Majestic Elegance Punta Cana

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana
4.274.274.274.274.27
4.27 based on 217 reviews
#8 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (42)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Awesome week at Majestic Elegance

, Kitchener, ON
2020-03-20
This was our first time at the Majestic Elegance and it was one of the best experiences of any vacation we have had. We were celebrating our 40th Anniversary and were looking for a relaxing vacation. The buildings, grounds, pools, beaches and restaurants are so clean and well kept. The service is outstanding and the food and drinks were delicious. The only complaint from our week there was the few rainy and overcast days, but that cannot be controlled.
I would definitely recommend the Elegance Club if you want the adults only experience. On arrival we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary" and taken to a separate check in area where they had drinks, some snack items and a lounge to relax while they went through all the paper work. Our room was ready and we were given a tour and explanation about the resort from our butler Jose, as we were taken to our room. Anything we wanted we asked Jose for and he took care of it. The room was awesome and had everything you would want or need.
As people have stated before the beach is beautiful and clean, lots of cabanas and chairs and bar service. Restaurants are all good. We did nothing but relax and enjoy being pampered.
We did have one issue with our toilet running but it was fixed in less than half an hour. Reception called twice to make sure everything was ok with our room.
We would highly recommend this resort and we will be going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleanliness of the resort variety of restaurants adults only section with private pool, bar, beach and restaurant
The weak points
it is qite a walk from the beach to the front lobby and restaurants. Shuttle would be good. pools were cool

Great Vacation

, Rockwood, ON
2020-02-10
We stayed Jan.25/20 to Feb.1st/20...what a great resort, staff was very friendly, the resort grounds were impeccable. We have stayed at many different resorts in Punta Cana ..some good..some not so good but the Majestic Elegance was by far our favourite. Food was great the best we've had in Punta Cana. Our room was amazing and well kept, cleaning ladies take great pride in what they are doing. We had our own personal butler( Julio) who went over and above anything we asked for and made our vacation seamless and very special. I had the best Mojito I've ever had at the lower lobby bar made with pride by Gerrado the bartender...a must try for the Mojito fanatics. Weather was great when we were there, we spent most of our time during the day at a quieter pool which is not the norm for us as we prefer the ocean. The only downfall would be the beach area...bavaro beach is beautiful but this section is very congested and you had to be up very very early in the morning to reserve chairs. I was up at 7am the first attempt and was not successful getting a good spot on the beach. all in all a very minimal complaint and we made it work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful resort great food great staff clean rooms
The weak points
beach is congested
Certified

Majestic Elegance Punta Cana

, Hamilton, ON
2020-02-02
We had a wonderful time both times we visited, December 2019 and January 2020. We stayed in the club section and it was well worth the extra. The Bali Beds were a treat. The Italian, Steak House and See and Sea speciality restaurants were among the best restaurants we have experienced. The Japanese was a great show but not worth going to twice. The French we would skip. The staff was friendly, courteous and most helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Speciality restaurants especially Italian, Steak House and Sea Food Beach and pools Staff
The weak points
The rooms in the resort are starting to show their wear
Certified

Majestic elegance

, Ottawa, QC
2019-12-02
Good value except room was so musty we had to open doors daily. Changed our first room as smell was unbearable. I would suggest mould was present. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service at pool and restaurants are over all excellent.
The weak points
Very musty room. Late departure, room extension thru front desk. Butler unable to get extension. Disappointed in butler as this is part of his key duties.
Certified

The UGLY, the BAD, the GREAT

, Thornton, ON
2019-11-16
resort, staff were amazing
WE FEEL SO SO SORRY FOR THE MAJESTIC, ITS STAFF, THE PEOPLE OF PUNTA CANA & THE DR.
A SHAME THAT 1 PERSONS "CLAIM" CAN AFFECT SO MANY PEOPLES LIVES !!! DO NOT ALWAYS BELIEVE WHAT IS POSTED ON YOUR I TINGY
THERE ARE 3 SIDES TO EVERY STORY & IN THIS CASE WE ALL BELIEVE THE TRUTH IS FAR FROM WHAT WAS POSTED
please go to D.R. / Punta Cana - let the people show you an amazing place & time !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
amazing resort, huge rooms & terraces, great food, especially the Japanese restaurant (reservations required) very welcoming staff
The weak points
in order to fully utilize your butler you needed a cell phone with either text or certain apps. something not all of us have when on a real vacation
Certified

Loved It!!

