Iberostar Grand Bavaro

Iberostar Grand Bavaro
4.664.664.664.664.66
4.66 based on 41 reviews
#32 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (11)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Firs time

, Calgary, AB
2019-05-31
Nice hotel but to big place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms
The weak points
Staff

Mr and Mrs Chaput

, Hanmer, ON
2018-02-16
We just got back from a great vacation at your resort was a great experience, The reception was very professional and the concierge Alberto and Ayendy did a great job. The maid service was excellent and the Stat Alliance team Yocari and Didi and Maria also Ricardo did an excellent job so did all the other team members. Your dining staff was fantastic and attentive. Loved the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and people at the resorts are the greatest people helpful and friendly. the atmosphere was excellent

Amazing vacation five 5 STAR

, Mississauga, ON
2018-02-01
this hotel is absolutely the best from the service desk when checking in, all of the servers in the restaurants, entertainment crew, and everyone else who works hard in this resort to make your vacation the best one yet.
we cant wait to go back, booking soon.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything is nice and close to get to, food excellent, staff very very friendly. we have been married for 45 years the best place we have ever been
The weak points
NONE FOR ME

Good hotel!!

, Cape Broyle, NL
2017-08-01
This was our fourth trip to an Iberostar Grand, and it hasn't changed a bit. By far one of the best hotels in any country to which we have been.
Thank you to the staff, the accommodations were amazing.
More hamburgers....please...
Rooms-- very nice accommodations. We did garden view. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Outstanding in Every Way!!

, Toronto, ON
2017-03-15
This was our first time at an All-Inclusive and in the Dominican Republic. We would go back in a heartbeat. We were picked up at the airport and then greeted with a welcome cocktail upon our arrival. The facility was beautiful and impeccable. There was staff constantly sweeping and tending to the beautiful landscaping. The room was lovely with a jacuzzi tub and shower. The only recommendation that I would have is that the glass door to the toilet should be fully opaque as opposed to striped. This way you can be in there while your partner is using the shower or sink. Each day, our bed and tub was decorated with "swan shaped" towels and flowers and petals. I felt like a honeymooner again. The food was good with lots of choices at the buffet. I wish that they would have changed more of the choices each day to look at a different variety. One day they had different salads, (beet, carrot, seafood) and I wish they had more of that. There was a BBQ for lunch everyday as well as paella. We ate at the different restaurants every night. I would recommend that you make your reservations in advance of your trip. We tried several nights to change the time and they told us that there were no tables. disappointingly, the tables for the later times were not full when we left the restaurants. I don't know if people make reservations and do not cancel them when they don't show up.
The demeanor of the staff was unbelievable. Everyone was pleasant all the time and great us with a "Buenos Dias" every time we walked by them. No one expected a tip and were most gracious when we gave one. The beach was beautiful You have to get out early to get a good chair. People put their towels out at 7 am. There are lots of chairs but if you want to be close to the water, you need to get out early. The only thing that was disappointing was the spa. My massage was really good but the facility was just average. When we arrived, the person at the desk just checked us in and told us to go upstairs if we wanted to shower or change. She didn't give us anything. I went to shower and there were no robes. I had to come yell over the railing and they brought one up to me. I'm used to having someone escort you to the locker room with a robe and slippers. The locker room was at all luxurious. It was quite a departure from the rest of the facility. We left our rooms and found one of the butlers, Ceser Hernandez and the chambermaid just outside our room. They asked if we had a nice stay and if there is anything else that they could do for us. Upon check-out we asked for the manager, Raul Pérez to tell him what a wonderful time we had. He was most gracious. As we were waiting in the lobby to check out and for our lift to the airport, Ceser came down and handed me an envelope with cash that I had left in the safe. I was so overwhelmed with their honesty and professionalism. I would recommend this property without hesitation and look forward to coming back for another holiday. Thank you to Raul, Ceser and all of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Outstanding facility and staff. Good food. Great beach and pool.
The weak points
The massage was great but the spa itself was just average.

Five stars all the way for this hotel!

