Grand Paradise Samana

Grand Paradise Samana
3.633.633.633.633.63
3.63 based on 477 reviews
#7 of 7 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Samana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (186)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

WARNING: DO NOT STAY HERE

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-06
Our child was poisoned and subsequently hospitalized by eating food at this hotel - vacation ruined.
Avoid the worry and go somewhere else that has a better track record. Just read the reviews online and you will see that they are disproportionately negative. We should have heeded these, so don't make the same mistake.

We have met and spoken to others also poisoned at this hotel. Like us, they to were faced with no one wanting to take responsibility, so you are left on your own and out of pocket for how ever many thousands of dollars you spent to get to and stay here.

The majority of the hotel staff here lacked training across the board. Some even had bad attitudes, which is totally bizarre to encounter when you've paid for a relaxing vacation.

That said, this place has the potential to be great as it was reportedly a few years ago before going down hill. Reviews online and many people we met at this resort say they used to love it but wouldn't be returning again after however many trips. If you have kids, this place runs itself like a couples resort that allows kids, which is funny, since the majority of guests we saw were either retirees or families. What this means however is that your kids are supposedly not allowed to swim in ALL BUT ONE of the swimming pools, which is only a toddler dipping pool. So you wind up in the empty, supposedly adult pools, and feel like a tool for defying the sandwich board signs that have a picture with a kid with a big red x on it. What a joke

The beach and water are beautiful and the hotel itself is actually quite nice, a few of the staff were also very decent, hardworking people.

DON'T GO HERE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Rooms
The weak points
Food Quality, Customer Service, Kid Unfriendly, Disorganized, Uninformative, a long way from nearest Hospital.
Certified

Not a 4 star

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-29
This is not a four star resort, more like a 2 1/2. Drive from airport was very long. Need to take better care of grounds, pull weeds, cut grass evenly etc. Need to update some of the rooms still. Ours was nice but my brothers had lots wrong with it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is beautiful. Food is pretty good at the a la cartes, buffet food is also good.
The weak points
No blenders for making blender drinks Service at the buffet
Certified

Good resort, wonderful beach

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-04-30
Hotel was nice and clean, and pool area was great. We were very impressed with the beach (nice landscape, sand, water, etc.). Some staff members came across a little rude/un-happy to be there, but for the most part it was OK (especially after a tip). Wifi is very expensive (if not in the select group anyways) and not very good, but if you go on vacation as an escape, no internet/social media for a few days should not be an issue. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice beach and pool area
The weak points
Long drive from airport, some staff members a little rude wifi is very expensive.
Certified

Beautiful spot with lots of pros

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-22
This is a gorgeous, clean, well-designed space. Beach is stunning and pools are clean and quiet. The food is consistently delicious and there is lots of variety at the buffet. This a smaller resort. Perfect if you are looking for something simple and peaceful. There are many guests from Russia and Germany. Few Canadians. Annie at the front desk is lovely and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great Vacation

, Orleans, ON
2019-02-22
Beautiful beach and staff at the receptions Annie. Select club was
awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Select
The weak points
Dirty curtains

Very very nice vacation

, Kanata, ON
2019-02-22
The weather was nice, beautiful resort clean, the food the staff was really good specially at the reception Annie, we passed a really nice vacation with my daughter [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Thank you for a great vacation!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-22
We really enjoyed our stay at Grand Paradise Samana. Front desk responded well to any issues. Management also very accessible and willing to help resolve any problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good service from front desk and management. Food is very very good for an all-inclusive. Beaches and pools are in a beautiful setting.
The weak points
Wi-Fi inconsistent. We had to change rooms a few times to get a nice one, luckily the management accommodated is nicely!

Good vacation

, Orleans, ON
2019-02-22
Excellent nice beach and staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Animation

Best Vacation!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-02-15
Greatest vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Jolies vacances

, Lac-Saint-Charles, QC
2019-02-15
Très bon service.
Les employés super gentil.
Chambres très propres [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Poorly run hotel. DO NOT STAY HERE>

