Dreams Royal Beach Punta Cana

Dreams Royal Beach Punta Cana
4.024.024.024.024.02
4.02 based on 217 reviews
#63 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (68)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Great vacation

, Richibouctou Village, NB
2020-03-20
Beautiful grounds and beach, excellent food. Lots of activities for everybody. Excellent service. We took the Aura Deluxe package for xtra perks but didn't get any so don't upgrade to Aura deluxe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort, excellent service lots of entertainment and good food!
The weak points
Do not recommend the Aura deluxe package. You pay xtra for perks but don't get it! They don't even know what you are talking about!
Certified

Now Larimar

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-07
Honestly this resort to me is probably 3.5/5

Pros:
The staff are all great, the food is excellent. You are able to go to any restaurant on resort without reservations except for spice (Japanese restaurant). The food within the buffet was also excellent.

The cons:
The issue is the hire management, This resort is set that the only way your close to the beach or to the restaurants is by paying more for preferred.

If you didn't pay more you were sent to the end of the resort that was either a 3 minute golf cart ride or 5-10 minute walk. We had the swim up deluxe room garden view, this wasn't a swim up room as I have had in the past. This was a room that you could walk out and then walk to the entrance of the pool, the pool didn't even have steps to get out at your room. This pool was half ass cleaned each day, in the preferred pools where cleaned daily by multiple people.

The part the annoyed me the most was some of the staff asked on our last nights to sign up to trip advisor and put 5 stars down and to list there names. To me this was the worst part of it all and a crappy way to end the week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food & staff
The weak points
Room location, the pools not be clean often, the beach seats always being taken with no one on them for hours at a time.
Certified

Fabulous Vacation!

, Fredericton, NB
2020-02-29
The hotel is breathtaking, beautiful marble floors , clean and bright, the staff was so helpful and pleasant. We did all the restaurants the food was very good. I hope I get the chance to go back. Thank you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel, service, food, beach,pools.
The weak points
Can find any.

Fun and Sun with the good and the bad

, Mascouche, QC
2019-11-04
Please note before reading review:
This is a great resort with lots to offer and the staff are friendly , that being said I must be fair in my reviews for others reading. I base it on price paid , hotel accommodations and services offered in the Country we are visiting because every Country is different. We are travellers/vacationers that visit resorts 2-3 times a year. We don't abuse alcohol nor try to make friends with the bartenders and staff , we show our appreciation by tipping them well everyday. We do not say it was a great place cause we were drunk all the time .

On to the review:

This is our second visit to a now property we stayed at the Saphire in Mexico last time . We were very pleased to find that the room was ready at 1pm. We selected garden view which was not a good view being on the 4th floor. we had the pleasure of seeing a pile of garbage on the property next door, I took a picture as proof, but since we didn't spend much time in the room except for the evening time it didn't bother us, but I did mention it to to the concierge when they called to ask how was our stay.
The rooms are large with lots of place to put your clothes, rooms are well kept with minor things that the maintenance group should fix like loose faucets and shower drains, but still better than other places in this price category. AC and fans worked well and silent.

The property is stunning lots of trees and well kept lawns, which is something we like.
There is a large pool that is next to another pool that had a swim up bar, we liked that it was separate since I`m not a fan of swim up bars.

The beach is beautiful, but all NOW resorts share it. You must wake up early to get a decent spot but there are chairs for everyone. There was very little seaweed on the beach which is a plus when we were there.
Many people complain about the locals harassing you to buy stuff in the D.R but not here, once in a while someone may pass but a polite no thank you ,and there on their way.

The NOW entertainment team is great and lots of fun for all, we didn't see main night shows but heard they were great.

We noticed that the young ones were well supervised and taken care of during the day. It was really cute to see the the little ones having fun with the entertainment team for kids.

