Turquoise Bay Dive And Beach Resort

Turquoise Bay Dive And Beach Resort
3.773.773.773.773.77
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Secluded paradise

, Tracadie-Sheila, NB
2016-02-11
the hotel is on a very secluded part of the island away for all the other resorts. perfect for quiet vacation. the beach is very nice and you can take their kayak as you please with no time restriction. you can snorkel around the dock on the beach and see very interesting and different species of fish. the rooms are very clean and big, we had a nice mountain and water view with a large balcony. the food is very good but not alot of selections. for divers lovers this is the resort for you. the dive center is on the resort. my husband being a diver had an amazing experience with them. they take good care of you and your equipment. they would prepare everything on the boat for my husband, he would just need to hop on the boat in the morning and not having to worry about anything. The staff is very nice and because it's a very small resort you do get to know all of them. It was by far one of my favorite destination of all time! i would go back there in a heart beat! if your not a diver like me this resort is also perfect as all the divers leave in the morning so me and a few more ladies had the beach, bar and hotel for our self. pretty quiet and perfect for relaxation in paradise for me! You can't walk to town as it is on the other side of the island but we hired a taxi driver who took us all around the island and visited every nook the island had to offer, let me tell you i was glad to come back to our quiet resort. the other resorts are great but they are all one next to the other and the beach is crowded. we even had free wifi anywhere on the resort even in our room. This resort is perfect for a family, couple or single person who just want a quiet vacation. you need to order your drinks as the bar closes at 9. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
perfect for divers, quiet vacation
The weak points
no clubs and partying, no kids club
Pro

Roatan is for Scuba Divers

, Concord, ON
2013-04-30
Great quiet small resort- 26 rooms
Food is very tastee with an appropriate selection for such limited quests. The sand fleas are more abundant at these resorts the farther one gets from the West End.No music or animation if that is what you desire, just peacefull quiet and really nice scenery/beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great scenery & scuba diving accommodating staff
The weak points
sand fleas, remote resort.
Certified

Peaceful, clean, quiet

, Honey Harbour, ON
2013-03-03
A nice small relatively secluded resort.
There are only 28 rooms, (4 to a building), so the place never seems crowded. There is a lot of space to hang around, with a covered open air dining /lounge area just off the dining hall.
There are no planned activities (with accompanying annoying M/C types ) , no canned music, just peace and quiet. The front desk can hook you up with car rental and excursion contacts, I believe.
There is a pool with lounge chairs, but not much for shade.
The staff are friendly and reasonably attentive, never pushy. If you need 24/7 pampering you should be looking at a 5 star place anyways .....
Our room was cleaned and made up every day, no complaints.
The food was simple but tasty with a certain amount of variation from day to day. Fresh fruit and veggies every day.
The dive shop is right behind the main resort building, so it's a three minute walk after breakfast over there.
The staff at the dive shop are GREAT !! They will take care of your gear ( unload,rinse, hang to dry, and re-load and set up your gear the next day ...)
I don't particularly need the pampering, but it's a nice change from what passes for service at a lot of dive operations in, say, Florida ....
Our DM was Osman and our Captain was JT. Both of these gentlemen work their butts off to make sure you're having a great day of diving.
Dives are guided, and Osman knows his reef.
If you want to hunt the invasive Lionfish you will have to take a special course to get a permit to spear them. Talk to Kim in the dive shop to try and get this organized.A fisheries guy has to be scheduled in to do the course.
The bugs. Common to all the Bay Islands.
No-see-ums will happily leave their mark if you forget to put on bug-dope if you're going to be walking on anything not paved. (you're not coming here for pavement , are you?)
At least they don't buzz in your ear ....
Bring bug-dope and after-bite of some description.
Best just to stay underwater as much as possible ....
Yes, I would go back to this resort.
If you should happen to see a small orange and white cat down there say hi for me and maybe sneak him a treat or two ...... ;) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, clean, food actually has flavour, drinks good,staff friendly, Dive shop GREAT !!
The weak points
No-see-ums, found throughout the Bay Islands, not just this resort.
Certified

Trquoise Bay

, Markham, ON
2012-01-18
I had an absolutely wonderful experience at this resort. The staff could not do enough and went above and beyond. The rooms were tastefully decorated and kept in pristine condition. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very quaint and quiet little resort for the person that needs a little serenity. The food was wonderful.The dive masters and facilities are top notch.
The weak points
Sand flies are a huge problem for anyone on the beach. Internet access very weak consytantly cutting in and out.
Certified

JVL & FVL

, Tottenham, ON
2010-04-07
Roatan Turquoise Bay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Knowledgeable, friendly, helpful staff,
The weak points
sand flies, no car available due to easter weekend
Certified

A hidden treasure

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2010-04-07
We were hoping for a quaint, intimate, quiet spot to relax and it surpassed out expection in that regard. Roatan is a beautiful island and Turquoise Bay Resort is absolutely a feast for the eyes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything is close by, rooms for the most part have view of ocean, quiet, plenty of room on the beach for everyone, love the hammocks on the beach, good snorkeling offshore, beautiful location.
The weak points
Bug bites! am still welting up and itchy, even after using bug spray. Not able to get car rental because of Easter holiday week, taxi's are very expensive-pay per person instead of per trip.
Certified

A GREAT HOLIDAY

, Guelph, ON
2010-02-25
The hotel was pretty much as I expected..very small..room was comfortable and had an amazing view! The food was just your standard fair, nothing fancy, but good all the same.
For beach lovers this place is fabulous, very quiet beach and private,we didn t spend alot of time there as we where here to dive. The dive shop is right on site (Subway Watersports)it s run separate from the resort, but the service was great! would recommend this dive shop to anyone..the dive master was one of the best we have dove with! the captain of the boat was just as good! If you re going to dive, then don t hesitate to sign on with Subway..ask for Selvin and Max..they are both awesome! This holiday was affordable and I would definitely go back and stay there again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beaches...food was just your standard fair..not alot of desserts..room was comfortable and the views where outstanding..I would go back and stay again.
The weak points
have to ask for coffee supplies all the time!not kept up very well.
Certified

NOT OUR BEST VACATION

, Hamilton, ON
2010-01-13
Great diveshop and dive sites on the undived shore
great view from room.....
lackluster service in dining room.....you had to ask for napkins, ketchup or salt and pepper.
Food was often room temperature and after a while the food all seemed the same. We had heard about the lobster
but were served it only once in a white sauce.
We had mashed potatoes once (but not with the roast turkey which was quite tasty) and they were actually grey. Pizza was like the Chef-Boy-ar-Dee kit you make at home.
SAND FLEAS! SAND FLEAS! Most people there DO NOT use the beach or lie by the pool. You will be horribly bitten if you do. The bites are really itchy and LAST. The hotel bus regularly took people to the pharmacy!
IIf you are a diver the diving may be worth it. If not or if you have kids that want to play on the beach or in the small pool I would reconsider. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the dive shop with Sharon and crew the view
The weak points
the food the sandfleas
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Roatan's best
Overall Impression Beaches Families Seniors Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021