Riu Naiboa

Riu Naiboa
3.303.303.303.303.30
3.30 based on 116 reviews
#77 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (37)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Good environment, friendly staff

, Candiac, QC
2020-01-13
Hotel was good, but an action is required for having more healthy food and water. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good hotel location and beautiful nature
The weak points
All my family members were sick for half duration of our stay in this hotel. I believe that there is not a lot of control on food quality.
Certified

Great Resort

, Mission, BC
2019-04-20
Riu Naiboa, good hotel! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Love the place

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-24
It was a great experience. .totally good specially the stuff in the dining room.
Only thing missing a lot is smile very important to have smile specially at this kind of business. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent ..but with smile it help a lot to every tourist ..
The weak points
Try to ask the staff to learn at least basic English ..otherwise very good
Certified

Amazing vacation!!

, North York, HA
2017-11-12
This hotel was amazing!!! Good was great. Hotel was clean. Entertainment was amazing!! We made some great friends that work at the resort who we will never forget.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. Can't wait to go back!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Our experience at Rui Naiboa

, Hillsburg, ON
2017-03-03
The staff here were very good,food was good,entertainment was good overall it was a good holiday [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly and the entertainment,lots for kids ,waterside and splash area
The weak points
Too far from beach,no swim up bar,could hear doors banging all night
Certified

Riu Naiboa Hotel

, Pickering, ON
2016-05-05
The hotel was good and suited our needs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU NAIBOA

, St. Mary S, NL
2016-03-31
An over all amazing experience, Beautiful place an people. Definitely recommend it to family an friends!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Just got home, had a great time

, Midland, ON
2015-04-11
Our room had a view of the pool. We were two floors above the bar that's open until 6am. I am a light sleeper, I woke up a lot each night. Some nights people were really loud, others not too bad. The Animacion staff provided pool side entertainment during the day with games, exercise, dancing through the day and then activities to entertain in the evening before the nightly entertainment started. The food was good, not great. Good enough variety at buffet to provide selection. There is another Riu resort between Naiboa and the ocean so there is no ocean view rooms at all. The beach is a close walk. Nice shops for souvenirs along the way. Market came twice during the week to set up and sell items. Pushy as most are, had to walk a different route to to to lobby to avoid them. Lots of lounge chairs around the pool, some with sun, some with shade. You could pick where you wanted most days and move chairs around to get heat you were looking for. Tons of lounge chairs (long chairs with adjustable backs to sit up or law down of two options in between) at beach. Always empty spots in the sun and in the shade, close to ocean and far back in Palm trees. 4 star, get what you pay for, liked it, not really many complaints. I wouldn't go back, not cause it was bad, but because it didn't have oceanview and only one pool and no swim up bar. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort, friendly staff. On Friday and Saturday there was pool side service for beverages. There is a bar open 6pm - 6am. There is nightly entertainment. Animacion staff provide pool side entertainment (activities and exercise), evening fun b4 shows
The weak points
No blankets on beds, just a top sheet. No face cloths. No swim up bar, no view of oven from resort. There is another resort between Naiboa and ocean. Have to walk to beach, but not a far walk.
Certified

Not going back !!!

, Orleans, ON
2015-01-05
My wife and I stayed at the Riu Naiboa from Dec 25th til Jan 1st. Let me say that we are the biggest advocate of the Riu hotels as we just love them and recommend them to all our friends or other folks travelling. But, I have to admit that this Riu, is not really a true Riu or its a welfare Riu.

Let's start with the bad and finish on a good note.