, Ottawa, ON
2016-06-20
This hotel is first rate all the way! The nightly entertainment was world class and I would have liked to have heard more of the live band. My personal Butlers, Edgar and Victor were fantastic and answered all of my questions promptly. They were at my door in minutes when ever I needed anything. The grounds are pristine, the service always smiling and friendly. I walked the gorgeous beach all day and enjoyed my padded lounge chairs and beach beverage service. The trip was expensive but there were many extras as a result. I would definitely come back to this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Live music, Butler service, padded lounge chairs, waiters on the beach,super clean and quiet rooms
The weak points
Did not like the wrist band system. Would like to have heard more live Dominican music in the shows with a full band.
Certified

No 1 For a Reason !!

, Cambridge, ON
2014-02-08
Fourth visit, and I will be returning, royal service all the way !! Best staff anywhere !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Star Friends, food,drink,beach and much more !!
The weak points
Need music on the beach.
Certified

Pros and Cons

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-09-23
We stayed from 9/13 to 9/20. Property is gorgeous. Attention to details. Food is great. The buffet dinners are generally better than the A La Carte except that it is self serve. Biggest problem is the room. We got room 7124 which is on the second floor, right next to an adjoining resort. Of course, no views but with a some what too-close neighbour. The thing is it has this awful smell that permeates everything. I had to wash everything I've brought with me when we returned home. The manager made a point of speaking with us upon finding out that I complained about the smell. She agreed it has to do with the ventilation system, and I think she knows exactly what is causing the smell but she would rather keep it to herself. If not for the smell, I'll go back again and would have no problem recommending to others. Hope they'll fix it soon. Location wise, it's a bit far from the airport. The Wi-Fi complimentary internet worked well - just that when we first arrived we asked the butler about the internet, he kind of showed us but in fact nothing was hooked up including the telephone. We had to get him back - after some hassle - not sure if it was a way to get tips. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and the beach. Garden design. Cleanliness.
The weak points
Smell in the room; lack of follow up by some service people.
Certified

Good Resort

, Milton, ON
2013-06-30
good hotel
recommended 99%
you will not be disappointed at all !!!!
gym needs to have a better floor
contrast bath showers maintenance pls.
great sauna and steam bath
otherwise 9.9 out of 10 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very good location beautiful hotel great food in restaurants and buffet fantastic lobby and garden !! very clean !!
The weak points
gym floor tiles are coming off contrast bath showers need maintenance !
Certified

Vacation in Punta Cana

, Lachine, QC
2013-06-05
Good clean, well maintained hotel with good service. Great beach. No problems. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean hotel, beautiful spacious room, good service, beautiful clean beach.
The weak points
Food in the a la carte restaurants, (especially the Italian restaurant) should have been much better considering this is a 5 star hotel.
Certified

Happy Travelers

, Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC
2013-05-14
Amazing experience from start to finish. The best service I have received anywhere! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service received by all staff, the layout of the resort making it easy to get around and the location of the resort.
The weak points
People reserving all the best lounge chairs around the pool area when they are not even there
Certified

Beautiful hotel

, Orleans, ON
2013-05-06
All the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our butler was always available and accommodated the few requests we had and some we didn't request, such as bringing us flowers and a bottle of champagne to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Property and buildings are beautiful.
The weak points
Food at the restaurants was excellent. Plenty of sea food at the lunch and dinner buffet, however the prepared food at the buffet restaurant is mostly cold unless you get them to cook it for you while you wait.
Certified

Fabulous Vacation

, Oakville, ON
2012-07-15
Hotel was beautiful and immaculate. The service was excellent. The food okay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was great.
The weak points
The beef was tough.
Certified

Great Resort!

