Bellevue Dominican Bay

Bellevue Dominican Bay
2.942.942.942.942.94
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (23)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Skip it, head to Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-12
Worse than a 2 star in cuba. Dont go to the medical suite here unless you want to be threatened with security to pay upfront even though you sign a contract saying they allow direct billing. No bed side manner. Locals are all over the resort and the beach. no real variety with the buffet ever, drinks are great either. Rooms share a balcony up to 2 other rooms so that's different. Not in a good way, just a shitty knob lock keeping your room secure. The beds are full of springs that you can feel and the pillows provided feel like your sleeping on a sweater in a pillowcase.and the blankets suck and the air conditioning works only half the time and only for a certain temperature that leaves you freezing. Cant go in the pool on the property after 8 pm and the beach isnt safe after the sun goes down, and your constantly hassled and cursed at by the pushy locals on the beach. Dont accept anything not even samples they turn around and yell that you owe them an extreme amount even if you didnt want what they force on you. Go to cuba, where it's safe and the only locals are working and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
STRONG NEGATIVE POINTS -Shared balcony -Medical staff who threaten and intimidate you -worse buffet than a 2 star in cuba - locals harass you on the resort and beach, constantly in the pool on the resort -shitty animation team and things at night
Certified

It was ok

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-04
The hotel was nice and our room was very clean. If you don't speak anything but English you won't be able to talk to the other guest's as most where Russian or German. The food wasn't the best but I only ate on the resort one time. The bartenders weren't very nice, didn't talk really or look like they were having any fun! Beds are hard but for people with bad backs it was amazing for us. Our pillows were very comfortable, we had hot water everyday. We didn't however have a fridge in our room and they don't provide you with water in your room. They do offer you water form a water michean for us that was 3 floors down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beds and room's clean.
The weak points
They don't have a Canadian flag out front. It might sound dumb to some people but they had alot of other county's but not Canada . Not much for food, need more music on the beach. The bartenders could look a little happy!
Certified

Stay Away!

, Richmond, BC
2015-01-18
No minibar, no gym in the resort.
You have to fill your own bucket of water, no bottled water in the rooms.
The ceiling in my room was leaking, cockroaches, the TV was fuzzy.
The only thing good about this resort was the food.
My advice is to stay away from this resort.
Plus, the beach was full of scammers who just wanted to scam money off you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food.
The weak points
Cleanliness of the room, internet access, beach hustlers, location.
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-11
Keep expectations at three stars and you will be fine at this hotel. Rooms were fine, a bit older and sometimes lacked hot water. Food is only average but clean water, beer and wine are always available. A la cart is good, not great, service could be better. Internet is very expensive, there are $1/hour wifi spots a short distance from hotel, or enjoy a coffee and free wifi at cafe next door. Room safe is $2 a night and highly recommended, some friends reported losing items (mostly at the beach) Pools are clean and come with towel service. The beach is a few blocks away, has security guards and an isolated corridor to get there. Sand is terrific and over 1000m of beach available, the view is good in one direction a ship loading facility in the other. Be prepared for the many sellers of goods, once you engage them they are relentless. Barter, barter, barter. A little Spanish goes a long way to getting better service and a smile. If you like Michael Jackson you will like the show on Friday night, other nights are hit and miss. If you land in Punta Cana be prepared for a three hour bus ride, Santa Domingo airport is only 1/2 hour away but many packages have Punta as their airline base. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Enough beach chairs and drinks for everyone.
The weak points
Sketchy to travel outside resort especially after hours. Lots of prostitute solicitations and locals who want to "be your friend". Some locals are great, but many not so much.
Certified

Somewhat disappointing

, Brampton, ON
2014-03-25
Older property but with mature, beautiful landscaping. Room was somewhat dated but I'm led to believe that updates are in progress and that my room was not yet done. Bar and restaurant staff were not very enthusiastic. Coffee in the buffet restaurant was from a machine. Lineups were inevitable at breakfast. Food was fairly good though. A long walk to the beach which proved to be quite accessible to the locals. Annoying!
Three stars is a stretch for this resort. I won't be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food. Nice pools. Good nightly entertainment.
The weak points
Older rooms. Unenthusiastic bar and restaurant staff. Beach too far away. No bank machine on the property.
Certified

Made the best of it !

, Kitchener, ON
2014-03-11
My wife and I knew when we booked that it was a 3 star resort at best. I go for the golfing and it said golf was nearby. It was a $50 cab ride to the Metro Golf and $60 to play the course plus caddie. The caddie was not mandatory but it is the only way some of the locals make a dollar. Michael was the caddie that went along with me. He wanted $20, I said $10 and he agreed. He was OK so I gave him $15. I wanted to play the Guavaberry Course but it was a $70 cab ride and was told $105 to play plus caddie. The Metro course was an OK course to play. Would not go back to this resort for golf and other issues as well. It was great to get out of the cold that we had at home. 25 instead of -25
(all costs are $USD)
Not enough lounge chairs as pushing and shoving started a couple of times.
You must check a recommended for box below and I did not want to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room was very nice after they switched us from building 8 to 18. The grounds were kept clean. Manager and some of the staff did as much as they could with limited resources.
The weak points
Food was warm at best and always had to wait for dishes. Same music played everyday no matter where you were; poolside, beach or at the nightly show. Very little english spoken at this resort.
Certified