We are people that are respectful of others, its sad that society has created a world of acceptance for bad behaviour.
On several nights early morning the loud drunk guests have no respect for people trying to sleep they dont realize that they are being loud probably from being so inebriated. Example day 1 and 2 we are on the beach and there were several drunk loud women swearing using the F word in every sentence. I swear like a banshee but not where it would disturb people and especially not when there are young children around. They (drunk guests) seemed not to care , some people have no class or common sense. Cant fault the hotel for this, I do feel resorts have a responsibility to all there guest and should have security speak to people that are out of control due to the booze ,since its a family resort.
I found the buffet lacked variety, but the A La Carte restaurants made up for it.
Service at the buffet for coffee, water , was hit and miss so was the layout. Example one day you would have syrup for the pancakes the next day it would be located somewhere else and you were left searching for it. Food seemed to always served warm and never hot. I found myself using the microwave to heat it up like many other members, I guess the resort knows there food is not served hot so provide a large microwave.
Ordering a drink took a while to get for some reason, and this was not a one off it was everyday, I think it was because the waiters had to go get it in the kitchen....you would think they would have fountains near by but no.
We can only say good things about the a la carte restaurants they were all good especially when compared to the buffet, but our favourite was the SPICE asian cuisine and CAPERS Italian cuisine ( capers located at the now garden). I want to mention that the staff at the a la carte restaurants were outstanding and made sure you were well taken care of.

Take the time to explore the NOW Gardens properties next door, there is lots to see and at night the walk between the resorts is stunning. We walked to the NOW Garden stunning quiet resort with a beautiful lazy pool I wanted to go enjoy myself there on Monday but due to the food poisoning it was half the day in bed.

I got incredibly ill with something I ate the Day or Night on Sunday, My last day was ruined, nauseas, sweating ,hard stomach….and then we sat down for breakfast at the Carnival, which I ate only toast due to my stomach.
My wife noticed a waiter blow his nose in his hand and fling the snot on the floor near there refill area he then proceeded to touch the water containers she said OMG! I asked what she didn't want to tell me but did after I kept asking , he then wiped his nose with his hand which i myself witnessed. He continued handling people cups and serving drinks! We couldn't believe it, we finished our breakfast but did not touch the water or coffee cause I was not sure if he was the one who served us, very poor hygiene! that was it for me I went and spoke to a gentleman overseeing everything and told him what we had seen! I have not seen this waiter before maybe he works during the week only but he had a cold . There is something called Kleenex that we use and is more sanitary than his method, and you should wash your hands afterwards.

Excursions:
We decided to book a excursion to Saona island best money spent just a great day with lots of fun. I suggest you do this Saona island tour by itself,dont take the one with the submarine included not much to see and you can spend more time snorkelling and enjoying the beautiful Saona island.

** If you take the over priced Privileged Members Package at $170.00 US per night! You have the best views, private building with closed doors so no noise at night, several private pools ,beach area, better chairs and restaurants even the room service menu had a better selection never have i seen this before! This should not even exist, because it felt like the resort was trying to squeeze more money out of you for accommodations you should have from the get go,since this is a 4.5*-5* Resort. We went to eat at the Castaway located at the beach…nope this is for PV members only. We get to eat at the beach burger stand ,hamburgers that is in a dish with water so it doesn't dry out, hotdogs or dried chicken , not clean since it was a outdoor snack bar. This may have been the culprit to my food poisoning.
If we would have booked the Royalton resorts all this would have been included at no extra fees. Only fee they should be charging would before upgraded rooms or beach views.

** One thing I would highly recommend to the establishment is to replace all the broken, ripped or worn beach chairs and the worn beach towels there are far to many of them for a NOW property, I would say 70% of the beach chairs were torn or so uncomfortable you would need to fold your towel up over the bar so it didnt hurt your lower back. I am not big so its not due to weight.

