Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Catalonia Royal Bavaro
4.024.024.024.024.02
4.02 based on 261 reviews
#56 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (61)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Holiday at the catalonia royal bavaro

, Dauphin, MB
2020-03-11
the stay was great. I loved that we did not have to book any of the restaurants, unlimited and walk up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent!

, Moncton, NB
2020-03-10
It was an amazing trip! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, no reservation to make for supper, nice beach and pools
Certified

Honeymoon Vacation

, Gander, NL
2020-03-04
Went to this resort for our honeymoon with a couple of our really good friends.
We all had an awesome time, very friendly people and a very clean resort.
Food was excellent with lots of choices.
Stayed on the Adults only side but had access to the family side as well.
Awesome Entertainment every night on both sides. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome Resort. Friendly People. Great Food and Great Entertainment!!
The weak points
Pool wasn't heated at all so was really cold trying to get in but still beautiful.
Certified

Fabulous from start to finish

, Stoney Creek, ON
2019-12-13
Rooms are clean and comfortable staff is beyond amazing Leonardo at the main bar went out of his way to make my friends birthday memorable The golf staff from drivers to landscapers are friendly and kind. And the casino staff ,whether winning or not, we laughed With them every night This was third time at the resort 1st time on the adult side. Already looking to book again
You guys are fabulous [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean friendly amazing fun
The weak points
I have nothing negative to say
Certified

RESORT EMPLOYEE'S WILL ROB YOU BLIND! EVEN OUT OF

, East York, ON
2019-06-21
FYI: If “management” responds to this review it will be the first communication with them. We attempted many times while at the resort to meet with management only to be told they were not on duty. I have sent 3 emails and made 2 phone calls attempting to get an update since returning home. Emails were not answered and I was put on hold for 30 min on each call and finally hung up when no one came back to the phone. If they do respond I am sure they will say that they conducted an investigation and found that no one entered the room. $900.00 just vanished into thin air. I can't wait to hear their newest excuse after the ones we received while at the resort. Please General Manager Victor Cruz, if you do respond also explain why you cannot answer emails when asked to show me the information from your fake “investigation”.

My wife and I just returned from our vacation express trip to Punta Cana and stayed at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. While there we had $900 cash stolen from the safe in our room. This was after the safe was broken and we had to have resort employee come open it for us. The most disappointing part of the whole situation was the response from the resort. We called the guest services 4 times and after 1 hour passed had to go to the lobby to get them to come to the room and "investigate". After the "investigation" we were told it would be 48-72 hours before they could tell us anything. We were never approached by anyone from management and always had to track down someone to ask if they had found anything. Once the guest services employee named Yuri got up from the desk when she saw us and ran to the back office, when we asked for someone in guest services we were told they were at lunch and wouldn't return for 1 hour. We asked to speak to management many times and were told that they were not available. Over the course of two days we were discouraged from calling the police (told that police were not open on Sunday, that we were leaving to early at 11 am on Monday and it was “not possible to file a police report before leaving”), told that maybe our friends took the money and that we had gone and spent a lot of time in the casino. On Monday when checking out we asked for an update and were told that “since we decided not to file a police report they could not submit a claim to their insurance”. They did everything they possible could string us along until we left and to basically say it was our fault, not theirs. This resort is not safe and the response from management is lackluster at best. They know that you are in a foreign country and will be leaving, they do not care and only attempt to string you along until you leave. We were not the only ones missing items from this resort, just about every time we went through the lobby there were people talking to guest services about missing items. This resort is beautiful, but the customer service is Zero! Never an I am sorry or anything from any person at this resort. We never expected to get the money back, but the response from the resort made this experience much worse.

I am quite sure there are many other resorts in Punta Cana that will treat you with dignity and respect, as well as make your trip great. If you are smart you will choose one of them and will not look twice at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. If you do stay here keep your valuables with you at all times, it is not safe in your room or in your safe as there are many people walking around with the devices that plug into your safe and override your code. It only takes a few seconds for them to plug into the safe, open it and have access to anything you have in there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is beautiful
The weak points
Management condones theft! Do not expect any help if your items are stolen. There are many other great resorts that will make your stay memorable in a good way!

