Ocean Blue And Sand

Ocean Blue And Sand
3.983.983.983.983.98
3.98 based on 215 reviews
#23 of 99 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (63)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Had a good time, but...

, Mercier, QC
2021-01-06
Due to the current COVID situation, the first 8-9 days the hotel was full at 30% capacity. The beach is small for a hotel of such size, but there were enough places. Then about Dec 29-30 all of a sudden the hotel was full of locals, and the service was terrible! Wait time for a waiter with a glass of water or wine at lunch or dinner could be 30 minutes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
2 large pools. Diving center at the beach.Free and relatively stable Wi-Fi all areas.
The weak points
Rooms need renovation. Beach small for hotel this size. Terrible service at the buffet.I would give four stars (****) to this hotel.
Certified

Ocean blue and sand.

, Kitchener, ON
2020-03-18
First impression was good . Grounds well kept and clean. Resort is showing it age and in need of some TLC. Bathroom shower leaked on the floor and some jets in jacuzzi were missing. Room in general as advertised, curtains and sheers would not close all the way, (fixed my self) Mini bar not keeping drinks cold, called front desk and fridge was replaced. Had to contact front desk for no umbrella, problem was solved. Hot water at bathroom sinks not working, ( repaired myself). sliding door to balcony hard to lock with a pin pushed through a hole. Coffee maker in room too small for packages provided. We were at this resort during the peak covid19 issues. Water features between rooms not functioning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food although not always hot. Friendly and courteous staff. Staff eager to help when needed.
The weak points
beach needs improvement. Understanding resort was hit by a hurricane Beach is public and thus beach vendors.
Certified

Disappointed

, Calgary, AB
2020-02-03
Has a nice reception area and beautiful grounds. All the staff were very friendly and helpful but I felt cut off from the world with no way out unless by overpriced taxi or taking a tour. Very little to do except sit around the pool. It would have been nice to be able to sit and enjoy the beautiful grounds instead. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautiful grounds.
The weak points
No economical way out. Poor beach front. Little available shade unless you reserve a spot at 6 am. Bathroom needed extensive cleaning e.g. shower door, taps. Floors should be washed with CLEAN water. Food in the buffet restaurant was never hot.
Certified

Worse than expected

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-13
The place look nice but the hotel room is old. The bath tub look horrible I dont want to bath in it. We are family of 5 people. They only give 2 bottle of water everyday. I have to call room service everyday for water. Sometime they ignore me. I have to call again. The bar drink not enough variety of cocktails on non alcohol to drink compare to other resort. Over all compare to other resort this resort can not compare to other. Very Disappointed. Waisted my vacation and my money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The main buffet doesnt have enough variety of food compare to other resort I been to. Everyday the food is the same not much changes. Very boring food. No lobster or oyster. No decoration what so ever very plain.
Certified

Stay Number Three

, Halifax, NS
2019-12-09
As usual, Ocean Blue and Sand were perfect hosts and why we keep coming back here without consideration of other resorts. The staff is always so eager to help, friendly and smiling. I watched a older staff member cleaning up the remnants of nuts from a pecan tree, singing away like nobody was listening. I was. And his happiness brightened my day. Poolside was active as always , and staff kept us happy and well watered. Had a pedicure done by some fish at one of the pool kiosks! Quality of the food remains excellent, particularly pork, poultry, and fish. Beef for some reason remains flavorful but chewy. As always the variety of fresh food in salads, salsa, and sauces and varieties of fresh fruit is fantastic. Bananas there sure don't taste like bananas here at home. All in all a great week. Next year, ten days I think. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly staff, notably Alexandra, and Alcedes in the dining room. A special thanks to Argentina at Mike's Coffee Bar for great service Resort is wonderful for sure but the staff is what makes the vacation what it was, fantastic. See you next year.
The weak points
On arrival, we did not get the room we had requested,and the one assigned was not in an acceptable state. Bathroom was dirty, and an A/C fan motor too loud. Replacement room was acceptable but showing its age. Remodelled rooms are very nice.
Certified

Great holiday

, Midland, ON
2019-11-30
Staff was great.
Entertainment was good.
Speakers in the theatre need to be replaced we had to leave as we could not understand what was being said due to distortion of sound. We felt bad for the entertainers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing Place!