, Regina, SK
2019-03-23
We upgraded to the Elegance Club and thought it was well worth it. The rooms are huge with a Jacuzzi in each room and free WiFi which worked everywhere. Very large resort but, even though I have mobility issues, it was never a problem to get around....I'd call for a cart and it was there in mins. to take me wherever I wanted to go. Elegance Club also allowed the use of 3 club rooms or lounges; one in the lobby and 2 by the beach. You could help yourself to bottled pop, water, and snacks from 7 AM to 11 PM. You could also make your own espresso (and they offered decaf!!).One of the lounges also had waiter service for cocktails and had a beautiful view of the ocean from the 2nd floor. We had a butler (Santo) who couldn't do enough for us. He managed to check in with us every day and could track us down in our room, at the beach, restaurants or pool. He even managed to get a shower chair for me. Waiter service at the pool and beach was so nice to have and we never had a problem getting a lounge chair or Bali Bed at either place. No need to play the towel game to reserve yourself a spot. We tried both buffets and all 5 ala cart restaurants and never had a bad experience. The Limited Gourmand (French cuisine) was our favorite and we ate there twice.....the lobster thermidor and crème brulee were both very good. If I'd have a complaint about the food it would be that the portions were actually too large at the ala cartes. We like to enjoy 4 courses but soon learned to share the starter and dessert to avoid wasting. There was also room service available 24 hrs and although we never used it the menu was extensive. The Elegance Club area was adults only and it was enforced.....no kids at that pool or in the Club rooms. Also the Italian restaurant was available for breakfast and lunch ala carte dining for Elegance Club members. One day there was a spin class in the pool. We mostly stayed by the quiet pool but there seemed to be lots of fun activities at the other pool and at the beach. Great animation team. The pools were HUGE! For as large as the resort is and for how many people were staying there, the staff still managed to remember us and what our drink preferences were or how we liked our coffee, etc. Their attention to detail was amazing! Definitely worth visiting this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good service. Friendly staff, beautiful grounds.
The weak points
None
Certified

Majestic Elegance - Best Experience EVER!

, Victoria, BC
2019-01-02
As I sit down to write this review I'm bewildered by where to begin. I spent 10 days at the Majestic Elegance and there are not enough words to describe what an incredible experience I had... but I'm going to try to capture as many of the highlights as I can.

The Resort - absolutely amazing !! To begin with you will believe you are in paradise from the second you arrive at the grand lobby. The layout is fabulous!! For a resort of its size you would expect over crowded areas, but there are none. The layout is so great that you never have to worry about getting a table, lounger pool side, at the beach, palapa or bali bed. There is plenty of room for everyone. The pools are spectacular, extremely clean and the temperature was just chilled enough to be refreshing, but not shocking. The beach front is incredible, beautiful white soft sand for as far as the eye can see with palapa's, palms, loungers, and the most incredibly comfortable bali beds. There are pool bars and beach bars perfectly placed across the resort as well as shower stations and restrooms in very convenient locations. You literally do not need to take more than a couple steps to get anything you need. Or order anything you like from the incredible beach staff. I was blown away by the cleanliness of the entire resort. From the rooms, to the hallways, to the restaurants, to the beach front & grounds. The entire resort is maintained in pristine condition! I literally felt I could have eaten off the floor. The groundskeeping & housekeeping staff work so hard and do an amazing job every day !

