Barcelo Bavaro Palace

Barcelo Bavaro Palace
4.074.074.074.074.07
4.07 based on 286 reviews
#59 of 104 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (102)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Overall a good resort for a family vacation!

, Nepean, ON
2023-01-22
Reviews du Barcelo Bavaro Palace

Overall it was very good! The resort is HUGE, the grounds were beautifully kept, one bigger pool split in two in the main section, where the restaurants are located, shops, casino, a bowling alley too. The adult section is to the left of the resort. There is a family areas around building 7 with a kids pool. There is a pirate ship and wave pool too, that I believe you get access to for 1 day if you have kids. The mini-putt is free until 6pm. There is a golf course and club house near building 8.

Room: We had a junior suite in building 3, on the top floor, with a jacuzzi on the terrace. We ended up with an ocean view which was a bonus! We had asked for a king bed but got two separate beds. We were offered to switch on day 2 but we would loose our ocean view so we said no. They filled the mini fridge with pop, water and beer on the daily. Changed the towels and the sheets every 3 days. Downsides: the tv didn't have many options on channels, and no guide option, the walk in shower didn't have a door to close, so water would splatter on the floor, there seems to never be a fan in the bathrooms down south which is annoying, and the safe had numbers that didn't work.

Food: there are two buffets, but both are next to each other which is odd to me, and they overlap on time so they open a door in between them and you can walk through, however both offer the same options. The hours were a little odd.. sometimes they were both closed so the only option open was the sports bar which was limited. The food was overall pretty decent. Service was slow, as in bringing water or drinks, and flipping tables between guests. We had reservations to the Steakhouse, the Seafood, Mediterranean, Mexican and Japanese restaurant. Japanese was the best! With the teppanyaki tables, the service and food was great. Seafood was disappointing. The Mediterranean restaurant is in the adult section and it was delicious. For lunch you can go there too, but if they catch you they will ask you for 5$ extra per person since it should be guests if the adults only.

Bars: not as many as we would have expected for such a big resort and the pool ones would close at 6. Service was a little slow. There is an adult pool/bar which had better service. It's smaller and they were quicker.

Beach was amazing! They section off where you can swim but it's not at all crowded given the size of the resort. Not too many weeds either. Some of our group did windsurfing and loved it. Others would walked for hours on either side of the resort. But when you get off the resort people will try and sell you things. There weren't any on the resort. We didn't really have to worry to get chairs… but the later you get to the beach the busier it gets.

Shows: The shows were at 10pm. They were fun, the circus one was the best. There was a Fantasy/Disney show one night, which was super cute for kids but also a 10pm showing. They should offer it during the day or earlier for the kids.

You get cards for towels that you trade in for towels and can exchange them. We would leave them on our chairs with our sunscreen and hats when went for a walk or to eat, and didn't have problems all week. However someone took our towels on the last day. We ended up having to go to reception and explain the situation because we didn't want to get charged 20$ per towel. They ended up giving us more cards but were adamant they would charge us if we lost those ones.

We rented cabanas for 15$ a day at the adult pool, highly recommended! Quiet and in the shade. And there are chairs too if you don't rent the cabana. Right next to the pool and bar.

I went to the spa and got a relaxation massage. If you book a spa appointment within your first 48h you get 40% off. So it was 84$ instead of 140$ for 50 mins. And you get access to their saunas and pool specifically for the spa for 1 hour before or after. Totally worth it!

We did the escape room as a group on site. It was 30$ per person which I found expensive. But we had a good time.

Some of the group took a taxi into town to buy wine and chips. Some went on excursions and said it went well and it was fun.