GOOD

, North York, ON
2018-12-28
THE FOOD IS AWESOME [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Punta Cana

, Kitchener, ON
2018-08-07
Overall great hotel. Food was good, did not have to wait in line to get seated in the restaurants. Staff very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The beach was full of seaweed and had a smell.If I would've known about the beach I probably would've booked another hotel.
Certified

Another Wonderful Vacation

, Navan, ON
2017-03-10
This is the third time for us at this resort and we will be going back again. Wonderful resort for a relaxing vacation. Not many activities on the resort but that is what we like. If you want to do excursions there are lots of things offered that are close by. The staff are a fun, friendly bunch, many have been there for several years and always remember us when we go back. We have never had a bad experience here and we love the fact that it is only 20 or so minutes from the airport. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly efficient staff Very close to airport Excellent customer service Clean Beautifully kept grounds
The weak points
The restaurant menus could use an overhaul. Food is good but in the 3 years we have been going there the menu has never changed.
Certified

Winter Getaway

, Lively, ON
2017-02-26
This is our second stay at the Catalonia Royal...was so great last year, we went again this year. My hubby likes to golf every morning, while I get to sleep and relax! The restaurants are amazing, the staff is great, and the sun and ocean can't be beat. Love this place♡ [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, quiet, everything that we want in a resort. Golf of course is a required element...got it !!
Certified

Break in, theft, unsafe

, Chateauguay, QC
2016-08-29
I will start my review by saying that I don't expect or want any response from the Management, nothing could be said that was not discussed with them during the second part of our vacation. Plus all responses are so impersonal and whoever writes them does not even have the courrage to write his/her name, just Gen.Manager.

Please believe any single bad review you read, those are not frustrated people, those are people that went through a bad experience and paid money to do so. I never go for reviews about food - this is personal taste, but when it's more that that it is serious.

The management to name them like that - would never tell you the truth. They do have a big problem because of frequent theft and break in s in rooms and always cover it. Turists come and go... It's a pitty because it does not serve Catalonia chain and most probably nothing gets to the head office.

To make a long story short, at the start of our second week there was a change in housekeeping staff. That day there was a lot of abnormal comotion around the room and staff talking loudly. At night we went to sleep around 11pm. Balcony door was closed for AC to work well but not latched. Phones and my tablet were charging on my nighttable which was across the room from the patio door. Tv was on and reading light on. Being tired, we fell asleep At aprox 1am woke up and reached for my phone to check the time - everything was gone. Balcony door was open and realized that someone was in the room. It was a horrible feeling, you go from anger to disbelieve. The security guy that came into the room made us open the safe to confirm that nothing is missing from there while I was almost getting frustrated trying to explain to him (without success as spanish was him only language) that someone was probably 20 inch closer to my head in order to steal from my night table.

Another couple, 2 nights after us went through the same thing - the girl opened her eyes just to see a short man dressed in Catalonia uniform. He ran through the front door breaking the chain. We were advised by the management not to tell other guests what happened and not to scare them. This was nerve......Well, it's all said and done now. We were "helped" by giving us a ride to the wrong Police station (instead of Policia Turistica) and many more. We have a stamp acknowledging our complaint and we won't stop here. This has to stop before anyone gets hurt or even worst.

Many guests complained about someone knocking at their door late at night saying that they are from security or room service, a lady that we meet on the beach heard someone trying to get into her room with a key. She got scared and asked who was it and the answer was security, then the person left. It was after 11 PM.

I realize now that they are used to this type of events, there is no need to say that all our efforts hit a wall like all others before us, we were told not to tell other guests what happened. The question is WHY? Not to get people scared or to make it easy for them?
They are probably breathing a little easier since we left. But for sure won't stop here. This hotel could be a big risk to your life.

