Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana

Bahia Principe Grand Punta Cana
3.973.973.973.973.97
3.97 based on 853 reviews
#24 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (162)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

AIr Transat

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-21
nice hotel, love the train and bus stop [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
some more English speaking employees
Certified

I would not recommend

, Hamilton, ON
2019-05-02
We went as a group of 20 for our sons wedding. Upon arrival, there was not enough staff to check us in to our rooms. Food was good , place was beautiful. On the beach, someone was trying to sell you something constantly. You will be fine until there is a problem or emergency. My husband had a fall getting out of the pool. Staff members are not trained. They were both on the phone calling for help. We were the ones checking my husband's vitals. He was in and out of consciousness. 20 minutes and we carried him on lounge chair to the nearest ground vehicle to the clinic and then to the hospital. No one called us to see how he was. They don't have proper procedures in place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

, Brampton, HA
2019-03-31
We have been so fortunate to have stayed at the resort. The staff is excellent. They maintained cleasiness thru the rooms and the restaurants. The atmosphere was great and the resort was quiet even though it was full. They were organized and professional without any commotion. We truly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Accommodating, clean and courteous. Very large variety of food to please everyone.
The weak points
If some of the staff could speak a bit of English.
Certified

Amazing resort

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-05
This is my second time at bahia principe punta cana and my third time at a bahia principe resort overall. This all inclusive resort is simply amazing. Very clean. Quick attentive friendly staff. Great food both in quantity and quality. Pools were always clean. The beaches are like walking on baby powder they are so fine. I have nothing but praise for the bahia principe resorts and specifically this one in punta cana. My wife and I will be returning again next year. My only comment to make is that the vendors that pop up mid week are very pushy. If that could be curbed a bit it would be perfect. I'd still give this resort a 5 rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, fun, relaxing, amazing resort
The weak points
Pushy vendors in the square and mid week on pop up tables.
Certified

A 5 Star Vacation

, Mineville, NS
2019-03-05
We went as a couple, in our mid 50's. Stayed in Villa 4, near the beach. So convenient, as the trams travelled from the end of our walkway right to the lobby areas. We went from beach to pool, to other pools, jacuzzi pools, back to beach, etc. We had planned on doing a couple of excursions, but there are so many things to do on resort, we did not go off resort, except a 30 minute walk, southward on the beach to the vendors on the beach. We also did a Chocolate "Excursion" at Chocolate Cia, found just off the Bavaro Lobby. Lasted about 1hr15m. $25/pp. Learned about chocolate history and prepped / made cocoa bars. Lots of fun and very educational. The Terrace (just off the Lobby) was always our evening spot. Live music around 7-8pm, then entertainment team kicks in til 9. Music until Theatre show stops (9:45). Then more Entertainment team until 10:30ish. Dance lessons, competitions (my wife & I won the couples Bachatta dance competition 1 evening). Join the GBP PC Group on F_B_. A wealth of information. Book the A La Cartes soon as you can. We booked 14 days ahead via email you can find on F_B_. Went to Dominican, Italian, BBQ and Tapanaki. All great choices. Will recommend this location and return if opportunity arises. Get the $9 / week wifi if you need wifi ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Evening entertainment with a variety of participants. Lots of pool / beach / food options. Friendly and helpful staff.
The weak points
Don't rely too much on posted schedules (online or at the resort) for when things will happen (especially beach & pool activities). The DR way is kind of "it will happen if and when it happens. Don't worry."
Certified

Very disappointed

, Memramcook, NB
2019-02-24
Our fourth time at the Royal Golden. Very dissatisfied with room maid, cleanliness. Fridge not daily stock.Asked for water, toiletries supplies from Royal customer services but never received anything. Food at the buffet downgraded, dirty dishes,etc. When approached by the Privilege salesperson we were told that the Royal Golden section did not exist anymore, but we were greeted and registered by and at he Royal Golden desk lounge. Very confusing.
Overall , was not worth the price and not recommending Bahia Principe Royal Golden Section. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Annoyed customers