, Pointe-Claire, QC
2019-08-19
We were beyond thrilled with our stay at Ocean Blue. The resort was so clean and was the perfect size. Everything is within walking distance. The pools were extremely clean. The drinks were delicious and the food choices were beyond. We absolutely loved this resort and cannot wait to return one day! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, food, and overall atmosphere of the resort was amazing. The resort itself was immaculate and well-maintained.
Certified

Great vacation!!!!

, Brampton, ON
2019-07-29
Hotel was up to my expectations. room was tidy and clean on a daily basis, towels were replaced daily, also mini bar was restocked daily. Service was excellent. Food was pretty good. Eight a la carte restaurants-service was amazing, food was excellent. Mike's coffee house is a must try!!!! there is a variety of events for everyone of everyday. will definitely do it again!!
the only downside of this resort is the H10 sales people trying to convince you to become a member. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food!!! Great service!!! amazing people!!! Variety of events and activities...
The weak points
H10 sales associates trying to convince you on an ongoing basis!!!
Certified

Excellent stay!

, Calgary, AB
2019-07-12
We have to switch rooms 3x due to temperature. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Tons of food, drinks, and activities but it would be nice if there's a printed program for a week for the guests upon arrival. We felt safe n secured by the hotel staff. Thanks!
The weak points
Don't like the presentation that we're not aware before the travel n when we declined it, no gift received that was promised!
Certified

Unsatisfied

, Wasaga Beach, ON
2019-05-01
The Specialty Restaurants were good The buffet was repetitious.One thing for sure more Tips better service,Rooms are clean but bathrooms dated [ ie ] our bathtub was repainted but was mostly worn off Disgusting, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds and pool
The weak points
beach was terrible, attitude of many bartenders
Certified

Ocean Blue and Sand

, Tottenham, ON
2019-04-01
Not my dream vacation- first my jet tub didn't work but it was fixed within an hour. I had no bath towels for 2 days even though I called several times. Room was nice but housekeeping only came 3 times in the 7 days I was there. Asked the man that filled the fridge if we could get wine and regular sofa as fridge was stocked with beer and diet sofa which I don't drink. Got the wine and sofa the day before my departure. Activities at hotel by pool were beer drinking contests and no information about “shows”! For the theatre. Travel agent said iPhone docking station and alarm clock and robes provided none in our room. Food was good but over salted. Butler/manager pressured us to attend sales meeting constantly until we went and when we didn't buy service got worse. Bus to airport was late and hotel seemed disorganized with departures and no one on site to help. Finally a bellhop found someone to assist . Waiters and table staff were excellent. Steak house and Italian restaurant were great. Pool was great but you had to reserve cot by 7 am to get one. Beach is nice [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, staff at buffet and food goid
The weak points
Maid service pressure for buying into hotel program , would have been nice if pool open later than 7 pm
Certified

Ocean Blue and Sand

, Bowmanville, ON
2019-03-12
Good but would not say it's a 5 star...... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Ocean blue

, Ancaster, ON
2019-03-05
Very nice and clean
Food in cafeteria is ok however the one by the beach is really good for lunch
The separate restaurants good food except Route 66
Mike's coffee is great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The beach is very small water has risen Not recommended for children activities at all Activities should be offered in both pools and for all ages Delete drinking competition
Certified

Worth the Privilege Package

, Kitchener, ON
2019-01-31
The hotel was beautiful and clean. Our room was nice and large. The service was excellent. We had the privilege package and it was worth it just to be able to make reservations at the restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful and clean Good food Privilege Package
The weak points
No restaurant reservations if not privilege Had to get up early if wanted a good spot on the beach (this is typical I know) No late check out available even for the privilege, they were all booked up
Certified