When all happened, we were in villa 19, ground floor - rooms 1902 and 1904. In 1902 there was a horrible constant sewage smell and in 1904 AC was just ok, but in general rooms were ok. Being in Punta Cana for many times, we knew most of the time what to expect and what we bought from Air transat. What we didn;'t know is that Catalonia hotel has a problem with theft and security that is going back to 2013 if you read Trip Advisor.

The good - beach was nice and clean, water also but not for swimmers as it's shallow. Food - we enjoyed it. Staff in restaurants - great / front desk - ok / client service - ok for what they are allowed to do or say having in view all the problems and internal rules and regulations.

Will not return to this resort and because of what happened, for a long time I don't want to hear about going to Dominican Rep, a destination that was always my favorite. Thank you Catalonia

Room Tip: Never ground floor, 46 close to lobby &Thalassa but long walk to the beach. Get something in the... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
landscape
The weak points
unsafe, dangerous

Great Vacation

, Cornwall, PE
2016-04-11
Hotel is very clean and well kept for an older resort, front desk was very helpful, food was great, room was decent, an actual king size bed not 2 doubles pushed together, had an issue with the safe and a new one was installed for us, beach was always kept clean of sea weed, but there is not a lot of area to swim where you are on sand, a lot of sea weed areas, infinite pool was nice, nice lounge chairs with cushions which were real comfortable, no problem getting beach towels. If you are a golfer, there are 2 courses, one a 9 hole and one an 18 hole and from people we talked to they were in great shape. Beach was not noisy with boats ripping up and down the coast as the water is very shallow, there were only a couple of boats that would come and go once or twice a day which was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort very well kept, quiet no kids jumping in the pool, felt like we had most of it to ourselves sometimes. The steak house restaurant was amazing, we actually ate at it 3 times. Nobody trying to sell you an upgrade as we've seen at other resorts.
The weak points
Beach swimming area was not great. On Friday night the vendors were set up at the other side of the resort and were very in your face to buy from their table and ticked if you bought from someone else's table.
Certified

Catalonia Royal Bavaro

, Navan, ON
2016-03-19
This was our second visit to this resort, and we are planning to go back. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and attentive. The grounds are well kept, the beach is good (not as nice as some but good all the same). The food is good I am a very fussy eater but was always able to find something on the menu that I enjoyed. We find it very peaceful here and there are always many returning guests. Another plus is that it is only about 20 minutes from the airport. Guests have full access to the sister resort next door. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

One week

, Coquitlam, BC
2015-08-24
Good experience great service great staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Sea weed on beach
Certified

Stay Away

, Brampton, ON
2015-05-09
Immediately after checking in we were directed to a concierge who tried to pressure us into attending a session the next morning (early) to listen about buying into a vacation club membership. The pressure to attend these sessions continued the entire time we were there and, we were harassed by at least three people every day. If we refused or told them we weren't interested, the individual became rude. We had to avoid certain areas of the resort just to avoid these people.

We stayed in one of the villas with a private pool and there were numerous problems with the room as well. The electric curtains had to be on the same frequency as one of our neighbours as the curtains would open and close by themselves at any hour. Despite numerous calls to have this fixed, it never was. They only changed the frequency to a different neighbour. We were unable to sleep in the entire time we were there because of this. Additionally, our air conditioner broke and took over 24 hours to fix. Our internet was down in our room for over 48 hours.

The resort would water the plants on either side of our deck at prime times in the afternoon with the most foul smelling water so we lost about two hours a day of our private use pool.

There were other problems with the room as well and, the only thing that guest services offered to us for our horrible experience was a free breakfast in bed (at an all inclusive resort...) OR one massage ($100 cost).

