Occidental Punta Cana

Occidental Punta Cana
3.603.603.603.603.60
3.60 based on 538 reviews
#37 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (195)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456789

Vacation winter break

, Halifax, NS
2020-02-28
Staff were very professional and service was excellent rooms were very clean and neat all services of the hotel we very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms very good food good service good
The weak points
Alacarts could of been better
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-03
Dear Randy Withrow, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. There is nothing more important to us than meeting our guests' expectation. We are glad to seemingly have done so in your case. We guarantee that on your future visit to the Occidental Punta Cana we will not only meet, but surpass your expectations. Once again, we thank you for your preference. It was our pleasure to host you. Sincerely, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Beautiful Resort - Food Variety could be better

, Alliston, ON
2020-02-10
The Occidental Punta Cana from the Barcelo Group of Hotels / Resort is a good upkeep resort. Grounds are very clean and well maintained. Beachfront is one of the best I have been in the Dominica Republic. The resort every morning cleans the beach of any overnight seaweed that wash up and they rake the beach. The beach is wide and long so you don't seem crowed.

Their staff are very friendly and if you provide them a tip the added value they provide is even better. You don't need to Tip every time but they get many Russian Nationalists during January and February, they seem not to tip and Canadians and Americans always seem to be tipping more frequently and the staff seems to provide a better service to them.

I was in Block 24 which is very close to the beach and main pool. The rooms are spacious and modern. Bathrooms are shower only so if you are looking for bathtub I am not sure they have one. The resort was not very pushing when it came to their timeshare or vacation club. I don't think you need to spend the extra on the Royal Level. Rooms are bigger but not worth the price difference.

The main buffet was nice and the seating very modern. A good selection of food, but very repetitive. After the third day got bored with the selection. They also had beachfront Buffet but there the selection was even less. As for the Al-cart restaurants you need to book these right when you arrive as the time slots fill up very quickly. I went to the Italian, Steak House and Mexican. I would avoid Italian as its waste of time. The Steak House and Mexican were ok. On another note even though they had a dress code this rule was not enforced which disappointed me. Too many many men came in with shorts and sandals.

The Nightly entertainment was ok but the music that was played in lobby bar was really good in the early part of the evening.

One more note WiFi is not free anywhere on the resort. They wanted 45USD for 7 days. If you have a roam like home plan for your phone its cheaper to use your own plan then pay for their spotty WiFi. Plus you can use text and phone calls, then trying to use Wifi apps like Whatsapp or Signal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Well Maintained - Friendly Staff - Beautiful beachfront - Nice and Comfortable rooms - Service was excellent
The weak points
- Food Variety - Daily Activities was boring - Al-cart Restaurants not that great
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Steve De Medeiros, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are pleased to know that in most regards we were able to satisfy your expectations and that, in general, our staff was able to positively contribute to the outcome of your stay. That said, we strive to offer nothing less than a five-star quality of service for each and every single one of our guests. Rest assured, we will take every measure to improve these areas for our future guests. Once again, we express our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us at the Occidental Punta Cana. Needless to say, we'd be thrilled to welcome you back in the near future. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Disapointment

, Saint Laurent Montreal, QC
2020-02-01
Understaffed,very small beach,not enough space on the beach because they reserved half of it for the royals.below average repetitive food .very loud music. What bother most are the pedlars that are every where not only on the beach but every where trying to repeatedly to trick you into a scam planned by the hotel management. This resort is giving a bad reputation to the Barolo chain [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good ,polite staff .good rooms
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-26
Dear Mohamad Mourtada, I would like to thank you for taking a moment to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Although we always strive to give each and every one of our guests an excellent experience, we do understand that it is not always possible to fulfill their expectations. I would like to apologize for anything you might've encountered during your time with us that made your holidays less than perfect and left you with such a negative perception of the service we provide our guests. That said, we use guest reviews to determine which areas we need to improve, which is why I have forwarded your suggestions for consideration to the management team of the hotel. On behalf of the Occidental Punta Cana and its staff, I would like to reiterate our appreciation for choosing to stay with us. I hope you reconsider giving us another opportunity to serve you and, this time, exceed your expectations. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best Regards, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Comments on Occidental Punta Cana