Family vacation

, Lorette, MB
2018-12-30
Check in was average. (nobody greeted us with a beverage like other 5 star resorts) Then we had to find our own way to the shuttle to take us to our room. luggage came after. Rooms are outdated. (nothing like the pictures on the website) We had a room that didn't face the pool (that was an upgrade) looked at a road. Pool area was nice and clean. Lots of food options. Entertainment and staff were friendly. Staff was always trying to get you to upgrade to their premium rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
a la carte restaurants had really good food. Pool area was nice and clean. Friendly staff
The weak points
Buffet- selection of food for breakfast was not great. Service wasn't great. waited awhile to get a beverage. No restaurants open from 11am-12pm (except the coffee shop) Ocean had large sandbags infront of resort Rooms were dated
Certified

My Ocean Blue and Sand

, Truro, NS
2018-12-11
This is our second visit to Ocean Blue and Sand and next year will be our third.From Check in to Checkout, we were met with smiling friendly staff, more than eager to help at every turn to make our vacation what we expected, and they didn't disappoint. Rooms are spacious and deliciously cool at the end of a beach day (would recommend you bring a small room freshener as rooms can smell a little musty from the air conditioning, or just open your balcony door to air out the room for a bit). I spritzed a couple of shots near the AC and room was fresh as a daisy, or orange in this case, right away.
On to the pool,,,Huge, huge, shallow ramps deepening to about 4 and a half feet, Swim up bars x2 , Another on the beach, and one in every open venue. Note if you are an Irish Cream fan, you got to try the Dominican version..rum instead of whiskey, when added to the Dominican coffee...superb! Restaurants: thru reception, across the bridge, and right there. About the Steakhouse and Route 66... The first time I was there, two years ago, steaks were about the only thing the resort made I couldn't give full marks for. This time, a totally different experience, steaks seasoned and cooked perfectly, and tender. House wines are a very acceptable Chardonnay and a Cabernet.( when not used to wash down a piece of fresh pineapple, mind you). The main dining room has acres of food, and all of it delicious. Make sure you sample the local specialties, and a note about water...it is all bottled, as are the ice cubes.
The beach...miles of it, and completely "barefootable". Water is clear and wonderful, but pay attention to the beach flags; higher the breaking waves at the beach, the greater the risk of undertow for little ones. There are kiddie pools near the main pool.
Ocean Blue and Sand It can be a very busy exciting place to be, or there are lots of places to enjoy quiet reflection if that is part of your day. I did my daily yoga routine beside a quiet pool just below my balcony, under a hibiscus tree, when it started dropping blossoms on me doing a Cobra stretch. How Zen was that!
Finally a word about tipping. It is not expected, or even subtlety solicited at this hotel, and you get the same warm smiles from the staff if you do or not tip, but I left a couple of bucks every other day for the hard working room staff, and a buck or so for the guy who kept my beer fridge stocked in my room. The staff works very hard for your comfort so I thanked them for good service with an appreciated and small gesture on my part.
My wife and I will be back next year to this really great resort. to enjoy once again the great service, great food, and great accommodations of Ocean Blue and Sand. Want more than your money's worth? Come here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food , and service, pool activities, grounds activities entertainment,
The weak points
Low water pressure for flushing, in the big venues, but just hold the lever down, and it works...a little slow, but it works.
Certified

Ocean Blue and Sand Vacation

, Bible Hill, NS
2018-12-11
Wonderful experience, all round!! One of the best vacations I have ever had! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds and buildings well maintained, attractively decorated, staff was absolutely the best, especially the Entertainment crew!
The weak points
Since I don't speak Spanish, there was some discomfort in communicating
Certified

Very nice resort.

, Cambridge, ON
2018-11-22
It was really good . So beautiful there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean. Restaurants very good.
The weak points
The food from buffet not so good.
Certified

Disappointed.

, Oakville, ON
2018-09-15
Beach was too smelly and dirty cant even go for a swim. H10 people was very annoying trying to sell us timeshare which we refused and all of a sudden they became rude to us. I brought friends with coz i thought this hotel was great but unfortunately it was very very bad. we had a bad experience when they brought us to this shopping store. our driver didnt come back for us so we took differnt shuttle bus and the security guard didnt let us in from the gate instead he told us to
walk from the gate to lobby which is about 10 mins walk and the saddest part was there are three toodlers with us. we complained but they didnt do anything. during our stay they didnt changed our bedsheets. they only make the bed but didnt change. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL AND NEVER GO BACK TO THIS RESORT EVER AGAIN [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Disappointing-Beware of theft ! Read carefully

, Montréal, QC
2018-05-09
Initially I was going to rate higher.
WE WERE VICTIMS OF THOSE ROBBERIES ON 4TH FLOOR. SAFE THEFT.