The cleaning, serving and maintenance staff were all nice but they couldn't understand English so trying to communicate with them (especially the maintenance men) was next to impossible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly restaurant, maintenance staff and cleaning staff. There was a large selection of food at many different restaurants
The weak points
Customer care is non-existent. Harassment to buy in to this resort chain's "vacation club" happens daily to the point where we avoided areas of the resort.
Certified

Royal relaxation

, Longueuil, QC
2015-03-11
Everything was perfect. I was a little disappointed about the shoreline. Too much seaweed. The beach was great. Enough chairs, enough sun, enough shade, enough bar tenders.... the pool was great, but a little noisier than the beach.
Bathroom: toilet and shower not very private. Huge bath in room.
25 minutes from the airport....ability to go to restaurants on their other site without resevations...nice place and I will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
peace on adult only beach
The weak points
seaweed in ocean
Certified

Maybe a three star

, East St Paul, MB
2014-12-05
Hard to believe we were back in the Dominican where the people are so friendly. Service in the restaurants was very slow and unfriendly. Resort needed a lot of updates. Half of the beach chairs (if you could find one) were broken. Bath robe in our room had a huge stain on the front of it. So disappointed that we switched resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Can't think of any.
The weak points
Beach, lack of chairs but mostly the service
Certified

THE DEVIL IS IN THE DETAILS!

, Etobicoke, ON
2014-09-26
I would preface this review by stating that I have travelled extensively in the Caribbean. I am a writer and have professionally reviewed hotels. I consider myself to be fair minded and cognizant of limitations that are sometimes beyond the control of hotels in these third world countries. However, I have always thought that the “devil is in the details”, services and details that are within control.

I recently stayed at the Catalonia Royal and from the outset things did not go well. After a long flight all one wants to do is relax in the room that was booked. In my case, I had requested a ground floor room in a quiet area close to the beach. I arrived at 2.30 p.m., was taken to 4 different rooms before I was finally so exhausted that I settled for the last one – it was now 6 p.m. The room faced a busy roadway, no hammock on the balcony as advertised. After inspecting the room I discovered there was no stopper in the bath, no instructions to operate the TV or the safe for valuables. I had to phone reception to send help. They say they are coming right away but they do not come. Throughout the stay I had to phone many times before there was a response to my requests. On returning from a long day on a catamaran only wanting to take a bath, there were no towels in my room, not even a hand towel. The room had been cleaned but no clean towels. Also, I had paid $120US for the trip and my requested wake up call for 6.45am(bus leaving at 7.40am) did not happen. Fortunately, I woke up at 7.20am and was just able to make it. When I questioned the employee at reception who had promised to wake me he said he had spoken to my husband. I am single! Hardly any of the staff speak English so this makes all communication very difficult and frustrating. Many folks that I spoke to confirmed all these problems and some had even worse things to report. When I asked why a toaster at breakfast was not working, the waitress investigated and realized it was not plugged in. When she looked for the outlet there wasn't one on the wall. A very basic and important device for breakfast was put there just for show! I had to use the same beach towel for the whole week because there were never any towels in the towel hut at the pool. Two employees sitting in an empty hut texting and talking all day, telling people the towels were coming – but they never come. Again, the basics, the small important details that make or break a vacation.

To be fair, I have to mention that there is one restaurant that is excellent (The Thalassa), both in food, presentation, and service by the staff. I took the majority of my meals there and was more than satisfied. The whole staff in this restaurant are competent and have a wonderful friendly attitude – in particular Ernesto who took excellent care of me throughout my stay. If the rest of the hotel was run as well as this restaurant it would be a wonderful place to stay.

Over the years, I have come to realize that the squeaky wheel gets the oil so I do speak up when things are not satisfactory. The Food and Beverage Manager (not the Hotel Manager) did come to talk about my dissatisfaction and listened intently. He stated that input was necessary because if no-one complains he cannot fix things. Overall, this hotel is not as advertised. This is not fair to Canadians who spend hard earned money for their vacations. For a few dollars more I would very strongly recommend the Majestic Colonial as an alternate because it lives up to its advertising, all the basic details are taken care of and more. Plus, if you are a beach person, the beach there is far superior to Catalonia Royal which has a seaweed problem and small beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
One restaurant was excellent (Thalassa)
The weak points
Staff do not speak English, request met too slowly or not at all

Beautiful resort!

, Calgary, AB
2014-07-21
This is a fantastic resort with wonderful restaurants, lovely pools, great beach, and very friendly staff! Will come back again for our third time!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, pools, friendly staff
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

DONT STAY HERE!