, Québec, QC
2020-01-05
We hae been to the Occidental Punta Cana for 14 days. We enjoy it. Beautiful site, clean, excellent food, animation team, spectacles, nice room. We tried all restaurant and everything was good. We receiving good services from the personal exceptionaly Kassandra Benjamin Perez who was wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean site, excellent food and varieties. Kassandra Benjamin was a exceptional employee. She answer to all the questions we have with professionnalist.
The weak points
I suggest a little bar in day time near to the principal pool close the the theater.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-01-13
Dear Lynda Durand, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us at Occidental Punta Cana. We are pleased to know you enjoyed a five star experience, principally due to our staff dedication. I will make sure to share your words with Kassandra. We will be glad to host you again. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Marcos Castillo General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Still like it !

, Yarmouth, NS
2019-10-23
We have been to this resort 4 years in a row ,as we do appreciate all the work that has been put into the resort and rooms we find that the music in the lobby bar during the afternoon and early evening needs to be addressed we didn't enjoy the funeral this year ,the music years before you played 60'S 70's 80's was so enjoyable please switch back also the band playing for almost 2 hours before the show is way to long we like Spanish music and understand it is your culture but listing all day at the pool bar and evening in the lobby bar and then so long before the shows is a bit much it is like if you want a good seat you have to sit through all the singing and to be truthful he is not all that great it was disappointing last year not quite sure if we will be returning this year on the other hand we loved the staff and the food everyone one goes above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable hope you can address this issue thanks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
love the staff super friendly
The weak points
sad music in the lobby bar
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-10-28
Dear Mcgee, We truly appreciate the time taken to share you recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. In general we are pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectations with regards to our installations, food options and, most of all, that we were able to offer you a pleasant holiday experience. I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments and suggestions regarding the less than satisfactory aspects of your stay with our management, so appropriate measures can be taken to improve the quality of our vacation offerings. Once again, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. This time, to offer you an experience far better than your last. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Kind regards, Ámbar Guzmán Assistant Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Roy's Review of the Occidental Punta Cana

, Newcastle, ON
2019-07-21
Before reading my comments, understand that we've travelled to quite a few different resorts and chains that fall within various ends of the spectrum (cost, services, prominent locations etc.).

1) The resort overall was meticulous. We were very impressed with the ongoing maintenance and upkeep of the grounds and facilities. Hotel staff that were responsible for the upkeep of the rooms were extremely friendly, and were always willing to help accommodate our requests for additional and/or unique service requests that didn't fall within a typical cleaning schedule.

2) With respects to restaurants/food/beverage/service, we have the following comments:

a) The variety of A le carte restaurant's was excellent, but the service was somewhat disappointing. Overall, the service staff seemed more focused on clearing dirty dishes than making an effort to initially greet new guests. In one case, we waited for over 20 min (as did the new table next to us who were seated within the same timeline) for water and a greeting.

b) For those of you who are accustomed to travelling to other locations within the Caribbean, you may know that for the most part hotel staff can speak "enough" English to understand your orders or requests. At this location, and we've found this within most the Dominican Repulic, English is not widely spoken / understood so you'll need to have patience. The restaurant "Captains" were the only ones that took orders, so service can be slower than what you may be used to. Book your seating times around this as it can add as much as 45min or more to service time. (not an issue if you're truly on vacation mode :).

c) Main buffet's did not provide a lot of variety day to day, but the food was consistent.

3) Beach: The beach size and cleanliness was excellent given the amount of seaweed that would wash ashore each morning. Kudo's to the staff who were up at sunrise to give everyone the best experience possible!

