Fantasy Island Beach Resort

Fantasy Island Beach Resort
3.533.533.533.533.53
3.53 based on 125 reviews
#2 of 9 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Roatan
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (79)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

3 1/2 star resort with million dollar view!

, Moorefield, ON
2019-03-27
We love this resort but we don't need fancy and the price is right. Most rooms have ocean view or you can see it through the trees some what. Steps away from beach and main building. Stairs to buffet and 2nd floor rooms. One buffet for breakfast lunch and dinner, not a lot of options but enough choices and very delicious. Also a lunch restaurant that has pizza/burgers/fries and sandwiches. There is entertainment crew but not a lot of activities...but lots to do to keep yourself entertained kayaks (paddle around the island), paddle boards, swimming, scuba diving and snorkeling (amazing snorkeling/scuba right off the beach and reef meters from gazebo...lots assortment of fish/lobster etc.) Best to take your own snorkeling equipment and you can go when ever but also available at the hut to use for a time. There is a dive shop there and everyone I talked to had nothing bad to say about them. (lots of options for diving) A lot of repeat guests for the scuba and snorkeling...it is a paradise for them. Only guests and employees allowed on the island so no one is bugging you on the beach to buy things. They do sell day passes to cruise ships but never an issue at all. Security all around (not that they need it, Island very safe). There is a pool but never used it...the bay is amazing for swimming etc. My daughter never swims in the ocean but does here and loves it. Swim up bar but was never set up. Lots of beach chairs anytime of day. Nightly entertainment ...karaoke etc some dances. Bar closes at 10pm and assortment/quality of drinks is limited but pina colodas are great and beer is cold. I drink rye so I just take my own bottle from duty free. There is a bar at the marina that you have to pay for beverages and opens late afternoon I think till ?? (never made it over there). Grocery store and basic mall close $10 taxi round trip p/p. Sloth and Iguana farm very close. West End/West Bay 45/60 minute car ride. If your looking for luxury/partying/lots to do or a variety of restaurants this place is not for you! Looking to relax and do some amazing snorkling/scuba (and/or on a budget) you will love this place. I call it a hidden/secret gem. And can't forget about the amazing Maria...your Sunwing Rep at the resort. Issues or no issues you have to say hello. Most employees are friendly...I think a lot are young and know limited English so are timid but are learning. Just smile and say Hola/Hello. And if you are there you need to experience this island...take a tour and learn about the different cultures. Go to East side and go through the Mongroves...spend some time in Punta Gorda. If you are looking for an amazing tour guide on Facebook look up Cleve's Tours and Adventures...you won't regret it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkeling/Scuba...reef steps away Beach/bays Not overly busy
The weak points
some bathrooms need updating plastic chairs on room patios
Certified

Dive shop staff are amazing

, Meaford, ON
2019-03-22
The front desk girls need to be more attentive to guests, they kind of ignore your needs to speak to their friends and text on their cell phones. The dining room area, they do not clean the tables at all. They just wipe the crumbs etc onto a napkin. Get these people cleaning clothes, not dry clothes wet wipes cleaning solution on them. other then that everything was good. Entertainment is poor. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches are amazing, the dive shop staff are so professional. Highly recommend diving with these people.
The weak points
Front desk and beach rest. are the worst. Need better training and get them to put their cell phones away.
Certified

Fantasy Island

, Terrebonne, QC
2018-02-22
Belle plage, nourriture ordinaire et froide. Pas de café spécialisé (cappucino) seulement 1 cafetière avec cafe médiocre (pas changé plus d'une fois par jour). Un seul bar vide rhum gin et vodka seulement. Pour un Bailey's il en coûte 8$ US. La bière Breda (bière hollandaise) est offerte gratuitement mais la bière locale est 2.50$ US au dépanneur. Les draps sont mis directement sur le matelas et sont trop petits. On finit par étre couche sur le matelas. Pas hygiénique du tout. Bref je n'y retournerai jamais. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Prepare to be ill

