Value

, London, ON
2017-02-28
This was our second stay at this resort and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our goal was to have a relaxing vacation and we achieved our goal! Look forward to our next visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great stay at Holiday Inn Jamaica

, Cambridge, ON
2017-02-22
I have stayed at this resort two years in a row and have found it good value for the money spent. Nice variety of restaurants on location, nightly entertainment is good. There is no disco located on site but free shuttle to Margarittaville if so desired. Rooms clean and staff in all areas very friendly, helpful and pleasant. Childrens activities poolside daily and daily activities including a beach night and buffett beach side. Bldg two pools side can be loud if you have young children wanting to sleep early but entertainment does stop at 11pm and this is where we enjoyed the entertainment nightly from our balcony. Overall a great experience and would stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great snorkelling location, nice selecton of restaurants, shallow beach great for young children, wonderful staff always helpful smiling and pleasant
The weak points
shallow water for adults, not a lot of beach too walk, bathroom tiny
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022