I would have given this hotel a five star rating but had to lower the score considerably due to unsanitary waiter and the other negative things noted. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Vacation experience at Now Larimar Punta Cana

, Keswick, ON
2019-07-19
Great 5 stars resort with good service, great variety of international foods, beautiful beach and clean pools [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
At Carnival Buffet restaurant, we had great service from supervisors Juan A. and Francisco J. and their staffs, they treated us like VIP persons. We had lots of fun with them and made our trip there so happy a d funny.
The weak points
The beach were full of sea weeds but resort did their best to get someone to clean the sea weeds every 5-10 mins during peak time, very good effort, thank you
Certified

Now garden

, Gander, NL
2019-06-14
The resort was very beautiful, the room service was awful, if we ran out of shampoo or anything we had to call to have it replaced, we didn't have any slippers or a robe in our room.. we didn't have a great experience, we will never go to a now resort again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool at the now garden, and well kept grounds
The weak points
The restaurants we really bad the food was awful, the only plus was the breakfast buffet at the now garden. Room service was lacking we had to ask to anything to be replaced
Certified

Great resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2019-04-02
We stayed at Now Larimar from March 24 th to 31 st.
Our group had 11 adults and 5 kids.
Everyone enjoyed Now Larimar.
The resort is kept clean, employees very professional and kids club staff top notch.
Food was great for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We only tried one of the specialty restaurants,
( Italian ), while service was great, food was mediocre at best.
Front desk staff was great.
Our favourite employee was Mercedes by the pool.
Always happy, smiling and fast!
We did not upgrade to preferred club and no one bothered us to do so upon check in.
While there, we did not see any point of upgrading to preferred club.
The rooms very kept clean and we had a turn down service very night.
Fridge was stocked daily .
Service at the buffet was great for the most part!
The beach was clean and had no issues aside from some sea grass here and there, nothing major!
All in all we had a great time and would consider returning! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Absolutely wonderful!

, Québec, QC
2019-01-17
Been to Dominican Republic at least 30 times - this is by far the best place I have stayed at!
Staff is amazing and service is top notch! Food is delicious everywhere.
NO RESERVATIONS REQUIRED AT ALL SPECIALTY RESTAURANTS!!!! NO BRACELET REQUIRED AND PEOPLE CANT RESERVE CHAIR BY THE POOLS. They got it!!
Seriously this is so nice that you don't have to be out at 6:00am to get a chair - signs are everywhere indicating that if you leave your stuff unattended it will be picked up by staff. So can't reserve chairs all day!

Rooms are beautiful and very well appointed with a nice patio. Jacuzzi in all rooms - some have them on their Balcony! All buildings have elevators.

Pools are beautiful - there are many of them some more quiet then others which is great. Many bars and restaurants near the pools.
Beach is beautiful as always.

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this resort. It is a true 5 stars! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No diner reservations required and no reserving chairs by the pools...and everything else!
The weak points
Honestly nothing!

Pushy Sales Staff and Vendors

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-16
We have travelled all over the Caribbean - the NOW Larimar is the worst resort we have ever been to. We will never book another trip at a NOW, Secrets, Sunscape Resort.

The hotel was average, beach was nice but all the hotel wanted from us was to upgrade our room and buy into their members only club.

The hotel staff would not take no for an answer when we declined thier complimentary breakfast presentation. Their staff hounded us for three days. Everytime we stepped near the main lobby, at least two sales people were trying to get us to attend thier breakfast meeting. Three days into our trip we finally agreed to the breakfast which was supposed to be 90mins. The sales team kept us for 3 hours.

Honeslty the worst resort we have ever been to.
1) Wouldn't let us check in upon arrival. Never experienced this at any other resort. No matter when we arrived.

2) Asked for a wake up call day of departure. No one called us.

3) 3 Restaurants flooded while we were there. Ate at the buffet every day. Very poor selection of food but great wait staff.

4) Pushy aggressive vendors. Other guests got into a physical confrontation with vendors inside resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach.
The weak points
Constant sales pitch. Members only club. Pushy sales staff. Aggressive vendors on the beach and inside the resort.
Certified

Huge Room for Improvement

, Brampton, ON
2018-08-27
Our families experience went south the moment we arrived. During check in I asked one simple question "could we have a ground floor room if possible?". This seemingly simple request resulted in a 45 minute check in process that had the customer service rep go into a back room repeatedly for 10 - 15 minute spans. We did not get a ground floor room, which I would have been OK with if the answer was simply "No" and the check in process took 5 minutes like it did for all other guests.

