Telamar Resort

Telamar Resort
3.743.743.743.743.74
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (43)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Very Nice

, Guelph, ON
2015-01-14
Brother and I are a couple of older guys looking for R & R. This hotel is in two halves. The Villas look like cottages that families would stay in. They're a little dated. The more modern half is 8 buildings with rooms. We had a mountainview room (better than poolside due to loud music). Great price on Supersaver deal. Well worth the money.
STAFF: Desk staff spoke perfect English, along with a few others (activities and a waiter or two), but most are Spanish. Remember you're in their country, so knowing a few travel words is recommended (like dos cervesas, etc.).
ROOM: Nice, clean, with beds that aren't hard as a rock (like everywhere else I've gone). And we never ran out of hot water.
FOOD: Though limited in numbers, the trays of food were delicious. Beef was always tender. Did not go to A la carte restaurants because the food was great at the buffet.
BEACH: Nice big beach. Water very warm (warmer than pools). Not too deep and not as salty as the Pacific, but always wavy. No undertow. We generally hung around the pool, and left valuables poolside to play in the waves. Didn't notice much undertow.
POOLS: Kid's pool has 3 slides, main pool has one big slide. The adult pool is about 5' deep, but kids are in it nonetheless. Nice aluminum framed chairs with rubber straps. Not those uncomfortable solid resin chairs.
BARS (3): Poolside with swim-up bar, snack bar, and one on the beach, served 3 brands of bottled beer, not cheap watered down draft. Salvidas was the brand most popular.
EXCURSIONS: We didn't go on any. Wasn't keen on the long bus trips to go to most destinations. Been there, done that. You can book them on the resort if interested.
IN SHORT: I would say this isn't a party place. On weekends, many locals and their families book in, and we met some nice people among them. If this place is available at a good price, I would recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly Staff, Food, Comfy Bed, Pool Chairs, Bottled Beer
The weak points
Travel at night not recommended. Exercise equipment needs maintenance.
Certified

Séjour reposant

2015-01-07
Pour un séjour tranquille. Il y a de l'animation, mais sans être envahissant. Situé à 15 minutes à pied de la ville, on peut s'y promener sans soucis de sécurité le jour. Ce sont des plages publiques, donc aussi accessibles aux honduriens. Fort achalandage des plages le weekend et les jours fériés.
Il ne s'agit pas d'un endroit pour y faire la fête, mais plutôt pour se dépayser et se reposer dans un environnement fort agréable. J'y retournerais avec plaisir. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Le personnel est très accueillant et parlent un très bon anglais. Diversité de la nourriture à chaque repas et excellents. Superbe party du nouvel an d'organisé!
The weak points
À une heure trente de l'aéroport. Seulement deux restaurants à la carte d'ouvert et deux soirs seulement.
Certified

Could easily become a 4.5 star resort

, Grenville Sur La Rouge, QC
2013-02-23
Enjoyed the hotel but would not return. They need to work on a lot of small things to make it great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good food, beautiful beach, nice room in new section
The weak points
Inefficient customer service, not enough choices at bar and restaurant.
Certified

A Very Nice Resort

, Ottawa, QC
2011-03-21
A very nice resort located on the outskirts of the town of Tela. We stayed in the new section which was very nice. We found the food very pleasant and thoroughly enjoyed our stay despite some rainy weather for a few days. There is a lot to do and see around Tela if you are interested in nature. You can do these trips by yourself, with tour operators in the town of Tela or through the hotel (more expensive). We would have happily stayed another week (unusual for us) and for the first time ever agreed that we would return to the same resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room was excellent and the food extremely good. Nice location with lots of interesting things to do around the resort. Not entirely focussed on the foreign traveler and many Hondurans at the resort on the weekend.
The weak points
No palapas on the beach and it is a bit annoying to have to get somebody to go and put up a shade awning when you wanted to sit. A minor complaint about an otherwise very nice resort.
Certified

Overall good time!

, London, ON
2011-02-27
We booked this vacation mainly for our 16 year old son and his friend as they have never travelled before and we wanted them to see a different culture and to see how other people live in different countries. They had a blast even though there was a bit of a language barrier. Mostly French and Spanish spoken here, but you'll get through it if you speak only English! The resort is nice, upgraded rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are comfortable. We requested a king bed but ended up with two queens, not really a big deal but a king would have been nice. Buffet food ok, not much selection, service a bit slow but you won't starve. We liked the food at the snack bar and beach bar alot! Chicken nuggets and chicken natchoes were awesome, the kids also liked the burgers. Frozen drinks a plus, especially since it was so hot! Air conditioning in room worked well and the linens were nice. The only thing that was a bit of a downer is we wanted to do more excursions, but you have to take a bus into la ceiba which is 1.5 hours if you don't run into any hold ups so it's alot of traveling early in the morning (6am) to get where you are going. We did cayos cachino snorkeling and believe me it was well worth the bus ride! Amazing day at the second largest barrier reef! Swam with a sea turtle, lots of cool colorful fish and the reef was gorgeous! Our kids were blown away, they've never seen anything like that before except on tv! Awesome fresh fish lunch at a little island, best fish I've ever had made by the local people! I can't say enough about cayos, if you go to Honduras, this excursion is a must! We also heard from others that the canopy tour (zip lining) is amazing as well. I wish we could have done that one as well but each one (cayos and canopy) were 95 us each, so for a family of four it was a bit pricy to do both. All in all, we got what we paid for, and I would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers on a budget, looking to get away from winter to relax in the sun and see some culture. Oh, and don't be afraid to go into Tela and do some shopping, just go in the day, it's not as scary as the government website makes it out to be! Lol just keep your wits about you is all! Have a fantastic time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly people, great weather, frozen drinks a plus, nice pools especially for little ones.
The weak points
Too far from the excursions, Buffett service slow or non-existent at times, food got a bit boring near the end of the vacation.
Certified