4) Hotel Rooms: This resort does not offer smoke-free options for accommodations. For those of you who may have a sensitivity to smoke, I'd caution you to look elsewhere. The smell was prominent throughout the building, and each morning it was at times overwhelming. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-07-23
Dear Ian Roy, We truly appreciate the time taken to share you recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. In general we are pleased to hear that we were able to meet your expectations with regards to our installations, food options and, most of all, that we were able to offer you a pleasant holiday experience. I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments and suggestions regarding the less than satisfactory aspects of your stay with our management, so appropriate measures can be taken to improve the quality of our vacation offerings. We would like to sincerely extend our apologies to you for the perceived lack of service and for not meeting your expectations with our food and drink selection. Once again, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. This time, to offer you an experience far better than your last. It was our sincerest pleasure to serve you. Kind regards, Ámbar Guzmán Assistant Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Not for food lovers.

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-14
Grounds, pool and beach excellent. Food needs some attention. Pineapple not cored before putting in bowls in buffet. Chicken overcooked and unedible. Meat generally not up to par, either overcooked or undercooked. Acoustics need to be adjusted as entertainment was far too loud to catch what was being said. So loud it could be heard in the lobby bar but unbearable to be near theatre. Even children were covering their ears. Chanting and clapping by staff outside buffet drowning out the sound of entertainment in the lobby and totally unnecessary. Very annoying to those waiting for dinner. Soft music while waiting to get in would be more enjoyable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, immaculate grounds, well kept rooms, nice pools, plenty of lounge chairs available at beach and near pools.
The weak points
Very noisy first week as plenty of spring break students there. Impossible to get near swim up bar. Some drinks either unavailable or watered down.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-01
Dear Arlene Lamarche, First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your recent experience with us at the Occidental Punta Cana. We are glad that in many aspects you were satisfied with our holiday offering, but know we have reviewed all of your comments and suggestions and have taken the liberty of sharing them with the management of our resort. It is through unbiased feedback and customer reviews that we are able to target the specific areas where we need to improve. Our primary goal is, and always will be, to offer each and every one of our guests nothing less than a five-star quality of service. Please accept our sincere apologize for any difficulties you experienced. We guarantee that we will look further into your claims and take any steps necessary to improve in these areas. Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope that in the future you reconsider letting us host you again. We guarantee that we will not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Cordial regards, Ambar Guzman Assistant Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Beautiful Resort!

, Owen Sound, ON
2019-03-18
This was our 2nd time to the Occidental Punta Cana having been there last March. We found that this year there seemed to be so much more attention paid to the resort. There was always work being done around the villas, pool areas, grounds, walkways etc. We found the food was wonderful at the buffet with lots of variety. We enjoyed 4 of the 5 a la carte restaurants and found everything to be delicious. Our room was very clean and in good repair. Air conditioning worked well and we loved the fan over the bed! Our coffee maker didn´t work on the first day and one word to the cleaning staff and we were given a new one! The staff were always kind and friendly! I loved that they were patient with my broken Spanish! The beach area was gorgeous with lots of chairs! My husband loved the volleyball and tennis courts!
Overall, the only complaint we would voice is that they accept high school and college groups who tend to take over the resort at times and are not always respectful of adults and families who are there. At the bar areas we were often frustrated when the young people would cut the line and go to the side to ask for a drink. If they had made friends with the bartender then they were served ahead of others. It was certainly not as bad as we have experienced at other resorts in the past but are happy that we do not have to travel around Spring or March Break times again.
In all we would definitely recommend the Occidental Punta Cana as it truly is a beautiful resort and hope to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The grounds were meticulously maintained! Chairs around the pool areas fully recline and are in good shape. There are lots of shady areas as well. The beach is much better than some of the ones further down on either side because there is little erosion.
The weak points
Just the fact that large groups of young people are accepted but I guess if you want to avoid this then you go to a pricier resort or at a different time of year!
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-15
Dear Curtis Coyne, Thank you for rating the quality of our hotel. Needless to say, we are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Resort