Upon getting to our room, the TV and toilet did not work. When trying to call the front desk, I was put on hold and/or transferred 4 separate times as they tried to find someone who could speak/comprehend English. We then proceeded to the pool area to find that they were out of towels (a daily occurrence as would come to find out). All of this within the first 2 hours of arriving.

Overall, here are the shortcomings of the NOW Larimar:

- very little shade by pool area. People get up at 5AM to reserve the two dozen seats that have shade

- run out of beach towels daily

- do not stock up mini bar

- our room was cleaned twice over our 6 day stay (they are still doing room service at 6PM, obviously not ideal as you are trying to get ready for dinner)

- very few speak English when you are using the phone (front desk, concierge, room service)

- massive seaweed problem in the ocean, making it almost unusable

- food was OK, not great

- people selling excursions will bug you every 20 minutes by the pool

The single gleaming bright spot in our holiday was the kids club. The ladies that run this program are phenomenal. They were amazing with our kids, and always had a ton of activities and games for them. I can't way enough good things about them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Kids club
The weak points
Ocean, shade by pool, food, service
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Oshawa, ON
2018-08-26
Just returned from a weeks stay at Now Larimar with my teenage daughter. This was her first time at an all inclusive and she had an amazing time. The room was clean, beds were comfortable. The view wasn't the greatest but we weren't in the room for long. I found the resort just the right size. Loved the covered walkways to the lobby and restaurants. Kept us cool and dry from the rain. The Entertainment team was amazing, shout out to all of them especially Superman, Red Bull and a special shout out to Mambo made our stay even better. The entire team made the guests feel special and always trying to get guests involved in activities around the pool and beach. The nighttime shows were good. There is an outside area where they have entertainment, unfortunately it rained four of the nights which put a damper on that entertainment but they always had a back up plan. Can't comment on the a la carte restaurants as my daughter loved the buffet. Always lots of variety, special shout out to Ray whose section we made sure we sat at. Beach was very nice. There was a lot of seaweed but the staff made ever effort each day to clean it up. Highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entertainment team was amazing. Shout out to Mambo who made this trip even better for us. Also Ray who worked at the buffet was also amazing.
The weak points
My only complaint was that the food was not always the hottest at the buffet unless you had something made special at the grill.
Certified

Great family friendly resort!

, North Tonawanda, NY
2018-03-27
Close to the airport, clean, good food, very kid friendly! Staff was wonderful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

NOT UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS

, Munster, ON
2018-01-18
Rooms were great, grounds lovely and well maintained. Staff communication in restaurants and housekeeping as well as the Spa were not existant.
Workers have some shady tendencies that we will inform the resort about.
Food was reasonably good though bland. Sanitary habits of some workers was very poor. Efforts are made but the overall experience was underwhelming. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good resort!

, Calgary, AB
2017-02-27
Overall a good experience. Enjoyed not having to wear a bracelet or booking reservations for the a la carte restaurants. Didn't get to experience the French restaurant as the min age was 18 or the Japanese as it required a booking and when we tried to book there was only availability early at 6 pm or late at 10 pm. Also we requested a crib before arriving. Then at check in, we requested it again. Crib never showed up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was nice! The food was great!
The weak points
Requested a crib before arriving. Then at check in, we requested it again. Crib never showed up.
Certified

Now Larimar Punta Cana

, Thunder Bay, ON
2017-01-28
We are a canadian couple and had a great experience at the punta cana now resort. Right from when we showed up meeting up with Alfonso to out last drink at the quiet pool with Antonio Banderas was great. We are now members for the next 10 years of these resorts cause of lots of the friendly ppl in this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly ppl at the punta cana now resort, , this is our 6th time being in punta cana and this visit was great. Food very good, pools very clean and nice, and the beach was yet again amazing.
Certified

