Barcelo Capella

Barcelo Capella
2.822.822.822.822.82
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (1)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Book somewhere else

, Richmondhill, ON
2014-03-28
Hi, I read the reviews before booking and I thought maybe people were too picky.. so I booked anyway.. It was a big mistake! The beach is terrible, so many rocks and vendors. The food was OK nothing amazing. The room we stayed in was the beach front suite.. i thought we got lucky.. but the water was never hot, there was water leaking from the ceiling and sometimes the power went off. It had a nice balcony though and we could see the beach. The service was terrible! aside from no one speaking much English the wait-staff barely came around to give us water. The "snack" food was disgusting!! AND it took 2 hours from the airport to drive there!!
my advice is STAY AWAY.. in fact stay away from DR all together Cuba was much nicer, cheaper and the beach was wonderful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather is nice, entertainment
The weak points
food, room, service, location, beach, staff
Certified

Average

, Toronto, ON
2013-11-03
Reception needs lot of trainning.Entrance look bad,once you go inside a beautiful resort, food was great,so the bar and entertainment shows.lot of vendors in the beach they think tourist are stupid. Room service had to wait for 2 days for bottle water complain hear the word right away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
worth the price,I will go there again
The weak points
first impression was bad enrance and reception lot of local prostitues are comming and staying in the hotel.
Certified

All had a great time

, Welland, ON
2013-03-03
Well worth the price, everyone was very friendly. Check in was a little confusing due to language barrier once yo got past that everything was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
NICE BEACH, BRING WATER SHOES
The weak points
FRONT RECEPTION, JUST BE PATIENT
Certified

THE PRISON OF BARCELO CAPELLA

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-08
You need more customer service for all the complaints, always a line up. The front desk is a complete joke THEY TREAT GUESS LIKE PRISONER, they will over charge you anytime they can. In november I had a lobster dinner for a extra cash which is fine and pay the cash at dinner. When I check out they want me to pay for the lobster dinner a again. I said I pay for it that night. They said no you didn't we have a recept with your name on it, the recept was somebody elses. Twenty-five mintes later they forged my signature on another recept, 15 minutes of the front desk was demanding me that I must pay the bill, I said you guys are a joke and how many more prisoner do you rob from daily. I ASKED CUSTOMER SERVICE TO INVESTAGATE THE FORGING, C/S SAID I WILL DO THAT right away. I return in January and asked the some C/S boss about the forging complaint, he said I don,t know please have a sit and I will look into it now, please come back tomorrow and I Will have an anwser for you,I waited for 3 hour NOBODY SHOW UP UP FROM THE FRONT DESK. NOW ITS APRIL AND THE SAME bULL sh_- . NOOBDY GIVES A SH-T AT THIS HOTEL... ONCE A 2 HOUR CKECK IN AND ONCE A 3 HOUR CHECK OUT, 17 PRISONERS WERE OVER CHARGED... PLEASE TRAIN THE FRONT PERSONAL HOW TO TREAT GUESS LIKE THEY ARE PAYING TO STAY AT THE HOTEL. ALSO I WAS WAITING FOR MY BUS ON FRIDAY THE GUARDS BLOCKED OFF THE THE WALKCHAIR RAMP AND ALL THE NEW GUESS HAD CARRY THERE SUIT CASES UP A COUPLE OF STEPS. BECAUSE THE GUARDS HAD TO CHECK OUT THE PRISONERS WOW WHAT A JOKE, THEY SHOULD CHANGE THE NAME OF THE HOTEL TO BARCELO CAPELLA PRISON HOTEL, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I never been in PRISON ,but this maybe a close second
The weak points
It's like they are paying you to stay at the hotel. They make you feel like your in prison, when you leave the hotel. You must get a note from the front desk which always busy with other prisoners complaining.They need more C/S because there so many compl
Certified

Super time

, Ottawa, ON
2012-03-20
We had a super time! Remember you are in the Domincan Republic and not North America. Great food , eggs made fresh , omelletes, Crepes at lunch and dinner fresh. Cheeses of all sorts....fruits, vegetables and all sorts of meats. Shows outstanding, changing outfits 8-12 times at least a night, with 3 people singing before to dance to, and a 12 piece band behind them,they sang many songs in English. Get up close to you partner and dance and if you don't have one the staff were more than willing to dance with you. I was travelling with my Mother of 84 and they asked her to dance and she did!!!! 2 pools both with swim up bars, one had a slide that all ages enjoyed, bars at each end of the beach, so no one could be thirsty. A la carte restaurants great too, and one right on the beach so you could see and hear the ocean while you ate.Everyone tried their best and most spoke English, and they also had a great Guest Service Dept, Carlos who spoke all languages, and would help with all that he could. We will certainly go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very nice staff, at restaurants and bars
The weak points
Too bad that one could sit at night after show and have a drink and not be in disco, loud to talk to friends.
Certified

Good

, Montreal, QC
2012-03-17
Our experience was good at the bracelo Capella. We liked the staff, the hotel landscape, the overall experience.
We wish the hotel would have more than 1 buffet. Even though the food was good it became boring by day 3. This resort has only 2 a la carte restaurants that offered the same food as the buffet.
The fitness center is a joke although they have nice tennis courts.
The worst thing about this hotel was getting harassed by local vendors on the beach. It became really annoying and ruined the relaxing beach experience.
I would only go back to a 5 star resort in Dominican. There is a huge difference and it's worth the extra dollar! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, landscaped, tennis and gold courts.
The weak points
get harassed on beach by local vendors. Buffet is almost the same every day, quickly became bored with the food. Weak wifi. Cheap fitness center.
Certified