The Elegance Club - wonderful ! We stayed in the Elegance club suites and were treated like royalty. Our butler and the team supporting our section were incredible! My room was beautiful, spacious, extremely clean and my balcony offered a great view of the pool area and beach. The shower was amazing with a rain shower head, multiple body spray jets, and a hand held option. The bed was the best I have ever slept on at any hotel or resort anywhere. The linens were soft and cool and the pillow menu was very appreciated. I felt like a queen in my room. My butler (Emmanuel) was outstanding and took care of everything for me including preparing a mineral salt bath complete with rose petals, and champagne on ice.
Special mention: Emmanuel & Juan

The Majestic Spa - Fabulous ! Again, I received VIP treatment when I arrived for a massage at the Spa. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very professional. The Relaxation massage was one of the best I have ever had and I go for massage therapy treatments regularly at home. The Spa facilities were out of this world. You do have the option to have a massage at the beach (which is wildly relaxing as well) but if you go to the Spa then you also get the added bonus of using the facilities for an hour (aroma therapy room, steam room, sauna, hot stone bed, mineral pools & jacuzzi's). I would highly recommend a massage, manicure and pedicure. Again, the staff were fantastic and really put client care first. It was a great experience and the prices were fantastic (examples: $90 for 55 minute massage, $35 for a pedicure)
Special mention: Anjelica

The Entertainment - FANTASTIC !!!! We went to all the shows each evening and they were all great! I absolutely have to reference the Michael Jackson tribute, the Circus show, the International Show, and the ROCK & DISCO nights were all AMAZING !!! The Entertainment team, the dancers, performers and the house band are top notch. They are all truly talented and put great effort into ensuing everyone is having a good time and enjoying themselves. The Entertainment Team is OUTSTANDING !!! They are interactive, playful and fun without harassing, and honestly I don't think I ever saw them without a smile on their faces. They were friendly always and made everything so fun! I participated in the aqua gym classes everyday, a couple stretching & dance classes on the beach. The Entertainment team circulated a couple times a day checking in on guests, sharing information about the line up of activities and overall just being incredibly wonderful and comical with everyone. I observed multiple times them bringing out the smiles on even the grumpiest of guests. They are an amazing team of men and women who work tirelessly all day every day from morning to night making sure that everyone is having a good time.
Special mention: Cappuccino (Emmanuel), FiFi (Willy),Scooby Doo, Panda (Jefferson), Sandi Romeo, Olympia, and all the members of the House Band. The Entertainment team is absolutely OUTSTANDING !! They made every day so much fun, entertaining and the aqua gym classes were awesome! And you can't help but groove to the wonderful music from the house band.

The Food & Drink - Wonderful !! The restaurants were all amazing! We frequented the buffets the most but did enjoy one meal at each of the specialty restaurants. All of which were absolutely fantastic! The flavours were spot on and the beef was grilled to perfection (and I'm very particular about my medium-rare expectations). The selection of fresh seafood was the best I have ever seen at any resort and the stations at the buffets offered an incredible selection to satisfy even the pickiest of pallets. The variety of fresh fruits and veggies was wonderful!! The pasta stations even had angel hair pasta! which is my personal favourite and generally not available at resorts. The staff at each location were top-notch!!! 'Service with a Smile' doesn't begin to describe the friendly, accommodating and courteous wait and bar staff. I was in awe of their teams at each location. I highly recommend experiencing everything available to eat & drink at the various Majestic restaurants and lounges. And if you order room service I highly recommend the burgers, fried chicken and the chocolate brownies are out of this world. No word of a lie, the chocolate brownies are the best I have ever had! And the room service wait staff were just like all the others; wonderfully efficient, pleasant and very professional.
Special mention: Roberto, Francesco, JanLuis, Junior (who we nicknamed: Denzel), Rosa, Ruth, Maxima, Anyelina, Mary, Alexandra, Jose, Luis, Jason, Mirurgia, Eduardo, Miguel, Edwin, Richard, AltaGarcia. Absolutely amazing bar & wait staff !!! You will be treated like a VIP every time you encounter them and all the other incredible staff serving across the resort.

Overall I can't say enough about what an incredible experience I had at Majestic Elegance. I have absolutely fallen in love with Punta Cana and as a direct result of the experience I had at this amazing resort. And I have give a special shout out again to the staff. They make that resort what it is. From the groundskeeping crews, to the housekeeping staff, to the entertainment and serving teams.

