Ocean Coral Spring

Ocean Coral Spring
3.403.403.403.403.40
3.40 based on 15 reviews
#11 of 36 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 4.5 stars

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Nightmare! No Concern over guest safety

, Woodbridge, ON
2022-03-23
Please note I have never written a review of this nature in the past.

While we can certainly understand and are sympathetic to new hotels going through growing pains regarding service issues, I hope H10 would agree that safety of its guests should be a priority. On our second night of our stay, we noticed water leaking from the room above into our bathroom prior to departing for dinner. Upon returning to our room that evening, there was no power in the room. We called for maintenance and they reset the panel. We showed him the leak and he determined that we needed to move rooms given the leak was hitting electric lines. Given it was near midnight we agreed to move in the morning. We were promised another room the next morning and told it needed to be cleaned and would be ready for 3pm. So we repacked. A bellman was sent to assist with our luggage to the new room. When we arrived at the new room it was not ready so we were instructed to go back to the old room until it was ready. We never heard back despite following up numerous times. There was no leak that evening, and with no further correspondence we were forced to unpack again. The following evening, the leak returned and the power went out again. The next maintenance person indicated we needed to move rooms as it was dangerous to stay in the room. So we re-packed again and waited. Eventually we were moved to another room. Thank goodness that none of us, including your staff, were not electrocuted. During this entire 2 days and even thereafter my wife requested to speak to the hotel manager on several occasions but we were never extended the courtesy.

We are not picky travelers and do not expect perfection, but we do expect a safe stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful campus: modern and tasteful decor, clean, good amenities
The weak points
No concern over guest safety (see review); slow to no service; food not 5 star
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very good.
Certified

Coral Ocean Spring

, Stratford, ON
2022-03-10
Good
Nice staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Route 66 Red Snapper Easy to get around Front desk doesn't seem organized
The weak points
The covid testing area poorly organized No sandy beach
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Very good
Certified

Ocean coral

, Whitby, ON
2022-03-09
This resort has serious service and staffing issues.
I am not picky but I felt like a burden the entire week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, Kingston, ON
2022-03-05
Ocean Coral Spring is a beautiful resort with very friendly staff. We loved being able to visit any restaurant on site, except one, without reservations. There were lots of things going on at the pool every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff, wide variety of restaurants with only one requiring reservations. Energetic and talented entertainment staff. Plenty of chairs to chose from.
The weak points
Checkin process is very slow. Beach is not as depicted in the photo above. It is quite small and requires watershoes to walk out in the water because of rocks and coral. A request for items missing from the room were never met.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff wore masks even outside. There was hand sanitizer everywhere.
Certified

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY - POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

, Curve Lake, ON
2022-02-26
Overall a nice resort as far as layout, buildings pool etc..Beach was rocky and weedy..no bar service ( as promised ) at beach. Staff were very nice I thought but that is about all I can say that is good. They constantly ran out of ice...YES ICE...coke...beer ....rum...restaurants constantly running out of food...restaurant hours were awful...room service never answered the phone ( neither did concierge, customer service etc.) It was actually the worst experience I have ever had at a resort. Bathroom was not cleaned when we arrived ( I mean really gross) it took hours to get it cleaned and multiple phonecalls to get someone to clean it. There is a woman at the pool who starts sharp at 10:00 in the morning screaming and catterwalling all day on her microphone. The absolute most annoying thing I have ever heard. Nobody could stand her but there she was every day destroying any peace and tranquility with her noise. I spoke to many guests who said they would never come back based on this one person. Anyway I did the PRIVILEGE LEVEL which is a joke and gets you nothing..JUST STAY AWAY!!!! THIS IS AN AWFUL VACATION RESORT. Oh just as an extra joke, after providing no customer service and running out of everthing I was invited to invest $20,000 into a time share program..seriously. I said if you cannot provide me customer service now as a guest you are courting to spend $$$ what kind of service can I expect after investing. Needless to say I di not do the presentation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
nice resort
The weak points
zero customer service...ran out of everything...no one answers the phone
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
ok

We were misled and it doesn't matter to the hotel

, Oakville, ON
2022-01-29
My wife and I had such a great experience in Jamaica 8 years ago so when we had the chance to go back and bring our kids....and get out of this COVID nightmare, we jumped at the opportunity. We researched hotels, found Ocean Coral Springs, validated it was approximately 2 years old, and we booked it. We bought a "privilege" package. Here is a recap of what we experienced: 1. Shocking lack of availability of food at every single location on site, be it restaurant, waterpark deli, "the Jerk shack"....it didn't matter. 2. Alcohol - same as point #1 - Red Stripe out of stock most days. 3. no premium liquor despite our "privilege" position which we paid to have access to. 4. Filthy main pool - shocked at the debris in the pool - I actually stepped on a plastic glass in the pool. I also pulled multiple paper products (straws and gross - some masks) in the areas that my kids were swimming in. 5. Room service - absent, horrendous availability and when we actually we able to order something that was available (lack of food availability remember) , it showed up 1 hour later and cold. 6. Non Functional attributes on the property - the lazy river had 50% of the waterfalls working. 7. Broken property - there were many areas around the facility in disrepair - open electrical boxes next to sidewalks, broken tiles, and in general a lack of upkeep. 8. Gym - gross in 1 word. Floor mats that were crumbling and "sticky", people not abiding by cleaning their equipment....after 1 day of experiencing this, we never went back. 9. Room keys unfunctional - everyday, and I mean everyday, 2 of our 4 keys didn't work. We gave up after 4 days of trying to get this fixed. 10. The Beach - whether the general beach for all or the "privileged" beach, you need sonar to help navigate the rocks and weeds...in short I would not call that a beach. 11. Daily room being cleaned - we had to call after day 2 to get service. It took 2 additional days to get our room cleaned. 12. Staff - there is no question, Jamaica is not immune to issues with COVID and staff. I was shocked though when I inquired about the shortage of food, the person in particular said I don't give an "f'ing sh*t". I share all of this because we feel extremely let down by this hotel. We spoke to the hotel manager, Mr. Buchannan prior to leaving and gave him our feedback. We've not heard from the hotel since providing that feedback. Also, to put things in perspective, my son and daughter-in-law were staying at the Hyatt resort 20 minutes from this location (closer to the Montego Bay airport) and they experienced nothing like we did.
This hotel is only a few years old. I was told that when COVID hit in 2020, the Jamaican gov't shut the country down and would not allow staff on site at "hotels" to maintain the property. That sounded plausible at the time and the reason the property deteriorated however, this was not the case where my son stayed.
We were misled plain and simple. My family and I would be hard pressed to return to Jamaica based on this poor experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Sun
The weak points
See review
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
see review