, Sault Ste Marie, ON
2014-03-24
This resort was awful! Our room was musty and moldy. The patio furniture on our private patio was covered in dirt. Our fridge leaked water all over the floor in our room. The food was awful. Couldn't order an alcoholic beverage at the Steakhouse, unless it was beer. There were ants crawling on the walls at the Italian restaurant. Birds were flying into the buffet and walking on/eating the food. The staff didn't shu them away or change the food out. Every two steps you take, someone is trying to sell you something and they don't take no for an answer. They follow you around after you've already said "no thanks" multiple times. They even followed us to the beach and sat down on our lounge chairs! As soon as you got rid of that person, someone else would show up.
The beach was nothing to write home about. A lot of seaweed in the water and on the beach. It is also a very isolated location. Can't walk the beach for very far. Maybe a 1/4 mile... The drinks were not good. Shall I go on?? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Filthy
Certified

Excellent a la carte restaurants

, Burlington, ON
2014-03-12
Quiet hotel mostly (beach party one night). The Catalonia (family hotel) is much busier. Gardens are lovely. Beach has seaweed but it is cleared away within the limits. The water is very calm due to a reef that is far out. The treadmills need to be replaced in the gym. The gym is very small. The golf course is a resort course in okay condition (not worth full price) but okay since included in the package($35 per person for cart is charged whether you share or not). More restaurants than nights to choose from. We liked all of them. Resort is isolated except for Catalonia. To go outside a cab is required (at least $25 each way most places) although a free shuttle is available to a shopping centre. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
You don't need to get up early to reserve a chair at the beach or pool. There are enough chairs. You don't need to reserve the a la carte restaurants and there is little or no wait time to get a seat. The a la carte restaurants are excellent.
The weak points
Only one choice of beer and wine. No or slow service for coffee/tea in the privlidge section of the large buffet restaurant at the Catalonia Hotel.
Certified

Ctalonia Royal

, Chelsea, QC
2014-02-28
Nice hotel clean and quiet
a la carte restaurant very good
but buffet service is the worst of all my trip .the need to improve the service
at the regular retaurant . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room ar nice and clean
The weak points
service at reg restaurent is very poor
Certified

Pretty Good

, Rri Breslau, ON
2014-02-04
Good resort, but not an exceptional experience. Close to the airport, secluded. Quite resort next to a rowdy one. Wifi was unusable for the week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location, good weather, nice resort
The weak points
Unusable Wifi, most staff had poor English skills
Certified

Royal Catalonia

, Elora, ON
2014-02-01
This resort is great , food people and location are the best. Always trying to please you and give you great service. If ever there is a problem they are on it right away. If you want a quite, relaxing holiday this is the place to come. The new Thai resturant is fantastic , will be back next year for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A great resort for relaxing and excellent food
The weak points
Can get noisy around the pool area
Certified