Bad:
- Room are very outdated, with mattress so used up that my back still hurts. The TV was an old 24inch tube but still work.
- No safety latch on the doors or even a peak hold to see who is knocking.
- The food is probably the worst I've ever seen at a Riu hotel from breakfast to dinner. The morning chef would not cook any eggs the way to like them, so I had to do it myself while he watched learning agaist the wall, to the lunch where there were no salad dressings and the same food as the previous night which leaves me to believe left overs. There were no salad dressings and once they had some it was water down, to the dinner with barely decent food. There were 3 small stations with the 1st they would cook sometime chicken, sometime pork to the 2nd station where it was only fish and seafood, then the 3rd station you never knew what it was going to be.
- The staff barely speak English so unless you speak Spanish you aint getting service. They were rude even if I was nice to them.
- They would not refresh the beach towel at night even if they had lots of them still not being used.
- Smoking everywhere, I think I will die from 2nd hand smoke.
- The local vendors who were invited by the hotel was very aggressive by grabbing you to show their stuff and if you did not accept then they were insulting you.
- I brought all my scuba gear hoping to dive everyday but Scuba Caribe did not want to take their boats out as its too expensive on gas and said that the visibility was poor to about 20-25 feet. But they keep pushing you to go do the Catalina dive excursion for a lot more money.

Positive.
- Beach is nice and lots of chairs.
- The cleaning ladies were friendly and efficient.
- Front desk was actually pretty good.
- Hotel was clean but in serious need of repairs.
- Lots of hot water in the shower.

Its a good thing that the weather was nice because this could of been a lot worse. I'm done with DR, going back to Mexico.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was nice.
The weak points
Food terrible.
Certified

Not Happy

, Markham, ON
2014-05-22
I have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and this was my sixth visit to the Dominican Republic. I have also stayed at other Riu hotels but the Riu Naiboa was very disappointing. The front desk staff was unfriendly. The waiters were some of the worst that I have ever encountered. Service was non existent. I would never book this hotel again nor would I ever recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was amazing
The weak points
The service was some of the worst that I have ever encountered
Certified

Would Recommend

, St. John S, NL
2014-04-11
Had a fantastic time staff very friendly, very clean and tidy well taken care of. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and staff resort is just great overall.
The weak points
Entertainment would like to see more selection of live music.
Certified

As expected

, Baie Verte, NL
2014-03-24
Had a great relaxing stay..Very clean, friendly staff, If you not interested in night life this a great place to relax in the evenings..However 24 hour snacks were not available..plenty of food for all. Had a great vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Smaller resort, clean, great staff, quiet..great for relaxation
The weak points
24 hour snacks not available..
Certified

Good

, Baie Verte, NL
2014-03-24
no internet for guest unless you pay... fridge was not stocked every day unless you asked...but staff was friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool
The weak points
activities for guests
Certified

Vacations in Punta Cana

, Sarnia, ON
2014-03-09
Room was clean. Food was excellent. front desk service good. People not as friendly as other places I have been. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was fantastic.
The weak points
Service needs to improve.
Certified

All as promissed

, Omenee, ON
2014-02-18
Nice resort, well worth the money. Great customer service, clean rooms, good food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good package
The weak points
too many young children
Certified

Riu Naiboa

, Richmondhill, ON
2014-02-12
rating as a four is accurate.
Hotel was clean & well maintained.
Food was good but basically same choices every day ,service was quick. A la carte at Bambu was terrible.Entertainment was okay.Since hotel is small , everything was close except for the beach. Beach was very good.The only thing that i did not like is that free WiFi access was difficult & would loose reception often. Desk staff were always trying to get you to buy 24 hr internet for your room for $ 10.00 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
value for money. could walk for miles in Riu resort or on beach if wanted to
The weak points
free WiFi access interruptions bathroom at pool bar not working/ cleaned
Certified

Getaway to t he Sun

, Belleville, ON
2014-02-10
Hotel experience was good overall as I was looking for a warm break from the cold Ontario weather. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food and ease get into the a la carte was a surprise. Last visit to Punta Cana there were several people sick. No sickness this trip:)
The weak points
More a la carte options would have been nice. Music noise and all night slamming of doors as people return from disco made for many restless sleeps. Thank God my friend had some extra earplugs.
Certified

Great

, Simcoe, ON
2014-01-16
This was our second time here last one was 10 years ago has improved greatly management was a lot better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly helpful staff
The weak points
A little loud at night,may have been room location
Certified