Some downsides… no room service included, except for coffee, or it was for a fee. We found that very odd. No snacks left in the rooms either or available elsewhere on the resort. Checkout was at 12 but we didn't leave until 6pm… which was fine, they kept our luggage in a locked room, but the facilities room they offered didn't have a hair dryer or plugs for a hair dryer, only 3 showers too and the lockers didn't work. Again… just odd. It's a very very big resorts, so lots of people and far to walk between buildings and restaurants. There is a little train service which was useful as our group was scattered between all the buildings. For a group we were expecting to be put closer together. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach was amazing! Reserving pool cabanas at the adults pool are totally worth it! The spa was relaxing and discounted price when booked within the first 48h.
The weak points
No included room service, except for coffee. Sometimes no restaurants were open expect the sports bar. No snacks really available, unless at a cost. Service at the pool bars was slow and staff sometimes not so friendly.
Certified

Service was significantly lacking

, Esterel, QC
2023-01-16
This is a very nice hotel and has great infrastructure (superb clear, turquoise water beach, 3 aquapark for the kids, terrific kids club, nice shows, lots of restaurants). We stayed for 28 days over Christmas and new Year Dec 2022-Jan 2023. Everything went well, but the only major issue is lack of service in the buffet. They will not give you a fork or a knife or a glass with the beverage. Onu momento -- means una hora or it will never happen. Hence, please be prepared to go and get everything by yourself. This is true for the downstairs buffet as well as for the upstairs (Santa Fe steakhouse) buffet. The glasses in this restaurant are not well washed and there seems to be a problem with washing the dishes as well. The workers at this hotel seem very unhappy and not motivated at all to help. Nobody during our 28 days stay asked us about our experience or asked us to fill out a survey. I was very surprised. Th e workers would walk around, but they will not come to help you at the buffet restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Nice hotel in most ways -- beach, pools, 3 aquatic parks, bars, etc.
The weak points
Dismal service at the buffet restaurants for the entire duration of our 4 week stay. (They will not provide you with utensils, or water and don't ask them to get you a beverage - it will not happen).
Certified

Good Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2023-01-11
Loved the resort. So beautiful and so big. Will have to come back to be able to do everything. We stayed 10 days and definitely enjoyed our stay. The dinner buffet was my least favourite food but we loved all the restaurants. Only thing that I feel could make this place better is the service. No one getting drinks around the pool which is hard with children to go to the bar for a drink all the time. Also the service at the buffet was either great or terrible. Some days we got great service some days we didn't get water or cutlery to eat with. Overall the resort was beautiful and we had a great vacation. Would most likely return to this resort if we return to the Dominican again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Restaurants Pools Drinks Beach
The weak points
Service Dinner buffet
Certified

Barcelo bavaro vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-14
The weather was fantastic & the resort was great. We had a suite which was worth the minor upgrade as provides nice beach/ocean view & personal tub on each balcony to relax with a soak. A nice beach for long walks each day & no issues with seaweed. Bring your snorkel to swim with the turtles or other fishies.

Golf course is a short walk away & it's truly a tough test. Very nice layout with lots of water so bring golf balls. Can buy a green fee package with four rounds for $240 usd. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-awesome soft sand beach with lots of chairs & palm trees for shade -no peddlers or locals trying to sell goods -great golf course onsite & short walk away -mini-train to transport guests around resort -only 20 minute bus ride from the airport
The weak points
-huge resort with congested buffet at times & plan to walk a lot -less than stellar service at restaurants -no bar or drink service on the beach -Proshop staff were impolite & didnt help much. -free wifi in the casino. Can buy daily wifi for $12
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-03-03
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Barceló Bavaro Palace. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology. Being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Regarding your comments about the internet service, let me inform you that the service has a speed in which multiple users make use of the same network without difficulty. For this reason, it entails an extra charge. We also have our Club Premium service, which within the facilities that this account one of them is the free internet service. Again, we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Cordially, César Güílamo General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Superbe vacances