Pretty much as expected

, Maple, ON
2013-12-23
We stayed in this resort 4 times and didn't note any significant changes since first time. Catalonia Royal Bavaro is a smaller, adults only portion of Catalonia Bavaro Resort. Generally, it was all right and we enjoyed from our vacation and great weather. We liked this place from the very beginning mainly because it was very private and surrounded by beautiful Mother Nature. Stripes of natural palm-three forest made it isolated from the rest of Bavaro Beach area. Another beauty of this place is a distance from airport of Punta Cana - only ~25 min. We adored a lagoon with clean shallow waters and coral reef about 1500 ft away from the shoreline. (Trying to reach this point of the reef would be a bad idea, unless you are an experienced and well equipped explorer).
A family portion of the resort is a bit crowdie, noisy and not so well maintained. For instant, smelly washrooms at the beach area (if you have to use it - make sure you are not barefoot). Many times is not a fault of the resort but the visitors. Some visitors of this portion are careless and could be negligent to everything and everyone. If you decided to try a family beach area get yourself ready for potentially poor social behavior. Definitely stay away of their pool (if you know what I mean).
Anyway, as long you stay away from family portion you should be just fine. One more thing. There is a kind of commercial plaza in a middle of family resort where you can try some food and drinks. This area also belongs to the resort and it a part of the Casino. Be careful when and if you try some food or drink at one of these places. First time we and our friends got sick badly as a result and few last days of our vacation were practically lost. I guess it was dishware and sanitization problems, rather than food. All restaurants and buffet use proper cleaning procedure and dishwashing equipment. These places at the plaza may not.
All places, restaurants and services of the family portion are available for visitors of adults only part of the resort. Visitors of family portion are not allowed in restaurants and other locations of adult portion (including beach area). At the family portion all facilities, rooms, food, chaise lounges, services etc. (practically everything) is cheaper compare to adults only portion of the resort. However, their buffet is not bad at all, as a matter as a fact. Some night shows could be interesting (Caribbean dancing).
Every time we found our room a bit outdated, but quiet, nice and clean with private views and usually well maintained. Fridge was refilled daily and room service is free and available 24/7. (You may think of some small tips if food was ordered and delivered to your room during late hours). Oh, be aware of truly strange behavior of their staff, especially cleaning ladies. For example, if you think of having some private time with your wife or your girlfriend any time but not between midnight and 6 in the morning - make sure to secure the door properly. And I mean it - properly, if not barricade it. Chambermaids have a master-key and use to knock a door (sometime even without knocking), wait for two seconds and open it right away and there we go....! Or imagine yourself coming out of a shower, all wet and naked and ....OOPS! What a nice surprise - she is right here! And of course, it can happen several times any time during a day ! Nice, isn't? Not sure whether they fully understand what is adults only and privacy actually mean.
At all restaurants at Catalonia Royal you will not require an advance reservation. Just get dressed and come - first come first serve. Some restaurants serve breakfast and lunch during day time and dinner at evenings (mind dress code at dinners). Generally, food at all restaurants was just right, or above expectations. Remember, some restaurants may run their AC way too strong (Katatappa), so you might need a jacket during your dinner, especially for ladies. Some restaurants are modern, very private with well trained staff that knows how to treat customers and create special romantic atmosphere.
There is a small market place at the beach, just around a corner. Nothing exciting: faked cigars, cheap homemade costume jewelry, ugly painting etc, but you may like some aboriginal souvenirs.
Beach area of adults only resort is rather small, but nice, clean and equipped with spa and comfortable chaise lounges and beds. If you like to park yourself in a shadow close to the ocean you may think of coming up earlier in order to get some palapa.
You won't need any shoos at sugar white sand of the beach. But mind your step in the waters, or when you try to swim over this manmade fish shelter. Basically, this shelter is just sort of a concrete channel built and set about 50 ft away from the shoreline. It full of exotic tropical fish and a shelter itself may looks harmless, but it not. Be careful and try not to touch it when you play and swim around. Tiny microorganisms growing on its surfaces, some kind of seaweed that bites in manner of jellyfish. If you not careful enough you might be surprised later how itching and painful it can be. Some people found helpful to wear some shirt while swimming around the shelter. This thing can be recognized by iridescent colors that luster on a sun. However, there are zillions of exotic tropical fish inside and out of this shelter (including water snakes). Fish is friendly, harmless and can be easy attracted by some treats (maybe just bread, or other food).
You can find interesting to swim with dolphins (even with sharks and huge rays) at the local water-park zoo (extra $$). Sea lions show is quite exciting and animals are well trained and presented by local staff and few beautiful Russian girls (who seems to be professional trainers for water animals). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Generally, all mother nature: the beach, shallow and clean waters, zoo. Outside of mother nature: restaurants, food, drinks and shows.
The weak points
The beach needs more palapas. Proximity to the family portion.
Certified