, Dsl De Drummond, NB
2019-03-01
Like it very much would go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants a la carte were very good
The weak points
The persons for information at our section were annoying they wanted to sell timeshare.wifi was too expensive
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-15
Dear Rejean Michaud, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to rate your experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are pleased to know that in most regards we were able to satisfy your expectations. That said, we strive to offer nothing less than a five-star quality of service for each and every single one of our guests. Once again, we express our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us at the Occidental Punta Cana. Needless to say, we would be happy to welcome you back in the near future. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Visit

, Pembroke, ON
2019-02-22
Not enough English spoken by staff.Staff are very slow to respond to requests.very crowded and loud. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather and food
The weak points
To hot and humid. Very crowded and loud.staff very slow to respond to requests.staff should be able to speak more English.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-15
Dear Douglas Hillman, First and foremost, we thank you for your feedback. That said, this moment warrants a sincere apology on our behalf for being unable to successfully meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for our shortcomings in service and, furthermore, our inability to improve your experience during your stay. We truly regret this marred your perception of our holiday offering. Our primary goal is, and always will be, to offer each and every one single one nothing less than an excellent experience, a five-star quality of service. So we guarantee we will improve in the areas you outlined in your review. We would like to reiterate our appreciation to you for giving us this opportunity to host you. We truly hope that you reconsider visiting us in the future. Your next stay with us will surpass your expectations. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Not going back to this place

, Mississauga, ON
2019-01-22
Smokers are everywhere!
They should have a designated smoking area because not everyone smokes, especially with a lot of kids around.

Not changing bed linens everyday. Left note 3rd night to change bed linens, just changed flat sheet. 5th night, left note again, didn't changed bed sheet. Bed sheets didn't change for 7 nights. We were group of 5, my 2 daughters and myself had bed bites (from bed bugs-I guess).

Only one restaurant for breakfast and it was horrible line up at the on the weekends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff in the restaurant except the short hair lady at the buffet. Nice and clean place.
The weak points
Smokers everywhere. Not changing bed linens everyday or at least every other day. Not many selection at the buffet restaurant. Its almost the same everyday.
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-04-15
Dear Mjessieri, First and foremost, we thank you for sharing your experience with us. That said, this moment warrants a sincere apology on our behalf for being unable to successfully meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for our shortcomings in service and, furthermore, our inability to improve your experience during your stay. We truly regret this marred your perception of our holiday offering. Our primary goal is, and always will be, to offer each and every one single one nothing less than an excellent experience, a five-star quality of service. So we guarantee we will improve in the areas you outlined in your review. We would like to reiterate our appreciation to you for giving us this opportunity to host you. We truly hope that you reconsider visiting us in the future. Your next stay with us will surpass your expectations. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Cordially, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

Bad service at front desk

, Fall River, NS
2018-03-26
Service at front desk is awful. You can't walk around the resort without someone trying to drag you in for a time share briefing and will not take no for an answer. Would not return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2019-05-01
Dear Kimberley Aube, Thank you for providing us with feedback. Needless to say, it is very disappointing to hear we failed to offer you a pleasant holiday. We sincerely apologize for our shortcomings and hope that you can find it within yourself to give us another opportunity. There is nothing more important to us that providing each one of our guests with an excellent vacation and superior service. We would like to prove this to you. This is why we want you to know that we are constantly refreshing and renewing our installations and services. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future, so we can not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Cordially, Ambar Guzman Assistant Manger Occidental Punta Cana

Great week

, Drummond, NB
2018-03-12
we check in on Saturday and out a week later ! the weather was great and theres so much to do in this area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
big rooms, great beach, clean, good wifi and staff, 4 bars, good foods in restaurants, quick check in and out, big shower, staff speak both English or french , pharmacie available
The weak points
food at the buffet is a bit salty, but the omelettes in the morning make up for it
Certified

Occidental was exalental

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-20
had a fun time ill be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good Vacation at the Occidental Punta Cana

, Glencoe, ON
2018-02-19
We had a good time. Room was nice, buffet and ala carte restaurants were good. Staff was excellent. Only down side was very little shade at pool and beach and the persistant timeshare staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Good food. Nice room.
The weak points
Very little shade at the pool and beach. Beach had no palapas, only palm trees. Being pestered to buy into the vacation club timeshare.
Certified