I am in a management position with 35 people reporting to me and I spent a fair amount of time chatting with the staff about their jobs and why they choose to work at the Majestic. I was so inspired by the the feedback they provided about their employer. They truly love what they do and are treated well by their leadership and management teams. They are all so happy and do a fabulous job of ensuring everyone they come in contact with is treated like royalty. The leadership at this resort has done an incredible job with hiring and clearly have a great management style and put their staff first. The professionalism is apparent throughout the resort. And is visible by the smiles on the staff's face. I have never in my life experienced the work ethic that I witnessed at Majestic Elegance. I have the utmost respect for the entire staff complement at Majestic. And I will be back annually as a result. Majestic Elegance has now trumped all other Caribbean destinations for me and I have been in love with Jamaica for most of my life, but now I will be spending my vacation dollars to travel back to the Majestic Elegance in Punta Cana.

I can't thank the staff enough. I felt like a part of their family and they have become a part of my spirit & soul. I can't wait to go back to the Majestic Elegance, enjoy all that the resort has to offer and see all the incredible staff again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the management, the food & drink, the beaches, the pools, the entertainment !!!! This resort has soul !
The weak points
There is absolutely not one thing I would change.

Awesome trip

, Stony Plain, AB
2018-12-26
Majestic Elegance is a top notch resort in every respect. From the people who work there to the rooms, grounds, beach, pools to the restaurants and the distance from the airport to the resort. We had a great time at this resort once again. This being our third time staying there and it will not be our last. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms, food, butler service, wait service, cleanliness, beach area has lots of chairs with shade also pools have lots of shade areas if needed.
The weak points
My only complaint would be the smoking which is allowed in many areas where there are children and not good for people with smoke allergies , Would be much better if smoking were only permitted in a designated lounge or two. Shows could start earlier.
Certified

Great vacation!

, Montréal, QC
2018-05-07
Majestic Elegance [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is amazing!
The weak points
Air conditioning could be better and the beds were twin beds and not double as I was told.
Certified

Air transit holiday

, Halifax, NS
2018-03-15
We arrived mid afternoon. Check in was a breeze. There we met our butler Emanuel he showed us to our room and explained all about the resort and where everything was. He was excellent all week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was excellent and their employees performed well above our expectations.
Certified

Adult Section

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-02-03
The hotel and staff were very polite and happy to help in any way, our butler Santiago went out of his way to help in any way possible and I actually saw him every day walking around unlike the last place we stayed would recommend this hotel to any one that asks [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was great, people were very helpful, and maintenance and cleanliness outstanding
The weak points
Adult swim up room no access from room side you have to go to other side of pool so not actually a swim up
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Moncton, NB
2017-03-23
This resort is one of the best I have been to in the Caribbean. A couple of large school groups happened to be there at the same time.The staff handled the situation with great skill and ease.A special shout out to Zahara,Ismail,
Cesar and Roberto.All the staff from the grounds keepers to the bartenders do a wonderful job.We have been to this resort 4 times and will continue to go in the future. We have been traveling the Caribbean for 16 years and since we found this resort we go to no other.The rooms are very clean , comfortable and very big.Service second to none.We have recommended this resort too friends and they have had the same great experience. I highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food,rooms and staff.
The weak points
None
Certified

Great stay at Majestic!

, Brampton, ON
2016-09-02
My husband and I upgraded to the Elegance Club and everything we needed and more! The resort is beautiful and clean and staff is great and friendly. would definatley reccomend for a nice adult getaway and we will definatley go back!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cabana beds and beach
The weak points
In room bath-rooms
Certified

Majestic elegance club

, Ile Des Soeurs, QC
2015-08-17
Food and drink offerings more than plentiful. Quality over quantity should be the goal.
Very pleasant and attentive staff everywhere.
Public bathrooms in beach area need more attention, otherwise hotel is kept extremely clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, personnel, cleanliness
The weak points
Food quality and freshness, especially in self-service venues and room service.
Certified

Nice...but...