Avoid

, Caledon, ON
2012-02-06
sent emails to hotel before arrival and requested room not to be on main floor as they are damp and smell bad husband has asthma and allergic to mold that is exactly what they gave us and it took us 3 days of arguing with reception to change our room to higher floor which they did but room was next to outdoor disco so no sleep until 2:00am. Beach venders steadily parading up and down asking you to buy something. Would not return to this hotel as there are too many negatives. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, waters ok for swimming,buffet location
The weak points
rooms in block 2 main floor horrible,noisey after 11:00 pm because of outdoor disco until 2:00am make sure you bring ear plugs, meats from grill too dry and tough unable to eat, reception unhelpfull when asked for help they know nothing
Certified

Not a bad trip

, Toronto, ON
2012-01-06
We went just after Christmas, stayed in the 4000 block as advised, right close to the beach which was nicely shaded and we didn't have to fight for chairs. The rooms are ok, the food is ok, generally not a bad experience, no one got ill and we enjoyed out stay. It's a 4 star by DR standards, but we all know that that's not really a true rating!

Two bad points were the Tourism reps in DR - the Nolitours/Air Transat guy didn't update our departure flight pickup time/flight time, and the bus driver stopped to pick a local up on our way to the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of loungers in the shade on the beach, nice grounds
The weak points
a la carte restaurants are terribly slow, 1.5 h to get entrees and one charges $20 extra, only two pools, bartenders aren't attentive
Certified

DID I TELL ABOUT THE FRONT DESK

, Toronto, ON
2011-11-13
front desk is very slow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
OK I GUESS
The weak points
THE FRONT DESK is VERY SLOW AND THEY THINK THAT THEY ARE PAYING YOU TO STAY HERE.
Certified

Learn Spanish before you go!

, Antigonish, NS
2010-03-09
We arrived at 1:15 am after a very long 2 1/2 hour drive from Punta Cana airport. The only food available at this hour were dried out hamburgers, rice and beans, and what looked like hot dog soup (hotdogs in water)!!! We could not even get an alcoholic drink at this time.

Took a long time to get registered although there were only a few people registering at this hour.

We had 2 rooms booked and expected them to be adjoining....they were in the same hallway but far apart from each other and on opposite sides of the hall.
The rooms were very old and needed major renovations. Very damp and smelled musty and I knew we would be unable to stay in these rooms without major respiratory problems.

We went back to registration and tried to explain that we needed different rooms and that we wanted adjoining rooms. The clerk did not understand English so the next room we were taken to was a larger room in a different building (but only 1 room instead of 2) Since it was now 3:30 am.....and the room was less musty, we decided to stay and try and get some sleep until we could see the Manager, who we were told would be in at 9:00 am. We sprinkled baby powder all over the pillows and bedding to decrease the odor and settled in exhausted!

By 4:30 the next day, after discussing our concerns with several people and being taken to 2 other sets of rooms we still did not have adjoining rooms. They even took us to rooms that were not cleaned and mustier than the first. It seemed as though no one understood English.

After reaching the point of tears being so disappointed and frustrated,they finally transferred us to the #4 Block of Rooms which were newer, cleaner, no odor, well maintained with an oceanview. After all this we no longer cared that they were not adjoining. And we moved our stuff for the third time in 15 hours!

The Beach was beautiful although the vendors selling their products nearly drove us crazy! They hound you consistently "Lookie Lookie" Security are always close by but they only interfere if problems develop. We ended up spending more time at the pool to avoid the constant hounding by the vendors.

The pools were clean and well maintained. There is only one ladder to get out of the main pool and you have to get out and walk all the way around the entire patio area to get to the other side of the pool.

The alcohol drinks were very good but the white and red wine were awful. We had to leave the resort and buy wine that we were able to drink.

The buffet and restaurants were awesome and the food was fresh and delicious. The service was great.

I would highly recommend that you learn as much Spanish as possible before you go because the staff know very little English.

The shows in the evening were colorful and the music was great!

Lots of security and felt safe at all times! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff who make you feel most welcome! Food was awesome most of the time!
The weak points
Many Rooms are very old and need major renovations. Very damp and smelled musty and I knew I would be unable to stay in this room without major respiratory problems.
Certified

Barcelo Capella

, Brampton, ON
2010-02-25
Nice beach, but old hotel in need of renovations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Beach.
The weak points
Old hotel, needs updates. VERY little hot water available for showering at day s end.
Certified

Nice Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-08
Enjoyed this hotel on a business trip to the area. A couple of positives and negatives:

Positives: Four cool flamingos on the property and a bunch of peacocks;

Really nice grounds;

Food was good for a buffet with lots of fresh fruit;

Negatives:

Had to change rooms three times to get a semi ocean view (mostly trees) after paying for an ocean view;

No real juice of any kind at the meals (various sugar waters available), and no espresso to be found;

The vendors on the beach really can get annoying;

At one of the [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021