OK, but awful customer service

, Pointe Claire, QC
2017-11-02
We arrived on a Thursday at 2pm and didn't get our room key until Friday 6pm...system was broken. We had to get a maid or security guard to access our tooms. They didn't care that we had to go a dozen times to the front desk for an update. No apology or compensation for thr inconvenience either! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good for DR, pool area was nice and beach was not crowded.
The weak points
Awful customer service at front desk, sweet syrup stuff in drinks, limited night life.
Certified

Occidental Punta Cana Hotel

, St Albert, AB
2017-05-14
It was a wonderful holiday and meet our expectations and more. I would stay again. It was just the right size. My husband who has had knee surgery, was able to get around the resort quite well. Recommend building 22-26 and the 3rd level. High celings and no grass bugs to bite. This hotel is beautifully renovated! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This is not a mega sized resort.So easy to get around from one place to the next. Grounds beautifully landscaped. Wonderful palm grove on the beach for shade. Always a lounger available whether at pool or beach. Great nitely entertainment for all.ages.
The weak points
Great variety of food and ala cartes overall very nice ,but exercise caution at buffets as anywhere in the tropics!Staff with limited English, be patient and express yourself well. Tip well and things go smoothly!
Certified

Could have been better!

, Plaster Rock, NB
2017-04-16
Very disappointed with the front desk when we arrived and they said they had double booked so therefore we did not get the renovated rooms for 2 days. A day and a half wasted of our vacation. Day 3 before we unpacked. Other than that it was great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food, friendly staff on the beach.
The weak points
Could have more staff on at the bar and at the outside tables. Waiting for the renovated room was a pain!
Certified

Nice

, Shortts Lake, NS
2017-04-10
Overall fantastic vacation. Good food. Easy to get a la cartes. Friendly staff. Great beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff Beautiful beach.
The weak points
Destination for Europeans. Couldn't get away from the cigarette smoke.
Certified

What can I say!!!!!

, Montreal, QC
2017-03-27
Overall was o.k. We ran into trouble with our telephone and T.V. and got the run around for 3 days just to be told in the end that it couldn't be fixed why not just say that right away and not waste my time.They have an idiotic rule about long pants and closed shoes for men when the woman go in Flip flops and short shorts. They only have one breakfast buffet and you can expect to wait in line if you are not and early bird. The beach bar is in the restaurant and the line ups there can be nuts. They have two palapas bars for the First club which only has about 100 people. There are no palaps on the beach so shade can be an issue. They said international drinks when in actuality you have to pay for the good booze.The prices in the gift shop at the hotel are insane 31.00 U.S. for sunscreen $7.00 for yum yum cheezies. Thank goodness for the Flea market down the beach. There are way to many vendors on the beach itself.Ther5e isn't much variety from the dinner and supper buffets unfortunately we had medical issues so we didn't get to the a la carte restaurants which might have diversified the menu options a little bit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach cleanliness, Emillio, Lucie Stephano and the Medical clinic
The weak points
long lines. to much run around gift shop too expensive
Certified

Occidental Punta Cana

, Kinburn, ON
2017-03-10
The first night we were there they put us up in one of the older rooms, toilet bathtub, sinks all slow to drain, the room was a dump after complaining and wasting a day we finally got a newer room. No complaints about the food, although the menu never changes, bar service is terribly slow, (one bartender) its says all inclusive but you will spend 20 - 30 minutes waiting for a drink, in the end bought a bottle so that I could have a drink when I wanted and not wait, bar fridge in room was rarely refilled unless I asked, all in all the vacation was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach, good food
The weak points
poor bar service on beach, older rooms should be condemmed
Certified

