Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
4.304.304.304.304.30
4.30 based on 43 reviews
#49 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Secrets Royal Beach Hotel..Punta Cana

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-28
Had a wonderful stay..our beach bar friend Jonathan was Great..always there to get us our bevrages..the entertainment was also great..The TENORS show was excellant . had a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fabulous

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-18
Everything about this resort is amazing. From the beautifully manicured grounds, to the perfectly kept pool and lazy river, the food, rooms, decor, and staff, I have to say that this has been the best resort we've ever been at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The general appearance of the resort is top notch. The way everything is laid out and the proximity to the beach as well as the layout of the pool and lazy river are all perfect. Food is well done and has a good variety. The wait staff is exceptional!
The weak points
The high-pressure travel club sales agents are a big big negative to this resort. Ours resorted to tears to try to get us to sign up. The bellboy that handled our luggage upon arrival was not careful and too hasty. Another restaurant or two would be nice
Certified

Vacation

, Dundas, ON
2019-02-26
We arrived at the resort at about 12.30 pm and had to wait till 3.00 pm to get to our room. In the mean time we had an orientation spell with a resort agent trying to sell us upgrades etc. We were tired and just wanted to get to the room. When we got the room we were not impressed. Out dated old needs new renovations. Food at the restaurants was not the greatest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The gardens, pool and beach were excellent. Staff well trained and mannered
The weak points
Rooms, food & Sales Pitch

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-29
our time at the hotel was wonderful, from our arriving and the rooms were excellent and clean. the food was great at all the restaurants. the entertainment team was the greatest, the kept us busy all day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Clarence Center, NY
2018-02-26
The hotel was incredible. We stayed on the preferred side and the amenities and attention to detail were second to none. The rooms were very nice and clean but not opulent. The staff is absolutely incredible. They were so friendly and accommodating and never had any issues. The food was better than average but not 5 star by any means. We had one terrible meal at Oceana but other than that the food with very acceptable. They also had a very nice range of additional wines that you can purchase should you want to go over the provided wines. The pools were great but I wish they would have been heated as they were pretty cold even though it is 80 degrees outside. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendliness of the staff and how accommodating they all were.
The weak points
Food at Oceana.
Certified

Excellent!

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-12-27
The hotel was excellent, service was alway friendly, fun and helpful.The food was great with lots to choose from.Our room was comfortable and always cleaned. The beach was perfect.
thank you and ill be back soon !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff is great, lots of fun, very helpful, always smiling. The resturants food are delicious!
The weak points
You should have a fresh cut fruit buffet open all day long, the fruits are so good !
Certified

Our Honeymoon

, Kingston, ON
2016-10-24
Overall the vacation was good. Not outstanding, not excellent, not magnificent by any means. We had to pay $45USD to get a taxi to the airport on the last day as the shuttle that was included simply did not show up. I would like a reimbursement for this charge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not really any.
The weak points
Our room was brutal. Hot tub was cold and fridge was hot. Fan didn't work. Internet was sketchy. Pool view could barely see the pool from the trees. Would not recommend.
Certified

Not What I Expected

, Thomasburg, ON
2016-03-22
In comparison to other Secrets properties, this left a lot to be desired. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach,rooms, pool
The weak points
Food was cold. Service was non-existent.more of a party for young couples than a romantic get away for "adults"
Pro

Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

2015-01-27
An absolutely beautiful resort with amazing staff who always go above and beyond. Fabulous food, great entertainment and gorgeous beach! Five stars all the way!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly service, excellent food and entertainment
The weak points
None
Certified

Great Vacation

, North York, ON
2014-02-23
Great stay, would visit here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
adult only, great beach, great service
The weak points
Strange Smell from the air conditioning system
Certified

Excellente

, Ottawa, ON
2014-01-20
Excellent resort,location, food, and people... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
this is a beautifully manicured resort with excellent facilities and friendly and accommodating staff.
The weak points
nothing negative in my opinion
Certified

Think twice

, Apsley, ON
2013-09-30
nice well maintained resort, also had full use of the hotel next to it, I expected more from a 5 star, they tried to sell you time share constantly, internet access was very expensive and didn't work on my device (Blackberry) hotel was gift shop was very over priced ($22 for sunblock)Late checkouts were $20hr which seems a little pricy, This was my first time to the Dominican and I don't think I'll return, Locals were very aggressive, asked to go to a shopping center and the hotel sent us to the "best shopping center" it turned out to be a small overpriced gift shop (we drove by 2 large malls on the way) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well maintained hotel, excellent staff
The weak points
internet access, buffet food, agents trying to sell you time share everywhere
Certified

Secrets is great!