, Oshawa, ON
2015-03-23
Our stay at the Majestic Elegance was as expected but they really need to start investing in the room furnishings. Our room in the Elegance Club was anything but elegant! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This was our 2nd time to the Majestic Elegance and again overall we were pleased. We stayed in the Elegance Club and were satisfied with the extra services.
The weak points
The room was dated, definitely not 5 star standards.
Certified

Majestic Elegance Eligance Club

, Thunder Bay, ON
2015-03-19
This was a wonderful place to stay! The staff are amazing help most speak many languages. Stayed in the adults only Elegance club. The rooms were comfortable and spacious overlooking the landscaped grounds was just fine. Only real complaint is the bath towels were not soft and in need of replacement considering the amount we spent on the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, Adult only beach, VIP lounges and having nice beach towels available. The spa is a must for anyone who just needs that little extra pampering, the 55 minute relaxation message is well worth the money.
The weak points
Bath towels they were substandard for the level of hotel
Certified

Punta Cana, Majectic Elegance

, Orleans, ON
2015-02-24
Very nice hotel and room..... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Peoples and staff from the hotel very friendly
The weak points
Bathroom from the beach and pool should be clean more often
Certified

Great Hotel

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-05-15
We just came home from our honeymoon in Punta Cana, we stayed at the Majestic Elegance. The hotel was beautiful, clean, well run, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were impressed with the attention to detail, everything from fresh flowers in the room, towel art and delicious food. This is a fantastic hotel for anyone looking for a safe, beautiful location in Punta Cana [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness and organzation of the hotel and it's services
The weak points
If we had to choose something we would say the front lobby doesn't quite show the beauty of the hotel. The lobby is very dated looking, while the rest of the hotel is very beautiful.
Certified

Majestic Elegance - Elegance Club

, Arnprior , ON
2014-03-24
The service was very good. Buffets had a great selection of food each day and tasted great. The restaurants were unique and well staffed. Can't find one thing bad to say about this place other than the rooms are getting dated yet very clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this resort to everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was excellent
The weak points
Rooms getting a little dated but still very comfortable
Certified

Escape from the Cold

, Gloucester, ON
2014-03-03
This is our second time staying here and similar to first time the hotel experience was excellent. Rooms were cleaned quickly each day, fridge was stocked as requested. Staff were very friendly. Restaurants and food was excellent, particularly liked not having to book into Steak house and Italian restaurants. We would stay here again with no hesitation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great restaurants and food, rooms are comfortable, overall staff very friendly.
The weak points
Front desk people not the friendliest. Inroom Wifi only available from the balcony.
Certified

Vacation 2013

, Pickering, ON
2013-12-21
Everything was wonderful and basically the same as 2 years ago [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, quality of facilities and friendliness of staff
The weak points
Air conditioning was set TOO HIGH
Certified

4th visit to this resort

, Orleans, ON
2013-12-14
We vacation at other resorts but It is nice to return to a resort that is familiar to you, where we will not be disappointed in the rooms, service or property. Although I was surprised they do not have wifi throughout the property. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Property, beach are wonderful.
The weak points
Check in was disorganized, and understaffed. I was also disappointed that wifi was only available in the lobby and there was a per hour fee. The Italian restaurant seems to have difficulty meeting demand.
Certified

It's Majestic and Elegant

, Oakville, ON
2013-12-10
As all travelers should know by now, research beforehand via various travel websites is key to any vacation plans.

The staff all appeared to be thrilled to have us there and the number of 'repeat' customers were more than any other resort I've been to.

One must keep in mind that the Dominican Republic is a 3rd world country so one's expectations regarding the quality of the food (read-steak) must be lowered somewhat.

The beach was great, and if you wanted the party life it certainly delivered in spades with activities scheduled literally every half hour. If solitude is what you are after then the 'Elegance Club' is essential for this particular vacation choice.

