The Oasis At Sunset

The Oasis At Sunset
4.074.074.074.074.07
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Paradise in Jamaica

, Ottawa, ON
2015-02-10
Best service and team work on the Island. From the moment you arrive the service levels at the Oasis are amazing. Happy staff who want to serve are proof that the employer also takes care of the staff. The chef provided yummy delights morning noon and night. Entertainment was on the Sunset Beach side, so if you don't want to partake in the lively side of an all inclusive, then you could stay back in the quiet comfort of the Oasis. We were so delighted that other resorts are no longer an option. Can't wait to go back to paradise at the Oasis at Sunset. thank you for a wonderful vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All of the staff spoil you beyond any past experience. The bar has been raised and I doubt any resort can top the Oasis at Sunset service levels. A week without buffets or line ups.
The weak points
Beach is beautiful, but swimming you need water shoes due to coral / nature in the shallow waters.
Certified

Not quite as expected.

, Orleans, ON
2015-01-21
The hotel is situated within 15 minutes of the airport which is awesome. We were told that the Oasis was a renovated part of the Sunset resort but it really isn't. The main building is quite nice but the bathrooms in the bedrooms need major renos. We were staying in a beachfront cabana and the views were amazing. The beach is more rocks/seashells then sand and the lounge chairs are mostly all broken but the water was warm and clear and if you like to venture out into the sea I hear the snorkling was decent. The buffet is quite boring and small but the a la carte restaurants were great. All and all we had a great time as the weather was amazing but some things would need to be upgraded before we would consider returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The 4 a la carte restaurants were very good and offered a great menu.
The weak points
The buffet is small and too much of the same thing over and over again. Also this is a family resort and none of the restaurants, including the buffet, is open till 6:30pm for supper, which with small children is very difficult.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Keswick, ON
2014-04-21
The staff was excellent. They were helpful and courteous. They seemed genuine, not just out to get a tip. The kids loved the water park. I was impressed with the gym. Lots of cardio equipment and free weights and also an extra room for stretching, ab workout or yoga. I was so pleased to find yoga mats and stability balls. The turn down service at night was an extra special treat. We took showers before dinner every night, so it was nice to have clean towels for the morning (after my workout). The beach was nice and clean. Staff could be seen often throughout the day picking up cups and dishes guests were finished with. We really enjoyed the buffet restaurant. It was easy with two young boys. There was always somethings for us all to enjoy. Fresh fruit, lots of salad and an array of main courses so we never tired of it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall, a very enjoyable resort. Would definitely recommend it. Everything that we were looking for.
The weak points
The water in the pool in the water park could have been clearer.
Certified

Already planning our trip for next year!

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-21
Really impressed with our stay. I would like to return but I think that the introductory rates for the recently renovated side will likely be more next year. Once the private beach is fully set up, it will truly be an Oasis. I am sure the beaches in Negril are better, but not worth the 2hr drive both ways from Montego bay. Especially when a "7 night" stay is already like 6 with travel time. Staff were extremely friendly, professional and with so much personality. Great ambassadors for not only the hotel, but for Jamaica. Always working hard, serving, responding, cleaning, painting, etc. If I had to suggest "room for improvement" I would say that the dessert selection could be better. More chocolate. House wine was good on the Oasis side, passable on the Sunset side. If you prefer to "strap on the feed bag" then stay on the Sunset side and go to the buffet. Exclusive a la carte restaurant was very good and was a great feature of the Oasis side. Byron's (Jamiacan/caribbean)restaurant was good, but was not spicy/typical. I understand they are tailoring the food for white bread Americans, but could have had a bit more kick. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendly, professional and w so much personality. Food quality was very good. A la carte menu definitely a selling point. Best entertaiment experience @ a resort.
The weak points
Beach. Once the private beach is completely set up, it will be great
Certified

Nice hotel with friendly atmosphere!

, Caledon, ON
2014-03-14
When we first arrived we were placed in the West wing in front of the pool and there was quite a bit of noise. We felt somewhat misled with the understanding that the wings were renovated. We didn't find that to be so we upgraded to the Beach Cabana room at an additional cost (best room category) in the east wing with ocean view. It was very quiet and peaceful. They room was fine except for our only major complaint - the "in room" WiFi service. It was VERY unreliable. There is a private part of the beach only for Oasis clients which we loved. The Oasis is also wonderful for families. We will return with our 2 children who will immensely enjoy the pool area and other activities. The food was good, particularly Terrace and Blue Mahoe restaurants, although service at the Terrace was extremely SLOW so we often went to the buffet. The property is extremely clean and well maintained. We left not wanting to leave the peace and tranquility! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather was amazing with beautiful breeze from the bay; staff are extremely pleasant
The weak points
complimentary WiFi rarely worked; "renovated" rooms were not as expected
Certified

Nice surprise

, Brockville, ON
2014-03-02
This was an older property that had been renovated. The bathroom was a bit small and dated (1940's-50's) but the room was nice and service was very good. There was an a la carte restaurant dedicated to the Oasis only section and open for all three meals, no reservations required. The food at this restaurant was excellent, more than well worth any extra cost for staying at the Oasis instead of the adjoining Sunset property. 1/2 hour from airport, 15 minutes from downtown Montego Bay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food at the a la carte, good service, fridge with beer. Very good staff.
The weak points
Bathroom was a bit small and old-fashioned but the shower worked very well compared to many hotels.
Certified

Good but could be better

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-03-01
The staff make the experience here awesome. From the bartenders to the wait staff and housekeeping to maintenance they all provide exceptional service.