Good Value for the Money

, Woodbridge, ON
2012-02-29
The bathroom is beyond terrible. But other than that, i have nothing to complain. I only paid $500 for 7 nights all inclusive. The staff is very good and helpful. Food is good for a three star resort. the whale watching in Samana is a rip-off, though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, House keeping, food is ok, drink is great.
The weak points
bathroom is worse than your worst dream.
Certified

BELLEVUE DOMINICAN BAY

, Victoria, BC
2012-02-22
Overall fine although could use a much needed update on the rooms.
For your tours go see Pedro Travel close to the Resort in Boca Chica.
You will save a bundle booking with them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very lively resort with great food and exellent coffee!!
The weak points
Outdated rooms!!!
Certified

Would not hesitate to go yet again!

, Brantford, ON
2012-02-17
I have stayed at this resort a few times over the past 23 years. It has changed hands over the years but always stays pretty much the same. I have always had a wonderful time and experience and the food has always been plentyful. There is something for everyone in terms of entertainment and activities and anyone who complains otherwise clearly belongs somewhere else as their expectations are set beyond reasonable.
The Dominican Republic is a culture in itself and for those who do not know how to improvise or relax without expecting the people of the DR jumping to their every command should consider somewhere else...like.... HOME! The resort is nice, the staff friendly and do their best to accomodate. The only thing that I could say needs improvement...keeping in mind it is the DR..is maintenance in some of the rooms..perhaps upgrading and repair should be considered as this is a reasonable expectation. More lounge chairs at pool and beach are necessary to avoid issues amongst guests. The beach is not kept as clean nor raked daily as it has always been in the past therefore for most it is not seen as being as nice as it really is. The island out off the beach was always kept clean in the past and clearly has been let go...this is something that I would put priority on improving since that is what most people are looking fore and are going to see and remember. I will visit my friends at what was once Boca Chica Resort then Dominican Bay and now Bellevue Dominican Bay again, I am sure..especially if the price is right like this last visit. It is appropriatly classed as a 3 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, bar, food, pools and beach
The weak points
showtime, more activity staff, maintenance of rooms (eg. hot water, leaky or non functioning air-conditioning,disco starts too late and needs larger selection of music, also remove strobe light-it is too intense and triggers headaches/migranes/epeleptic
Certified

GREAT VALUE

, Beamsville, ON
2012-02-15
We booked last minute and had a marvelous time. Will go back here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very very clean. Great value for the money.
The weak points
rooms a little out dated
Certified

Better than expected!

, Toronto, ON
2012-02-10
We had an enjoyable stay. The resort is clean and well-kept. Staff are friendly. And the location near the capital city is great for doing day trips. Given the very low price, it was better than expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location close to the capital city is great for doing day trips.
The weak points
Nightly entertainment was not particularly interesting. More effort could be made to hire local talent.
Certified

Do NOT (even if the trip is free) go here!

, Rodney, ON
2011-03-21
The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of...the rooms however are a different story. My room was old and filthy, there was mold all over the valance for the curtains, the chain had been ripped off the door so there was no secondary form of security, the toilet leaked non-stop, the shower curtain was about 2 inches too short to even come CLOSE to covering the top of the tub so the water from the shower ran everywhere, there was ZERO water pressure and NO hot water, the tub was full of rust and not usable for bathing not only for that reason but there was no plug available.
The beds were horrible--they were like sleeping on cardboard--and they were just roll away beds so there was no support in them whatsoever. The pillows were stuffed with what I can only think was cotton balls....it took three pillows folded in half to make one half-way decent pillow to sleep on.
The rooms are in serious need of painting and a serious update.
The food was beyond terrible. The cold food was warm and the hot food was cold. I came home with a terrible bug. They SAY the ice was purified but the doctor who saw me in the ER stated given the bug I had he HIGHLY doubted the water was purified.
The one day the hydro went out about 5-4 times. There was no back up power generator---this is fine during the day but at night time it was a serious safety issue as the entire resort including the diningroom and the outside walkways were in total darkness. Not once did the staff come around with candles or flashlights to try and illuminate the room. It was a serious safety concern. As well in the vein of safety there was one emergency exit in the diningroom...just one and it was blocked with a huge round table...there is no way anyone could have gotten out of that door if need be.
And I know that I can't expect North American safety standards when travelling to other countries but people should be aware of NO sprinkler systems, no fire hoses, no extinguishers, no smoke alarms...if there had been a fire your only hope of knowing about it would be if you heard others trying to escape it.
The front staff could NOT have been more rude. I get that they are probably very frustrated at all the complaints from angry patrons but their customer service skills were terrible. It was a complete bother for them to have to wait on someone---waiting in a line a 5 people for over 45 mins to get a towel ticket was a big excessive.
Internet here including wi-fi is not free so don't bother bringing your laptop.
They advertise that they have a gym and basketball---they have neither.
All the water sports they advertise are free are NOT you have to pay for everything.
Now off resort I expect to have to content with people selling stuff but I did NOT expect to have to deal with it on the resort with the staff trying to sell manicures, pedicures, massages, braiding etc. Every time I turned around someone was asking for or expecting more money. I hated it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Landscaping was nice.
The weak points
See above
Certified