, Amherst, QC
2020-02-13
C'était notre première expérience au Bavaro Barcelo Palace Juste wow Nous étions un groupe de 8 adultes et nous avons tous aimé l'endroit,Nous avons eu un petit problème avec le coffre de sécurité Le service est vraiment très rapide. Endroit calme avec pleins d'activités Plage mer piscine no 1.Les restos à la carte très bons , buffets variés. Le Vin et les drinks ok Chambre grande et confortable. café délicieux J'Y retournerais sans hésiter [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
14 jours de pur bonheur Propreté de tout le site toilette incuse bouffe et buffet variés, resto à la carte très bons Japonnais et italien les meilleurs ,mer et plage agréable facile de s'y retrouver même si c'est grand .Site adapté aux familles
The weak points
Pas beaucoup de service en français
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-03-03
Cher invité, Tout d'abord, nous tenons à vous remercier pour les commentaires positifs que vous avez partagés concernant votre récente visite à notre hôtel Barceló Bavaro Palace, nous sommes ravis de savoir que nous avons pu répondre à vos attentes. À Barceló, nous savons que les repas sont un aspect important de l'expérience de vacances de nos clients dans nos hôtels, c'est pourquoi notre équipe de chefs prépare pour chaque service une grande variété de délices pour répondre à toutes les exigences alimentaires et essayer de plaire. palais les plus exigeants. Par conséquent, nous sommes très heureux d'avoir pu rencontrer le vôtre. Nous vous remercions de souligner la propreté de nos installations, étant pleinement conscients qu'il s'agit d'un aspect d'une importance vitale pour que nos clients se sentent à l'aise dans notre hôtel. Notre personnel de nettoyage effectue un nettoyage en profondeur de nos installations et chambres chaque jour. Encore une fois, nous vous remercions pour cette merveilleuse opinion, ce fut un plaisir pour nous de la lire et nous nous réjouissons de vous servir à nouveau bientôt. Cordialement, César Güílamo Gerente General Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Great vacation

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-09
Very good, great variety in food, very clean that i would definitely return, only problem very poor wifi even if we paid & chairs in Theater very uncomfortable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, welcoming,
The weak points
Wifi
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-03-03
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. At Barceló, we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. The access to our Wifi service may be slower during peak hours when many guests login to our network, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our techincal department for revision and improvement. Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Cordially, César Güílamo General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Best time of my life

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-04
Everything was amazing from the time I got to the hotel to the timer left the bar staff are so nice servers are great sports bar was good the casino is even better and the discotheque was amazing the pools are very beautiful the beaches were nice and all the different things you could do need it so much better swimming with the dolphins parasailing catamarans the best of all was the Coco bongo show that I've never seen in my life so good I will come back and see they're just to go to party there again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everyone was very nice very helpful beautiful gift shops all the different tours definitely would do it again should I bring three or four more people
Certified
Hotel reply, General Manager, on 2020-03-03
Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Bávaro Palace was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Cordially, César Güílamo General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace.

Fabulous Vacation!

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-29
The hotel is huge, the rooms were amazing! Large terrace, beautiful ocean views, clean, the beds were very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was spectacular! Having lunch on the Las Brisas patio watching the turquoise coloured water and the sea turtles swimming by, was magical!
Certified

Great family vacation

, Hudson, ON
2019-03-19
This is a huge resort a lot of walking. So much to do. Food was good lots of variety. Beaches and ocean were beautiful, you could walk down the beach for miles. The pool was one of the best I have ever seen, very big. I liked that the pool split in to three different ones. we felt very safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There is so much to do at this resort, you and your family will never be board. great staff, beautiful place. HUGE resort. enjoyed the bowling/game centre. the water park was nice.
The weak points
The show started at 10 pm would have preferred a earlier show time 8 or 9. The kids pool and bar shut down at 6 pm would have preferred this to stay open latter. Bed was hard and we could not set the clocks. Free wifi would have been a big plus.
Certified

March Vacation

, Florenceville Bristol, NB
2019-03-12
We had a wonderful vacation at Barcelo Bavaro Palace! It was our first trip to Punta Cana and we would definitely return any time soon! We stayed in a Jr Family Suite and had tons of room. The wifi was perfect for the kids as they love to stay connected with their friends. We loved the beaches, food and nightly entertainment! Lots to do on the resort and we enjoyed the golf, mini-golf, bowling and shopping! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was great! Restaurants were amazing and our favourite was the Japonese restaurant followed closely by the Steak House! Our room was big with lots of room for our family of four! We were close to the beach and pools! Lots to do!
Certified