They went above and beyond to provide all of the Canadian guests a catered space to watch the Canadian Men win Gold for Hockey in Sochi

The rooms and bathrooms are on the dated side. The view from the room is nice.

The common areas are beautiful.

Restaurants and bars close too early and sometimes without warning.

Entertainment is good but limited. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Oasis Resort has the best food on the resort. It is nice to have access to the resources of the attached resort.
The weak points
The Restaurant on the Oasis Resort has a very slow ticket time (time from ordering to receiving the meal) upwards of 1.5 hours. Food and Drinks are not available 24/7
Certified

1 week all inclusive

, Caledon, ON
2014-02-27
Last minute booking was a pleasant and wonderful surprise - in that the facility was so lovely and the staff above and beyond in their efforts to make everyone happy. Good cab service at the gate outside the resort at half the price of inside trips.
We would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Very nice hotel. Private beach. great selection of food. room was very nice and quiet. Great snorkeling - shallow and clear water. All inclusive was def.all inclusive at the Oasis.
The weak points
internet was pretty bad. No king size bed though requested at booking. Trips and even short excursions to town over priced and a rip off. Service was very good but if you tip a lot it would be even better.
Certified

Great Last Minute Trip

, Peterborough, ON
2014-02-11
If you don't want fancy rooms, then this is a great place. We had an ocean front room and enjoyed sitting out looking over the beach. The resort was spotless and the staff incredibly polite and willing to help. The beach is not fabulous but we knew that going in. There were plenty of chairs around the pool and on the beach. You did not have to get up at 6 to go and reserve a chair. The private Oasis beach is never busy and very peaceful. The snorkelling was great as well. The food was not top notch but still quite good. I highly recommend breakfast and dinner at the al carte at the Oasis. We tried one speciality restaurant but were not terribly impressed. We much preferred to dine at the terrace at Oasis under the stars. There is also nightly dinner entertainment which was very good. We were not looking for a party place so if that is your goal, look elsewhere, but if you are looking to chill, sit back, read a good book and swim in the ocean, this is the place to go. I guess the real question is would we go back. Likely not but it was a nice place to be for a week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff! They made our vacation fun. The resort is spotless. Loved the lazy water tubes! Just get in a go with current. Very relaxing.
The weak points
Rooms and bathrooms are dated; bathroom very small. Small beach.
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Westmount, QC
2014-02-10
Nice rooms, friendly staff, good food - but service sometimes slow- but no problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean. Friendly staff. Good beach (some rocks) reserved for Oasis clients.
The weak points
Under construction in some areas. Pools far away and some need redoing.
Certified

Fabulous Break from Winter

, Oakville, ON
2014-02-08
The Oasis resort is part of sunset resorts which is connected and on the other end. We could use all the facilities of Sunset resorts while staying at Oasis. The staff is simply fantastic. Right from the front desk all the way to dining everyone is helpful, smiling and makes you feel welcome. The hospitality experience is the best I have seen here. Management is available to address your concerns and they work as a team and ensured our comfort. We wanted to watch Super Bowl in private room with few other families and the staff quickly arranged chairs, bar guy delivered drinks and snacks were organized in the TV room. The beach for Oasis visitors is separate and very clean and beautiful.
The rooms are good but bathrooms could be better with little renovation but they were not bad either. All the foods including breakfast are a la carte but we can have buffet of Sunset resorts as well. This concept was new so menu needed to be changed which they said will happen soon.
Overall, a great experience and I loved every bit of it. I look forward to visit this resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff - makes you feel like a VIP Cleanliness - Fantastic standards Ambiance - Cannot beat that Food Quality - Fantastic Entertainment - Very Good
The weak points
WiFi - available in lobby but not in rooms yet. Bathrooms - need to have little renovation (Remove bathtubs and have standing showers, will get more room in small bathroom)
Certified

Family Vacation over New Years

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-05
Our family stayed at this hotel over New Years. We had three children ages 9, 10 and 12. The trip was fantastic. The hotel staff was very friendly and the property was well kept and clean.
The hotel had activities scheduled every day and the kids really enjoyed them all.
The food was great, complements to the chefs who did an amazing job.
I would definitely go back with my family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Meals were excellent
The weak points
None we had a good time.
Certified

VIP all around

, Edmonton, AB
2014-01-02
We had a wonderful stay. Everyone at the resort were extremely friendly and very fast to sort out any issues there was. VIP service all around. Very pleased. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
VIP service, friendliness
The weak points
None
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Montego Bay's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021