, Montreal, QC
2013-09-23
Having been to 3 Secrets resorts in Mexico, it can only be fair that I compare Secrets Punta Cana to Silversands, Maroma and The Vine. Why? Because any other doesnt even come close. (in my experience, of course)
the beach is awesome, the water not so much, lots of seaweed and the water was not clear at all. Only Maroma has a better beach.
If Maroma is a perfect 10 in all categories, SliverSands and The Vine are a 9.5, I would rate Punta Cana a 7.5. Its still very good, but not as great as the others, that set the bar very high! Its in the details, the service, smiles, the food quality and taste. The lack of ability to speak english or french can be a real pain in the butt.
We ordered room service once, never got the food, only a phone call 90 minutes later asking of we got our food.

Omar the manager was very attentive, he even took time to sit with us and ask for our feedback, which was great.

Will I go back to the Secrets hotels? Absolutely! My next stops will be at Huatulco and Los Cabos :-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach rooms are great, shower is awesome Secrets resorts are truly a cut above most others quick to get to from airport very good food very good entertainment and sports Manager was very open to our comments
The weak points
service and food not up to the same high standards as the Mexico Secrets resorts We have to pay for internet? really? 20$ deposits for beach sport equipment is ridiculous. take our room number! very few staff speak english or french
Certified

Best beach in the world ( and I've seen many)

, Toronto, ON
2012-12-31
Outstanding beaches - great service - highly recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Magnificent Beach. Lots of very attentive staff
The weak points
None
Certified

Excellente!

, Hamilton, ON
2012-12-11
Absolutely amazing. The staff went above and beyond [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everyone was very attentive, property maintatianed daily
The weak points
Internet was a bit pricy - min 25$
Certified

Excellent resort

, Calgary, AB
2012-11-25
We had a great time. The beach was beautiful. The food was extremely good with great flavour and a large variety of different foods, and restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There were no kids, very clean, very friendly service
The weak points
Internet should be free, the resort is a little too far away from the ocean. You can't really see the ocean until you are actually standing in front of it.
Certified

Very Serene

, London, ON
2012-04-17
The hotel, staff and grounds were excellent. The hard sell on the UVC was a little off putting. We had money stolen out of our wallets after I forgot to lock the safe. I reported it to security but they didn't seem very interested. Very nice stay otherwise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The quiet of the pool area.
The weak points
The a la cartes were not as good as Dreams in Mexico. This was disappointing.
Certified

Great Resort- bad housekeeping

, Newmarket, ON
2012-01-24
This resort is fantastic for any couple that wants to get away for a romantic week together. The resort is beautiful, the rooms are big and the restaurants serve very high quality food. The problems we had with this resort was that the beaches were covered in seaweed and the house keeping was terrible. We would leave the room in the morning and head to the beach. by the time we got back to the room in the evening we would expect the room to be cleaned but it was still the same mess from the morning. We actually had to call every day for the maid service to come clean our room. Which was strange because we could always see them going through rooms on our floor but then everyday they would semmingly forget our room. this created and major inconvenience because we had to wait for them to clean the room when we were trying to get back into it on most days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was amazing, there were soo many a la carte restaurants that you could visit a different one almost every night and the wait wasn't bad at all. I think the longest I had to wait was 30 mins. The rooms and resort were also amazing.
The weak points
The house keeping staff never cleaned our room during the day. We always came back to the room after a day at the beach and expected it to be clean but it would be in the same condition as the morning. Beaches has seaweed on them.
Certified

Amazing resort

, Calgary, Al
2011-10-22
Very couple orientated , lots of romance, exceptional service.. Good food, amazing beach and pool!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very couple orientated , lots of romance, exceptional service.. Good food, amazing beach and pool!!!
The weak points
Oceano restaurant all others were awesome
Certified

Secrets Royal Beach

, St Clements, ON
2011-10-07
We loved this hotel. Very quiet, which we wanted. The lazy river type pool was very nice. The waiter service around the pool was especially nice. The staff was always pleasant and very helpful. I rated the beach a 4 only because of the seaweed. The food was amazing and we actually ate at the buffet most nights. Using the Now Larimar next door for some restaurants and the casino was not a problem, just a very short walk. We booked an oceanview room and had a beautiful view. The room was very comfortable and quite large. This hotel is spotless everywhere. I would highly recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very quiet hotel, but if you want nightlife you just need to take a short walk next door over to the Now Larimar.
The weak points
Most of the a la carte restaurants are at the Now Larimar as well as the Casino.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021