A pleasant surprise

, Mississauga, ON
2016-11-21
We have visited Punta Cana many times, I would put this resort near the top of our list. The service was excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service by everybody we meet was excellent, they could not do enough to help you
The weak points
House Red Wine, and choice in the main buffet were two things that could be improved
Certified

First time all inclusive with a baby

, Montreal, QC
2015-04-15
A very decent hotel. Good food, amazing beach. Water in the pool was great - not too cold. Staff is very friendly but speaks poor English [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, finding a place on the beach is never a problem. Amazing food at the a la carte restaurants. Good pools and bars
The weak points
Staff speaks very poor English
Certified

Great week at Now Laramar

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-18
Positives include great entertainment, nightly shows in outdoor plaza, fun activities around the pool, outstanding beach party, nice restaurants that did not require reservations. All the staff were very attentive-best I have experienced in the Dominican Republic!
Negatives would be that rooms are on the small side with poor bathroom layout (very little privacy and lack of counter space), some rooms are quite far from beach however there is a shuttle that runs often. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-very attentive staff at restaurants and bars -very clean resort -good restaurants (no reservations required)
The weak points
-small room/poor layout (bathroom area)
Certified

AMAZING!

, Dryden, ON
2014-03-16
Overall, our experience at the Now Larimar was amazing. The service was of the highest quality and the resort was extremely clean. I could walk anywhere bare foot. We had a private butler (Alberto) who made our stay that much more memorable. We had gifts and surprises every second day in our room. We initially booked a Deluxe Tropical View which was a view of some parking lot and apartments. Alberto upgraded us to an ocean and pool view in the Preferred Club section of the Resort at no cost. We had the most comfortable beds (silk duvets) and the stark white sheets were extremely soft. I can't say enough about the food! The buffet was amazing (as was the service) and the à la carte restaurants were gourmet (no reservation required, but Alberto took care of all of that). The beach was private, security walking around. I felt safe the whole time. The sand is like powdered sugar and the turquoise water was warm and calm. I can't say enough about this place. We truly had a memorable stay and will definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness, Preferred Club
The weak points
Front Desk at check-in
Certified

Now Larimar

, Winnepeg, MB
2014-03-14
We really enjoyed the Now Larimar. Even though we were in the Garden section that is 1/2 mile from the beach and a 1/4 mile from the main lobby and most restaurants. The golf type carts ran all the time and the drivers were friendly and fun.
The only small complaint would be the loudness of all the restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and food
The weak points
could have included free internet
Certified

A very nice vacation.

, Oakville, ON
2013-12-20
It was our second time in Now Larimar. We had a great time. Room was very clean, staff is very friendly, service was good, food was good as well. Beach in Punta Cana is great. Everything was just excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Simply great time.
The weak points
None
Certified

Surprisingly Very Impressed!

, Burlington, ON
2013-09-02
We as a family have traveled to many Caribbean islands. We just wanted an easy cheaper vacation. We were pleasantly surprised with NOW. Very impressed with resort. Many lounge chairs around pool and at beach. No worries with towel cards. No need to make dinner reservations, we were always able to eat where we wanted. My kids LOVED the blow up slides at the pool the resort set up. Nightly shows were impressive for an all-inclusive. We never left the property, and had a relaxing, worry free stay. An excellent choice for all-inclusive! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong point of this hotel is the quality of food, terrific staff, and I really liked not having to fight for beach/pool loungers, no beach cards, no restaurant reservations needed, and no wrist bands. It made the stay very enjoyable and worry free!
The weak points
Had a problem with the shower plugging, called and they fixed it that evening. Sometimes housekeeping wasn't done in a timely manner like when we needed clean towels to get ready for dinner. Think they are low on housekeeping staff.
Certified

Fantastic holiday!

, Georgetown, ON
2013-05-28
We loved everything about this resort and had a perfect week. The rooms are very nice with everything you would need; a/c worked very well and spotlessly clean at all times. The pools and beach are amazing; never a problem getting a lounge chair at any time of the day at either beach or pool. You can enjoy a more lively atmosphere at one end of the main pool or have a quieter time at the other end. We enjoyed the "quiet pool" where there was never more than 10 people.