January 2019 visit@ Barcelo Bavaro Palace

, Toronto, ON
2019-01-22
We had a wonderful time , we were greeted with a welcome cocktail and this time our check in didn't take very long ( this was our 3rd visit to this resort) Our room was stocked with water and fresh towels snacks etc.. every day. THE HOTEL IS LARGE lots of walking is required- The beach is BEAUTIFUL you can see the bottom .The entertainment starts at 10 PM every night wish it would start earlier-Every bar served us quickly and with smiles In the Buffet the waitresses were right their to fill your glasses and offer you a drink [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean,comfortable great beach The Adult pool & bar
The weak points
language (its our fault) we don't speak Spanish , Wifi in one area only and not enough seating -
Certified

Barceló bávaro palace

, Concord, ON
2018-10-03
This is the second time at this hotel.
The complex is great
The food was better 5 years ago, this time I did not enjoyed it. Too much mixed salads or food that I didn't know what was in it.
Needs more variety of fruits.
I did not like the service at the restaurants.
The food at the Mexican restaurant was bad and the service awful.
Too many mosquitos in the room, my whole body has mosquito bites.
The check in process is terrible long.
The hotel went down in quality and service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice complex
The weak points
Bad service Food not good
Certified

Barcelo Bavaro palace

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-17
Overall lovely vacation. We've never been to the Dominican Republic so I really had no expectations. The rooms were great. We had a family room deluxe, the water park was right outside our door. The pirates islan waterpark was a let down. My son was too short to go on the slides so I was happy one visit was included, because there's no way $20 USD is worth it. There wasn't a wide variety of drinks. And the food was just ok. We had reservations at a restaurant every night so that helped. The Japanese and Mexican were the best. The resort is huge but we really only needed to keep to half of it because the family section is near everything so we didn't find it bad for walking at all.

All in all it was a great trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots to do for the kids
The weak points
Food and drinks
Certified

Fully wheelchair accessible, great food

, North Bay, ON
2018-03-19
We stayed at Barcelo Bavaro Palace with three generations including a grandparent with a disability. The resort is big and has lots to offer. The rental scooter that we booked ahead of time really helped. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food! Great variety at the buffet. A la cartes were excellent. The resort is fully accessible for wheelchairs & scooters. The fitness centre is fully equipped and offered daily yoga classes. The beach, sand, weather...
The weak points
Spring Break partiers at the swim-up bar.
Certified

Perfect vacation!

, St Hubert, QC
2017-12-10
Very good hotel! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent resort for children

, Toronto, ON
2017-11-25
This hotel was really lovely. We had a hard time choosing a vacation that would best accommodate our 9 month old son and this resort was fantastic. The staff LOVE babies and made him feel very special everywhere we went. He was even saying "hola" by the time the trip was over.
For families with older children, you will ADORE the kids pool. It's amazing with multiple water slides, fountains, and has various levels of depths to suit several ages. Plus, they have a bar there to keep adults happy while watching their children.
Pro-tip: bring a couple zip lock bags to take snacks out of the buffet for when it's closed. With our baby, we found that his nap schedule didn't always work out for meal times (ie dinner opens at 6:30pm).
Pro-tip: if you have a day-napper, bring a flashlight or something for your room. All the lights are connected so once the light is out, you're stuck in the dark until they wake up! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
baby-crazy staff, kids water park, warm, shallow ocean
The weak points
not enough hooks in the rooms for wet towels, all lights connected, awkward opening times for the buffet
Certified

Couple at Punta Cana

, Vancouver, BC
2017-11-19
We had a great experience at Barcelo at Riviera Maya in Mexico so we wanted to try the same hotel in Punta Cana. Big disappointment.
Room: We got a superior room right by the golf course and farthest from the beach with 2 queen beds. None of us are playing golf. Plus the safe was not working. We changed the room the next day as we wanted a king bed and closer to the beach. To move closer to the beach they asked for 45Us/night which we didn't want to pay after the entire trip was overpriced. So we stayed by the gold course. A good 8-10 min walk to the main area. The first morning, the cleaning lady came at 7.30am to clean the room. We told her to come back later which she did not do. The room did get clean for the remaining of the week.
Food: average to mediocre. We did 6 a la carte restaurant. Best service and food: mexican. We gladly tip her. The rest was average. The waiters visible waiting for tips. We did the Japanese restaurant twice. First time, great food, great service. We gladly tip the cook and the waiter. Second time, once the cook finished the tapayaki, he stayed stayed with us, looking at us while we were eating, waiting for tips. We gave him 5$ but he continued to wait to get money from the rest of the people at the table. The waiter asked my husband: did you like my service? The food at the buffet was average. Maybe a bit better at the Dominican buffet than Miramar, even though they are next to each other. The sports bar had good food.
Staff/Crew: 70% of the people lacking proper customer service skills from the people at the reception, to restaurant staff to the lady who booked our a la carte (she booked us at the bar, not a table, for the Spanish restaurant without asking us, we found out when we got to the restaurant and we couldn't get a table). Crew/Staff did not seem happy to be there. Moreover, the drinks were a hit and miss, depending who was preparing them. Same drink could taste very different. A few times, the drinks were undrinkable.