A 3 star but not less

, Toronto, ON
2011-02-20
more than we expected for a 3 star [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff,room,cleanliness was great
The weak points
food was repetitive.location too far from airport,should b santo domingo
Certified

Dissatisfied

, Charlottetown, PE
2010-04-03
I like it better in Don Juan [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
spacious room
The weak points
overcrowded swimming pool, fruits not for every meal, small TV, 5 min. walk to the beach
Certified

Dominican Bay --

, Shelburne, NS
2010-03-09
The room we were given when we first checked in at 2:00 AM was old and dirty and didn't feel secure. The words "dive" came to mind and all the terrible reviews seemed to be coming true. If we did not get moved we would have been extremely unhappy but after we spoke with our Sunwing Rep the next day we were moved to a nice room by the pool. The nightly entertainment was pretty good. Staff were all very pleasant. We were pleased with the hotel for the price we paid. Like other reviewers said keep in mind it isn't a 5 star hotel. It is a short walk to downtown Boca Chica and we felt very safe there and did a little shopping. We weren't hassled at all by the vendors. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere of the Italian restaurant on the Beach. The food at the other restaurant wasn't very good. The buffet had variety and something new every night. There was quite a bit of fresh fruit and the ice cream was amazing. Good breakfast and great hamburgers for lunch by the pool. It was a really wild place on the weekend as there was a holiday and it calmed down on Monday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice warm ocean water -- good entertainment staff -- nice rooms by the pool.
The weak points
There are a few old and dirty rooms. My sister and I were harassed a little in the water when we took our snorkeling gear and ventured far from shore by some local guys but they did leave us alone. The pools are shallow.
Certified

Beware 4-hour bus ride

, Cantley, QC
2010-03-09
Dominican Bay is rated a 3-star and is definitely no more than that. Only 2 reservations to the à la carte restaurants permitted per 7-day stay. Definitely not beachfront as it is stated on their site. Must cross the street and walk a path and a bridge to get there. Minimum 5-minute walk back to your room. A public beach where you cannot bring your beach chair to the water. Must stay within limits of the resort, or lay on a towel and be harassed by locals wanting to sell you everything under the sun. Buildings are nice, rooms are standard, bathrooms require much needed love and food is so-so. Alcoholic drinks menu is varied and staff is helpful. The killer though is the 4-hour drive from Punta Cana airport that is NOT specified on the site. Quite deceiving and frustrating after a 4 and half hour flight. Lost 2 days of vacation due to travel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good drink selection, great landscaping
The weak points
4-hour drive to resort, poor food quality and selection, old bathrooms.
Certified

Dominican Bay

, Nepean, ON
2010-03-08
I love the beach area. They advertised the hotel on the beach. The walk was quite a distance from the hotel. I would not recomment it for Seniors with walking problems or the handycap. I also was not pleased with the drive from Punta Cana airport to hotel. It took approximately 3.5 to 4 hours. Our first day was spent on traveling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Beach!! Food was good for a 3*. Clean room.
The weak points
Too far from the Punta Cana airport. Long walk to the beach.
Certified

Good Time

, Ne Calgary, AB
2010-02-28
The buildings were older but everything else made up for that and how much time do you actually spend in your room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food. Childrens pool was great for our 4 year old
The weak points
the buildings are older and need work
Certified

Three stars expectations met

, Mississauga, ON
2010-02-28
three stars expectations met in every criteria. selection of food as well as quality very good, grounds well maintained, some new structures (restaurant), some that need attention (bathrooms), resort is not right on the beach but not so far from it than when you stay in some large resorts that claim to be right on the beach.
Overall I had super holiday, so many nice people from maybe 15 countries, all ready to have fun, play polo, volleyball, windsurfing, disco.
In walking distance is nice little town Boca Chica so you can see more than just tourists.
Stupid is that travel agency does not let you know about three hour bus ride from Punta Cana airport, for some it is a chance to see country but for others it is a major let down.
Hey, it s three star so get there to have fun and don t expect plush and luxury, you did not paid that much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly people, relaxing atmosphere, windsurfing available, food
The weak points
three hour bus ride, rusty bathtubs
Certified

Dominican Bay

, Sw Calgary, AB
2010-02-24
We loved our holidy at this resort.

The staff are execptional people and go above and beyond to make sure that you are having fun

I would go back tomorrow!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment crew are excellant The pools are clean and well maintained
The weak points
The rooms are very basic and a little outdated. The bar is too busy in the evening as there is only one open
Certified

Great Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-13
Hotel rated as 3 stars, but it can be viewed as 4 stars. Very clean water on the beach. Very good for children and people who afraid deep water. Over all very friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021