WONDERFULL VACATION

, Longueuil, QC
2017-01-12
We just returned from our 9 days winter vacation .We had strong emotions because we saw a lot of negatives comments but we decided to go to Occidental Punta Cana for a few reasons: they offered oceanfront room in the first club , we love Punta Cana it is our favorite sun destination We are traveling a lot in Caribbean ,we were looking for updated/renovated ressort/room and an affordable/ decent price 9 days vacation in a 4-5* hotel .We love to pamper ourselves with a bit of luxury in our vacations and HONESTLY we where impressed by this resort. We arrived in the afternoon of 1 january 2017 .The hotel has a huge luxury reception hall/lobby with nice couches and bar . Everything was spotless, bright and sparkling. A lot of lights , christmas trees and decorations. Wonderfull!! Each palm tree was covered by meters of lights!!The resort is large! They are still renovating some buildings but is no noise. We are happy that we payed extra for the oceanfront first club room because is a huge difference between different buildings. In the first instance the guy from the reception desk [ Philip or Frederick i do not remember his name] ] gave us a welcome drink and blue bracelets and gave us a room in the 13 building witch is not renovated , ugly , smells bad as moisture,old bathroom , etc !!! But eventually he observed his mistake and send us to the first club reception witch is separated from the main reception hall/lobby and there a lady with curly short hair [Thuya or Tina i don't remember her name] received us with no smile on her face and explained us that the building 13 it was not renovated but at least the room is oceanfront . We had to argue with her to obtain a renovated room in the building 26 witch was newly renovated . The room was very nice with jacuzzi outside on the terrace but was on the ground floor . We said that for us the ocean view is very important and always we choose to pay for extra packages in every Caribbean vacation to be sure that we have what is important for us : ocean view and renovated room /updated room.BUT We have always the same problem in the Rep Dominican , even we paye the most expensive package they try first to give you a lesser nice room and eventually if you are arguing and you are not satisfied they are offering you the one you payed for. We had an unexpected sarcastic answer from this lady : ''I think that is a problem with you if you are having this problem all the time ''.We told her that we find her answer very sarcastic and we do not want anything more than what we payed for and she then told us '' in this case you have to wait till tomorow we don't have the room you payed for ! '' This was for us a big disappointment that they are selling rooms that are not available in the first moment of your vacation. Because you pay the full price for that room for the entire vacation not for a day less. Next day we received finally our beautiful ocean view room on the 3th floor wich was nice, clean ,nice smell , newly renovated! Building 26 has elevator and jacuzzi in the balcony.The first club had a nice small lobby with a buffet and bar[international drinks] and a private outdoor lounge with a small pool .Very clean and well designed with confortable beds and couches! The service was ok but the people serving you in the first club are not smiling at all.They look unhappy and bored . We had spoken with tourists in the first club and they had the same impression that the people working there where very sad like someone died , no smiles at all [Cruz was always very sad not a smile on her face even giving her tips ,she will not give you in return any smile ] but she was serving you with good and tasty cocktails in the manner of giving you the impression that she is making you a big favor. The young male bartender in the first club lobby was nice , smiling sometimes. The snacks in the first club where not enough because people from royal club are allowed to eat in the first club too and sometimes they'' clean ''the buffet and they are not bringing more snacks . First come first served, no more, finished ! This is the best answer you can get !