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2019-02-02
During our stay we chose not be argumentative as there were too many things going wrong for us and our friends. The pictures look nice but don't be fooled. We were!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!
Check in for Select Club in the rear of the hotel. Regular customers checked in first at the main entrance reception area. Our bags had to brought to check in near the beach then brought back near the reception area where our room was. Slow check in "Club Select". There where no signs for the Select Club check in.
When we got to our room it was clean with a nice ocean view. The patio door had no lock. Impossible to lock the door. No metal bar to secure the door either! We were at the merci of who might want to climb to the second floor and rob us blind. The curtains also did not close completely. We were lucky they gave us a lock for the safe. However our friend was given a lock and had a combination safe. They had no idea which rooms had combination or key lock safes. The bathroom hair dryer which should have been attached to the wall was under the bathroom counter. We had to plug it in and remove it from the cradle to dry our hair. Then unplugged and returned underneath the counter. We did not have HOT WATER throughout our stay. At best we had lukewarm water. The water pressure was also very low, barely able to remove the soap. The air conditioning only cooled and did not remove the humidity, hence the air conditioning in air conditioning. It was air cooling in humidity with the fan barely suppling any air.
It seems that who ever installed the front door missed the measurement because it was off center and let in light where there were gaps.
On our first day we where not able to get a beach chair anywhere on the beach. We paid for Select Club and no chair. Also there were many broken beach chairs and others were stained dirty. The service on the beach was no where to be found all week. The Select area on the grass was away from the beach. The select club sign lay hanging from one nail sideways all week. On several occasions when we did manage to get someone's attention to take our order it never came! We had to reorder again despite being generous with a tip, which has no effect on the bad service. There is something wrong with the drinks in this hotel I had reflux burning throat as did a few other people. This lasted all week! Are they doing something to the drinks. The bar staff are more or less interested in the clients. They certainly did not talk to any client we observed all week. They just fetch the drink in a disinterested fashion.
With regards to the water activities on the beach. The pedal boat was included in the price of the stay. We had argument with the fellow at the boat because he wanted to rent it to us at $16 USD per person per hour minimum 2 people! Once again no awareness of customer service to verify and explain the situation. Not a good experience. This was also a moot point because the pedal boat was broken!
Needles to say we never managed to use the boat nor did any other customer we observed. The infinity pool was small about 18 feet long. Luckily we seemed to find chairs.
As far as restaurants are concerned. Italian restaurant was really bad. Pasta from the box with cheap sauce. The lasagna was barely edible.The Sea food restaurant featured dry over cooked fish. My friend tried to eat it and finally gave up. He sent it back. The Japanese restaurant was passable. In all the restaurants were mediocre. We were so frustrated and disappointed we at one point just went to the buffet and felt relief. The breakfast buffet was passable with slim pickings. Slow toaster. One toaster!! One day three types of yogurt the next only plain. Long lines form with one cook for omlets. Understaffed! The orange juice was cheap powder, same for the apple juice. I expected th coffee to be good, ha! Horible!! What a disapointement, they are supposed to have great coffee. They staff at the Breakfast area are more polite that the bar area. The management of the hotel should be scoulded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Reduced to ONE STAR!!
The weak points
Staff. Management. DO NOT STAY HERE !!
Certified

Très belle vacances

, Québec, QC
2019-02-01
Un bon service le personnel est super agréable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Belle vacances

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-18
best place in the world, very clean the staff is very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great place for families

, Rockland, ON
2019-01-18
-beautiful beach
friendly staff
-great food
-select club is a must [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great Resort!

, Delta, ON
2019-01-18
Many times to the DR but love Samana! Resort is a bit far from the airport but well worth the drive. Stayed in an ocean view villa with absolutely stunning views. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing service from all staff. Select Club was perfect. Beach beautiful. Great buffet selection each night and good a la carte. Would definitely come back to this gem!
The weak points
Really can't complain about anything during out stay! Resort great, staff awesome!

Très belle place

, Saint-Constant, QC
2019-01-17
Les employés sont vraiment très accueillant, aunsi que l'endroit. Nous pouvons sentir la nature et le bien être. Nous avons passer 10 jours magnifiques. La plage de l'hôtel est très belle ainsi que les piscines. Les alentours sont beaux aussi. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Merveilleux séjour à Samana

, L'Ancienne-Lorette, QC
2019-01-17
Nous sommes arrivés sur le site vendredi dernier. Quelle belle surprise pour nous! C'est notre première fois à Samaná! Le site est époustouflant, de la végétation partout! Et que dire du personnel, toujours souriant et serviable!
Les chambres sont rénovées, grandes et propres. Les restaurants à la carte sont tous excellents! Le buffet est surprenant par la qualité et le choix de la nourriture!
L'animation est très dynamique, parle français et est surtout très attachant!
Nous avons apprécié les spectacles de fin de soirée particulièrement le spectacle de Michael Jackson et le beach party!!!
Nous reviendrons c'est certain!!!
Merci pour ce beau séjour!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Nice vacations

, Kanata, ON
2019-01-17
The beach is amazing, food, service, room is inmodiration [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Definitely a go back to!

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-04
Back from Grand Paradise Samana. Excellent resort! People were profesional, courteous and always there to help. Two notable gentlemen were Milton, Guest Services and Juan Carlos, Reception Manager. Both took care of our every need. Hats Off to them! The room was nicely decorated, modern and the bathroom spotless. The true jewel to the resort was the food! We cannot say enough! New Years dinner was fabulous. Variety of meat, fish, fruits and vegtables. Presentation is always topnotch. The beach was perfect and the drinks cold and refreshing. Will go back for sure. Highly recommended! Check out the premium package- room, pays for itself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room cleanliness, excellent food, lovely staff and atmosphere.
The weak points
None to speak of.