, Toronto, ON
2012-07-03
My partner and I traveled to the Iberostar Grand June 2012. Having travelled to the Dominican, and in specific Punta Cana over 20 times, this resrt was a true delight and refreshign change. The 5-star difference is truly notable through service and follow-up in servic. All of our minor concern were treated with equal attention and addrssed immediately. Staff was friendly, and although at time a language barrier, you are in a spanish speaking country and should respect that. The beach was lovely, as Bavaro beach is always, again Seaweed is a natural part of the ocean, no complaints here! Bar service on the beach was above and beyond. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
In summary Service was grea,t at least the effort for great service is quite evident. If any shortcoming were identfied, ALL staff treat the concenr seriously and promptly!
The weak points
Attention to detail in cleaning could be improved, however this is a minor detail that may be to particular.
Certified

Absolutely Amazing

, Labrador City, NL
2012-05-19
We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, and we were welcomed with a wonderful smile and a drink. Our check-in was a breeze and everyone was very helpful. Our room was ready and we were on our way. From that moment on, we knew we made the right choice. The nightly entertainment was amazing, and the activities available at the resort are phenominal. Also, having access to the neighbouring Iberostar Resorts and beaches, 24hr Room Service, a butler, unlimited mini bar and daily maid service truly made our stay comfortable and completely worry-free. Truly all-inclusive.
It will be hard to top this one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Stunning beauty of the resort, and the absolute best of service and staff
The weak points
Limited seating at the theme restaurants.
Certified

Best All Inclusive Ever!!

, Brockville, ON
2012-04-18
The resort is just stunning. As soon as you walk in, you will be treated like royalties. Food was amazing, fresh grilled lobsters are served at lunch and dinner buffet daily. Drinks are premium e.g. Grey Goose vodka, Ron Barcelo Imperial..etc. Staff are amazing and accomodating. They love it when you try to speak Spanish to them. We had emailed the resort prior arrival to book a-la cart restaurant since the restaurants do book up quickly. We find the food in the buffet is better than the restaurant so don't worry if you can't get dinner reservation. The nightly shows are really great, we went to the show every night. It's in a indoor theatre but you can smoke on the 2nd floor. There is also a cigar lounge where you can purchase cigars. The beach is very nice, white sand and you can walk on the beach forever. The sea is very rough some days, I lost my sunglasses in it. It's not very good for snorkelling except on the clam days. There are tons of staff that come around to bring you drinks on the beach. You can get free 15 minute message from the entertainment staff on the beach from 11am-1pm daily, I got three during the week. There are also lots of activities offered by the best entertainment team ever. They come around your beach chair and ask you to participate but never pushy. Every staff works hard to make sure that we have the best vacation ever. We didn't like our room when we first got there because it had a musty smell. So they showed us four other rooms and moved us right away. The staff and guest ratio were three to one, so we had great services through out. We loved everything about this resort and would go back in a heart beat. We had never felt this way about another resort as we like to try different places. But this vacation certainly changed our mind. We will be back, hopefully very soon. It was well worth the money, more expensive than others but you do get what you pay for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is what makes this hotel. This is the hotel for you if you want friendly staff who calls you by name and remeber your drinks.
The weak points
- Dinner reservation should be easier. - Wifi internet in our room was spotty at times. -No one at the disco at night, not a lot of partying at this resort but you can go next door to Iberostar Dominican as they have a disco there but young crowd.
Certified

Iberostar Grand Bavaro

, Ajax, ON
2012-02-14
Enjoyed every minute of it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendliness of the staff!
The weak points
Inconsistency with respect to the timing of when the room was cleaned
Certified

Disappointed

, Toronto, ON
2012-01-07
Grand Bavaro is a beautiful property on an amazing beach. Unfortunately, we have been to the Grand Paraiso for the last 3 years and there is no comparison. The rooms and bathrooms are smaller and the standard of overall service is far below. The exception to the low standard of service is the housekeeping staff. They do an amazing job.
This is not a 5 hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach property, housekeeping staff.
The weak points
Service
Certified

AMAZING experience

, Bradford, ON
2011-11-07
what a beautiful resort!! Never had service this great before! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
amazing experience!!!
The weak points
the only bad thing about the room is that its small...but it's not like you stay in the room so it's not a breaking point to not book the hotel!
Certified

Truly a Grand Hotel!!