We visited the royal club too and they had also a separate reception with a intimate backyard,lounge, pool restaurant and bar . On the beach they are also 2 separated bars for first club and royal club . I don't know what kind of services they offered at the royal club but in the first club they where not to many, no room service and no concierge service. Actually the first club is preferable for the oceanfront room with jacuzzi and for the international bar and private buffet in the morning .The resort is nice , pools between buildings goes till near the beach The bufet/ bar close to the pool and beach served beer and cocktails , buffet style food and coffee. Very tasty food , plenty to choose from . We preffered to eat there each day to see the nice beach and ocean from our table. We chose that place to eat each day also because of the lady who served us, her name is Estephany who is the best waitress we had in this vacation . We love the dominicain people in generally , we had many vacations in Punta Cana and we know that they are nice smilling people. I don't know why this time people working in this resort who served us , seemed unhappy and generally not smiling . This lady Estephany was diffrent , always with big smile on her face and Very attentive she observed immediately anything missing at our table, very polite and smiling and singing all the time!!!! She was compensating for all the non smiling faces in the resort!!!! She gave us the best customer service in the resort! The resort has many bars and restaurants.The bartenders from the lobby bar and theater bar are also nice and well trained to serve you professionally and quickly. The entertainment team is not the best one i had seen but are nice and ok. In the evening they had very nice shows with professional dancers , each night another troupe of dancers .Very nice shows!!! . They have a band every nice playing life latino music .In the lobby they have a stage and a musician plays jazz and international music. Very nice! They have also a spa , a gym , few shops and a disco . The resort has also a la carte restaurants : japonaise, sea food, italian, mexican, steak house,2 bufets and pizza 24 hours. The food is tasty and fresh , a lot of deserts and cakes , dominican traditional food . The service at the table is not bad but what we don't liked is that they are coming to take your plate every few minutes even they see you are still eating they are asking : ''finish?'' like they rush you to finish and go not enjoy your meal! They are many pools with plenty of beds available , also on the beach you'll find available beds anytime on the day. No palpas on the beach but plenty of shadow from palm trees. White sand beach, turquoise water , no rocks and shells in the ocean, water sports and
sun, plenty of sun in the middle of the winter! The cleaning in the room was good but the service not very impressive even we tipped them everyday they forget always something. One day they put only one towel in the bathroom ,other day they forget to bring a bottle of water , other day they forget the coffee, I had to write down them'' please bring us aqua or coffee.. Service at the phone if you are asking a service is like ok we are coming later to bring you a towel and never came. Even the customer services need improvement [ training in high class customer service, how to serve, how to smile and make confortable the clients, speak basic English ] we'll encourage you to choose this hotel because is newly renovated and clean. We are referring this hotel to friends and familly members because we had great time there and we overall liked this resort!!!! And another big positive point I lost my eyeglasses in the mexicain restaurant and next day i found them in the ''lost and found'' guiche in the lobby with a note attached ! All the grounds are cleaned on a daily basis, my honest evaluation is that this is a 4* Dominican resort [ if all the rooms are finished and renovated] This resort is perfect for couples , groups and family too. They have kid club and daycare. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Luxury lobby,elevator,clean , jacuzzi in balcony , big pools, super nice ocean view building 26 oceanfront [first club ] food 24h , newly renovated , update furniture, flat screen tv, lot of restos and bars, you can smoke in bars lobby,good food and show
The weak points
courtesy and customer service need to be improved , smiling , speak English
Certified