Anniversary trip

, Geulph, ON
2013-11-05
Hotel bas everything you need to have a great time on your vacation. if you want to be treated like royalty though don't expect it here. Front desk always will do what you ask but get the feeling as if they are doing you a favour rather than just their job. Aside from that the resort is nice and big as you can go on the next door resort too which was nice. No complaints on food, in fact the restaurants were great and no long waits. service overall was hit and miss throughout the resort but we always got what we needed just not with the friendly attitude we were used to from our trip to Jamaica last year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was good, no reservation for a la carte restaurants required, plenty of well positioned bars and restaurants, good drink selection, clean resort and rooms.
The weak points
Friendliness was hit and miss...front desk was especially cold and uninviting most of the time..poor first impression at check in, we did not feel welcome at all.
Certified

Negative review

, Toronto, ON
2013-10-01
We think it's not 5 stars hotel.
We had expected more than we got.
The food is very poor (unbelievable),the beach is very small!!!, a lot grass is the sea, we couldn't swim (just stay in the water).
There is no choice of excursions.
But the staff is very nice. It's only one good thing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1.Very nice staff. 2.Beautiful landscape in the hotel
The weak points
1.The food is not good, the buffet is very poor. 2.Hotel is very close to family hotel. It's absolutely the same territory, but we chose 18 3. The beach is not good: too small and a lot of grass in the sea. 3. There are only 2 restaurants, no choice.
Certified

Terrible Start... OK Finish

, Pickering, ON
2013-09-12
Arrived... 2 hr wait for room but other guests set off quickly. Front desk tried to up-sell us to another room to the tune of $1000.00.

Finally get to room and it is a disaster: pee on toilet set, dirty bath tub complete with footprints, broken drain full of clumps or hair and sludge - basically the tub was unuseable; fridge not cold; safe in room didn't work because of low batteries; TV did not work; main pool under construction; two buildings under renovation & closed; hence we were put in a room that was below what we paid for.

Became skeptical; checked on-line only to confirm our suspicions that we were not given what we paid for. After 2 days we complained that we had not been put in the correct room - we were moved on day 3 later in the day.

The rooms were night & day difference! Couldn't believe they didn't put us in the correct room to begin with. Again the safe didn't work & batteries had to be changed but at least the TV worked.

Tiles throughout the resort (especially outside) are extremely slippery and dangerous...

Sure it was off-season & we understand the pool needs maintenance but it would have been nice to know or to have been given a discount.

The initial room provided was completely unacceptable & the bathroom had not been cleaned after waiting 2 hours! The resort itself is lovely as is the location... and based on other people we met and the room we eventually got, we would be willing to give it another try.

Avoid rooms in the 1800 - 1900's as these are nowhere close to the standard of the Royal Catalonia accommodations. These buildings actually are inline with the accommodations of the sister resort beside it and if you look at any old maps of the resort these two buildings aren't even on the maps... nor are they numbered in the same sequence as the rest of the resorts other buildings - beware! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adults only, access to sister resort, decent food, beautiful country and wonderful people.
The weak points
Front desk and WestJet rep generally unhelpful. Not encouraged to leave resort unless it's on a hotel recommended tour. Shopping tour that was supposed to be to local venders was an insult - sterilized mall ONLY.
Certified

Mrs.

, Pierrefonds, QC
2013-08-09
You cannot get a decent cup of coffee on the premises...the food is good for a resort The beach is great with enough shady spots But any night life is available only at the sister resort and begins only at 9:45 pm [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and lovely suroundings
The weak points
coffee there are no activities at the adult only resort
Certified

Fantastic!!

, Calgary, AB
2013-07-25
Our two week vacation to Catalonia Royal Bavaro was amazing! Beautiful beaches, clean and gorgeous rooms, fantastic food, and amazing people! The Cata Tapa, Sea Blue and the Thallassa restaurants were are wonderful! We are definitely going back again next year:) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, food, weather, people, rooms
The weak points
wireless internet
Certified

Hotel Review

, Etoicoke, ON
2013-07-23
Overall it was a great experience. Rooms could be a little dated so upgrade to the deluxe. It was a nice relaxing vacation and we had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great. The food was better than expected. Lots of activities to do, but also quiet so we could relax.
The weak points
We found the staff very friendly except for the front desk. We had one nice employee at the front desk and all of the others were not very accommodating. Very friendly staff otherwise!
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021