Mayan Princess Beach

Mayan Princess Beach
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 30 reviews
#3 of 9 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Roatan
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (7)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Mayan Princess

, Saint Thomas, ON
2020-02-05
Our first stay, loved the beach and water. We had the deluxe pool side room in Las Sirenas. When go back would request larger room as found in room there was no where to sit and read or if wanted to watch tv. Our room we never really had hot water more luke warm but not a big deal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful Kevin at front desk was awesome. Jennifer was very nice to chat to Housekeeping (Oneyda Acosta) was great
The weak points
No comfortable sitting areas to sit and chat or read. Buffet did not have a lot of variety or fish dishes.
Certified

Mayan Princess West Bay - Paradise

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-06
We just spent two weeks at this hotel and this was our 4th time staying here. The staff are very friendly and provide great service. The rooms and grounds are very clean and well maintained for the most part. Some of the rooms are owned and are rented out by the hotel so sometimes the state of the room is dependent on how well the owners have maintained them.

The resort is small and intimate and therefore all amenities are very close. We only had one day of rain in two weeks and all the other days were hot and sunny. We love Roatan and would like to go back again.

The only real downside is the number of stray cats and dogs. This has to be addressed by all the resorts in West Bay. We found feces on the beach several times and brought it to the attention of hotel staff. If the animals have not been de-wormed their feces can cause hook worm in tourists' feet. Very nasty. Many tourists don't understand this and they feed them and pet them, etc. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- small intimate resort with pleasant staff - close proximity to pools and the beach as well as the buffet and a la cartes - great food and drinks - rooms and grounds are very clean
The weak points
- many cruise ship guests several days a week and they don't always respect the hotel guests and property - too many stray cats and dogs on the beach (their feces may contain hook worm and can be passed on to tourists)
Certified

Never made it

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-25
This would have been our second time to this resort so I will tell you about the first time. It is fantastic from the beach to the rooms to the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Both sides of this resort are very well maintained. The staff are there to help you and pleasant. the buffet and all the restaurants are very good.
The weak points
This is a dive resort so the night life ends at 10.00
Certified

Will be back

, Dwight, ON
2017-04-19
Fantastic last minute get away! Beautiful resort, very clean and great staff. Make sure you have lots of small bills for tipping. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Diving, beautiful pools and waterfront, clean good food lots to see and do.
The weak points
keys to room never seemed to work, toilet overflowed once and would either not fill or not shut off. not a lot of choices to eat.
Certified

Absolutely Fantastic Hotel!

, Toronto, ON
2017-04-12
The Mayan Princess was the best hotel I ever stayed at. The pool was very nice amongst all those beautiful trees. I loved Roatan's lush vegetation and it is the most beautiful island I have visted. The snorkelling from the beach was the best I have seen. The food for the all-inclusive was very tasty. I would rush back and stay here again if I get the chance. Also I did not find the bugs a nuisance at all or the beach vendors were not pushy or annoying like some places. I felt very safe in Roatan and would highly recommend this incredibly unique island. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, food, location, lovely small resort, beautiful trees and hedges.
The weak points
Could not use phone in room to make local calls
Certified

Good week.....

, Kingston, ON
2015-12-23
Enjoyed our first Roatan experience at the Mayan Princess. Very nice resort and overall experience however we likely won't be back to Roatan given the beach (not very appealing, very small and crowded, too many boats, not much sandy beach area not to mention the 'sea lice' stings we suffered from after arriving home). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room, food, hotel layout, alcoholic beverages, pools, ample beach chairs
The weak points
Inconsistent service, lack of snacks/food outside meal hours, lack of gym/fitness facilities, limited use of main beach bar due to weddings/functions
Certified

Quaint, good bang for your buck

, Whitby, ON
2014-01-18
We had a second floor pool view room and it was a suite style with a kitchenette, living area, and separate bedroom. The walk-in shower was amazing and the balcony was large and had a great view.
We heard from some other people who were put in the La Sirenhas/Beach Club buildings that they were not as large.
We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, especially at the a la carte restaurants. The buffet selection was somewhat limited due to the small size of the resort but they did a good job of mixing up the dishes from day to day.
Bar service was good. Johan will take good care of you. The Roatan/Honduras beers are good. Sometimes the resort only had wine-from-a-box and most people found it to be undrinkable.
The white sand beach was most awesome! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was awesome as were the people that worked there! Snorkeling was also the best we've seen! A must do!!!
The weak points
The cruise ship people can make things busy.
Certified

Paradise!