Better than we expected!

, Ottawa, ON
2016-07-18
Three gals (between 53 and 83) spent a week. We are reasonable travelers so we know that when we book a 3 star resort (for a terrific rate) we are not expecting 5 star service or amenities. Because of this, we were all pleasantly surprised by our stay at this resort. The beach was amazing (only sand-no pebbles), the pools were a joy to spend many hours around and in, the food was a solid 7 or 8 out of 10, and the staff were terrific! We got more than we expected from this 3 star resort. My husband and I are returning before the end of the year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic beach, pools, overall layout.
The weak points
Decor in rooms need updating (however, that will also raise the rates considerably).
Certified

Hotel Review

, Laval, QC
2016-07-06
Meet all expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

I would recommend this resort .

, Montreal, QC
2016-06-15
Great time great beach and good food , I would recommend thus resort , can't go wrong for the price . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach , good food very clean the only negative is the rooms are a bit dated but clean like I said . The staff is very polite and friendly and it helps a lot to tip these hard working people once in a while . I would definitely recommend .
The weak points
Only weak point would be not enough palapas on the beach , need more shaded areas.
Certified

50th Anniversary at Occidental Punta Cana

, Toronto, ON
2016-06-08
Our stay at the Occidental was quite nice. This was my first time as a travel agent in Punta Cana but not my first in Dominican. Being an agent I have traveled and seen quite a bit. When it comes to all inclusive you want the full package. Minus the fact that we did not get the rooms that we were hoping for due to construction and renovations the resort and the resort staff were awesome!! They treated us as a family very well and they did what they could to make our stay enjoyable. The food selection in my eyes for an all inclusive was nice! I enjoyed the seafood and the exotic fruits! Entertainment staff were awesome. They all worked hard to please everyone! Once the room renovations are completed and some touch up to the resort take place (pool and walkways) I can see this resort making it back to the top at a 5 star. For now I will give it 3.7* to 4*. Thank you Occidental for making our week a memorable one! Oh.. did I mention the beach is gorgeous!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous beach, great staff, nice layout,nice size pool, good food
The weak points
rooms need updating, bathrooms need renovations, WIFI should be more accessible, safe for many travelers not free
Pro

SO SICK NEVER AGAIN

, Toronto, ON
2016-04-24
Hotel and beach were beautiful but the food poisoned us and we are still sick with diareah, fever and chills. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

April 2016

, Hilden, NS
2016-04-10
Room to beach great time good beach bar fresh blended drinks all bay great selection of food in main restaurant two grill going full time plus crepe station [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and good beach lots of chairs (NEW on beach)
The weak points
towels on chairs at 6 am need to go early to get in the shade
Certified

Nice resort for price you pay

, Parkhill, ON
2016-02-12
This resort has a wonderful selection of restaurants to chose from.Food was good. Some rooms have been upgraded while some haven't(bathrooms) and need it. The resort is in the process of being taken over by new company, so a lot is in transition. We loved the layout of resort as everything was within walking distance. Staff was friendly but was short handed in getting tables cleared off and reset for more people. Night shows were not as interesting as we hoped. Weather was awesome!!Most beautiful beach you can find !!Was good value for the price you pay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and restaurant selection, layout of resort
The weak points
some bathrooms in rooms not renovated yet. dressers in room needs replacing or fixed. Toilets on resort rarely worked and water was sometimes shut off. Needed more staff to clean off tables etc
Certified

VERY DISAPPOINTED

, Cranbrook, BC
2015-11-22
My wife and I just returned from our stay at this resort and lets just say having stayed at the Occidental Xcaret we were very disappointed with this resort. The room we arrived to was less then amazing it smelled like mildew and mold and the bathroom above leaked into our bathroom, I will say after 2 nights we were moved to a different room that made our stay a little better. The resort it self is in real dire need of some major repairs lets just say the resort looks nothing like the photos on their web site. We were only able to dine at 3 of the a la carte restaurants as the 4th was closed for renovations. We also heard and seen evidence of a bed bug issue thankfully not in our room. The staff was somewhat friendly but also had this look and attitude of why do I have to be here. the guest services staff were horrible not very helpful at all and we were met with looks of disgust when we complained about our room. We had to constantly ask for beer to be stocked in our mini fridge, as part of the preference club package we paid for we were supposed to receive nightly turn down service to which was done 3 out of the 7 nights we were there. Beware of the time share salesman or as they like to call it vacation club they are everywhere and have a hard time with the word "NO". My wife and I were here for our 7th wedding anniversary and even though we had mentioned it on more then one occasion at check in the staff didn't really seem to care about our special occasion or us as guests for that matter. The best part of this resort in my eyes was the beach and the pools were ok but again in need of major repairs. The food was ok but not much variety from day to day a lot of the same food items and for an ocean front resort the seafood was very hit and miss, we were also almost always waiting for a table to be cleaned and getting someone to bring us water or any drink was next to impossible. This resort has a 4 star rating which we find had to believe I would give it a 2 star at best. We were told that there were plans to shut down for 5 or 6 months and they were putting 40 million into the resort but not sure if that's true or not if it is true I would recommend waiting to stay here till the renovations are complete and we will never stay at this resort again till we know for sure there has been changes made to the staffs attitude and the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pools
The weak points
Rooms, service, cleanliness.
pages: 123456789

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021