ALL RESTAURANTS: 4 - 4.5
EXCEPT Steak House, horrible !
COFFEE HOUSE, AMAZING
BUFFET 4 - 4.5

STAFF, HIT OR MISS
STAFF PRIV. VERY CONDESENDING!

VILLA MARINA BURGERS, VERY GOOD.
BATHROOMS HERE, WERE IN EXTREME POOR SHAPE THE WHOLE WEEK.
SPECIAL THANKS TO BARTENDERS
NURKY AND JAIRO !!
STAY AWAY ROMENO, SUPER NASTY !

WIFI POOR.

BEACH, VERY NICE, GOOD FOR WALKING.
PLENTY OF LAWN CHAIRS.

GROUND, EXTREMELY WELL KEPT. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach great for long walks.
The weak points
Poor upkeep of bathrooms near beach (Villa Marina)
Certified

Excellent experience

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-17
Hotel is great! Good layout and easy to navigate through it. There are golf carts that take you anywhere you want.
9 restaurants with variety of food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very friendly. Excellent food, great taste and variety for everyone's taste. Entertainment staff is very good at their job, each night were different shows
The weak points
rooms are good but some of them need some small repairs
Certified

Ocean Blue and Sand Review

, Mississauga, ON
2018-04-01
Very good resort with nice rooms, a lovely pool, beautiful beach, several decent restaurants and a lovely cafe, serving all sorts of cappucinos , including a frozen one and Irish and Caribbean coffees.
Most things were good, but if something went wrong, it was immediately attended to. Drinks were not diluted, as they are in many places, staff friendly, on whole. Would highly recommend. The entertainment could stand upgrading. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice rooms, friendly staff, good drinks
The weak points
Some of the entertainment was weak. In 1 of the public bathrooms the sink wasn't fixed for the 2 weeks we were there.
Certified

Amazing Resort!

, Bradford, ON
2018-03-24
Our family vacation to Ocean Blue & Sand was amazing. The resort staff were friendly and very welcoming. The food choices from the buffet to the A La Carte options were endless. The grounds were spacious, clean and very inviting. We have no complaints about Ocean Blue and recommend it to anyone looking for a great family get away! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were so great Food choices were amazing Clean facility, spacious rooms Pools were huge and not overcrowded
The weak points
Beach was a little disappointing
Certified

Great hotel but disappointing stay

, Laval, QC
2018-03-21
Overall the hotel, rooms and installations were in good shape with good upkeeping.
The staff was a little cold for the first few days, maybe due to the high amounts of clients during the US spring break... For the second half of the trip, the staff could not have been better.
The beach is definitely not the strong point of the hotel with a short beach with man-made hill to protect the beach so close to the shore. We have walked for hours in both directions with no other hotels having the same thing.
But the worst thing about this H10 hotel (and I am assuming other H10 hotels do the same) is the H10 premium breakfast... Which is another tourist trap that we did not know about. It's a nice way of saying timeshare presentation. We didn't know what it was and we were told it was going to last only 1hr, when in fact it lasted 4hrs... The staff was nice at first when they were trying to sell us free vacations weeks and travel points, but when we refused to join they started to be disrespectful until we left. Very enjoyable when you pay that much money to be on vacations to actually get hassled like this in your hotel. After refusing, we checked on the web and we realized that they were actually selling timeshares... It was crazy when we observed the energy they spend trying to get people (usually couples or singles, no family at least...) to their presentations. Never again will I go to a H10... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was nicely set-up with the restaurants, shops and disco at the entrance of the hotel with no rooms around. So the sounds coming out of those installations cannot be heard.
The weak points
ABSOLUTELY the timeshare staff, breakfast and product they were selling.
Certified