Un coin de paradis

, Gatineau, QC
2019-01-04
Endroit paradisaque. Belle plage, belle piscine. Activités variées, personnel courtois, bonne bouffe. Bel endroit pour les familles. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Personnel serviable.
The weak points
Internet restreint

The Big Family

, Spencerville, ON
2019-01-03
We traveled as part of a group of 31, including 21 children. Our experience was excellent. Not only was the weather fantastic, the rooms and facilities were clean and well kept. The food was fantastic and the service both friendly and prompt. The beach was beautiful and the drinks were cold! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach, friendly staff, clean

The big family

, Iroquois, ON
2019-01-03
Beach was beautiful, very clean & lots of space with natural shade. Plenty of activities for the children and facilities near by. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food plentiful and delicious. Plenty of seating.
The weak points
Not all options/ activities were made known to our group.

The Big Family

, Iroquois, ON
2019-01-03
We had a wonderful vacation with our family and friends. We were a party of 31. We ate together every day, and had a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach, great food, staff were very helpful.

New years bash with the family

, Iqaluit, NU
2019-01-03
We arrived late in the evening (2 am after all of the flights and transfers). Check in was extremely quick and easy. Bell boys were helpful to get us to our room and helped us get settled. We were travelling with our two kids and house keeping brought us a single for our son to use! The staff were very helpful and aimed to please with anything we asked. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, kids space and activities, beach and grounds are well groomed and the weather was great
The weak points
Tiered access to some services (3rd pool)

Great Vacation

, Sainte-Brigitte-De-Laval, QC
2019-01-03
Very nice beach, lot a space, great food with good and friendly service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach

Grand paradise samana

, Ste-Claire, QC
2019-01-03
We had a great experience, wonderful weather, clean rooms, nice people, clean dining areas excellent food, beautiful beach, lots of activities December 31st party was awesome. We recommend this place and we want to come back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean place No worries to get chairs and shade on the beach Good food
The weak points
No beer in the rooms

Nourriture

, Québec, QC
2019-01-03
La nourriture est excellente, j'ai adoré toute la nourriture que j'ai mangé ici. Un gros WoW sur les restaurants à la carte et le buffet. Les femmes de ménagent sont excellente, les chambres sont très propre lorsqu'elle passe et même avant qu'elle passe la propreté des lieux est un gros WoW !!! Merci beaucoup j'ai fait un très très très beaux voyage !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Great Family Getaway

, Stittsville, ON
2018-12-27
Arrived at 2:00am due to airline schedule changes, but the staff got us checked in quickly. Room was great (garden view villa); we had issues with the keys and air conditioning but they were always addressed quickly. The villas have a great location being central to the main pool and close to the beach. Some decent snorkelling off the beach near the left-hand side white buoy. Food was always good; ate at the fish restaurant and twice at the japanese place for teppanyaki, then a third time for sushi. Pedro is a great chef and very entertaining, highly recommend him. Main pool closes a bit early (6pm) but we were able to be in the select club pool for longer. The Select Club is worth the upgrade; free Japanese reservations (15usd per person normally), private section with service at the beach, exclusive bar and lounge area. The beach has fine white sand, very much like what we fine in Cuba in cayo coco or Cayo santa Maria. Some shallow areas you might prefer water shoes, but we never used them and were fine. Some sea grass accumulated at low tide but they remove and maintain it daily, it was not an issue. We would visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- beach; great sand with some decent snorkelling if you're willing to explore - service was quite good, we generally tip 50 pesos every couple of interactions
The weak points
- annimation/activities didn't follow their own schedule, had to chase people for archery and one night the scheduled mini-disco just...didn't happen - came in to our room once to find 2 workers and 2 maids replacing some blinds that seemed fine

Great Time in Samana

, Orleans, ON
2018-12-26
Great time in the DR. Beach and grounds were amazing. We stayed in the Select Villa and it was well worth it. Extra space for family. The resort was well kept. Must try the teppanyaki restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well kept grounds and a nice quiet beach. Loved the getaway. Rooms were spacious and the cleansing staff did a great job. People were friendly as is the case with most Dominicans
The weak points
Not really any to say. We all enjoyed the R&R. It is really a party place and that was perfect for us. We just wanted downtime by the beach. If you're looking to party hard might want to check out another resort

New destination

, Pierrefonds, QC
2018-09-29
New destination for us, first time in DR. Grand Paradise Samaná resort has a beautiful location, good food and friendly staff. A small glitch at our arrival, resolved by reception manager in no time. Will definitely come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Samana's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Couples Seniors Families Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021