, Thamesville, ON
2014-05-02
Sick twice from food poisoning! The buffet room was so hot that the cold food could not be kept to temperature. Several people were sick on more than one occasion. In the past, we have stayed in West bay and plan to return there.
I also booked a massage for the afternoon and the reception forgot to advise the massage therapist so was waiting over an hour!! When I finally dressed and returned to reception there was no apology. NO management to be found.
The room was not clean. Coffee pots empty regularly. Only certain drinks are "all inclusive".
This place needs a revamp on all levels. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is beautiful and secluded.
The weak points
Staff, Food quality
Certified

Dreaming of returning to Fantasy Island.

, Keswick, ON
2014-01-23
The Dive shop and dive sites are amazing. Couldn't ask for anything more. The Hotel could use a lot of up-dating and renovations but there has been some improvements in the last few years. The staff are super friendly and always willing to help. The food choices were limited as the hotel only had a small number of guests but the food itself was good and I never walked away disappointed or hungry. The beach is clean and beautiful. The snorkelling in the beach area and at the gazebo are great. So much active sea life and coral to see.
This was my third visit to the resort and there have definitely been improvements since the last visit in 2009. I would definitely come back. I recommend this resort to any one who loves to dive and/or snorkel and who is looking for a relaxing and quiet vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dive shop, Dive sites, Snorkelling, Beach, Amazing and Friendly staff
The weak points
The hotel needs renovation and up-keep. They have let the hotel go a little over the last few years and now it is starting to show age/lack of upkeep. It has potential to be amazing resort again.
Certified

Fantasy Island

, St.Atharines, ON
2013-04-16
The hotel is located in the middle of 3 glorious beaches. It is a snorkeler's and diver's paradise. The room and food are definately 3* but the service is 5*. Hot water was intermitant, the water pressure non existant and the water in the jug in the room fridge was poured from a container that I observed the monkey put his hand! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches and the staff
The weak points
No constant hot water. Food very average
Certified

À éviter / To avoid

, Verdun, QC
2013-02-25
Totally disappointed, weren't having massive expectations, but couldn't cover the bare minimum such as hot water or a clean table at the buffet. / Totalement déçus, pas d'attentes immenses en partant, mais ne pouvait même pas respecter le strict minimum comme l'eau chaude ou une table propre au buffet. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great destination, amazing beach. / Destination extraordinaire, plage superbe.
The weak points
No hot water, door that doesn't close or lock, staff that couldn't care less. / Pas d'eau chaude, porte qui ne ferme et barre pas, employés qui s'en fouttent complètement.
Certified

Fantasy island beach resort

, Windsor, ON
2013-02-06
this secluded island is like going to a family cottage, water is crystal clear at beach with lots of beautiful coral and colourful fish, kayaking as much as u want and snorkeling is awesome, food is just like moms home cooking, chef makes a great spaghetti sauce, and lots of fresh fruitand fresh fish everyday, the monkeys are funny and comical, there are roosters,peacocks,iguana,ducks,and of course the roatan rats that are more like giant guinea pigs kinda cute,the beer is great salvida,we got a cab driver marvin, he is cab #113 he took us to west bay and to see the football game get him when u go, it has very quiet night life we went to bed at 900 each night not too much to do at night but the roosters get u up at 500, our waiters were very courteous and funny,plenty of chairs and some beds on beach,but bring sand flea repellent they bite me 50 times,in beach, there is shrimp all day long at restaurant, there are many other higher end hotels but none have the beach bay like this resort does,will definitely go back with family, good family vacation spot or for romantic couples like ourselves, it is naturally gorgeous.oh and bring #60 sun screen repellent, i normally wear #4 but the sun is hot, and we still got dark wearing that, bring underwater camera, and enjoy the rascal monkey,, they call bad monkey, he is hilarious especially after drinking someones beer,overall we had a great experience and recommend this place, its a bite older and not really fancy but the water and elements of the island make up for it, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff is very friendly and the waiters are excellent and funny,, the chef makes great food, loved his pasta sauce, and the fresh fish at lunch and dinner is excellent, lots of fresh fruit,kayaking is available all day,monkeys are great
The weak points
no snacks inbetween meal, bathrooms need remodeling,no phone or clock radio in rooms,rooms not stocked with beer or bottled water, no screens on balcony door
Certified