Beautiful Property, Terrible Service

, Maple, ON
2021-09-09
This is not my 1st time at this property or an Oceans property. The property is beautiful and well laid out. Our room was very nice, however this property has lacked good service in restaurants and bars from opening day. My recent visit could not be blamed on COVID. The lines are not COVID related, it's the lack of management staffing where required, which is restaurants and bars. The hotel is well aware of their capacity on any given date and should staff accordingly. I met many people vacationing at the resort who had the same complaints. The property will lose out on returning guests if they continue to under staff, those that are working are doing the best they can, but need help. They cannot continue to leave the station in the buffet to go get stuff in the kitchen creating lines. Families, couples are not eating together because of the slow service. Management needs to hire more managers overlooking staff as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Layout, pool, entertainment
The weak points
Service, service, service

Needs some improvement

, Toronto, ON
2021-09-08
Room, pool, food is great. Service needs improvement. Some staff are helpful and others not at all. Seems disorganized with itinerary and restaurant scheduling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean hotel, room, and room layout is great
The weak points
Not a family resort, more of a couples/single vibe
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Safe
Certified

Not as advertised - not even as warned

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-18
Booked this place for the on-site scuba diving, beach and spa. Ended up being told the spa wouldn't be ready just before traveling (along with a bunch of other less critical things). Wasn't told the scuba place hadn't even been built yet. Wasn't told the beach was unswimmable (it's not the sea urchins, it's a coral reef that extends from one end of the beach to the other and is only a foot deep and hundreds wide, so you can't even try to swim over it or else the waves drop you on the coral and cut you up (I know, I tried - took a week for the cuts to heal). Too sharp to walk over too (plus that kills the coral). Very hard to get a lounge chair at the pool (only managed 2 days). "Superior" class folks can reserve restaurants, but regular folks can't so you end up waiting. I don't know if they get served faster too, but regular folks may have to wait an hour for their food. Room service & room fridge were nice (& free). Drawers in the room fell apart. They were "repaired" and fell apart again. Tub jets were missing an On button but it was quickly installed. Tub water left a gross yellow/orange slick around the tub rim every time. Some construction still ongoing everywhere that's open, as well as the closed-off adult-only section, but not a big noise disturbance other than things not being available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Classy architecture/finishing touches - gorgeous looking pool! Buffet was great! Security was good. All staff were very friendly. Has a great looking water park for kids. Good wifi.
The weak points
I got an ear infection after swimming in the pool (>4wks of antibiotics). I had to pay an extra $100/day to take a cab to another town that did offer scuba diving. A la carte service was slow, and food was ok. None of adult-only section was open.

Experience

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-03-01
It was my first time in a 5 star hotel. However I do not think this is a 5 star hotel now. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel, very good food, the Blue team is great.
The weak points
Understaffed, lack of communication (restaurant is closed but it is not indicated), beach is small, the water is shallow.
Certified

Very nice vacation

, Gatineau, QC
2020-02-24
Very nice new hotel, great food and entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room, swimming pool,food, entertainment
The weak points
N/A
Certified

Not a 5 star

, London, ON
2020-02-11
This has been our 11th all inclusive vacation and our 3rd to Jamaica. The main issue with this resort is that it is not finished being built. Palm trees and bushes are all young in growth giving the grounds a very sterile non tropical appearance. The beach was small and well maintained but the depth of the water was knee deep. The bottom was sandy for about 15yrd. than weedy from that point out. This made the beech only suitable for kids. Because there are no other resorts on either side of the property there was no available beach to go for long walks on either side of the property. The pool was large with plenty of lounge chairs. Staff did come around the pool side and the beach for drink orders which was nice. As with all resorts the buffet was hit and miss with many options available. There were 3 of 5 ala carte restaurants open that did not require reservations or a dress code that served decent menu options. There was a nice coffee bar that offered different coffee options and pastries. Drinks were typical of any resort however I was able to order a few different higher end scotches that were available without having to pay anything for them, something you don't find in most other resorts. Rooms were nice but the fan in the room had only 1 high speed and while air conditioning worked to keep the room cool for some reason it did not seem to take out the humidity leaving any towels or articles of clothing unable to dry. Staff were very friendly and tried to correct any issues but many seemed to be new to their job and unsure about their duties. Overall I would recommend waiting for a year to allow the resort to finish being built and all the “bugs” ironed out. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff and pool.
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022