Very good hotel

, Lasalle, QC
2011-01-22
very good service.nice hotel.very close to the beach,food very good taste.
good shows,quit,I will be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good service
The weak points
air conditioning to loud ,noise,
Certified

I'd go back...

, Pointe Claire, QC
2010-01-02
A wonderful trip. Hotel was just perfect for my taste in terms of animation level, quiet enough for me to read and relax, active enough for my 15 year old son not to get bored. There were lots of teenagers there that quickly got together for beach and pool games. Food was repetitious, but alright. I did not pay for 5 stars, and I did not expect 5 stars. Service was friendly, and tips, though not expected were highly appreciated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff. Check-out was a breeze. Off the beaten path hotel so no need to scramble for beach and pool spots. A nice family atmosphere, sense of security and safety.
The weak points
Very slow and inefficient check-in. Noise pollution on beach due to LOUD ATV's zooming back and forth.
Certified

WE LOVED HONDURAS

, Medicine Hat, AB
2009-07-07

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were fabulous. The best beds we have ever slept on at an all inclusive.
The resort is still trying to adjust to being an all inclusive ie some parts of the resort (beach bar) we were not treated as well as the paying clientel.

The food was good. We would love to go back and would not hesitate to recommend this resort.
[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, Location
The weak points
Front desk needs to be more aware of what is going on at resort. Tours too expensive
Certified

My trip to Tela, Honduras, with my son.

, Burnaby, BC
2009-06-22
The hotel and resort are EXACTLY like the pictures. The landscaping is beautiful, and being finished while we were there, the food was spectacular, the accommodations new and super comfortable, the off resort activities outstanding, I would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We stayed in a brand new room, and for my sons first trip it was outstanding The food was amazing, great selections at every meal, kid friendly at every turn, the staff was super friendly and attentive to everyones needs. The resort was beautiful.
The weak points
Everything was great, and nothing needs to be adjusted in my opinion.
Certified

Villas Telamar a great hotel to stay in

, Winnipeg, MB
2009-06-17
Beautiful new hotel with terrific pools, waterslides and beach area. It's not to big so it's easy to get around the resort and meet people. Also the rooms were very clean and had great views. We found the food to be quite good even at the beach restaurant.Overall we really enjoyed are stay at this hotel and I would recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEAUTIFUL HOTEL, GREAT BUFFET (FOOD WAS'NT BLAND ACTUALLY HAD FLAVOR, MOSTLY GREAT SERVICE, TERRIFIC POOL AREA
The weak points
STAFF COULD LEARN A LITTLE MORE ENGLISH, MORE CHAIRS ON THE BEACH. NIGHT SHOWS WERE TO MUCH OF THE SAME THING
Certified

Villas Telemar

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-13
It was a very nice location and wonderful facilities. Food was good, although menu's could use some help on the english translation. Overall a very nice experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful rooms and grounds
The weak points
inexperienced staff,but that will come with time.
Certified

Beautiful Honduras

, Calgary, AB
2009-06-12
My husband and I have never been to an all inclusive resort or out of the country vacation. He took some convincing to go to Honduras but I was persistent. It is a beautiful country with very friendly residents who went out of their way to make sure we had a great vacation. The resort was beautiful, rooms very nice service excellant and the food was very good. We are for sure going back for a longer stay next year and would highly recommend it as a very family friendly vacation spot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
None.
Certified

Not too Bad

, Vancouver, BC
2009-06-11
It was our first time in Honduras. The weather was great, hot , hot, hot.
The hotel ground floor room that they try to give us, had very musty mold smell. After explaining the situation that my husband is allergic to molds, we had to wait for upper mangement to ok another room, they gave us an above ground room, it was much better. The room was super clean, but had problem with bathroom eater pressure, had a loud piercing high pitch noise when next door would shower.. not pleasant at 3:00am. The buffet needs more variety, the drinks need more variety. The snack bar food was better than buffet. The grounds are clean, the beach is great, but can use tree unbrellas, the staff carry tents and chairs over when requested by guest.Can't walk beach as guard stops you. Too bad, beach is so beautiful. Too hot for the poor guys..There wasn't any orientation what so ever. Never even saw the rep. Can use one. Should have doctor on site, town would be too scary to find a doctorif needed one. Let's just say the hotel in couple of years will more an likely improve, as still new at toursim.
Excursions are great,cheaper to buy in town [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Order off menu, the cerchive is superb, most delicous. We purchased it 5 times. yummy!! The snack bar lady cooks the best chicken nuggets, better than all other resorts we've stayed at.
The weak points
The buffet food was bad.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Tela's best
Overall Impression Food & Restaurants Singles Seniors Quality vs Price Beaches Families Couples

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021