, Ile Perrot, QC
2019-02-18
We found that most staff were unfriendly. We could not book the restaurants of choice 1 out of 4 on our first day over the 8 day stay. We were not understanding why that was not possible as most restaurants were not full and meal times were reserved late evenings which we found too late for meals. (ie 7:30pm and after 8pm most nights). The key/lock for the room had issues for 3 days we had 4 techs come to assist at the room and had multiple keys issued to us at the office. very inconvenient for us as we would have to wait for long periods of time waiting for them to assist us and have access to our room. Coffee machine and alarm clock didn't work. Issues with the safe as well. We have travelled other places and had not had issues like this in the past. Overall the hotel and beaches were beautiful and the food was good. Transfer from airport to hotel is this hotel responsibility or airline? We were told there would be someone to direct us to the bus to the hotel. that someone would be there with a sign leading us out and when we got off the plane could not find our luggage and were directed to the wrong place then could not find the bus there was no one available to assist at the Air Transat kiosk and were basically on our own to find our way to a bus to get us to the hotel it was stressful experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

, Odessa, ON
2019-02-16
Very well kept grounds, friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, rooms are clean, good variety of food.
The weak points
Beds are very uncomfortable.
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

, Orangeville, ON
2019-02-02
When we check-in we got our room was OK until the fan situated above the toilet fall off from the sealing in the toilet. We was lucky enough one of us was sitting down. We spoke to the front desk they don`t understand or the staff ignore us was frustrating. They fixed but took 2 hours before they came. The staff from the front desk, restaurant or the bar was rude so many time even if we tip them. I will say that resort needs an improvement for the behaviour of there staff and how to speak to customers. I`ve been my self in the customer service over 20 years and never saw the attitude of the staff acting that way. The food was OK was not for a 4 star resort. And the shopping chart staff very aggressive and stealing your money for a baseball cap and a t-shirt was 175.00 US money they wanted. Told them no. If you are going go inside the store was OK for the price not from the chart. About sign-in a member fee for the resort to be a VIP member I don`t think so. We said no and no again. We won`t return there at all. Good luck to all when you go there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
My maid was excellent always with a smile never missed anything inside the room.
The weak points
Internet only inside the lobby. Beach point no chairs people was at the beach around 7:00 am to put there own beach towel.or bag but never return before after lunch. You ask a question to a staff mostly does not understand you.

Great first experience in Punta Cana

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-19
We enjoyed very much our stay at Bahia Principe Punta Cana. Great service, room was clean and cleaned nicely every day. Employees very friendly and accommodating. The food was very good and we enjoyed the themed dinners. Nice entertainment in the evening and trolleys to take you around the resort every 5 minutes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Because the internet is free only in the lobby, we had to buy internet for the rest of the resort area which didn't work quite well, mostly by the pool and the beach.
Certified

Punta Cana vacay

, Brampton, ON
2018-08-11
The service was great, people are quite welcoming to visitors, the food variety was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2018-04-08
We had a great time at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. We loved that our room was situated between two pools not too far from the main lobby. Beds are very comfortable and bar is stocked with drinks. The beach is excellent but would have liked to have been able to swim out to the reefs to snorkel. Overall the service was very good and rooms were quiet and comfortable. Heard from other travellers that paying additional fees to upgrade are not worth the cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean beaches and pools, free kayaks and snorkel gear, good food, excellent tour operator services and nightly entertainment
The weak points
Intermittent maid service, not allowed to use restaurants in other lobbies
Certified

The hotel is ok

, Brampton, ON
2018-03-06
It seemed like the staff was all new and did not know their jobs very well. No one seemed to have a good idea about the overall operation of the resort. For example, my wife called front desk; to inquire about luggage pick up; person said it was not them and hung up. Not sure if poor service related to language barrier; or lack of customer service.

It was also impossible to get a chair at the pool by the ocean or the beach after about 8:30 in the morning (people would claim them for the day by leaving their things on them and they were nowhere about). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the pools and grounds are very nice and very well kept, The "people transporting" trolleys were very timely and convenient for getting around the large resort. Restaurant and buffet servers courteous and friendly.
The weak points
The food was not that great; buffet foods cold....Also if you phoned someone with a question and they did not know the answer they would hang up on you rather than transfer your call.
Certified

Excellent family resort

, Coaldale, AB
2018-02-20
Grand Bahai Principe Punta Cana was a great place to take our family of 8! All the staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, fridge was restocked daily! There was an amazing selection of food and it tasted great! It was easy to find your way around the resort. I feel like the resort met or exceeded our expectations for the $ value! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, good food, clean!!
The weak points
It would have been nice to be able to use water toys like balls, floaties and boogie boards instead of having to purchase them! The beach was really crowded.
Certified

Friends vacation 2018

, Yorkton, SK
2018-02-04
It was a great experience at the hotel starting at check in. Staff was great check in was quick and we were whisked off to our rooms on a eight seater golf cart. Rooms were great over looking pool and a great view of the ocean. Food at all restaurants was good to great staff was friendly and helpful especially after a small tip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely pays to upgrade to the Clubl Golden!
The weak points
Wind/rain/bugs/very large resort hard to navigate
Certified