The rooms and resort was clean and 'worker bees' were everywhere at all times to ensure that you had a great vacation experience. Would I return? If the price point was right, I'd be there in a New York minute. I'd have to go out locally for a good steak before I make the trip though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Being only half an hour from the airport is huge. The adjacent golf course is awesome if you are into self flagellation.
The weak points
The steak makes M&M's 'ungraded' beef seem like a good choice.
Certified

Majestic Hotel - Elegance Club

, Pickering, ON
2013-12-04
Absolutely fabulous property. I have visited Punta Cana at least 20 times and stayed at various properties; however, this one is my favourite. This was our fourth year in a row to this property. Wonderful Staff, gorgeous hotel, spa is out of this world and great news because we will return next year. Would highly recommend a visit to this outstanding place; will never disappoint. Big shout out to Maxima and Felix at the beach bar, Elegance Club. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, beach, Elegance Club upgrade, food, atmosphere, entertainment, availability to walk for miles on the beach, very safe, great place for all ages.
The weak points
none
Certified

You can't go back again...

, Burlington, ON
2013-11-24
First visit to this Hotel in 2010 was great. We were overwhelmed with service and amenities. This is the only resort we have ever chosen to go back to a second time. This time we were not pleased from the minute we arrived.

We upgraded again to the Elegance club and we wonder now; why we bothered. We were met with no greeting from Hotel staff, we received no drink upon arrival or cold cloth, both we received last time with a warm smile and a welcome. This time we settled for getting our own drink and using washroom to splash water on our faces to freshen up. After arriving back for our second visit we expected this to be noted. It was not, and when we told the staff who checked us in, they said they had no record of our prior visit. They eventually noted this and put a welcome back ribbon on our door. At this point we already questioned ourselves if we made the correct decision in returning.

So the room.... Balcony door was almost impossible to open and close. ceiling had a leak from the air conditioning vent which puddled beside our bed between the bathroom and bulkhead to bed area. We never at any point during our visit could get hand towels or face cloths. We asked, but simply could not get them. We were told there were problems in laundry or a machine was down.... What we were not told however was " we are sorry."

We were given a pillow menu, but it was not until, night #4 we received what we wanted. I asked for extra pillow, ( firm ), was told we could only get one each!! We also, we're given a form to fill out to get the mini bar to be filled as we like. Day #2 we received what we wanted but never again after that, In fact we got the opposite of what we wanted. When we called to complain we simply could not talk to anyone who really seemed to understand the problem. It was at this point we vowed we would not return and really wished we had gone elsewhere. The air conditioning in our room could not seem to keep up with heat, this we can understand but still just added to our frustrations.

I often read travel reviews and think surely that person is just impossible to please or they just are hard to deal with. Well, my wife and myself are pretty laid back and we are not ones to complain but this was now becoming almost comical, not so much in a funny way but in a sad way. At the bars, service was slow and there were a few wait staff who were outwardly rude... The quality of the drinks, inconsistent bar to bar. I must say that there are more staff then not that are great, but it is amazing how a few can taint the image of a entire resort.

In regards to the pool(s)... Maintained well but could never get a chair or bed. We were glad to read that people could not reserve or hold a bed or chair but this was not enforced. People would often claim their area and hold it with laying out there towels first thing in the am and then coming or going through out the day for breakfast lunch or whatever. There were not enough beds or chairs in the elegance club section of the beach and again, people layed claim in am and if you were not there before sun up getting one was unlikely. I understand it is a hard rule to enforce, the answer may be to just get more chairs...?

In closing, we are not saying this place is horrible, I think there are some people who may find it okay. We returned however because we wanted more than okay. The resort simply has declined so much, we likely will never return. To even think this could be considered a 5 star resort is hard to understand. Although tipping is not required , we often would tip upfront hoping this would help. It did not seem to make any difference. We tip based on how we tip at home not based on the income of the country we are In. think the whole rating system needs a little bit of continuity In evaluation criteria.

The only constant shining star at this place was our butler (Benny), he was able to assist us in so many ways and his attention to detail and his customer service was A . He made our stay better, but could not completely make up for all the shortfalls this resort offered. So disappointed we had really hoped our second visit here was going to be like our first. Maybe if they put more money into daily operations and less into the 5 year anniversary, people would be satisfied more so. In this case the best part of our holiday was the end, the part when we got to come home... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
In review
The weak points
In review
Certified

Majestic

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-11-01
overall we had a good time... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, good food, good entertainment
The weak points
room had a lot of wear and tear, no wifi internet in the room (which is pretty bad for 5 star resort)
Certified

Great Resort!