Entertainment: great shows every night at the theatre great disco music, good casino, good entertainment during the day at the pool.

Overall: we wouldn't stay at this resort again. The resort might be good for families with kids who only eat at the buffet, don't have a lot of interactions with the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pools, beach, casino, shows every night
The weak points
staff and food
Certified

Canadian family trip

, Brooklin , ON
2017-02-07
Excellent stay all around. With 2 kids age 6 and 9 we can't say enough great things about the stay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids club was terrific, we could drop them off for an hour or two to have some adult time anytime up until midnight so you can have dinner with family and drop kids off for an hour to have a cocktail or hit the casino on your own before bed.
Certified

Barcelo Deluxe

, Brampton, ON
2016-10-17
Amazing! Loved every moment of it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Wonderfull week

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-07-12
very good hotel, food and drink are well prepared and always available
May pools and close to the sea, huge hotel but enough place for everyone . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice place, but perhaps a bit overambitiuous

, Ottawa, ON
2016-04-04
Gorgeous grounds, nice rooms, excellent pools, most staff very friendly. Very good golf course. Very good kids program - flexible, accommodating staff. You can leave kids at club during mealtime breaks in programming and even arrange to have staff take them for meals (but this is not always made clear at outset). No movies in room for the kids at night. Should be a few more inclusions: wave/slide pool, some room service, some imported wines, Wi-Fi, games room, some imported wines, laundry service (or option of self-service). Junior suites are NOT suites (don't be fooled by name) - go with "family deluxe rooms", especially if staying more than a week. These are nice and spacious. Very comfortable beds. More seaweed removed from adjacent ocean would be good for swimming, but sand and water lovely. Very long wait at check-in (to be fair, it WAS March break). Challenging to get get bookings in A La Carte restaurants (again, March break). Dress code for adults and older kids a bit too strict(don't need to be in long pants and closed shoes to look decent - the code would be more appropriate at an Adults' Only resort). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous grounds. Nice pools. Beaches very nice: very fine soft sand, and beautiful warm water. Nice buildings and décor. Nice golf course facility and staff. Kids Club staff very nice and it was a hit with my two boys (aged 8 and 10).
The weak points
For quiet at night, aim for upper floor room in family section. A bit too much seaweed in beachfront swim area. Somewhat bureaucratic in its procedures. No movies in rooms (necessary for kids). Wine at dinner extra, unless you can the local stuff
Certified

A1

, London, ON
2016-03-25
fantastic the best ever [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
best beach, very safe, lots of water sports, bowling, putt-r-golf, casino disco, beautiful golf course, water slides, lobster and other seafood at lunch everyday, plenty of options for any taste bud, lots of desserts, ice cream, close to airport
The weak points
activation staff not very personable, table servers at buffet could be a little faster and smile
Certified

Gorgeous Resort

, White City, SK
2016-03-18
We had a wonderful experience at this resort. Everything was either good or great! The nightly shows were amazing. The food and dinners were fabulous! Staff was so helpful and always had time for a question. We loved our modern room and housekeeping was great. Room service meals were delivered hot and not a long wait. Kids paradise with the water parks, mini golf and the arcade. We will definitely be returning to this fabulous resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was fabulous.Those suffering with food allergies can be assured they take this very seriously. My daughter has severe nut allergies and we were given a card to present at meals. They ensured her food was safe and we had no issues at all.
The weak points
Wifi is very touchy. Found it locked you out and you had to log in so many times a day.
Certified

Fabulous family vacation!!!