, Brampton, ON
2013-05-01
My husband and I booked a beachview room that was literally 10 steps to the water. The rooms were well furnished and equipped with cable television , microwave, toaster , refrigerator , basically anything you have have at home they have it. We spent a lot of time indoors on the day of a wedding we were therefore and I was pleasantly surprised that they had Canadian shows on cable ( inclusive). The AC was a blessing on some days. Our flat included a kitchenette. The bed was king size and by the looks of it very new , sleeping was heavenly, did not wake up with any aches or pains. There was hot water always available for showers and personal items such as soap , shampoo and towels were replaced daily. The apartment was also tidied up and wiped everyday. I try to make sure I do my part and leave the hotel room decent before we leave for the day but our clothes were strewn all over while preparing to attend the wedding and I was pleasantly surprised to find them picked up and neatly folded the next day. The food was great! And if you needed something that wasn't out in the buffet they would still try to accommodate you. Great selection everyday! The waiter staff were also incredible, everyone of them always smiling and came over to your table promptly , and checking in often to make sure you are taken care of. The beach was out of this world and unbelievably clean , not a sight of any waste and the water was crystal clear! Rafino I believe is the one that combs the sand and arranges the sun chairs did a wonderful job everyday and was very friendly. The tour operators are nearby on the beach and know English , we did the glass bottom boat tour over the reef and some snorkeling , the prices were reasonable . Security is present and always around so you feel safe . The front desk staff was always helpful and I know I mentioned this before : all the staff are always smiling and make eye contact to see of you need any assistance . The gift shop has a great selection of items and well priced especially the souvenirs . A few times we opted to have our meals in our room to enjoy the view and the waiters were more than happy to bring it up for us. The bar staff were friendly and efficient. I would also recommend Mayan princess for anyone planning a destination wedding, they had a nice surprise for the guests including the bride and groom who were not aware of it( I dot want to spoil it for future guests so I won't mention exactly what it was). Finally Internet was good on the balcony, sometimes I was able to surf indoors but it was very slow. You must try and meet the photographer who lives east of the resort, I believe he has a toe on this hands instead of fingers! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service , view, beach and rooms were all excellent. Already planning second trip.
The weak points
The ground staff was chopping down a coconut tree behind our room one day that was quite annoying .
Certified

Great Quiet Hotel

, Mississauga, ON
2013-03-27
Service was very good and the grounds are beautiful. Rooms are large and new furnishing are very nice. Great beach and best dive shop on the island. Food has definately improved [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very good service and great food
The weak points
limited drink selection at the bar
Certified

Fun in the water and sun

, Elliot Lake, ON
2012-02-08
By the second day we knew most of the staff and security by their first names. These people will go way out of their way to make you happy and it doesn't take tipping money to do it! Most of the staff are very versed in the english language. Speak to Denise at front desk and get hooked up with Nola for an island tour, it's about $65. each and she will tell you absolutely everything you would want to know about the island and she will take you where ever you want to go we left with her at 1:30 in the pm and didn't come back until 7:30pm, along your tour you must hit the hole in the wall for either lobster sandwich or if you go early on Friday's and Sundays it's all you can eat lobster buffet yum yum!

We only had one week at the resort and really didn't want to leave honestly!

Never have we had such easy entry into a coral reef for snorkling, the coral reef was absolutely amazing (Cozumel has nothing on this place) and there was never a current to fight like in Cozumel. What was really nice, is that well my husband was diving, I could go out on their boat and snorkle at the same time. Oh yeah and the dive team second to none, they are very informative and patient with all our questions. We will definitely be back to finish my certification! This coming from a person who never even went in the water until 2 years ago, that's saying something!!!

Next time we will book for 2 weeks, one just wasn't enough!

Only one down side of our trip was the Sunwing Rep Patrick, is attitude was repulsive, but when we told him, we would see him next year, he said "I don't think so, I am so outta here and I won't be back, my contract is finshed" Well, I felt like telling him I wasn't surprised to hear this, his work ethic should it! His attitude didn't blend in with the feel of the whole island, he was quite honestly the only negative person we met while there!

This place is a keeper and if we won the lottery tomorrow, we would purchase a condo on this property, YESTERDAY!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people and the coral reef here make all that your holiday should be. As far as entertainment go, it's hit and miss really, but at the end of the day by 9-10 at night, we were more then ready for a good night sleep.
The weak points
Internet charge is very high! Ten dollars a day is unacceptable!!!
Certified

Resort Review

, Waterloo, ON
2012-01-27
A tropical paradise. Wonderful pool/gardens. Very clean and well-kept. Rooms in the Tower were very spacious and loved the balcony overlooking the pool and gardens. Staff was a pleasure. Thanks Jenn and all. Beachfront was well supervised, making it a real vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms. Staff support. Pool and gardens. Beach access and safety.
The weak points
Dining at the restaurant more (a-la-carte).
Certified