, Richmond Hill, ON
2011-08-22
Truly a 5 star hotel. The grounds are stunning, the service is top notch and the food is delicious with a lot of variety. Check in was a breeze as well as check out. The 4 a-la-carte restaurants were excellent. The buffet had a very big selection. Lobster everyday if you wanted. The liquor was top shelf. Anything from Grey Goose to Courvoisier to Chivas. The rooms were immaculate and very modern. The pool area was very large with canopy beds if you so choose or loungers. The beach was huge and very nice with a lot of palapas. No getting up early to reserve a seat. Overall the best resort we have been to in the Caribbean and would highly recommend! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definately the food. If you are a seafood lover you will love this place. All kinds of seafood available and cooked to your liking. They even had Kobe Beef burgers, steaks, roasted pig, lamb, duck, you name it!!
The weak points
Only weak point and this is not the hotel's fault is the seagrass that was in the water. There were a couple of days where it was bothersome. We were told this was very unusual and was caused by the tropical storm a few weeks before.
Certified

Great time at the Grand Bavaro

, Mississauga, ON
2011-05-09
Friendly staff. Very good food though you need to make reservations for the specialty restaurants at dinner. Very clean, beautifully landscaped and furnished. Close to airport. Easy to find chairs on the beach at any time of the day. Nice gym and spa facilities. Smaller property means it's a short walk to all the restaurants and facilities from any room. Peaceful and quiet, but if you do want more action, it's a short shuttle ride away from the other Iberostar properties in Punta Cana (free access included). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, very good food, peaceful and quiet, very clean, close to airport. Easy to find chairs on the beach at any time of the day.
The weak points
Need to play towel games to secure pool chairs (no issues at beach though). No one at the front desk when checking out (it was around 7AM on a Friday). Drink refill requests at meals sometimes get forgotten.
Certified

AMAZING RESORT

, Guelph, ON
2011-05-02
Excellent Food, Friendly helpful staff, Very nice clean rooms.. Excellent Resort Way better than Sandals! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Pool, Beach, Staff and Food/A la Cartes
The weak points
Pricy.
Certified

What a resort

, Dartmouth, NS
2011-04-10
Great staff, food, beach and ambiance. Leave the kids and be pampered. You will never want to leave. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Too many to mention.
The weak points
Can't think of anything they can improve upon.
Certified

Amazing stay

, Darthmouth, NS
2011-04-10
Met or beat expectations in every way possible. In saying this we went in expecting alot. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff without any exceptions. Food was great at every meal.
The weak points
Not enough terminals for internet access. However they have WIFI so bring your own laptop.
Certified

Fantastic Vacation

, Oakville, ON
2010-08-24
Will look at other Iberostar Grand properties when booking vacations in the future. Would return. Will recommend to friends and family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything
The weak points
Nothing
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Stouffville, ON
2010-06-26
The service was over the top and above expectation. The staff really goes out of their way to accommodate us with everything. We were super happy we went there. The rooms were spotless and always clean. Towels were changed everyday. Had our butler make a romantic bubble bath and ready for us at the end of the night. The shows were like vegas style, singers were really good. We were disappointed that the Michael Jackson show was cancelled for the whole week. The weather was great when it was sunny, but it did rained a lot, so we lost out on enjoying the beach. The food at both the buffets were amazing, they have diferent themes everyday so you never get bored of eating the same thing. Lobster everyday, but will not complain because thats what we want. We met some couples and became friends even if we all live across the world from eachother but we have facebook to stay in touch for life. We also became friends with all our Star friends as well and we all will miss eachother.
Over all no one should complain about this resort because there is not much to complain except the rain on and off the whole week. But it's not just in punta cana, we got rain too coming home to our country. We are a very picky couple, but we will not be picky with this resort, it was awsome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, room, food.
The weak points
Beach had alot of seaweeds in the ocean and on the beach.
Certified

Good Hotel - will be great when finished

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-12
Hotel was not fully completed. Landscaping work and building of the beach were incomplete. Excellent facility but a few startup issues still need to be corrected. Mosquitoes in the room were awful and we left with many bites. This has never been a problem at any of the other resorts at which we have stayed in Punta Cana, including the Iberostar Bavaro right next door. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent room, food, staff, service. Fabulous beach with warm waters. Plenty of beach huts and chairs.
The weak points
Beach sand not fully deployed, mosquitoes in room.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021