, St. Catharines, ON
2016-02-16
Just returned from a week here. The resort was incredible and my whole family had a great time!!
We are a family of four with two 15-17 year old teenagers. The grounds were beautiful, and this had to be the cleanist resort, the staff were in the hallways washing floors, and the pool and beach bathrooms which are very busy constantly had staff in there cleaning!
The a la cartes were incredible and had the best wait staff. Also the sports bar had the best bartenders and waitresses, especially Lassandra who was the best and so very kind!
We stayed in a family duplex room, it was perfect, the beds and pillows were so comfortable and the rain showers were amazing!!!
The beach was amazing and the weather was so nice and hot!!!
This was by far the best resort for its beauty, beach, service and food that I have ever been to!!! I don't speak Spanish but never had any difficulty with any staff communicating what I wanted and found all the staff to be very friendly!!
Never once did the kids ever complain of being bored and honestly so nice to have them without their iphones and computers...great family time... Loved it!!
Thanks for a memorable vacation!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Beach Rooms Food
The weak points
None
Certified

Great holiday

, Newmarket, ON
2016-02-06
Loved it! Beautiful grounds and beach. Great staff. Paradise. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the steak and Japanese restaurants. The Seafood and Mexican Restaurants were ok. Didn't care for the Spanish or golf course restaurants. Fabulous coffee and cappuccino at the coffee bar.
The weak points
Minor point. There was no way to have a dim light to go to the washroom through the night or if one person was up earlier than the other. It is a partial wall between washroom area and bedroom area so turning on washroom light illuminates the whole room.
Certified

BARCELO BAVARO PALACE

, St. John S, NL
2015-04-07
Had a wonderful time will definitely return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches were excellent place was spotless food was very good
The weak points
at times there was a minor language barrier
Certified

Good, Clean Resort

, Brandon, MB
2015-04-06
The hotel was very large and clean. We had found our room always very clean, we did not like the open concept of the bathroom with teenage children. You had to change in the frosted glassed bathroom which we did not like. Nice for couples. You could not get a drink anywhere on the beach you had to walk to a bar by the restaurant or go to the swim up pool to get a drink. If you wanted service at the swim up bar you had to tip or they made you wait for the people who tipped. The restaurant (buffet) was good, we couldn't get into our a la carte. Internet was costly for a few minutes 5.00 for 15 mins but you could buy the week for 45.00 but only one person could go on at a time. Beach was long and very nice, lots of security no locals selling on the beach. Walking distance to motor excursions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was beautiful and the resort was very big and very clean which was a plus.
The weak points
internet service costly when you purchased it for the week for 45.00 only one person can be on at a time you had to log out and next person log in. only one swim up pool bar and long waits unless you tipped then you got service. Language barrier an issue
Certified

A memorable vacation

, Oakville, ON
2015-03-06
We have never been to such an outstanding resort. The only negative is that this resort is so big and if you are of elderly age, there is a lot of walking to do. I specifically requested close to ocean or pool but was not accomodated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and accomodations
The weak points
too big for elderly
Certified

Barcelo Bavaro Palace!

, St Laurent, QC
2015-02-03
We loved our stay at the Barcelo Bavaro Palace. It was our first time at a Barcelo resort, although we travel quite often & we were very impressed. The beach, rooms & food were all fantastic. We would definately go back. My only compalaint is that for a 5 star resort, internet access/WiFi should be included in the price of the package even if it means paying a few dollars more per person. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, rooms, & food.
The weak points
Internet access quite slow. Food quite good, but often cold on the buffet.
Certified

Would go back in a heart beat!

, Toronto, ON
2014-10-08
OMG, this hotel was absolutely amazing! So clean you can eat off floors. Food was so yummy, staff very polite and tried their best to speak English. Room was perfect (Deluxe suite), beach was breath taking and the weather was perfect! DJ was a bit all over the place with his music but that's the worst thing I can comment on. Hugh Heffner was there too so that's what made me realize we chose la creme de la creme of resorts! :-)
Side note to vacationers: tip well. These people work so hard and living in DR is not easy... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, staff amazing
The weak points
DJ at disco doesn't play well
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2023