Super large resort

, Vancouver, BC
2017-12-10
We knew going in that this was a larger resort. It is staffed accordingly and the buffets and lobby never seemed too busy. The beach on the other hand, packed like sardines. So if you like a quieter beach, this isn't it. The grounds were beautiful, easy to navigate the resort. So much to do, you don't even have to leave. It was beautiful [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pools and pool bars were great. A la cartes we did were delicious. The grounds were beautiful. Buffet food was plentiful. Mama Juana was delicious.
The weak points
Most of the staff looked like they didn't care to be there. Front desk staff not very helpful. Beach way too busy. Towels all over beach & pool chairs.
Certified

I will never go back to this resort!!!

, Markham, ON
2017-12-08
Few reasons why this resort is awful:
1.Staff on reception is not helpful and was rude, first 2 days we try to fixed problems at our room and nobody help us, just lied to us.
2.We paid for all inclusive resort, but many thinks you have to pay extra there like safe, quality drinks and coffee.
3.Security not in charge for nothing...a lot of stuffs was steal on the beach every day. If your beach towel stolen you have to pay US$20 to get new one. Good business right? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Reception staff

Mixed experience

, Newmarket, ON
2017-12-02
The resort was a nice resort with lots to do but what I found was that in my sons room they had mold on the ceiling and when I told them they did nothing. We had a cock roach in our room also. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was good along with the entertainment. The weather was fantastic
The weak points
They used one spice so all the food tasted the same. There was sea weed on the beach all the time and at times it was to thick to even swim.

Not impressed

, Toronto, ON
2017-08-09
A few comments regarding my experience at this resort. Staff is not helpful and is rude. Unless you speak Spanish, you are ignored. They don't even make eye contact. The room had roaches. Nice big ones. This was unacceptable. I emailed ahead of time and told them I'm travelling alone with two small children with serious allergies. I need a roach free room. Bar fridge not working when I had medication that needed to be refrigerated. Ocean full of sea weed. Even with staff, raking the sand, it was awful. I'm not seeing how the sand is white. It was definitely not white sand. Not impressed with the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is close Food is okay
The weak points
Rude staff, Roaches in the room and throughout resort.
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana was wonderful

, Kirkland, QC
2017-08-07
Beautiful complex with nice villas with the rooms, beautiful landscaping, nice pools, beautiful beach with plenty of beach chairs and shade umbrellas made of straw. I liked that reserving beach chairs is not allowed. Buffet meals surprisingly good with a different theme each night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
No kleenex in the room although there was a kleenex holder. No blankets provided on the bed. some of us need a proper cover. I ended using a hoodie as a blanket. The ocean had a lot of seaweed during our stay, nobody's fault, and workers removed it.
Certified

Absolutely loved it!!

, Barry'S Bay, ON
2017-08-01
I cannot begin to tell you how long I looked online and in travel books to find what I hoped would be a perfect destination. I'd always come across this one every single time. Fell in love with it and told my husband this is where were going. Had an AMAZING time, for both of us this was our first trip. The food was amazing which is a bonus, my husband is more of a foodie than I am, I had my fingers crossed that everything would be delicious. We went to the disco once had a lot of fun, a lot of great music. We went to the Italian and the Japanese restaurant on our side both great. Although I thought there was a dress code but it didn't seem to apply. There was always something in the Lobby. The one and only issue we had was with the lock on our door. I think the second night we were there the battery died and it had to be replaced. It did take a little bit for the issue to get fixed, a few trips on the tram to and from the lobby. Wasn't the end of the world though something like that you can't get really mad about. The food was amazing, the buffet had themed nights. Loved the pasta station, just loved everything. Our Air Canada rep Angel was phenomenal. I ended up getting a really bad sunburn on the back of my legs, the day before we were to go on our snorkeling excursion he was able to switch it to a later day for us. He also gave me a lotion/sunscreen to help with the burn. The burn was so so so bad. On our excursion we paid for the pictures that they took. since we had to change excursion days it ended up being on a friday and we were flying home the next morning. There was an issue with the pictures, they were supposed to be at one of the little kiosks but we didn't make it in the time frame, We were told the next morning that we weren't there and missed them. We were bummed, we had already payed $20 US for a deposit. So Angel again saved the day, my husband gave him his e-mail, Angel got ahold of the people with the pictures. We just had to pay the final amount through paypal and they e-mailed us the pictures. It's a lot to pay for pictures but it was our first trip. My husband didn't want a big wedding so we agreed small wedding and go on a trip. It was so worth it!! I would go back to this resort in a heartbeat. I could go on and on, my husband and I had a wonderful time!!I've been online looking already at another trip in the new year. I've been considering one of the other resorts in this group we'll see. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Atmosphere was amazing, loved everything, buffet. Italian and one of the Japanese a la carte. Pool's were great. Beach is beautiful well maintained. Loved it all!!
The weak points
Battery died twice in our key card entry thing for the door