H10

, Kitchener, ON
2018-03-09
This was the worst vacation we have ever taken. Everyday someone is bugging you to buy stuff. We could not go for a walk, lay by the pool or go for dinner without being harassed to buy. This hotel only caters to you if you continually tip.The H10 part of this resort is a joke. Spoke to the manager he was going to look into my complaints still have not heard from him that was a week ago. Got sucked into looking into join the H10 part was told don't worry try it for a couple days you can cancel as long as you do so before leaving the hotel. We were treated like royalty until we decided it wasn't for us. Then it cost us big time. Tried to cancel nicely didn't work had to get rude then it was a different story with them. Cut those upgraded bracelets of off us when I asked about were I would get the blue one put back on this was the response NOT OUR PROBLEM. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Nice Place

, Fort Frances, ON
2018-02-11
Overall it was a good time. Food was excellent. The downside is the H10 people bothering us all the time, some of them don't like to take no for an answer. The rooms could use some updating, was some mold and rust. The first couple days the rooms smelled of mold but it got better. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The swimming pool area. And the food.
The weak points
H10 pushy people
Certified

Very Disappointed

, Bobcaygeon, ON
2017-10-22
I've been to Punta Cana many times & this is a resort I would not recommend to anyone ! The pictures on their site are very deceiving , the beach was dirty , very few lounges in shade and if you wanted to get one you had to get up at 7 am to put a towel on them to save !
The rooms are fine but again not clean ! We came back to room after a day on the beach to find water running out of light fixture in shower but when we contacted front desk to change to another room they wasted two days of our vacation moving us from room to room with every room we got we had problems ! Finally just gave up and accepted a room that the safe didn't work , lights didn't work & T.V not working but they did fix that ! I've never had such bad service from guest service in a resort , also feel that we should have been told that they had so many renovations & construction going on throughout the resort. Oh forgot to mention the smell of sewage and I sware none of the toilets anywhere in resort ever worked properly.
I love Punta Cana but will never be back to this resort !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Coffee shop , food ! Restaurant staff!
The weak points
Beach , cleanliness, lack of shade , Service from management !!
Certified

Ocean Blue and Sand

, Chester, NS
2017-03-30
We had a great stay at the resort...very helpful staff...food was great...room was great and cleaned every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food and service. Transportation getting around was great.
The weak points
Front desk service could have been better.
Certified

First visit to Punta Cana

, Ridgeway, ON
2017-03-25
First impression of the hotel was very impressive, the resort was very clean.
Food was same as other resorts. The one issue we had they wanted to pesticide our room while we were there, really could they not wait until we left? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mike's cafe, excellent, staff were so very friendly..
The weak points
Big sand dunes on the beach
Certified

Ocean Blue and Sands - Punta Cana

, Fort Erie, ON
2017-03-06
The transfer from the airport to the hotel was seamless. Most of the people on the transfer were going to the same resort, we only had to stop at one other to let people off. The trip only took about 30 minutes from airport to hotel.
Once at the hotel, the check in only took about 20 minutes to complete. Had to request a different building as the original request wasnt taken into account when they gave us our room. The change to the room as made as we were checking in with no troubles at all.
Grounds were always clean and tidy. Food was great at all restaurants, buffets and the Ala-Carts. I really enjoyed being able to use the Ala-Carts as many times as we wanted with no reservations required. The steakhouse was great, we eat there twice. The buffet always had something for everyone. Never had an issue finding something I was interested in eating.
All staff was very welcoming and happy to help at any time. Bartenders and entertainment staff were great.
Nice being a smaller resort as well, didn't have to worry about people from multiple complexes coming in to use the pools or bars.
The only issues I can see is the beach, the night time entertainment and the time share sellers. If you're a beach lover, this resort is probably not for you. The beach was washed out a while ago and isn't very nice. I felt like I had to climb a mountain every time I wanted to go down to the beach. I felt like I had to hide from the time share guys every time I left my building. It took a few days before they recognized me and figured out I wasn't a good candidate to approach to sell a time share to. The nightly shows could be better. We tried to watch a couple times but decided it wasn't worth staying up for. The entertainers were always trying to get you up and involved and very happy to be there, it was just the shows that could be better. Other then that, the resort was very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff - bartenders, waiters/waitresses, entertainment staff. Grounds - always working to keep things looking nice and clean.
The weak points
beach
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2021