Resort Review

, Waterloo, ON
2012-01-18
What a GREAT experience! Weather perfect! Nice to have so many other wonderful and fun-to-be-with people enjoying the same holiday time as myself at the Mayan Princess. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Beach access. Cleanliness of resort. Have a very strong staff support group who take care of their clientele at the hotel.
The weak points
Restaurant could be occupied more often - maybe one more a-la-carte meal per guest.
Certified

Go if you're a diver, skip if you're not

, Ottawa, ON
2011-12-22
Really nice hotel. Really great staff. Really great food. Nice beach, but we paid too much for what it was. We did a few dives and it was totally worth it but other travellers (non-divers) were bored. My advice is go if you're into diving and skip it if you're not. You can get a better beach at a nice resort for way less than you'll pay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, good food, nice rooms, nice pool, small hotel, beach close, ok beach. Diving was amazing and made it worth it for us!
The weak points
If you're not a diver, you'll be bored after a few days.
Certified

Mayan Princess disappointment

, Hamilton, ON
2011-11-23
Nice resort, but the beach front room we stayed in (and paid extra for) was inferior to the pool side room our daughter stayed in (it was 5 star). Drawers were missing knobs, closet door difficult to open, A/C unit burned out and we were told the smoke billowing into the room was "mosquito medicine" - we had to ask to send someone to check. Then we had to move to another room. Didn't have a phone for 4 days (needed for wake up calls and to contact daughter in other room). Were told to wait in room for phone technician - no one came for two hours so I had to go back to reception where I was told it couldn't be fixed from in the room - I lost two hours waiting and they couldn't send someone to tell me? After we got the phone, we asked reception for a wake-up call, but didn't get one and had to rush breakfast as we had an excursion booked for 9:30am. Lost at least four hours of our vacation time between the phone and A/C unit issues - we were only offered apologies.

Food was edible but mediocre. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room overlooked beach. Service staff very nice.
The weak points
sand fleas, room quality
Certified

Beautiful place - food is so-so

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-23
We loved the island and the hotel. The rooms were great - very, very spacious with huge terraces. Staff were very friendly - not all had a good command of the English language but, helped out as much as they could.

The one and only let down was the all-inclusive food. It was quite bland and, although they did chicken dishes very well, the pork was literally inedible. The hotel is only 60 rooms so, the choices were limited but, you could easily get by.....but we did eat dinner at other places 4 nights of our stay as we got bored of the dinner food in a hurry.

Luckily, there are some great restaurants really close by: Rendezvous Sushi cafe was the best sushi we've ever had! And the Vintage Pearl was great as well.

The other issue (probably due to the size of the hotel) was that there were set hours for meals for the all-inclusive option. 7 - 9:30am for breakfast, 12:30 - 2:30 for lunch, 7-9:30 for dinner. Inbetween those hours, there is nothing to eat "all-inclusive". You can buy a la carte but, the buffet is completely closed down.
The beach is fantastic, the snorkeling out of this world - no need to hop in a boat, just walk to the western-most point on the beach and start swimming.
Really loved the island and the vibe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, rooms, beach, friendly staff, felt very safe.
The weak points
The food - some good points, a lot of bland stuff and then some poor stuff (pork). Stay with the chicken dishes - they are yummy.
Certified

Beautiful island resort

, Mississauga, ON
2011-01-05
great place to stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room size and layout great, full-size kitchen, great beach, friendly staff; internet went down on last 2 days of stay - was refunded 20%
The weak points
room floors not clean; no wine available with lunch; laptop computer does not fit into safety deposit box; bathroom window won't shut (mosquitos)
Certified

Christmas 2010

, Elora, ON
2010-12-29
The food and rooms were excellent. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness, cleanliness and food.
The weak points
No Wi-fi access.
Certified

Laid Back Paradise

, Toronto, ON
2010-05-12
Beautiful hotel and grounds...paradise found. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel and location.
The weak points
Need new linens and towels.
Certified

Wonderful for the most part

, Gatineau, QC
2010-02-03
Location is 4-5 star but service and food are not. The staff is friendly and helpful but I don t think they have been trained well enough to provide 4 star service. Beach, water, rooms, snorkeling and scuba are all amazing and are what makes this place worthwhile...food is OK but not a great selection and dining hours are short. Without going into detail I will say that some things that were advertised as on-site or included were either not readily available, not available at all or not on site. Call the hotel to check out exactly what they have, get someones name, write it all down and bring it with you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, water, snorkeling, scuba, rooms.
The weak points
Food, service, amenities.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Roatan's best
Overall Impression Beaches Families Seniors Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021