Ms

, Toronto, ON
2013-01-12
Fantasy Island Beach Resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I Went there because of the on site dive shop
The weak points
gift shop should offer more choices
Certified

Good for diving but not the hotel..

, Montreal, QC
2010-04-27
Beautiful view but the room was not very good and the staff was not very nice..except at the restaurant . The food was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
diving!!!
The weak points
the room was far and not locking. there was no locker available at the front desk..
Certified

Fantasy Island

, Milton, ON
2010-04-09
Location is beautifull, beach is protected and very calm excelant for small children and seniors. Rooms are showing age and lack of maintenance poor choice of laminate flooring which when wet mopped has swollen and seperated. Bathrooms ok but lack of hot water and pressure made showering a chore. Food was good and well prepared but few choices due to limited budjet allowed chef.Resort is leased to an operator that obviously is not intending to repair or update the structures or spend any money that he does not have to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautifull location,pristine waters, Snorkeling and scuba diving.Staff friendly.
The weak points
Very poor maintenance of rooms (Laminate flooring installed over carpet, washed with wet mops causing damage). Lack of hot water and no pressure frequently. Very little entertainment. No provisions made for breakfast for early departure on last day.
Certified

Roatan, Fantasy Island

, Toronto, ON
2010-04-01
We just loved the place from the moment we arrived. The tranquility, natural beauty and location were wonderful. It's rare today to find a place so laid back and just like being at the cottage. We would love to visit again in the future. We have travelled extensively to southern destinations and would say that this one was one of our favorite as far as location, beauty, friendly people. No line ups for anything, food was good, staff were helpful. Many divers who are focussed on that, so early to bed and early to rise, which suited us. We snorkled and it was a gem - divers had room on boat and let us go out too - no charge. If your idea of a vacation is to rest, relax and revive, this a place where you won't be disturbed by partiers taking advantage of the all inclusive bar to the max. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Natural beauty of water and sea life, laid back atmosphere, tranquil.(no motorized water activity)
The weak points
room and lack of hot water
Certified

Sunwing

, Brownsburg Chatham, QC
2010-02-26
fine location,hotel old and in dire need of facelift [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
rooms
Certified

Fantasy island resort roatan

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-18
The choice to go to Roatan at first, I thought was a mistake. Just after booking, I found out it was a divers paradise... we are not divers!

After arriving to the resort, we realized it was perfect. We were looking for quiet, sun, and gorgeous water and beach. We found it. In the morning all the divers left and the resort was empty. If there were 30 people on the beach for the rest of the day, you could consider it crowded. We had an entire portion of the beach to ourselves.

If you are not a diver, bring snorkeling stuff, I bought ours at costco. The marine life a few feet off the beach was incredible. We actually saw the same maring life just off the beach that the divers were seeing. What we did not see was the incredible coral reef. Too bad.

The food was ok. Lots of veggies and meats, but prepared very different to what we are used to. Example, steamed broccoli would be covered in fried left-over bologne. If you had the patience to pick off the bologne the broccoli was perfect. You could always find something to eat, but basics were mixed into weird concoctions.

The hotel was very pretty, excellent setting. We like to relax on the beach, have a drink and read. Our room was very musty and mouldy smelling, by the end of our trip it finally dried up

[Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Serene location
The weak points
Very deep water right off the beach
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Roatan's best
Overall Impression Beaches Families Seniors Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021