Whala Bavaro

Whala Bavaro
2.822.822.822.822.82
2.82 based on 34 reviews
#72 of 103 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Punta Cana
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (5)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Very bad Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2022-06-22
Only good staff, but you have to tip them, but they are very nice and willing to help, but too many people from outside, creating chaos and mess, noise and so on, you have to pay for beach towels, ridiculous, you have to pay for safety box, ridiculous, poor food menu, The "A la carta" restaurant very poor and limited options, beach small and full of alga, hotel should built a dock deep into the water to get access to better point inside the beach as other hotels has them. But to be honest I have to say that I felt very safe in there. and security team amazing thanks to Yoandry, Alberto, the maintenance guy, Dorka and in general all the staff, including the bar and restaurant team. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Not a great spot

, Sydney, NS
2022-04-15
I have been traveling down south for 20 yrs. This is the first time a arrived at a complex lie this one. My superior room was above the Main Street. I paid to move to beachfront. Your all inclusive does not include the rooftop bar. Where the rooftop pool is. Not allowed to bring our own alcohol up to the rooftop. Had to walk up the Main Street to get to the only restaurant on the complex. Food was second best. I ended up leaving this place and moved to another hotel. Will go back and I am contacting travel agency to at the least make it a 2-3 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
None
The weak points
Food, location, having to pay for drink from the rooftop bar.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Hand sanitizer at the restaurant.
Certified

Zbigniew Jolanta

, Depew, NY
2022-01-03
The best time of my life the supervisor Ernesto made it so nice and simple wishing him again a lot of thanks for the support keep on smiling hopefully will see each other next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The location perfect close to the Beach
The weak points
Wish I could speak Spanish it would make my life simpler
Certified

Not Recommended

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-11
We had a SUPERIOR room pool view. Very disappointing the patio doors would not close properly and the band was outside our room every night until at least 11 pm Towels in our room were stained. Half the time no water. Food was pretty much the same everyday not much choice. Street was constantly flooded in front of the hotel all the time didn't seem to be any drainage. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly but not a lot of English spoken. They did their best to help/
The weak points
Probably better if you can get a room closer to the beach that part of hotel looked in better shape.
Certified

1 Star Hotel not 3

, Newmarket, ON
2016-11-04
Very disappointed with almost everything. The room has TV but can't even watch, the back door can't lock, the pipe sink in the bathroom was broken, stained and rusty. The bed cover has only one thin cover sheet, no blanket. Foods has no flavor, only one restaurant. Every time always ran out of coffee cup, overall is poor management. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

This is a 2 Star Hotel

2016-02-02
Very disappointed with everything but the staff who did their best.Toilets blocking up.Got sick and had to find a taxi to the Hospital the Hotel will not provide anything. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Beach Bar and Grill.
The weak points
Coffee machine breaking down on a regular basis limited, menu food not hot,restaurant not big enough to seat everybody so you have to wait for a table to be cleared and the list goes on.
Certified

Great week in the Dominican

2015-03-21
This is an older resort and not such a spectacular first impression as the lobby is simply on a side street. It appears there's 2 or 3 ages of resort rooms-if you can upgrade to the back side near the al-a-carte, it's well worth it as the rooms and location are worth it. The beach is a short (2 minutes or less) walk from the lobby-likely closer than some of the waterfront large resorts and has a nice sitting area and bar before the sand. Don't expect fancy and high end but it's clean and with comfortable beds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A small resort-we don't like large One buffet-excellent choices-great food Al-a-Carte can be booked every day in the AM with your selections Beach bar
The weak points
sewer smell in the central area by the middle pool
Certified

Punta Cana - Whala Bavaro

, St.Catharines, ON
2015-03-06
Everything was about as expected. An older hotel but clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, friendly staff
The weak points
Older hotel, cheaper furnishings.
Certified

Nice quiet vacation

, Saskatoon, SK
2015-01-09
This hotel and location is just fine. We knew that we were receiving a good deal and we took it. You pay for internet access, and a safety deposit box. In total $45:00 USD. You also provide a $10.00 USD deposit for towels. The food was plentiful . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff that try hard.
The weak points
This is a hotel that is trying. Only one cook knew how to grill fish and his name is Raphael. The beach had a lot of seaweed as the winds were blowing. The notion of service to the customer needs further development
Certified

Solid 3 star

, Grandora, SK
2014-02-15
Not surprised or disappointed but realize a 3 star is just a little less than we are used to or prefer [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach location was great less than a min fr hotel, room maid was really good too
The weak points
Some staff very friendly and some not just aloof but rude,never had this problem at any of our 10 or so resorts in the past so really don't think it's us, as I know often travelers are rude and receive same treatment back and rightly so
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022