We will call this just wow

, Woodstock, ON
2017-05-24
We have been to punta Cana 4 to the same resort so u know what u are wanting out of it for the first 3 days. No ac room was just as hot as outside no towels for a day or so so the maid couldn't clean the rooms right the customer service was brutal when it's always been stand up been home 3 days and still sick just unbelievable we won't be back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Teresa

, West St. Paul, MB
2017-03-19
I had a great stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Extremely disappointed

, Laval, QC
2017-01-23
Just came back from this hotel first of all grounds well maintained,food is half half, service is very very bad ,at breakfast we ask 3 different waiters for 3 glasses of water never got it,service is very bad rooms well where do I start,air conditioning had a smell of mold coming from it ,beds are extremely soft and old,we took the royal golden package, they would come to clean the room at 5 pm when we were coming back from the beach ,no towels no fridge refill no service ,what I think is that this resort is way to big and lack of personnel,beach is amazing plenty of chairs but around the pool good luck finding a chair unless you go at 6am , [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Rooms and service

Beyond Our Expectations

, Oshawa, ON
2017-01-13
Far more then we expected!!! Big Bright Clean Exciting!! The food was amazing!! Such a variety of food at every meal. The quality of the food was excellent. The pools and pool area are kept clean. Servers are very cheerful and friendly. Rooms are clean fridge was always stocked. Loved our vacation and will definitely return to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, pools, property. Such a short waiting time for Trolley cars for transportation.
The weak points
A couple hours waiting time for our rooms to be available as we arrived earlier then check in time. After waiting 3 hours to get our room keys the envelope with our keys and room information in was lost we continued to wait another 1/2 hour
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe

, Montreal-Nord, QC
2016-09-17
My family and I had a wonderful time at this resort, very clean, rooms are exceptional, food was fantastic different variety everyday and the staff were great too. Would definetly return to this fantastic hotel ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was fantastic, grounds well kept, and rooms were spotless, beach was great!
The weak points
none.

Relaxing Vacation

, Lower Coverdale, NB
2016-05-15
My daughter and I had a lovely vacation at the Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana. We had lovely weather and enjoyed the sunshine. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Our room was very comfortable and the grounds and pool were very well maintained.
The weak points
We enjoyed two of our a la carte restaurants.
Certified

Nice Resort Indifferent Service

, London, ON
2016-04-19
The resort has everything you'll need except service. If exception service is important to you this is not the resort for you. If a la carte dining is important to you this is not the resort for you. If you just want to be left alone to sit by the pool and buffets are more your style this is the resort for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The main buffet was good although not centrally located.
The weak points
Staff are generally indifferent. The restaurant reservation process is a nightmare. There is only one washroom for two massive pools.
Certified

Awesome experience again!!

, Dorchester, ON
2016-02-03
My husband and I, along with another couple, traveled to this report Jan 25 to Feb 1. This is the 4th trip for my husband and I and again we had an awesome time. Food is good, service excellent, resort is clean and well maintained. I emailed ahead and asked to have our friends in the same villa as we were and this was set up when we checked in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lots of choices on buffets for food. Always clean. Only 20 minutes from the airport. Transportation system throughout the resort for anyone who has problems walking
The weak points
Wifi only 1 hour free per day in the lobby. Needs to be extended to in room service
Certified

Grand Bahia Principe

, Petawawa, ON
2016-01-18
Great place, would recommend, my only concern is the people taking care of our room was not good, did not replace bath towels, had to complain or would not be able to shower, was suppose to restock fridge everyday but only done twice, bed was only fully made twice, all other time they just placed the sheets on it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel and location was great, always something to do. Beach was excellent, very big waves but we like that. Always something good at the buffet. The drinks were amazing especially at the lounge
The weak points
Room maid never replaced our bath towels, had to complain twice to get some, they never fully made bed, just rolled up comforter and placed it in corner, only restocked fridge twice in 7 days when should have been done every day.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021