The beach is so beautiful and staff do a great job serving drinks. There is some issues with people trying to sell stuff on the beach, but their access is limited and they are not bothersome. If you say "no thank you" they will leave you alone immediately.

Food was good in the buffet where there is a huge choice of everything so you can always find something to eat and like. We did not like the specialty restaurants, specifically the Bluewater Grill was awful, Spice was mediocre. After trying those, we stuck to the buffet and were perfectly happy with the food at all times.

Lastly, the entertainment team are wonderful. We did not participate in the many activities they had going on around the pool and beach, but we did attend their nightly shows in the plaza and theatre and they were great fun and added so much to our experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absolutely beautiful resort; pools and beach are perfect; staff amazing
The weak points
Food is good with lots of choices at buffet but specialty restaurants not good.
Certified

Meh

, Kitchener, ON
2013-04-11
Not worth the money. Average resort at best. Nothing to write home about. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not much
The weak points
Where to start?
Certified

Punta Cana now larimar

, Oakville, ON
2013-03-22
Spent a few days in Punta Cana Now Larimar. When checking in, they said we had a room that was a 10 min walk from the beach....so better to upgrade. They charged us another $65 per night. There is an extra charge for Internet if you are not in the preferred club. Can we upgrade to the preferred club? No, since we have kids....huh? So for wifi, another $60 for a week or $25 for 24 hours PER DEVICE. We had 4 devices between all the members of the family...just opted for one but yet another charge. There are parts of the hotel that is just for the preferred club and they have signs everywhere for restrictions (they have the area roped off)...at the restaurants...are you a preferred club member? No, no,no.
This vacation was full of class segregation and hidden costs. The entertainment each night was the highlight of the trip. Good time in Punta Cana but will not go back to that hotel again ....by the way, they also tried to tell us about their other hotels in the Caribbean...will probably look at another hotel chain. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the entertainment
The weak points
Charge for internet and was harassed a lot for upgrades/tours or if you are in the preferred club. Did not feel all inclusive at all and they always asked for your room number. Food and service were ok but could be better. Won't stay here again.
Certified

Garden View

, Coleman, AB
2013-03-09
This was a quite and relaxing area of the hotel, at times was inconviene to access other areas due to shuttle service wasn't always available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Henry, food service. took the extra step to make us feel good.
The weak points
Main reception, have access to cash exchange and cash advances.
Certified

Now Larimar The Gardens

, Brantford, ON
2013-03-04
the hotel is very spacious and clean and the pool is very beautiful as well as the grounds I would definately recommend this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean beach the Garden Hotel was nice and quiet no one was rowdy food and staff were excellent
The weak points
the only complaint I can think of was 3 families travelling together let their kids run wild but lucky for us they did not stay at our hotel
Certified

Best Secret at Now Lorimar

, Mississauga, ON
2013-02-23
Had a great time. originally had us in the wrong room (for 5 minutes) and made it all better by moving us to the Secrets side. But all facilities Now and Secrets are top notch, and the staff are all fantastic. Many weddings on beach, there are families with children but saw no kids on Secret side. Scuba, snorkel and speed boats were fun! Good food, good drink. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are the best asset. Good food, good beech, lots of shade seats, beech drink service.
The weak points
Would be better if they switched the swimming and boat lane. But not a huge deal, I still enjoyed the swimming and watercraft.
Certified

Now Larimar 2012 Family vacation,

, Oakville, ON
2012-12-24
Everything was just perfect. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Love everything about this resort.
The weak points
None.
Certified

Back from Now Larimar

, Stoney Creek, ON
2012-12-23
I would return to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was great. Room was very nice. Grounds were beautiful. Food was good. Beach was great for walking. Pools were lovely.
The weak points
Mixed drinks were from a slushie machine. Hotel had mostly Europeans. I didn't like swimming in the ocean becuase of the seaweed. Room was musty. The sales people on the beach were nonstop harassing you.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021