, Orleans, ON
2013-10-31
We arrived at the hotel and were taken right to the elegance check in. (Very worth what we paid) In our room within maybe 30 min (champagne was wating) and luggage about 20 min after that.



We were in building 3000 Our room 3118 on the first floor facing the inner courtyard. Our balcony opened up right out on to our own back yard. Some of the other rooms were swim up from our private pool with swim up bar. For us we were happy with the back yard due to the fact you could end up with partiers right out front of your patio door in the pool. Not a bad thing, but if you want quiet it may not happen.

The rooms were nice, big and comfortable with a fully stocked fridge ( VERY IMPORTANT LEAVE THE OUTER DOOR TO THE FRIDGE CABINET OPEN, when its closed it keeps the fridge in a hot box) and 4 bottles of hard liquer. The fridge was restocked every day.
We were right next to the elegance club room which was great for snacks and wine it also had internet ( hit and miss) Your concierge was there too. They are a bunch of hard working guys who did their best to make your stay memorable. Shout out to Dario, Thanks my friend!

The beach was beautiful (except for the idiots who put their cigarettes out in the sand, some people have no class!) If your at the beach before 10am you wont have a problem getting a spot. The elegance beach was great and had friendly servers walking around taking orders. The beach was cleaned by an army of staff every morning.

Resturants were ok, if you eat before 7:30 or 8:00 you did not have to wait for a table. The food was ok for the dominican but nothing was WOW! You only needed to reserve the french and tepanyaki. WE only did the buffet once, Wednesday night seafood night. With the elegance club so close, we never went hungary!

The resort is small and easy to get around, you'll know it after your second day. It is beautiful and lush and kept very clean.

We heard bad stories about construction and almost swiched hotels but desided to stick it out. ( and glad we did) There is construction but it did not affect us in any way. No noise or dust.

The private pools were great, warm and clean. Yes some of the tiles were missing but it did not affect the pool in any way!
We never went to the main pool. Too loud for us. Lots or partying and activites.

Over all good hotel and staff. I would recommend it, if you go with a good attitude and arent looking for perfection in every little detail youll have a great time. Pay the extra for the elegance club its well worth it. There is a good chance we'll be going back in Feb 2014 so that says a lot! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach and most of the staff were friendly and attentive. Excellent
The weak points
Smokers destroying the beach with their butts! Frosted glass on the bathroom door ( not very private) and Square toilets... kinda wierd!
Certified

I love Punta Cana

, Montreal, QC
2013-06-10
Majestic Elegance is very good place for people who want to spend vacations in peaceful and relaxing environment. We spent unforgettable week here. Rooms are excellent, Bavaro beach is amazing, water pool is long and clean, and all food is of good quality. Resort personal is accurate and don't bother you. Also place is joined to Majestic Colonial that gives you double territory and relax options like pools or evening entertainments. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sea beach is the best, water pool is very relaxing, room is big and clear, a lot of good restaurants without reservation.
The weak points
Evening entertainments are not very spectacular (probably just at that time of year because resort was not full of guests). No wireless Internet in the room, only in lobby.
Certified

Excellent

, Port Stanley, ON
2013-04-21
Hotel rooms are very nice and spacious.
Staff was great
Definately the best all inclusive I have ever stayed at...also the pricest...but I was there for a wedding and it was spectacular. My only complaint is the hotel is massive for the beach size and if you dont go out by seven to hold a chair..your not getting one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food is great. staff is great
The weak points
Internet access is very slow and beach area small and not enough chairs
Certified

Ok but disappointing

, Brantford, ON
2013-04-16
Distance to the airport good and hotel wascclean. Staff were not helpful. Internet and wifi cost extra...they kept charging people for time when they knew service was down then we had to push for our money back...at the end of the trip they billed us again for it! Says domestic and international brands of drinks...but only had local beer. Will not rrturn. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good selection of food and restaurants. Great beach for swimming. Able to get lounger by the pool when we wanted.
The weak points
Lack of customer service.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021