4/10/2013

, Brampton, ON
2013-10-13
Great beach, excellent food.
Nothing to do at evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach food
The weak points
intertaintment
Certified

Riu Naiboa

, Wallaceburg, ON
2013-06-01
The Hotel was beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel and beach
The weak points
Wish they spoke more English
Certified

RIU NAIBOA

, Cambridge, ON
2013-05-14
Don't expect to get any sleep at this resort. The noise of slamming doors all day and night and people yelling to their friends in the hallways is horrible!!! Disco was down for renovations---not informed. Very disappointed---would have gone elsewhere!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good staff,food selection
The weak points
Noise,no disco
Certified

April 23-30, 2013

, Mississauga, ON
2013-05-02
Beautiful hotel, food was good, plenty and fresh. Fantastic service from Santo in buffet restaurant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms and hotel
The weak points
Nightly Entertainment
Certified

Riu Naiboa Punta Cana

, Unionville, ON
2013-04-30
The only thing we didn't like about this hotel was the lack of huts on the beach because the palm trees didn't provide enough shade. Huts available around the pool, with lots of lounge chairs available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was fantastic. Large Pool.
The weak points
No shade huts on the beach and palm trees didn't provide enough shade. Bed configuration not great - 1 double 1 single bed.
Certified

RIU Naiboa

, Belleville, ON
2013-04-09
had a wonderful time and the quality was what I expected for the price I paid [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very good bar staff and entertainmet and sunwing representatives
The weak points
limited choices for food
Certified

Riu Naiboa Punta Cana

, Quebec, QC
2013-04-02
We very much enjoyed our stay at the RIU Naiboa. The room was large and kept immaculately clean.
The front desk staff were extremely helpful and polite.
Service in the dining room exceptional.
The food was sometimes repetitive but always very good.We found it to be an excellent hotel in it's class.
a short pleasant walk gets gets you to a beautiful golden sandy beach ... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness, All of the hotel staff, location.
The weak points
entertainment and animation too closePool side very noisy. to hotel.
Certified

Vacation in Punta Cana

, Lorrainville, QC
2013-02-28
all was great entertainment was fantastic [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
entertainment,food,location
The weak points
need more accessibility to restaurant a la carte
Certified

Disappointed

, Thornhill, ON
2013-02-21
For all inclusive my daughter,Patricia Patterson or myself were never told at any time that all food would be closed at 12:mid nite.If we got hungry we were told it closed at 12. Not very pleased with that,we paid all inclusive so we would be able to eat. The rest of the trip was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice place
The weak points
food
Certified

A Great Experience

, Woodbridge, ON
2012-04-06
We came to a beautiful resort that was beyond our expectations. The staff was quick, efficient, and helpful. We loved it. We definitely will come back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and friendly staff. Overall very clean through out the hotel and resort.
The weak points
Did not provide face cloths. The mattresses were very springy.
Certified

Riu naiboa in Bavaro

, Hamilton, ON
2012-04-03
Beautiful resort and the food was average. Great service. The only issue I had, which I think people should be aware of, was that we were under the impression that the hotel was in punta Cana. However, only the airport is in punta Cana. The hotel is in Bavaro. This means the beach was the Atlantic ocean, not the Carribean sea as we had expected. Still beautiful but a let down. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach.
The weak points
Was under the impression that the hotel was in punta Cana. However, only the airport is in punta Cana. The hotel is in Bavaro. This means the beach was the Atlantic ocean, not the Carribean sea as we had expected. Still beautiful but a let down.
Certified

No pool bar

, Dundas, ON
2012-03-31
When I booked this trip a specifically requested a hotel with a pool bar and upon arriving to the naiboa found there was no pool bar on there grounds only in the surrounding riu resorts which we were not allowed to drink at. Other than itravels website lying to me the naiboa was a very nice place and I would consider going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good people
The weak points
no swim up bar
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021